Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

Ocean Spray involved in Animal Cruelty

http://getactive.peta.org/campaign/ocean_spray

Injecting mice with toxic chemicals and illnesses to help promote health benefits of their drink.

I don't think it's quite that simple, although Ocean Spray might be funding the research, it looks to me as thought they are funding independent researchers to investigate the general health benefits of certain compounds found in cranberries. Those researchers have then proposed an animal model as part of that research. I'm not sure about the US, but here they would have to apply for ethical approval. If peta have a problem with this research, they might be better taking it up with the regulatory body that approved it.
kathyv

pets's issues in the states are so biased as to be unbelievable at times!
There was one year at a 4-H dog show event here in Oregon, where several peta members went through the waiting areas and opened crates of dogs who were at the show. Kids come from all over the state for events like this and dogs are trained to be in their crates, much like having their own room, anyway, they set crated dogs free, down town in a large city, allowing them to be loose and scared.

Basically they intruded in an area where they had no business, violated people's property, set unknown and terrified animals free and called it fair because it's cruel to pen up an animal. About this same time they were picketing the Portland zoo demanding all the animals there be set free as well.

I wonder where they wanted the lions to go? heeheehee

I also think that sometimes PETA and other organisations take a very simplistic animal testing stance. If animals, in small quantities and only after computer models are found inconclussive, are used in medical research i feel this is justified. However i do agree that animals should not be used in the cases of cosmetic researh, can anyone help me out by tellin me why the makers of a drink needed to test on animals?

They make a cranberry based drink. They want to make claims as to the health benefits of cranberries in order to increase sales. As far as I can make out, they have funded scientists to investigate. The scientists have used many different means to do this, including using animal models. I presume that to get ethical approval, the research would have to have more depth than justifying a drinks companies claims to have health benefits. So they might want to identify compounds that could form the basis for new drugs etc.

Wolfie, tiddles LOVES ae guid mouse supper!!Furthier mair, An dinna discourage the lassie.

SLG, where in the wirld dae ye get all that info?? Or are ye jist a smart laddie??

BG

Babygael wrote:
SLG, where in the wirld dae ye get all that info?? Or are ye jist a smart laddie??

I just had a wee look at ocean spray site where they reference the published research that peta were complaining about. The work they're doing isn't a million miles away from what I'm doing at the moment. Although in case anyone wants to firebomb my house, I'm not involved in any animal testing Wink And wouldn't take any job that required me to be.

SLG ah wuidna want tae fire bomb yer hoose!! Laughing Laughing Laughing

Ah canna imagin daein suich ae thing in ony case!

Fer yer information, ah wis brough up as ae law abidin citizen!

BG

Babygael wrote:
Wolfie, tiddles LOVES ae guid mouse supper!!Furthier mair, An dinna discourage the lassie.

Laughing Sae does ma monster,if a could get some ae they meeces yon Ocean Spray are ersing aboot wi{sorry,i meant that ocean spray are asking others tae erse aboot wi} id hae the healthiest cat in the world,aw fu ae big meece an cranberries.

Here dae ye mind whae used tae say meece?

"I hate those meeces to pieces" he wid say. cat

Here's yet anither tasty treat fer ye!

http://www.collegehumor.com/movies/1692671/

BG Laughing Laughing Laughing

Laughing Hope it turned intae drumsticks an battered his guts oot! Twisted Evil

My pal used tae eat things he wisnae supposed tae,pint tumblers,cigarettes,gold fish and widden tables, im nae sure if he widhae ate wan ae yon though.

Is he still alive???

Indeed SLG!!!! Laughing Laughing Laughing Chef

BG dwarf

Aye hes daeing nae bad tae.I always mind the first time he ate a pint tumbler in a pub an then sterted eating wan ae the widdin tables,we got thrown oot that nicht. Laughing He used tae delve intae fish tanks if thaur wis yin at a party an swally a fish or twa,i always hoped that he wid pull oot a piranha. Laughing
That widhae put a stop tae his high jinks. Fishing

Wal Wolfie ah cuid onderstan ae little sushi here an ae little sushi Chef Fishing ther.Och man, widden tables, glass tumblers?? Next time ahm in toon, ah'l luik fer teeth marks oan the pub furniture!!
An ah'll smile knowingly!! Wink

BG dwarf sunny

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads