Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

What song are you listening to right now?.........

Saw this sort of thread working on another messageboard -

I'm listening to:

Elbow - 'Forget Myself'

glasgow_dave

Just listening to

Kaiser Chiefs - 'I Predict a Riot'

what a tune! Cool

David Gray - Life in Slow Motion - nice melody

Grandaddy - I'm on standby. Nice tune Smile .
andreimack

Editors: Munich album is The back room 7/10

Green Day - Time of my life Wink
saltire1320

Listening to the Declaration of Arbroath song from my Tartan Army CDs. Great Stuff!!

At the moment I'm listening to Feumaidh Sinn Ruith by Mill a h-Uile Rud. Gaelic punk-rock Very Happy

Counting Crows - Mr Jones

Absolute quality Cool
murison1967

Just watching Franz Ferdinand live on MTV. THIS FIRE
Abieuan

Bagad Kemper.....the best pipeband in the world?

I've seen them live in Glasgow -what a show.
Kevin Barry

The Chieftains feat. Sinead O'Connor - Foggy Dew

Great Track!!!

Next on my playlist: Dubliners - Skibbereen

lisdoonvarna (live version) chritsy moore

ooooooooohhhh lisdoonvarna.
Kevin Barry

Irish Brigade - Reverend Ian Laughing Laughing Laughing

'...He looked under his wife's bedclothes for he was so bold and the knickers she wore they were green white and gold' Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

Goon on ya Paisley you old troll!
Nina

Wild mountain thyme - Andy Chung Smile

Have you seen Andy Chung play before Nina? I was meant to see him at the Hebrides bar in Edinburgh the other week but couldnae make it. One of my pals went and said he was fantastic. Definitely try and catch him next time.
Nina

No SLG I havenae. But I can imagine him to be good. He is a fantastic singer. I hope I can catch one of his gigs once. Here or in Scotland, he definately needs checking out Wink We had a festival this weekend in the city where I live, and it was a Dutch folk festival, but it was a very weak cup of tea compared to Andy Chung Crying or Very sad

Now I am listening to the Cockney Rejects - I am not a fool Laughing
True Scotsman

It depends. I listen to one band & the next I listen to another so it really depends.

m

Biggie Smalls - get money

This morning I was listening to the They Might Be Giants album "flood" and Billy Braggs version of Blake's jerusalem.

Prince - Purple Rain. Confused

.....well, it's on e4 music anyway!

Los Fastidios - Antifa Hooligans
Nina

rs_azzuri wrote:
Prince - Purple Rain. Confused

.....well, it's on e4 music anyway!

AAh Azzuri, that isnae so bad Wink

I am listening to the Dropkick Murphys - Black Velvet Band Laughing

I ended up at a Dropkick Murphys concert once. Didn't exactly choose it as such, but can't say I didn't enjoy it a bit.

At the moment my PC is silent - I'm playing a Kinks LP and listening to Waterloo Sunset...

Ahm listinin' tae "infected mushroom" by Jeenge, yew might think ahm jokin' but it oan SKY Ambient chill oot' streaming Radio.

BG Basketball smurfin

I think you mean "Jeenge" by Infected Mushroom Razz

I've got a couple of CD's by Infected Mushroom - Israeli psychedelic trance, good when you're in the mood for that sort of thing Cool

Ah thought you'd niver spot the dileberate mistake!!
Mr. Green

BG
Nina

Listening to Wah Do Dem by Eek-A-Mouse Laughing

j

Listening to Wah Do Dem by Eek-A-Mouse

Classic - "one by one load up the van"

I was listening to "The Score" by the Fugees but now I'm looking for my Eek-a-Mouse album. Laughing
Nina

How is it possible!! Another Eek-a-Mouse fan Laughing Cool
Good taste Rinty!

cosmic rough riders_ "value of life"

" BE STRONG" Sizzla

Ah got it right this time SLG! sunny Cool Ah hev' niver heard ae Infected Mushtroom 'afofe!

BG smurfin

g

Sloop John B - Beach Boys

The Business - Suburban Rebels

Nina wrote:
No SLG I havenae. But I can imagine him to be good. He is a fantastic singer. I hope I can catch one of his gigs once. Here or in Scotland, he definately needs checking out Wink We had a festival this weekend in the city where I live, and it was a Dutch folk festival, but it was a very weak cup of tea compared to Andy Chung Crying or Very sad

Just to make you jealous Nina... I saw Andy Chung at the Hebrides last night. Fantastic music and the banter between the songs was great Very Happy . Think i might have to become a regular there on the Thursday nights Wink
Nina

SLG wrote:
Just to make you jealous Nina... I saw Andy Chung at the Hebrides last night. Fantastic music and the banter between the songs was great Very Happy . Think i might have to become a regular there on the Thursday nights Wink

There! You've done it. Damnation, I miss all the fun.
I would challenge you in a person to person fight, just to get rid of my frustrations. I'll get my clogs.... Laughing Laughing
Well...i have finally found somebody who will accompany me to the Scotfest tomorrow. I'll have my go Twisted Evil

Hey, no need for fighting - especially if clogs are allowed Shocked Laughing

Scotfest will have to do you... will there be anyone there we've heard of?
Nina

SLG wrote:
Hey, no need for fighting - especially if clogs are allowed Shocked Laughing

Scotfest will have to do you... will there be anyone there we've heard of?

Well SLG you willnae believe it, but just after I posted this one, the friend who was going to accompany me, cancelled. I will kill him slowly and painfully after I stopped crying PDT_Aliboronz_14 Cause I will not go alone.

No, the pipe bands are all from Belgium, Germany and Holland, as are the highland dancers Shocked Rolling Eyes There are a few Scottish music acts though... I will miss the whole damn thing Crying or Very sad

j

The absolutely classic La's first and only album. If you've never heard it - buy it now and play it loud.

Nina wrote:
Well SLG you willnae believe it, but just after I posted this one, the friend who was going to accompany me, cancelled. I will kill him slowly and painfully after I stopped crying PDT_Aliboronz_14 Cause I will not go alone.

No, the pipe bands are all from Belgium, Germany and Holland, as are the highland dancers Shocked Rolling Eyes There are a few Scottish music acts though... I will miss the whole damn thing Crying or Very sad

That's terrible news Nina Sad I hope your friend had a good excuse! I hope killin him will cheer you up a bit Laughing

Is this the only event like this throughout the year? You'll just need to get yourself on one of those cheap flights to Scotland and see the real thing!

Rinty wrote:
The absolutely classic La's first and only album. If you've never heard it - buy it now and play it loud.

Fantastic album. I usually skip 'there she goes' - bit bored of it after hearing it so much. The rest of the album's great though. Do you know what ever happened to them?

U.K.Subs - Warhead

h

Of the classsic "there she goes" line up John formed "Cast" Chrissy ended up being Robbi Williams drummer as well as the Lightning Seeds, Lee went a bit mad, the others just drifted out of sight I think.
Nina

SLG wrote:

That's terrible news Nina Sad I hope your friend had a good excuse! I hope killin him will cheer you up a bit Laughing

Is this the only event like this throughout the year? You'll just need to get yourself on one of those cheap flights to Scotland and see the real thing!

Ach... you are too kind SLG, sympathising with me Laughing I did not kill him yet, I will though...soon, when he leasts expects it Wink
I've been to the Scotfest though, just returned now. I wanted to go there badly so I went alone. Been in the pissing rain, cold to the bone and seen many many pipebands and a couple of highland dancers, and some second rate bands from Germany and the Netherlands. Furthermore, there were some fake Scottish goodies (made in England Shocked Rolling Eyes ) and a guy selling smelly haggis and rolls. There were also heaps of Dutchmen walking around in fake looking kilts (How do I know they are Dutch, I hear you thinking.... Well, because them guys were tall!! Surprised )
All in all I would say....Yes, definately time to come over again and see the real thing Wink
Nina

Re: j

Rinty wrote:

Rinty what type of music is that?

Listening to Pretend we're dead. L7 Laughing
Leathlaobhair

The Real McKenzie's rendition of The Bonnie Banks o' Loch Lomond is pretty good so far.

h

http://www.geocities.com/The_Las/

Its the best type of music Nina, the good stuff.

The LA's paved the way for the stone roses and others.

Glad you made it to Scotfest Nina, even if the weather was crap. I hope it was worth it Wink . Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

Rinty wrote:
John formed "Cast"

Ah, forgot about that. Bought their first album, thought it was pretty good. They got a bit crap after that though.

y

Friends of mine did a couple of tours with them in the late 80's, so I was lucky enough to see them a few times.

In the film fever pitch from the Nick Hornby book they use "There She goes" as the main them and it is based around arsenal winning the league in the last minute against Liverpool.

The night that happened I was at a LA's gig watching the game backstage with them and their arsenal supporting record company. I had always associated that song with that match, turns out so did the director of the movie, I always wondered if he was at that gig!
Nina

SLG wrote:
Glad you made it to Scotfest Nina, even if the weather was crap. I hope it was worth it Wink . Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

There's plenty SLG, yet I guess they are all more or less the same, if you catch my drift Wink
http://www.thespiritsofscotland.be/Links/beurzen.htm

Rinty, I checked their music out. Must say I like some of their songs Laughing

SLG wrote:
Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

I got telt thaurs a rubber clog flinging event o which Nina is the current rubber clog flinging champion,shes tae humble tae tell ye though. Twisted Evil

Listening tae Blitz- Voice of a Generation
Nina

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:

I got telt thaurs a rubber clog flinging event o which Nina is the current rubber clog flinging champion,shes tae humble tae tell ye though. Twisted Evil

Wolf... I have sat here for 5 minutes thinking about some really smart thing to say, yet I cannae seem to come up with one Crying or Very sad Well... I know your whole clogs-thing basically boils down to................your fetish. Poor thing. I found a remedy for you, look you can sit in it!! Now you can remove the rubber one from under your pillow Twisted Evil Laughing

Listening to Wicked Games - Chris Isaak.

Laughing Laughing I could sleep in yon clog.

Angelic Upstarts - Shotgun Solution
Nina

Cap in hand - The Proclaimers Confused

Sake` passe`.........Krosfyah

Today is Labour day an' thers a big street party goin' oani BogHall

. Heat in de place!! PDT_Aliboronz_24

BG
Firefox

Fight Song - Marilyn Manson

Okay... kind of. I just changed to that from "Sound of the Underground" by Girls Aloud when I decided to post this... PDT_Aliboronz_29

Crazy baldheads "Luciano" Ae Bob marley song.

BG afro
frank rizzo

Seen The La's at the Mayfair (Garage now) around 1990. Met the guys and got the drummers sticks which was nice. Still have them I think!

Still play that album now and again and there's a few crackers on it. Dont know why Lee Mavers hated the recording as it was pretty raw. He was a bit of a nutter mind.

Closest I've seen to that kind of raw 60's beat sound was a band called The Stairs. Quite similar and they had a cracking drummer too.

Cool Grooving aboot tae "Disco Inferno" afro

g

Dont know why Lee Mavers hated the recording as it was pretty raw. He was a bit of a nutter mind.

Lee didnt like it as he was forced to release it when the record company put their foot down. There were better versions of the tracks on that album, including a John Leckie produced version.
Nina

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Cool Grooving aboot tae "Disco Inferno" afro

O my God...it is the end of the world. The Wolf is grooving Laughing To disco music!! Twisted Evil Cool What's with the afro? Shocked

Re: g

Rinty wrote:
There were better versions of the tracks on that album, including a John Leckie produced version.

Have you got them?
Nina

Flower of Scotland - The Corries.
It got stuck in ma ears, all day long Confused

Listening tae Finnigans Footstompers - Smell o Piss

Yer sich ae lovely lad wolfie!! Ah've never heard that wan afore!!

Ahm listining tae Barry White's cd "The icon is Love" Whew!

Is it hot in here or is it HOT IN HERE

BG
Nina

The music of the wolf is legion Shocked Laughing

Listening to Flogging Molly - Kiss my Irish ass Laughing

That wis the last band a wis in Babygael,we waur famous for aboot 30 seconds.

Listening tae Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds -Wonderful Life

Ah'm listin' tae BITCH...Meridith Brooks, Blurring the Edges CD

PDT_Aliboronz_09

Finnigans Futstompers ye say woffie??? sounded fun!

BG
Nina

Tom Waite - Ain't missing you Exclamation
Blackleaf

I'm not listening to any particular song, but I like the Arctic Monkeys -

Madness - You Keep Me Hanging On.

This wan is my ain personal rendition, ae serenade tae ye all !

Haruuuuuuuuuuuuump(clearing throat)

sing " This is mah QUESTTTTTTTTTT
Tae get tae the barrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
nae matter how crowdedddddddddddd
nae matter how farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Put yer honds together peoples fer BG!!

BG
Nina

I don't know that song... Shocked

Dead but not forgiven - Stage Bottles Wink

Babygael wrote:
sing " This is mah QUESTTTTTTTTTT
Tae get tae the barrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
nae matter how crowdedddddddddddd
nae matter how farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Put yer honds together peoples fer BG!!

BG

Gaun yersel BG

Listening tae Eddy Grant - Gimme Hope Jo`anna

An ubhal As Airde........Runrig.

BG dwarf
Nina

Piet Veerman - Sailing home Shocked Confused
The Dutch madness is getting to me Laughing

Wasted Nation - Get Tae f**k

Hai Dutch ,Piet WHO??? ye dinnae like mah toon?? I guess it must hae been afore yer time lass Wink

Woffie lad yer taste in music is very upliftin', ah cannae wait fer the next installment!

