Congal
Stand Up For The UlstermenWhen I hear the roar of the crowd and I run onto the pitch with the Red Hand on my chest. I feel like I'm playing for my country. Justin Harrison
Great win for wee Ulster
Rugby: Eur Tou good fo Toulouse
Ulster blitz the French in terrfic first half display
By Micheal McGeary
22 October 2006
ULSTER 30
TOULOUSE 3
Ulster crushed French resistance with a storming first half performance at sun-kissed Ravenhill yesterday.
Toulouse, winners of the competition on three previous occasions and with 13 internationals onboard, travelled confident of making a winning start their European campaign, but Ulster, buoyed by their form in the Magniers League, stunned the French stars with the quality of their performance.
The home side, confident and assured from the opening minute, played controlled and confident rugby, taking the French by surprise.
Within five minutes, a packed Ravenhill erupted to acclaim the first of three first-half tries.
Andrew Trimble claimed two and, in between, there was a magnificent solo effort by scrum-half Isaac Boss.
This was vintage rugby, Ulster's pack dominating the forward exchanges and in turn providing quality ball for the backs, who thrived on such possession.
A scoreless second half was something of an anticlimax, but, by then, victory had been assured, though Ulster may yet regret their failure to secure the all-important fourth try that would have in turn yielded the crucial bonus point.
Cymro
Good start by the Welsh too
Congal, do you support the Irish rugby team?
Congal
| SLG wrote: | | Congal, do you support the Irish rugby team? |
Nope. I'm not really a great rugby fan. But my preference would be Scotland. I would cheer them on.
Aye Wales did O.K. I think Ulster play over there this Friday. They have already beat them,but the Welsh says they are 'up for it', Ulster will find it harder this time. The Ulster players agree.
Cymro
"The Welsh says they are 'up for it'?
Who would that be then? The Welsh aren't playing! Scarlets, Dragons, Ospreys or Blues?
gCan I ask why you dont support the rugby team Congal and why you would choose Scotland instaed. Surely if you support Ulster rugby enough to post here about the local teams great victory you should support the ulstermen when they are playing at international level?
Congal
Re: g | Rinty wrote: | | Can I ask why you dont support the rugby team Congal and why you would choose Scotland instaed. Surely if you support Ulster rugby enough to post here about the local teams great victory you should support the ulstermen when they are playing at international level? |
Just a preference I have. John Taylor supports Wales. I would support Scotland.
Murrayfield would be as near as Landsdowne Rd. Ken Maginnes supports Ireland..... Ulster or no Ulstermen on the team. Its all a matter of preference
Congal
Ulster plays Scarlets to-night.......Friday. They said they were ready for Ulster. The Ulster players agreed....it would be a hard match. I think Ulster has already beaten them. But the Scarlets said they'll find a difference this time.
Congal
I'm not hiding Cymro Congrats on a good win for the Welsh Scarlets
Ulster warned it would be a tough match.....and so it turned out to be.
The only consolation for Ulster was they got a bonus point. Not just sure the way that works. I think it something to do with scoring a certain amount of points.
Well done
y | Quote: | Just a preference I have. John Taylor supports Wales. I would support Scotland.
Murrayfield would be as near as Landsdowne Rd. Ken Maginnes supports Ireland..... Ulster or no Ulstermen on the team. Its all a matter of preference |
Er, I know it's your preference, my question was why it was your preference, it surely cannot all be down to how far the home matches are from your house. Anyway Dublin would be much closer than Edinburgh even if it was all on land, so time wise it is considerably further.
Congal
Re: y | Rinty wrote: | | Quote: | Just a preference I have. John Taylor supports Wales. I would support Scotland.
Murrayfield would be as near as Landsdowne Rd. Ken Maginnes supports Ireland..... Ulster or no Ulstermen on the team. Its all a matter of preference |
Er, I know it's your preference, my question was why it was your preference, it surely cannot all be down to how far the home matches are from your house. Anyway Dublin would be much closer than Edinburgh even if it was all on land, so time wise it is considerably further. |
Actually when all said and done. Thats what it come down to......preference. Some things may help you to arrive at a certain preference. But at the end of the day.......its your choice. Why support Man Utd,why support Liverpool. Why drink Guinness,why drink Lager,why drink Whisky. Why call your child Sean,why call your child William. The list is endless and all are a matter of preference.
y | Quote: | | Actually when all said and done. Thats what it come down to......preference. Some things may help you to arrive at a certain preference. But at the end of the day.......its your choice. Why support Man Utd,why support Liverpool. Why drink Guinness,why drink Lager,why drink Whisky. Why call your child Sean,why call your child William. The list is endless and all are a matter of preference. |
I dont agree. Preference is the result but there is a reason behind each preference. I support Celtic because when I was a kid they were fantastic, fast, exciting. I support Liverpool to an extent because my hero Kenny Dalglish went there and they were, well, fantastic, fast exciting etc. I prefer Crystal Place because I lived near their ground and they had Ian wright (fast exciting fantastic etc).
I used to drink lager because I preferred the taste, I dont drink now because I prefer to be sober. Some people call their child Sean because its a family name or because they want an Irish identity in their names, some choose william because it is a protestant identity, My son is called Nathan after a supremes song!
They are all a matter of preference but there is a reason why they are preferred. Usually.
Congal
Quote...''Some things things may help you to arrive at a certain preference''.
Thats what I said......I agree.
hBut you would rather not say why you arrive at preferences? You would rather say that you prefer Scotland to the national rugby team that represents your home Ulster because?
I was just interested but if you would rather not say then that is fine.
Congal
Re: h | Rinty wrote: | But you would rather not say why you arrive at preferences? You would rather say that you prefer Scotland to the national rugby team that represents your home Ulster because?
I was just interested but if you would rather not say then that is fine. |
I think its pretty obvious from my numerous posts on here where I'm coming from. I don't think it would take a Sherlock Holmes to figure that one out. But with some people you just don't know
Cymro
The bonus point works by scoring X amount of tires in a match, so you can get 1 point even if you loose. Thats how I see it anyway.
Congal
| Cymro wrote: | | The bonus point works by scoring X amount of tires in a match, so you can get 1 point even if you loose. Thats how I see it anyway. |
Right O Cymro. Got it, Cheers.