Another good day for the windiesWell the windies made it through to the super eights after winning the match against Zimbabwe today. They still have to play Ireland on Friday and I would like the Irish to do well. As Bangladesh and Zim have improved so much I think its time for others to step up now and work toward a test ranking.
Re: Another good day for the windies | Babygael wrote: | | Well the windies made it through to the super eights after winning the match against Zimbabwe today. They still have to play Ireland on Friday and I would like the Irish to do well. As Bangladesh and Zim have improved so much I think its time for others to step up now and work toward a test ranking. |
Yeah, how do you think you will cope against the giant killers BG? Good news about getting through to the super eights.
Unfortunately Scotland will be on their way home after their next match as they got well beat by SA today. Hopefully they will sign-off with a win against Holland. See if Watson can repeat Herschelle Gibbs' 36 in one over
I hope Scotland beats the Netherlands although I feel for them,they and Bermuda have had the worse experience to take back home.But at least they now know what to aim for next time!
How will the windies cope against the giant killers......well that would depend on if the players put in the effort .They have beaten them before and its really up to them,they certainly have the ability to do so. But I'm not holding my breath a good fight to the end would be good.
Meanwhile as I have said on the other thread,the big talk is not who will win but what really happened to Bob Woolmer!! There are all sorts of speculations, and the post mortem was inconclusive.
| Quote: | | Meanwhile as I have said on the other thread,the big talk is not who will win but what really happened to Bob Woolmer!! There are all sorts of speculations, and the post mortem was inconclusive. |
Yeah, there is big speculation over here as well about how his death came about.
RH this morning they reported on the radio just now,that a senior Police officer said they found a bone broken in his neck, as If he had been strangled by someone late that night or early the same morning.
I read lately from Tony Cozier that 26 years ago a similar incident happened when Ken Barrington,one of England's finest batsmen,then the team coach,died in his hotel room in Barbados the night after a traumatic day for England.
It looks like murder now for sure! I'm not surprised after hearing the conditions he was found in anyway,the Pakistan Team has been questioned and finger printed and the Windies and Irish teams will also be questioned.I also heard someone was arrested??? As these two are playing a match this morning I wonder how it will affect (if at all) play.
Although I support the windies most of the time,I secretly wouldn't mind to see a win for Ireland or at least a real ding dong battle! I shall be glued to the TV for sure today!
It said on the news today that someone had been arrested. Possibly in the USA?
I heard that he was just about to spill the beans on match-fixing etc was that the motive behind the attack or was it because they got put out of the tournament in the opening stages?
On a slightly less serious note, Scotland exited the tournament yesterday with a pathetic display against the Netherlands. Got bowled out for a pathetic score and failed to bat much past 25 overs.
I don't know what your TV coverage is like over there, but over here, unless you have got satellite TV, it is terrible. The highlights of the game were not on until 12.25 last night. Having to get up for work at 6.30, I decided to give it a miss!
Winning in style BG!
A six to win it!!!
Fantastic
And a six it a was RH!
I was very disappointed over the match between Scotland and the Netherlands I was hoping they would have taken a leaf out of Irelands book.
With the coverage here,they have one match (ball by ball coverage) on CMC Caribbean broadcasting Cooperation (TV), and the others by radio according to perceived importance. Windies matches tend to be shown,usually! This is on every day.Then you can get them all on channel TV.
On a more horrible note, I missed the latest up date on poor Mr.Woolmer today,so far anyway,but they were saying that the deed was most probably done by more than one person as he was a big guy and it would have been hard for one person to have strangled him. that he must have known who it was ,as he let them in to his room, there was no sign of a break in. nor was anything stolen.
Apparently the popular reason (PURE SPECULATION) for his murder is match fixing.He was going to write an autobiography or some such when his time as coach ended. I guess someone had a contract out on him when that time arrived,he must have had some damaging info, for them that is! Other than that, a REALLY pissed off fan?
Apparently, the police have got hold of some CCTV footage. Let's hope the killers get caught. Saw that the Pakistan team were allowed to fly home today.
Only a less serious note - rain in Trinidad???!!! What's that all about BG? Thought there was nothing but blue skies with the sun splitting the trees
Hey RH,yes the Pakistani team flew home. And yes they were checking the CCTV footage at the Pegasus Hotel http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20070325/lead/
Sorry RH but pepetual blue skies is only in the imagination!! When the hurricane season is here, and there is a tropical storm passing through,you can just see your hand in font your face for rain!
More updates from jamaica about Mr.Woolmer's murder.
http://www.jamacia-gleaner.com/gleaner/20070326/lead/lead2.html
There will be more 'murder' tomorrow I'm afraid when the Windies meet Austrailia in Antigua! Och weel,in for a penny!!!
Start of the Super-Eights! Are you hopeful of the West Indies getting through BG?
Hopefull RH? yes, They have beaten the Aussies already and if they bowl like Holding and Marshall,field like Jonty Rhodes and bat like Brian Lara of old,sure I'm hopefull!
Actually I am REALLY looking forward to the match starting in about half an hour from now,9.30am.
It is going to be hard to win from this position BG. But a double century from Lara should see you home
Yes well who said it was going to be easy!
300 balls to be bowled,323 or so runs to get hmmmnnnn
I don't think Lara will feature short of a major miracle,he just hasn't showed up to any of the matches yet! Look at his feilding yesterday,awful!
Tiger is batting well and samuels,Gayle is due a big one soon.hope it's today! Sarwan is out of kilter too,Bravo can make a good forty or so runs and if the luck of the Irish goes Smithy's way, he can blast a quick fire decent score,other than that......they're TOAST!
Lara showed up today BG as did Ramdin. Pity the others never though
Yup RH,TOAST! Did you see that Malinga getting four wickets in four balls feat!! Brilliant ! But South Africa lost all of those wickets and still won! I saw someone in the crowd posing as an Inzamam al Haq look-a-like.The camera zoomed off pretty quickly though! But it was very good,it made me do a double take! I wonder if people suspect him??
| Babygael wrote: | | I saw someone in the crowd posing as an Inzamam al Haq look-a-like.The camera zoomed off pretty quickly though! But it was very good,it made me do a double take! I wonder if people suspect him?? |
People can't suspect him! Have you seen him between the wicket? He would never have been able to run away on time
Point taken RH LOL! Which sort of reminds me about a comment just made on the radio here about Bermuda going home today,something about "all those fat people running around the cricket field" No tact or diplomacy around here!
Today is another match with NZ, hope they do better this time around!
| Babygael wrote: |
Today is another match with NZ, hope they do better this time around!  |
Oh dear BG. It's not fair though, expecting you to play 3 days in a row. Looked good when NZ were 36-2, but it was always going to be a tough score to defend
Well that match was one big cringe the kiwi's are a good team but the Aussies are like a roaring Lion! I have a feeling it will be down to them and SA? I'm glad the final will be held here but I probably watch it on TV.
Here's Malinga's four wickets
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvocnlHfcWE
Quality
well no one can say this CWC has been without its moments ......and that's so far! But I say again,I have never seen a cricket team so well 'butch' for the want of a better word as the Aussies are now! I even heard a commentator say that he thought their present training regime as being excessive,before and after a game.
I feel they will win, they are setting a new precedent for cricket and it must be recognised and sought after, they are simply awesome.
I much prefer Freddie Flintoff's training regime.
Ten pints of lager followed by a bit of splashing around in the pool
you have a point there RH , well except for the near drowning! Can you imagine if he had of!! I think matches resume next week? The windies team and management are getting a mauling from the public, Joel 'Big Bird' Garner wants everyone sacked! And I do mean EVERYONE! I guess its curtains for The Aussie coach Bennet King and what will Lara do? Hmmnnnnnnnnnn
See Engerland got beat by Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka are dark horses in the competition.
Wonder how long it is before Vauhgan gets the boot as well? Who do they bring in though? Strauss? Flintoff ?
Not many to choose from.
I wouldn't have betted on England beating Sri lanka to be honest,though I do feel sorry for them, I thought they had a better chance in the competition than they have displayed. I like Vaughn personally but I think Freddy has blown his chances,so I would go for Strauss as Captain should MV get the boot!
A lot of people are going to get the boot by the time its all over,they have been calls for the resignation of Minister for Tourism in B'dos. and also moaning at the high ticket prices. Nothing unusual there, everything in this region costs an arm and a leg.
Well whatever the outcome,I still can't get over the Irish! LOL! And also how much Bangladesh have come on.That is at least a positive!
OH YES BABY!!! can you imagine Bangaldesh beating the No.1 rated team in the world, South Africa!! OMG!!!
And now I am listining to the match between oz and englantshire!! The sassanach are representing themselves themselves alright!! Weel so far At this moment pointin NEARLY got the finger!!!! Go baby!!!!
Go Poms!!! Hayden...be gone !!!
Oh my! The Aussies need 63 more to win from 63 balls.....with eight wickets in hand!
This apart, I have to say that the engerlish are chatting about Mathew Hogart who saw a rat in his hotel room in Antigua,as if this is a big deal!! Now they are talking about Goats!! Just because they can't walk about and pick a fruit off a tree,or ask a stranger for one or two off theirs! The concrete fekkers! Their whole life is regulated by the Government, doesn't mean others live with such restrictions!!Plus it's the Tropics! The fekkers cannae expect not tae come into contact with the wild life!
Now they are going on about 'Gravey' but so many of the male engerlish fans dress in their, as a Kiwi commentator put it ' Only the engerlish would put on his wife's dress and go to cricket!!'
The sacrasm is not lost on the West Indians!! Indeed, these poor engerlish fekkers try to make out that they are the leading lights in the world..... wot aggorance!!
Rassssberrrrry 's
Just venting due to the commentary
They have to win the rest of their matches now and hope that other results go their way to get into the next round now.
enjoy the flight home
Well not far to go anyway RH, I have just listened to the last ball of the match and well thats it for the Windies for this WC,they still have two matches here though so I may go to one.
I might like to see the Irish v Austrailia game here in B'dos,see if there are any tickets left!
| Babygael wrote: | Well not far to go anyway RH, I have just listened to the last ball of the match and well thats it for the Windies for this WC,they still have two matches here though so I may go to one.
I meant Engerland BG!!!
Shame that the Windies couldn't get through. This will probably be the last we see Lara.
Sorry RH, you did mean Engerland!!
Lara and the rest too!! Oh dear! Some folk want them all gone, but still people tend to forget that the windies are not professional players,just like the saltires,Ireland etc.Well maybe lara being the exception, these guys have jobs and have to fit in their training when they can. I think too much is been expected of them under those circumstances, the game has got more and more sharper for want of another word these days. The Aussies for example,have all the latest hi-tec training methods and all the support systems in place and it shows.Its the only way to compete sucessfully in todays cricket IMO.
The irish are having a baptism of fire against the aussies on a fast bouncy pitch in Bim, the score at the moment is 33 for five in the 11th over!
I think I'll turn on the telly
Looks like the Windies are signing off with a win BG
Yes it does RH...finally! I thought they had to play England still? Don't they?
| Babygael wrote: | | Yes it does RH...finally! I thought they had to play England still? Don't they? |
Well, you will be signing off with another win
well RH another win would be nice especially against the 'Old enemy' as the engerlish are known here too (true!) especially as the windies will be in England within a few weeks after the world cup!
Tomorrow The windies play england right here in sunny Bimshire,the last match of the super eights. Its also the day where Brian Lara announces his retirement from International cricket and apparently in all forms. So I will have to watch that game for sure,wish I had bought a ticket now!
That was an unfitting way for Lara to end his career.
Nice to see the England players show him the respect he deserves though and give him the Guard of Honour (is that the right phrase?) as he walked onto the pitch.
Hi RH, yes it was a bit of a surprise to hear Lara was resigning from all forms of the game on the international stage, apparently what prompted it was the fact that he wasn't chosen for upcoming tour to England in any capacity . I thought the game was very exciting but I must confess, I did have to reach for the kleenex!! It is the first time in decades that the windies will be without at least one superstar in the team!
And this morning in the news, I heard bits of a report from a Minister here saying that for a while now certain test playing nations have been purposefully doing their best to undermine windies cricket so that they never become a world force again.What I do know is, that the English stopped inviting west Indies players from playing in county cricket, which has been the case for many a year now. They continue to contract others though!
Apparently Lara is throwing a big party on Saturday and apparently, US $150.00 buys an invite! Better yet, he's staying just up the road from where I live in a Plantation house. I'm tempted!!
Took these piccies from my TV LOL!