I'm listenin' tae " Hemmorrhage" by FUEL CD Something like human

Ah wuid hae put oan "conquering Hero",by Handel but ah dinnae wan tae get yer all riled up!

BG dwarf...had tae move over,dinnae wan' tae get yon smoke in' mah ear!!
wisnaeme

I have just been listening to my good friend Arthur Cormack and Cliar and their recording of Mo Chailinn Dileas Donn( My Brown haired maiden).On the same CD was a recording of Domhnal nan Domhnal(Donald of the Donalds) sung By Mary Ann Kennedy and Cliar. Other favourites are The Glen of Ballachulish sung by Karen Matheson, An Aitearachd Ard sung by Ishbel MacAskill, Mairi MacInnes,Kenna Campbell and on the pipes I have a liking for those three talented MacDonald brothers. On a one off recording called Na h-Eilthirich(The Emigrants) Allan MacDonald makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up by the the playing of his hauntingly beautiful tune. There are many other gifted folk that I like to listen to,too many to mention here.One more that I am listening to at this very moment,Mairi MacInnes singing Fagail Bhornais and my thoughts are far away from this place that I write from. Sad

PS. There is a repeat viewing of Ceol Aig A Chaisteal at 11.35pm on STV tonight,though not as good as the Highland Sessions programme it is still worth listening to again. Smile

Nina

Babygael wrote:
Hai Dutch ,Piet WHO??? ye dinnae like mah toon?? I guess it must hae been afore yer time lass Wink

Baby, It is Piet Veerman... Literally translated it means Peter Ferryman... Makes sense? Laughing Bye the way, he was the singer of the world famous Dutch band the Cats. Far before my time, but my Da loved them Wink

Now listening to: Junkie XL vs Presley - A little less conversation, yep, definately in a Dutch mood these days Cool

Wasted Nation - Get Tae f**k

And yes, the Wolf is taking it too far Twisted Evil Laughing

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues

Hai Dutch,Aye, that maks sense. Yon cats yer say? Ah cannae say ah ken that group!!!! joker Abba wasnae Dutch were they?

Ahm listinin' tae Tom Jones!!! Just havin'yer oan Laughing I am the Highway......Audioslave
Woffie!! Niver mind, Dutch's favorite tune is.. Tulips frae Amsterdam, Ah dinnae ken who sang that!! Laughing were it the sex pistols?? Shocked

Wisnaeme, I wuid love tae tune in tae STV ach ah cannae frae here!

BG dwarf
Nina

No...Abba was Swedish Shocked

Listening to The Cardigans - You're the Storm
(Grrrrrreat lyrics!)

Ta Nina,ah fergot aboot Abba Shocked

Ahm listinin tae "careless whisper"...Wham.

BG

Another Brick in the wall (1994 version) X-LENT!!

BG smurfin
Nina

Good 'ol Rod Stewart - Rhythm of my heart Cool

Concerto for two violins....Bach

BG sunny

Gene Vincent - The Day The World Turned Blue.

HAR HAR Wolfie! Love yer Avatar,the bonniest yet!

Eat S%$E an' bay at the moon.

Ahm listinin' tae...... Regarde-moi....celine Dion

BG
Nina

Raining Blood - Slayer

The Shins - Turn a Square

The Krays - You Bastards

R.E.M.....the great beyond

BG dwarf
Nina

I will rip your heart out and fry it - The Deep Twisted Evil

Dutch,Ah ken what yin im dedicatin'that song yer were playin tae geek
Ah think ahm in love

Alba........Runrig

BG

Mother......Pink Floyd

BG

c**k Sparrer - Watch yer Back

Flower of scotland.......the corries

BG
frank rizzo

Charlatans - Here Comes The Soul Saver.

Patchy albums but got some cracking individual tunes.

Good choice Frank. Love the Charlatans. Not sure about the patchy albums comment though. I think the first four are pretty solid. Not too keen on the later ones... although Wonderland was good.
frank rizzo

All about personal taste I guess SLG. Seen them quite a few times, first being at the Garage (Mayfair then) in 1990 and they've always been a crowd pleaser.

Recent single 'Blackened Blue Eyes' is excellent.

Just seen them the once about 9 or 10 years ago and they were fantastic. Don't think I've heard their new album/single yet... I'll get a hold of a copy soon though. I really though Up at the Lake was pish though, so not been in any hurry this time around.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads