Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

Our Scotland

I dont know if anyone has passed the Omni centre in Edinburgh recently, but it has a big sticker over the windows that says "Our Scotland" Very Happy
Economist

I saw it! Very nice it is too. Something to do with St Andrews Day, I think.

If I see any sketchy looking characters having photographs taken in front of it, then I'll say hello.

Very Happy

I'll need to have a look next week and mibbe take a photo...
ladyinthemists

azzuri wrote:
I'll need to have a look next week and mibbe take a photo...
If you do take a photo, please post it here for those of us who can't see it in person Wink

Good grief ... what sad lives you peasants lead.

That's what you think. LOL

I have yet to see any reason to change my mind!

You'll never see anything of life till you leave that vast? estate of yours.

Oh I do. I'm just here recuperating for a few more weeks (hopefully) and once I get the all-clear, I'm off to Monaco for a short holiday.

wow I hope the sun shines for you BA  Wink

my dream is to go on the Orient Express

I would only go on a boat or a train, definitely not on an aeroplane  Wink

Statistically, flying is still safer than the others.  Are you afraid of flying?

did it often enough as a kid, across to Germany a few times and Hong Kong.  It doesn't help being reminded (I think I was too young to remember) circling for hours on the approach to landing in HK as the undercarriage wouldn't drop.

Through choice I won't do it now, I don't like it

I can recommend hypnosis. If it can cure Baldrick from eating cabbages ... it can do anything!  You CAN fly again!  But you might think you're a big, floppy-eared bunny.  

It's a decent trade-off.  Go for it!

less of the big  Razz (well wishful thinking  Rolling Eyes )

somehow I don't think I'd trust you to put me into a trance you may just push me over a cliff  Rolling Eyes

How very dare you!  I would never push you over a cliff!  You'll tragically trip over a rock like all the rest!!!! Evil or Very Mad

I'm not worth that much!!  you'd only get a pittance on the insurance a big O  Wink

What insurance? I don't even know you and I "won't" be there when it happens. Baldrick might though.

I don't like flying a great deal either, especially when, just before I am due to go, there is a plane crash somewhere in the world.Off to Germany in 2 weeks for my son's wedding so have to take a plane. Duh.l

You'll enjoy Germany, Mairead. It's full of people just like you ... jack-booted, walk all over anybody, towel-carrying, beach chair thieving, humourless and short moustachioed, thigh slapping, lederhose wearing (and that's just the women!), loud, blonde and probably gay with a penchant for cherry-dipped drinks!

We've never been easy with the German branch of our family. Count Erwin von Schwarzeschlange is a real snake-in-the-grass. He was a bit of a bully at Gordonstoun and I have no reason to beleive he's changed!

You're not taking one into the family are you??  Be wary ....  but then ... you'll probably like them and get on like a house on fire!

We'll just put you in a camp for collaborators when they start the next war!

Oh I've been there before and loved it. Bavaria in particular is very lovely and reminiscent of Scotland.  Yes I a taking a lovely German lady into the family.

Jackboots??? Don't you even know the difference beteen riding boots and Jackboots. Silly you.

Riding boots? Yeah ... that's what they want you to think!!! Until they start marching through France and Poland and Belgium and Greece and anywhere else they think the words "Anschluss" or "Blitzkrieg" will fit.

Bavaria was only ever good for those marvellously cheap wooden sculptures I buy by the tonne and sell for a hefty profit!

Aye, some of these carvings are lovely. Oberammergau has the best I think.

Oberammergau stopped doing them 20 years ago. They're all imported from China now.  In 2010 I expect their Passion play will be perormed in Mandarin.

Get away with you.

Believe me not!  You will find out in due course!

Well I suppose when I look at the foreign tat which passes for souveneirs of Scotland, it will probably be right enough.

See? I am right again! As ever and as always.

Twice is not forever pal.
macnumpty

No, but his gloating about it definitely is. Very Happy

Aye, you are right there MacNumpts Very Happy

That's right ... you two just gloss over all the other times you've been so wrong as you re-write the histories of the boards.

Ach awa wi' ye man. We hae too much going oan tae bother aboot wee mistakes.

To you wee ....... to me glaring faults!!!

ah well, al l things are  in the eyes of the beholder I guess. I just don't take life that seriously.

You will when it creeps up and bites you in the bum. Probably in Germany at that wedding you're going to. You know what Scots are like at weddings and funerals!

Aye, we'll show them how a real wedding goes.  
When my time comes to leave this world my family have their instructions. No weeping and wailing, have a ceilidh in my memory, and the drinks will be on me. Very Happy .

I shall certainly attend that little shindig. Mine's a Guinness!

I'll make sure you get an invite. Unless of course I get a quick call to the great upstairs.

I'll be there anyway to make sure ... sorry ... I meant to be sure!
Celtic Indian

Nothing wrong with flying ! Just don't do it to much !

Well ....... not without a plane anyway! Very Happy

Ah Yes, if only I had wings. Very Happy

Another thing you can blame Claire Rayner for!!!

Now you can't blame her for just everything Very Happy

Yes I can and I do!  You're obviously one of her disciples!

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter