Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Ron Blanco

Poindexter

I came across the word "Poindexter" recently. I believe the word is a suitable description for a lot of people who use internet message boards. Do you agree?”

poindexter n. [1980s] (US teen) an intellectual, bookish person.
[play on POINTED-HEAD]
pointed-/pointy-head/pointhead n. [1960s+] (US) 1 a fool. 2 an intellectual.
[both terms are derog. and suggest that an excess or an absence of brain lead to a 'pointed' head]
From Cassell's Dictionary of Slang (1998) by Jonathon Green

No.
Ron Blanco

I was born using the venteuse method and have been left with a slightly pointy head, so I think I fit the bill nicely... provided we drop the requirement to be intellectual.
Stiubhart O'Daighre

Ron Blanco wrote:
I was born using the venteuse method

Me too! But I wouldn't say I had a pointy head, fat or baw would be a better descriptive term Laughing

not an easy delivery Shocked

I traced poindexter on dictionary.com and it led to a computer nerd

regards

Carol
Ron Blanco

Thank you Carol but I am now totally confused - one definition relates to "having a pointy head" whereas another says "computer nerd". Who are we to believe?

I think it is such a good word that we should all try our best to use it in a positive way e.g.

"The thing I like about you Ron, is your poindexterity"

If we all did this then the Dictinary bods would soon drop the old-fashioned meaning,
Stiubhart O'Daighre

OK, I think that this phrase was coined as a put down to nerds. In the animated series of FELIX the CAT the professor’s genius nephew was called Poindexter. He is full of high-tech jargon and is very sarcastic with it. So high school kids in the states called people Poindexter as a direct replacement for nerd.

Ron Blanco wrote:
"The thing I like about you Ron, is your poindexterity"

Laughing pointy whit Shocked

now I need to go away and visualise you nerds behind your keyboards

Rolling Eyes

ok is it greasy hair, baldy bacon, or spex Shocked

regards

Carol

oops Stiubhart sorry didn't mean to be ignorant, my mentality doesn't stretch to Felix the Cat, don't think I've seen it, my intellectual levels Bill and Ben and Andy Pandy Rolling Eyes

regards

Carol
Ron Blanco

Putting the pointy head aspect to one side for a moment and relating this back to my original message - am I being a bit nerdy by spending time chit chatting on this forum?

Part of the reason I am here is that I have got rid of my telly, so I have quite a lot of spare time now - but I have to ask the question: is this a better use of my time?

You mean to say they have TV's in Orkney Shocked Just a coincidence I know a guy from Orkney who I would maybe describe as a bit nerdy, probably cos he works in the IT field.

Is a nerd just a male thing? I would never think of a female as a nerd Rolling Eyes and my kids have never described me as one Shocked

Personally I see forums, chats etc more of a social thing than being a nerd Shocked there is an opportunity to get out and meet folk as well, on-line dating, friends re-united etc

There is more to life than just sitting in front of a box even if you are replacing one for another

Talking from experience depending what you're using the pc for a lot of unecessary hours are wasted on it

regards

Carol
Stiubhart O'Daighre

carol wrote:
I know a guy from Orkney who I would maybe describe as a bit nerdy, probably cos he works in the IT field.

What kind of crop is the IT Question I assume it's some sort of grain, no Rolling Eyes

Shocked maybe it's a grain brain Wink

Ron's an expert on PD awareness ok when's a nerd not a nerd Wink

Carol
Ron Blanco

Q. When is a nerd not a nerd?
A. When he's un-nerd of !!

Oh dear. Shall I get my coat?

Very Happy now that was good

remember to get dressed before you put your coat on Very Happy

Carol
Ron Blanco

carol wrote:

Is a nerd just a male thing? I would never think of a female as a nerd Rolling Eyes

Personally I see forums, chats etc more of a social thing than being a nerd Shocked

I think you're right on both counts, Carol.

1. Why is it that nerds are always male? The word "poindexter" would never be so sexist.
2. Chatting on the internet IS better than watching telly. It's another form of socialising, rather than just passively soaking up TV stuff. It's also cheaper than meeting at the pub and does not lead to a hangover.

Ron Blanco wrote:
It's also cheaper than meeting at the pub and does not lead to a hangover.

got a bit tipsy with wine, msn, forums etc before Shocked

calmed down a bit now Wink

Carol
Ron Blanco

Stiubhart O'Daighre wrote:

Me too! But I wouldn't say I had a pointy head, fat or baw would be a better descriptive term Laughing

Stiubhart. I like the word "baw", but I am already committed to promoting the word "poindexter". Nevertheless, would you mind if I referred to you as "baw-head" from now on?

it's bawheid you numpty Shocked lol you guys are nuts (no disrespect to any part of the anatomy Razz )

stewpot sounds better Razz

Ron is your life that boring that you have to go around raising the awareness of the word PD?

ps never came across a traffic warden that likes tap dancing Very Happy

before I dig a deeper hole are you male or female Rolling Eyes

Carol

Oh dear .... Carol's found herself a boyfriend! Possibly two. Poindexter 1 and Poindexter 2.

Brainy people? Well, there's the start of an nerd of them on this thread!

BA the matchmaker?

Shocked one's enough thank you Very Happy and he's not a cyber one

could easily visualise you being a bit of a nerd, you seem to be a bit of just about everything else

have a good day BA Wink
Ron Blanco

Blackadder wrote:
Oh dear .... Carol's found herself a boyfriend! Possibly two. Poindexter 1 and Poindexter 2.

Sadly, having discovered my secret internet companions, my pointy-headed, poindextere girlfriend feels that there has been some flirting going on. I am now forbidden from chit-chatting with Carol any more. But I seek solace in the hope that perhaps the pressure of my girlfriend's thumb upon my pointy head will restore it to a conventional head shape.

Adios

you lot taking the pi** here Laughing

shame I was enjoying the thread

couldn't imagine a nerdy tap dancing traffic warden from Orkney being genuine Laughing

have fun RB

Carol

Don't worry Carol. This Poindexter is a fake. We'll find you a REAL Poindexter with no interest in women and you can fall hopelessly in love with him instead!

My grandmother WAS Victoria Annabella Margaret Aphrodite Blackadder nee Stewart, who started off these dating agencies in the 20s. I think I inherited the "cupid" gene from her.

can't imagine you being a cupid Shocked

also think the fake PD is a cardboard cut out of you Confused

got a man in my life thanks Very Happy

have a good day Wink

Carol

Hit a nerve there I think!

aye right Laughing

Carol

I did !!! I DID hit a nerve!!!! Smile Smile

I'm as cold as ice, no nerves Wink

Carol
macnumpty

Blackadder wrote:
I did !!! I DID hit a nerve!!!! Smile Smile

But did you thaw a puddy tat?

I tawt I taw a puddy tat
A twitting up a twee
I did ... I taw a puddy tat
At big at big could be ...

O yeth you thaw a puddy tat
A thitting up a tree
You bet you thaw a puddy tat
That puddy tat is ME!!

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads