Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football

'Celtic Cup' to start in 2009...

see - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/7114148.stm

Biennial league event to start summer 2009.
jeeves

Absolutely great in my opinion. I guess it will go along the lines of the 6 nations rugby which is normally good to watch. It can only benefit the teams performances in other games (if they don't pick up too many injuries of course). Bit of a shame that England won't be participating but maybe they'll change their minds once its up and running.

What would they call it then?

The Celtic Cup (With England)

Also just thought it could also be good for players as they'll have the chance to show clubs what they can do in a competitive environment.
sgmillerton

i'm just not interested in games against these diddy teams. 2 games against england at the end of each season would attract much more fans, sponsorship, players interest, tv bids. the 'celtic cup' will be the laughing stock of europe.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
i'm just not interested in games against these diddy teams. 2 games against england at the end of each season would attract much more fans, sponsorship, players interest, tv bids. the 'celtic cup' will be the laughing stock of europe.

Well I'd be worried if you thought it was a good idea!

As for your comment about 'diddy teams'. Well Northern Ireland have come on a hell of a lot recently, Republic of Ireland have a huge potential but have fallen recently, still have some brilliant players. Wales aren't as brilliant but I believe with the right attitude can still hold our own - 0-0 against Germany, in Germany proves this.

Not so long ago Scotland lost 4-0 to Wales. So good knows how these teams will be looking by the time this cup does happen.

And you'll have to do it without Big Eck
doodells

I know, pretty dissapointed by McLeishs resignation. Any thoughts on who might be the new boss?
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

As for your comment about 'diddy teams'. Well Northern Ireland have come on a hell of a lot recently, Republic of Ireland have a huge potential but have fallen recently, still have some brilliant players. Wales aren't as brilliant but I believe with the right attitude can still hold our own - 0-0 against Germany, in Germany proves this.

Not so long ago Scotland lost 4-0 to Wales. So good knows how these teams will be looking by the time this cup does happen.

but it's not a good idea. be honest, what makes you salivate more, playing these nobody teams or 2 games at the end of the season against the auld enemy in a 2 leg charity affair type deal.

when i first clicked on this thread i thought they had renamed the spl trophy.
doodells

hehe
Celtic Indian

'Diddy teams' ??? Not so long ago WE were a diddy team.Wales kick our erses 4-0 a few years back.We beat France twice and we think we're world beaters.Try and keep thing in perspective.
sgmillerton

i'am.they are diddy teams.
sgmillerton

parkhead_rfb wrote:
when i first clicked on this thread i thought they had renamed the spl trophy.

why? it says celtic cup, not celtc cup.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

but it's not a good idea. be honest, what makes you salivate more, playing these nobody teams or 2 games at the end of the season against the auld enemy in a 2 leg charity affair type deal.

Most people I've heard from seem to like it. I'll be honest, in terms of away trips (football and rugby) I'd much prefer a match against Scotland or the Republic or Northern Ireland to a trip against England anyday. Far more fun in those trips. Also from my experiences watching Wales play England recently (results aside) they are usually dull as dish water given that no one wants to loose.

And we don't call them the Auld Enemy, far worse things
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

Most people I've heard from seem to like it. I'll be honest, in terms of away trips (football and rugby) I'd much prefer a match against Scotland or the Republic or Northern Ireland to a trip against England anyday. Far more fun in those trips. Also from my experiences watching Wales play England recently (results aside) they are usually dull as dish water given that no one wants to loose.

And we don't call them the Auld Enemy, far worse things

oh right, good, the sfa should not be trying to better themselves by getting scotland to play really good teams but organising games against diddy teams so you can get opissed in dublin or cardiff. yep, scottish football is in safe heands.
Cymro

You asked me which I prefer. I told you. I'm not the SFA. I enjoy watching my teams but I prefer that against others before England.

Wales beat Scotland 4-0 last time we played. Not so 'diddy' then where we. In fact Scotland where to use your words, at the time the 'diddy' team. Now, Scotland have obviously come on leaps and bounds. This has more to do with the attitude in the camp and in Scottish football than who they've been playing. Wales drew 0-0 against Germany in Germany last week. A good result I'm sure you'd agree, a result I'm sure Scotland would have been proud of.

This cup is a good opportunity for all 4 countries to develop a good brand. You in one post mentioned a couple of charity matches against England as your prefered choice. Well in terms of money raising a new tournament against the Celtic countries could achieve that as much.

Think of it as simmilar to the Tri Nations fought between New Zeland, Australia and South Africa in rugby.
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
You asked me which I prefer. I told you. I'm not the SFA. I enjoy watching my teams but I prefer that against others before England.

Wales beat Scotland 4-0 last time we played. Not so 'diddy' then where we. In fact Scotland where to use your words, at the time the 'diddy' team. Now, Scotland have obviously come on leaps and bounds. This has more to do with the attitude in the camp and in Scottish football than who they've been playing. Wales drew 0-0 against Germany in Germany last week. A good result I'm sure you'd agree, a result I'm sure Scotland would have been proud of.

This cup is a good opportunity for all 4 countries to develop a good brand. You in one post mentioned a couple of charity matches against England as your prefered choice. Well in terms of money raising a new tournament against the Celtic countries could achieve that as much.

Think of it as simmilar to the Tri Nations fought between New Zeland, Australia and South Africa in rugby.

you jest of course, 3 games against eire, wales and n. ireland would achieve as much in terms of cash/charity cash. are you kidding, tv companies would be in a bidding war for 2 games against england, the sponship would be MUCH more, the players would be more interested. you'll be lucky to get scotland v wales on itv 6. in fact i'm sure the last scotland v wales games was not even televised live. yeh, a real block buster. a brand? a brand of what? in terms of scotland v england it is nothing.
Cymro

Well dear Sg, you'll find that the Scotland Wales game WAS live on tv. I remember it well. It was on the BBC before Wales' games saddly went to Sky Sports.

In time I do think it can become a decent brand. Yes a game against England would bring in more at this moment in time than between Wales and Scotland. But if this tournament is allowed to develop it can bring in as much if not more money than a one off game or couple of games against the English.

In time I'm sure England will join up, but they at the moment still think of themselves as being too good.
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
Well dear Sg, you'll find that the Scotland Wales game WAS live on tv. I remember it well. It was on the BBC before Wales' games saddly went to Sky Sports.

In time I do think it can become a decent brand. Yes a game against England would bring in more at this moment in time than between Wales and Scotland. But if this tournament is allowed to develop it can bring in as much if not more money than a one off game or couple of games against the English.

In time I'm sure England will join up, but they at the moment still think of themselves as being too good.

brand it what you like but no-one outside these small countries are going to be interested and a lot of folk in these countries are not interested. it will be a monumental flop, your right, england are to ggod and to big to join and can see the writing on the wall. scotland are not to big, just to good.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:

brand it what you like but no-one outside these small countries are going to be interested and a lot of folk in these countries are not interested. it will be a monumental flop, your right, england are to ggod and to big to join and can see the writing on the wall. scotland are not to big, just to good.

Oh and I suppose the rest of the world are really excited by England vs Scotland or Wales are they? Come off it, we like those games because of the whole neighbourly rivalry. It's far from being Brazil vs Argentina, France vs Germany, England vs Germany, Netherlands vs Germany, Italy vs Brazil etc. These are the big games in terms of global international football.

The Celtic Cup though is a good chance for football in Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

It certainly wouldn't do any harm.
sgmillerton

i predict MANY call off's from players not interested.
Cymro

Good for you. Must be nice to be so perfect and being able to criticise anything. Seriously must make life awkward walking round with your head shoved up your own arse all the time. Bit dark and smelly too I'd imagine.

Haha, yes the joy of having a conversation with sGM. I'm sure it's just as painful in real life.
sgmillerton

hmmmmmmmm, what an odd wat to look at someone who has a different opinion to you.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
hmmmmmmmm, what an odd wat to look at someone who has a different opinion to you.

Nothing wrong with having a different opinion. But take a look through most threads you've posted on and then you'll see what the problem is.
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

Nothing wrong with having a different opinion. But take a look through most threads you've posted on and then you'll see what the problem is.

people don't agree with me, whoooooooopee dooo i don't know how i sleep at night.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

people don't agree with me, whoooooooopee dooo i don't know how i sleep at night.

Point missed again. Now what you say Sg (though thats bad enough), it's the way you say things.

Head Arse Up
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

Point missed again. Now what you say Sg (though thats bad enough), it's the way you say things.

Head Arse Up

and your diplomatic skills are shining through on this thread are'nt
they? kettle, black,pot and heid arse up.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:
Cymro wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

Head Arse Up

and your diplomatic skills are shining through on this thread are'nt
they? kettle, black,pot and heid arse up.

Not at all. You came on here and insisted on seeing this as a negatvie idea, you wheren't even debating. You descided that this cup would be a failure despite it being pretty clear that this could potentially work if things go right for it.

Not debating Sg, thats just you being an arse.
agentmancuso

Moderator! Pull the plug!

Aye right enough, this potentially positive thread has turned into a farce.

Thread Locked.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads