kevin04
Our Scotland - Christmas drink?Would be a fine chance to meet everyone but I understand we come from all over Scotland and the Globe! Would be a fine night or day out to meet up with some folk on here, anyone interested? I'm not back to Scotland til December 20th but it would be an idea.
Perth maybe? Only as it's near home Anywhere else I'd need to get the last train home
note I'm getting a bit old for bopping
regards
Carol
kevin04
I'm up for Perth, I'm from Carnoustie originally and going back to there for Christmas with the parents so perth is a go-er for me.
it looks like it might just be me and you so far Carol?
ok not everyone is hiding behind a pseudo
don't be shy
Kev you'd need to be chaperoned, not sure how I'd explain to the other half I'm seeing a fella on a night out!
Edinburgh anyone? C'mon moddies some of you're from there, you could always show us the nightlife
regards
Carol
I'd be up for it. Any excuse for a drink
The 21st would probably be my last day at work so could do Edinburgh on 20th or 21st.
Could do Glasgow on any date.
3 so far
come on it may be my only chance of a Christmas drink!
regards
Carol
can I jine ye carol lass??
But ahm worried aboot it being yer ainly | Quote: | | chance of a christmas drink | ?????????????????
Jimbo
| carol wrote: |
Kev you'd need to be chaperoned, not sure how I'd explain to the other half I'm seeing a fella on a night out!
Why not take him with you Carol?
I might be up for this if a suitable date and venue could be worked out to fit in with my work schedule.
depends on circumstances regards kids, also not sure if it would be his scene, he's not a night out on the town guy (not that I'm in the habit!)
BG join in if you can are you heading this direction over the festive season?
Carol
Reckon I might be able to make drinks in either Edinburgh or Perth.
Only bar I know in Perth is the BeeBar, my partner does vocals and keyboard there occasionally, it's stuck in a bit of a time warp, clientel are getting on (even I feel young when I'm there!) ........... one to avoid.
Perth or Edinburgh would do me, most favourable weekend is the one before Christmas, would need to juggle anything else.
regards
Carol
only a suggestion what about an afternoon to evening session? If it's Edinburgh could meet in the lounge upstairs in the Wash (IF use it for meetings occasionally), then take it from there, note partners welcome, although I do suspect mine will stay at home.
Carol
kevin04
Yeah partners etc included as well - more the merrier.
How about the west coasters as well ?
I´m back the 20th December so any night is good for me -
perth, edinburgh, glasgow, wherver you guys think is best for the folks who are interested..
the idea of a afternoon to early evening section sounds good too,
I'm for it, just need a few more bodies ........
regards
Carol
Perth is a lot harder to get to than Edinburgh or Glasgow would be better to suit the more forum members in my opinion.
so Rinty is that a yes?
regards
Carol
its a probably, depending on work, family, date, location etc
cool
agentmancuso
If it's Glasgow, I'll try my best to make it.
wow an opportunity not to be missed
Agent could we nudge you towards Edinburgh? My sense of direction is dire and I've every chance of getting lost in Glasgow
regards
Carol
agentmancuso
Much as I like Edinburgh, it's unlikely to be a feasible option, what with work, children, serious difficulties leaving the pub in time for the last bus etc.
Maybe there should be two polls. One for the date and one for the location. Alternatively, have it all on the one poll. Edin 20th, Glas 20th etc. That will give us an indication of numbers.
Agent it wouldn't matter the location I'd have similar problems, as well as a 10 mile journey from Perth train station, that's why the suggestion of an afternoon to evening session.
RH yep a poll would be the best way forward, re dates 20th is a week day.
regards
Carol
kevin04
As most of us come from all over Scotland probably a early evening - late session is best for the ones who need to catch trains back to their homes,
I´m going to my parents at Xmas and they live in Angus,
I´m up for both options
Ha. I'd turn up to Glasgow or Edinburgh, but I imagine a fight would break out.
kevin04
| Aventinian wrote: | | Ha. I'd turn up to Glasgow or Edinburgh, but I imagine a fight would break out. |
Not at all, I don´t agree with your politics but doesn't mean we wouldn't get along. Come along
Av it would be great to meet both yourself and Agent
ok my preference
1. Edinburgh 2. Glasgow
either Sat Sun 22/23 Dec
afternoon - evening session
I turn into a pumpkin at midnight
regards
Carol
Cymro
Bit far for me. Will be going to Oban for Christmas. Going to Sctland before that for a few drinks before Christmas is pushing it just a little bit. I don't know of any late night trains from Glasgow/Edinburgh to Rhyl or Wrexham, at least none that'll arrive this side of 2010 anyway.
Aventinian,
Och do you really think anyone would pick a fight with you. Course we wouldn't.
What goes on in the forum stays in there anyway.
I don't know if I can manage unless hubby is home, but anyway, the rest of you have a great time if I can't make it and have one for me.
My preference would be
Glasgow
22/23 Dec
Afternoon - Evening
| mairead wrote: | Aventinian,
Och do you really think anyone would pick a fight with you. Course we wouldn't |
Ach, I was only kidding really. I'm sure you're all lovely.
Weel, ah thought .....whit aboot Barbados?? Its warrrrrrm and (tak it fram me).... kens hoo' tae huv a pairty!!
Bit ye canny tak a train, cos' ye wud drown!! ERM... Carol!!
Bit ahm EXPECTIN' Ave!! Ma favorite anglophile!!! Loves yer babes!!
Mairead hen,of course we wud pick on Ave!!! Why noat?? Because he is for the .....ugh union.
YER noat suckin' up tae him......................are ye??
wow BG bril offer cannae take the plane as I'll no fly
RH make sure the last pub's near Queen St train station, as I'll never find my way home
regards
Carol
RH make sure the last pub's near Queen St train station, as I'll never find my way home
There's one in the station
RH if it's anything like Scot Rail it'll be expensive
was looking at Santa outfits today and was thinking have I got the figure for one will need to wear something Christmasy
regards
Carol
BG.
Naw. Nae sookin' up. Just a Christmas Truce :
Aye lassie, weel ave is a spechill guy, so I wud suck up tae him tae!!
OOppps! Did I say that!!
I LOOOOOOVES ave!! He is wan tuff dude!! And a sweetie tae!!
this thread's gone flat, anyone still interested?
I've my eyes on a braw Santa hat
regards
Carol
Jimbo
| carol wrote: | this thread's gone flat, anyone still interested?
I've my eyes on a braw Santa hat
regards
Carol |
Yep.
hey we have life here
ok Jimbo where's your ideal location for a Christmas drink?
RH have you died on me
Kev where are you?
regards Carol
Carol ma sweets, as much as i love ya, leave Jimbo alane!
Dinny make the mistake o' sum an think that just because BG is currently abiding in another country that ...............I'm a vacant lot!!
So hen, hands aff the Jimbo!! Cos' ahm buying him a seasonal drink!!
Onywey, how does yer man at hame deal with yer obsession wi' yer flirtin'??
Carol ma hen??
have you got the hots for Jimbo or have you not
my man at hame has got a gig on tonight, so when the cat's away the mouse will play
me a flirt? never!
innocent as white snow
ok agent I think you're on the list as well, are you still game (if it's Glasgow), Rinty's quiet as well
festive spirit is what's needed
Jimbo
Hi BG,
I shall hold you to that one day.
To one and all,
In view of the fact that we are all well spread out over the country, would it not be best to select a venue somewhere central for those coming from NSE&W. How about Falkirk or Stirling which are pretty much central and easily accessible from all directions (only a suggestion).
I personally don't mind driving for a couple of hours or so and like RH suggests, would find an afternoon or early evening easier to accommodate. Unfortunately the only date I could probably manage due to work commitments would be Sunday, 23rd.
I'm quite happy to go with the flow on this and if I can manage to be there, I shall be.
Cool tending to find from experience Public Transport on a Sunday ie trains are far and few between Sat would be my preference although could still manage a Sunday with a bit of a juggle
Stirling, Glasgow or Edinburgh would do me, Falkirk may need more than one train!
hey BG we can keep a bar stool for you just in case!
regards
Carol
festive spirit is what's needed  |
I think everyone has lost it
Luckily I keep my festive spirit in a bottle.
It's called Whyte & MacKay
thought it was a genie
looks as if the Christmas drink has taken a tumble I've a meeting in Glasgow this Sat, if anyone wants to meet up for a refreshing coffee beforehand let me know
all the best for the festive season
Carol
If you're all intent on going for a drink ... and I promise I won't be joining you, since I have some respect for myself ...may I suggest you all meet up in the Capital of Scotland ...
Warsaw!!!