Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig
ProudToBeAScotsGirl

Could use a wee help!

Ok...this is probably rude of me, but I have a BIG request. And if it's inappropriate for this topic you're welcome to delete it, im really sorry.

I was messing about on YouTube when I came across "can you feel the love tonight?" from the Lion King in several languages. It sparked the idea of singing this song to my boyfriend when I return to him in 5ish weeks (we're in different countries right now). But...I REALLY want to sing it to him in Scottish Gaelic, and obviously they haven't translated this movie into this language. I can't even find a translator that could give a likely bad but close enough translation. And I know if I just translate word for word with my dictionary book, the grammer would be off.

I know it's a lot to ask, but I would really love to have the lyrics translated as best as possible, and a pronounceation key version if it's not too much to ask. I know this is kind of weird, but I think it would be very romantic. We haven't seen this movie sense we were kids, and both loved it...so...this would be really special if I could pull it off. I have 5ish weeks to practice, and I certainly think it would be worth it! Especially sense I have a feeling this could help me get into learning the language, which I really want to do, but I have great difficulty with learning languages. I mimic Japanese from J-pop and J-rock all the time, I can certainly try this out! Thank you SO much in advance to anyone who doesen't mind helping me out! Here are the lyrics:

Can you feel the love tonight?
The peace the evening brings
The world, for once, in perfect harmony
With all its living things

[Simba:]
So many things to tell her
But how to make her see
The truth about my past? Impossible!
She'd turn away from me

[Nala:]
He's holding back, he's hiding
But what, I can't decide
Why won't he be the king I know he is
The king I see inside?

[Chorus:]
The peace the evening brings
The world, for once, in perfect harmony
With all its living things
You needn't look too far
Stealing through the night's uncertainties
Love is where they are

Disney songs are great being so simple...I cut out Timon and Pumba's part sense...well...eh I woulden't sing their parts, though I might want their parts later...mmm...bah, this is asking enough as it is so i'll leave it alone.

Hey Scots girl! How ya daein? Would love tae help but SLG is SO much better at this! LOL! right up his street. I'm a wee bit surprised he hasnae translated it for yer.However ah think the pronounciation might be a wee bit difficult??

Och,guid on ye fae tryin' onyroad!

Great idea ProudToBeAScotsGirl, i would love to do this if I had the time. My Gaelic's not good enough for me to translate it straight so it would take me a few hours to make sure I had it right. I'll have a go if I have time, but I'm pretty busy for the next few weeks. I've actually not had the time to do any work on my Gaelic for months now Sad
garye

Mise cuideachd.

Sorry but the scope of my Gaelic isn't enough to translate all of this.

However since tha first line would be

"An urrain dhut a feareachdain a' ghaol a nochd" (which I think I may have misspelled apologies to any fluent Gaels) (the rough phonetics are an oorine goot a ghool a nochk)

then there might be a right few more syllables in Gaelic to fit. I've never heard the tune mind you so ah dinnae richt ken fur shair!
ProudToBeAScotsGirl

OH wow!!! I had nearly given up! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!!!

Im sorry for not replying sooner, the 16th was my birthday so ive been busy with that. You all are SO wonderful to be happy to help me translate this, I don't know if I mentioned this in my first post but I am also hoping this would be a fun way to aid in me learning Scots Gaelic myself! And maybe others too! Don't worry about being busy, just please don't forget, and keep me posted on your progress!

I was inspired to do this because like I said, folks on YouTube had clips of some disney movies in different languages, and I didn't realize how beautiful a language can be until you hear it singing a tune you already know, and a lovely catchy Disney tune at that!!

I decided that if you guys are up to the project, and I know it will be difficult and take time, then here's what im going to try to do...hopefuly I won't make anyones ears bleed, but I am going to count on my 8 years in orchestra playing Viola (I have a good musical ear thanks to that) and try singing this tune with the karioke (however you spelled that) and to slap that onto a muted clip of the movie. Then...well...it won't be an amazing professional voice, but at least it's something! I still want to sing it to my boyfriend out of simple want-to-do-something-romanticism...but because of the work involved, I want to produce something from it that can be enjoyed by you guys and anyone else who loves this language and wants to see it survive. Very Happy

As for pronounceation, is there a program I could download or purchase that has a dictionary with the pronounceation of each word? I will have to find one! If not, a backup plan could be to use voice recorder, which only requires purchasing a mic. Wink Oh this sounds so fun! If this project is successful, I could always do other disney clips....but I shoulden't get ahead of myself!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Right, examples! I found this clip very fitting!:

Multi-language (someone mixed the languages, quite cool!)
http://youtube.com/watch?v=xpmug6ODaWc

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here are some other languages if you're cureious:

English: (in case it's been a long time)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WBSQeJMtzg

Hebrew: (shocked? I was a bit surprised!)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KF...S-QA&mode=related&search=

Russian: (all I can say is wow...Russian sounds cool)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeCJv-8YQwo

Icelandic:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL...mql0&mode=related&search=

Norwegian:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8...jpJo&mode=related&search=

Hungarian:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-N...TAh8&mode=related&search=

Bulgarian:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH...fvcA&mode=related&search=

Danish:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ij...Dmg0&mode=related&search=

Finnish:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6b...FLsY&mode=related&search=

French:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fr...LSE4&mode=related&search=

Greek:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9...flPg&mode=related&search=

Brazilian Portuguese
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf...Tp98&mode=related&search=

German
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lzg8m6UlXus

Croatian
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iT...VTgw&mode=related&search=

Slovak
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zbXLVzJJgg

Dutch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kntMs9jmQN4

Japanese (nearly settled for singing this when I lost hope!)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67lEwNRiytI

Thai
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9d9I9wqnFhg

Mandarin Chinese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRLTpbKIluY

Swedish
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5q0Qr1kZN9c

Latin Spanish
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn2hYQL4tCw

Polish:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VwSPu44RWQ

Turkish:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBLlqpqTTwE

Portuguese-Europa:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TgBUckz54I

Zulu: (woah, an African language!)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zgj30uy0gM0

Castilian:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaT6wdEUJn0

Cantonese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64BIs3o1CRY

Czech:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=msfQU5BYkdM

Korean:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=XGg3-K9AOqs

Arabic:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=wDykJYg2QIA

Italian
http://youtube.com/watch?v=f_u0LTMtEM4

European Spanish:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=qFm3jUBD6s0

GRRR!!! Hard to believe with all those languages I can't find it in Scots Gaelic! Or even Irish Gaelic! Mad

but...enjoy anyway! Very Happy

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads