Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

chicmac
Packing it in.As the song says you gotta know when to fold em.
I have come to the conclusion that my online political efforts are not having the effect I would like or at least not as much as merits the effort involved.
Therefore, I'm packing it in for the time being.
May re-appear if and when the referendum gets under way.
So long.
voiceofourown
I'm appalled ChicMac. I have learned a great deal from your posts and have enjoyed your deflating rejoinders to uninformed guff.
I genuinely hope you will reconsider.
Cheers for your contribution to the forum chicmac.
I'm sure there will be loads to discuss next year before we get anywhere near the referendum, not least will the opposition parties vote to have one and what will the wording be.
So looking forward to seeing you back sometime soon.
All the best.
Dave Coull
| chicmac wrote: | | I have come to the conclusion that my online political efforts are not having the effect I would like or at least not as much as merits the effort involved. | Raymond told me a couple of days ago that you had sent a letter of resignation to the Scottish Independence Convention. I don't know anything more about this than what Raymond told me, that you sent a letter of resignation to the Independence Convention. But, if what he told me is correct, that makes me wonder if this is perhaps part of a more general (temporary) withdrawal from political activity, rather than just specifically the online variety. I do understand people have their own lives to lead, and sometimes they have to decide that they have more important priorities. I also understand you have to weigh up whether any particular activity is worth the amount of time and effort it takes. Admittedly it can often be difficult to see any positive results, but, from my knowledge of you, I think you sometimes have a tendency to underestimate the effectiveness of your own contribution. So, while regretting you deciding to "pack it in" for a while, I can understand you wanting to take a bit of a break, but I hope it won't be anything more than that. | chicmac wrote: | | May re-appear if and when the referendum gets under way | There will certainly be plenty for us all to do both online and off then.
chicmac
| Dave Coull wrote: | | chicmac wrote: | | I have come to the conclusion that my online political efforts are not having the effect I would like or at least not as much as merits the effort involved. | Raymond told me a couple of days ago that you had sent a letter of resignation to the Scottish Independence Convention. I don't know anything more about this than what Raymond told me, that you sent a letter of resignation to the Independence Convention. But, if what he told me is correct, that makes me wonder if this is perhaps part of a more general (temporary) withdrawal from political activity, rather than just specifically the online variety. I do understand people have their own lives to lead, and sometimes they have to decide that they have more important priorities. I also understand you have to weigh up whether any particular activity is worth the amount of time and effort it takes. Admittedly it can often be difficult to see any positive results, but, from my knowledge of you, I think you sometimes have a tendency to underestimate the effectiveness of your own contribution. So, while regretting you deciding to "pack it in" for a while, I can understand you wanting to take a bit of a break, but I hope it won't be anything more than that. | chicmac wrote: | | May re-appear if and when the referendum gets under way | There will certainly be plenty for us all to do both online and off then. |
OK one last post to correct this. There are wires crossed somewhere, Sheena and I have not resigned from the SIC we both fully support the SIC, the SIC does a great job. We have not been going to meetings lately which might explain the confusion. However if we think of something that we can do for the SIC then we will get more involved again. Unfortunately the last contribution I made, design of referendum petition cards, was a dud, they hardlly added any signatures.
We have not resigned from the SNP either and are involved at a local level.
The reason I'm quitting political forums is quite simply as stated, a judgement call on return for the time invested. I can put the time to better use in other ways. Its that simple.
They say leave them with a song. So here is one
for the Loyal Press core:
Oh ye canny shove Megrahi on a bus
No ye canny shove Megrahi on a bus
Oh ye canny free Megrahi
And upset Uncle Sammy
No ye canny shove Megrahi on a bus
Ye can let yon Ronnie Biggs oot o' jail
Oh ye can let old Ronnie free
Cause he's clearly guil-a-tee
Singin' We'll still blame the SNP
Whatever way they go
We're here to let you know
That we'll aye still blame the SNP.
Cruachan
All the best Chicmac. "See" you next year.
Shagpile
Re: Packing it in. | chicmac wrote: | As the song says you gotta know when to fold em.
I have come to the conclusion that my online political efforts are not having the effect I would like or at least not as much as merits the effort involved.
Therefore, I'm packing it in for the time being.
May re-appear if and when the referendum gets under way.
So long. |
Now there's a fine thing......... dinnae dae it mate....... You post great stuff wi' links an' a'...... Even if it's one post a month!!!!! I would just request you kindly think again.
What ever......... all the best mate. You are a patriot! Most of us will miss your cunning edge...... let's hope it's not for too long.
Cheers for all your contributions chicmac, see you around sometime.
Celyn
Ah well, sometimes real life has to take over. All the best, Chicmac.
Great wee song there!
kevin04
All the best Chicmac, really enjoyed most of your posts and seem a very decent, open-minded and transparent person.
Hope to hear from you again on here, and possibly next year for that Ref.