one artur boruc!theres only one artur boruc!
Cymro
How do you know? Maybe there are several Artur Borucs in Poland!
Very exciting game yesterday, really enjoyed it. Brilliant win for Celtic and for Scottish football. Boruc did some brilliant saves in the match, and thought Celtic could have scored 3 or 4 goals in the second half. When Vanegoor of Hasselink missed the penalty I did feel that this wasn't going to be their day.
It was one of the best games I have seen on TV for a long time, wish I had been there. MY son was there it says he cannot remember a more entertaining game (he is only 18 though!).
Fantastic result in the end against a very good team who will be one of the favourites for the UEFA cup now.
sgmillerton
it's great for scottish football that the old firm are both in the c/l. i did'nt realise this is the 8th time rangers have qualified for it.
"i did'nt realise this is the 8th time rangers have qualified for it."
Many people forget the walter Smith years and the comparative european success. In 92/93 only 8 teams qualified for the group stages and the top of each group went straight to the final. Rangers finished second in their group and were therefore the equivalent of the semi-finals, also other times that rangers were in the CL at that time was part of only four groups of four, meaning that Rangers reached the last sixteen, something that is now considered a big achievement.
My son showed me yesterday the stats of Celtics home matches in the CL which has them with as good a home record as any team who has ever played in the tournament, the Scottish press tend to concentrate on their away record being one the worst.
If we count 92/93 as being a semi-final then Scottish teams have reached the final of the champions cup/champion league twice (winning it once) and were losing semi-finalists four times (2celtic 1rangers 1dundee utd).
We shouldnt play our achievements down, especially compared to other nations of similar population size like Finland.
Last year Celtic were in the last 16, the year before Rangers were in the last 16.
Rangers have played in three european finals, winning one of them, Celtic also three, winning one, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd also reached finals, aberdeen winning and DU losing. (2 for aberdeen if you count the super-cup)
sgmillerton
ac milan have won more than that. just for a wee bit of perspective.
I thought I added the perspective of comparing it with other countries with similar populations.
Compare the achievements of Scottish clubs in europe with Danish, Finnish or Norwegian clubs gives a better perspective, in my opinion, than one the worlds richest clubs from one of the worlds richest leagues.
the bbc commentary was great watching it back.
as soon as spartack missed the last penalty
"terrible penalty, i could have saved that".
there was another belter as well which i will come back to me later. top stuff bbc get right behind the scottish clubs eh.
sgmillerton
Re: one artur boruc! | parkhead_rfb wrote: | | theres only one artur boruc! |
who said that, lee naylor!
sgmillerton
yes indeed, theres only 1 artur borat. mone the hibees. what a laugh at his expense, those clangers are nearly as funny as when the holy ghoalie from celtc was nutmegged form 25 yards at the world cup lst year.
mans still a legend.
sgmillerton
he is at easter road and ibrox.
you couldnt point to easter road on a map.
sgmillerton
yes i could and i could also have saved those 2 goals (plus the 25yard nutmeg at the w/c) as well.
i can also spell celtc.
Cymro
Seems like he's fairly desperate to leave this summer. Mention that he's looking at getting out the same way as Andy Webster got out of Hearts to join Wigan
I doubt whether he could get out that way and even if he did celtic would get a fee of two years or more of his contract and wouldnt get the pittance than hearts got.
If the interview is correct he is looking for a move in the summer and wants celtic to drop a £10m asking price.
He is a top quality keeper and, though celtic are right to seek a high fee following Gordons transfer, I am sure they would settle for a lot less.
Hopefully we can still persuade him to stay on for a year or two though.
sgmillerton
10 million for a keeper who cannot, under any circmstances, keep a clean shheet in europe or at home for the last year and a half and has the temperamnet of a 10 year old boy. 5 million if celtc are lucky. i also expect the celtc fans to turn on artr borat for his nasty thoughts of leaving.
"keep a clean sheet in europe or at home for the last year and a half"
He hasnt conceded a single goal in home league matches this season.!!! You clown.
sgmillerton
my mistake, he has not kept a clean sheet away from home in europe or the spl for about 18 months. yep, arsene wenger and sir awex fancy a bit of that.not. and he got nutmegged from 30 yards in the w/c.
You are being petty now. Everyone knows he is a good keeper. You may be right that £10m is too much, I already agreed and stated that I think Celtic will prob agree too, but Gordons transfer to Sunderland will have an influence on transfers of keepers to england in short term at least.
No matter how few clean sheets celtic have, most people can see that Boruc reduces celtic's deficit far more often than he causes it.
sgmillerton
well if i had 5 million t spend i would be looking a keeper who keeps a clean sheet away from home and has a good temprmaent.
sgmillerton
and isnae nutmegged from 35 yards (i keep going on but it was hilarious).i'm a bit picky that way.
you might say picky the rest would probably see it as obsessed with celtic. To still be going on about a goal against the celtic keeper in an international natch two years ago for poland sggests a real obsession. Especially as hibs (remember them?) had their polish keeper who made more mistakes in a handful of games than boruc has in his career.
sgmillerton
| Rinty wrote: | | you might say picky the rest would probably see it as obsessed with celtic. To still be going on about a goal against the celtic keeper in an international natch two years ago for poland sggests a real obsession. Especially as hibs (remember them?) had their polish keeper who made more mistakes in a handful of games than boruc has in his career. |
aye, but i know he isnae worth 2 ginger bottles and so did everyone else. art brco is not the issue here, it's the ridiculous price tag. get over it. the nutmeg from 30 yards, comedy gold, pure comedy gold.
AS I said I agree that £10m is too much and I also said that I think Celtic would sell him for a lot less than that, so what it is that I have to get over I dont know.
I cant remember a nutmeg from 35 yards to be honest, I can remember Boruc having a fantastic game against the Germans but their only goal was scored from inside the box, Both Ecuador goals were from inside the box and the goal against him in the last game from Costa Rica, was a free kick from about 20 yards maybe 25.
I believe the low shot went under the wall and through Boruc's legs, dont think thats exactly a nutmeg and I dont think it was that comedic actually. Not after 18 months at least, not unless you are blinded by hatred of celtic.
I would say that a nutmeg is when you pass a player by putting it through his legs and running round him, the free kick taker didnt aim for borucs legs obviously, that would normally just be considered a shot that went through the keepers legs rather than a nutmeg.
sgmillerton
ok, fair enough, the ball went between his legs froma distance of 25 yeards and it is very funny.
IT is funny for rangers supporters.
Personally I dont do that sort of ugly anti whatever team stuff. If a rangers player is inthe world cup I dont hope for him to fail or take enjoyment if they do.
Your hatred of Celtic is such that,a celtic player, not even playing for veltic at the time, makes a mistajke 18 months ago, and you are still going on about it.
It gets worse when your glorifying of the event turns it into a nutmeg and adds 10 yards or more to the shot.
People like you need help to rid yourself of such biggotted hatred.
It's easier for me to say having never been part of the sectarian end of football supporting and I do realise that it is a lifeteime of prejudice that you have there, but it can be done, I've seen it happen and, believe me, you will be a better person for it.
When you chose the name 'trueblue' what do you think makes you 'blue' and 'true' to that blue? I am interested to know.
sgmillerton
we've all read your comments about what is and is not secterian, i thus know you have enjoyed some cheeky secterian banter in the past. you see, the person singning filth is not the judge and jury, it's those who have to listen. becuase you do not think it is secterian does not make it so, and you are the best in the world at pointing such fingers about what is and is not rascist and secterian. it is a 2 way street my good man. if you are gonnae make flimsy accusations, you set the benchmark, expect flimsy accusations to come flying back right at you. but, of course, being a tolerant and liberal socialist you must be right.....................