Pet Hatesnot my bunnies
ok what pisses you off most? and why?
recently for me it's squeaky bras, I'm sure BA and Macnumpts will know what I mean
seriously it's a nightmare trying to finding what to wear, depending where I'm going at the time.
not even sure what causes it in the first place
personally I hate the damned things, give me my freedom any day
macnumpty
Carol, I know not the whole squeaky bra thing for my puppies are always off the leash.
I have a number of things that annoy me, but I have a particular dislike for slow-walking people. I try to get to where I'm going quickly and I don't like being held up by people who are perfectly capable of adding a spring to their step dithering about and stopping the rest of us from going at speed.
And yet, if I started carrying a whip in public, I'd be seen as the deviant!
What a twisted world!
I only know about unhooking bras!
My pet hate is peasants who don't know their place!
kathyv
Well, to the usual list (Racism, Bigotry, Hypocrisy) I can add neighbors who apparently can't hear their dog barking all night every night.
Alasdair
Currently it's builders who say they'll come around to give you an estimate and then don't bother, or do bother only to never bother giving you the estimate they promised. I mean, what is the point ....
| macnumpty wrote: | Carol, I know not the whole squeaky bra thing for my puppies are always off the leash.
I thought you and BA were into cross dressing!
I don't see the need for them, they're more of a hinderance than anything.
Alasdair with a recession looming you thought builders would be desperate for work!
Another pet hate of mine is those buggies that the disabled and elderly use that go at 5 mile an hour driving in the middle of a road, moreso on a quiet country road where it's least expected! The clothing the person was wearing was camouflaged in with the trees and I nearly didn't see him!
| Quote: | | The clothing the person was wearing was camouflaged in with the trees and I nearly didn't see him! |
Is that the excuse you used to get away with attempted murder?
Carol, are you and your family the original basis for The Hills Have Eyes??
I must be a thoroughly nice person really. Apart from my one gripe above, I don't hate anyone or anything. Dislike to varies intensities , yes .,.. but hate? No, not really!
BA my driving's not that bad he survived!
As for you being a nice person, only in your dreams
My dreams are very often lucid and pleasant, thank you.
Can you say the same, husband-killer???
BA as far as I know my 3 previous ones survived! I'm not a mad axe killer
Never said you were a mad axe-killer! You used poisoned mushrooms, which is why the police impounded your recipes for Mushroom Surprise! We know your exes are buried in the Perthshire hills!
I think they're all alive and kicking (never seen no1 for years)
goodness there's a hill at the back of me, actually more of a hump than a hill, good for cattle grazing, and a Clydesdale and 2 Sheltie's not barren enough for burying
Liver, Kidneys, sheep eyeballs and other spherical objects that once were attatched to animals.
oh I forgot, over here they eat chickens feet, (you can buy them in the supermarket and I ALWAYS enjoy the comments from the tourists when they see them!! ) they cook them in soup as well..... not the Tourist!!
I well remember one day looking into my take out soup container and seeing, och, noat wan but twa feet floatin' amang th' carrots an' onions!
And what was your day like??
Chicken feet soup? Not had that for years ... not since boarding shool. We had all sorts of strange dishes served up. Horsetail spaghetti is not one I'd recommend though.
Horsetail spaghetti, sounds a bit dubious is that strands of horse hair made to look like wriggly things?
Don't ask and I won't have to remember ... or tell!
If you're ever offered it ... Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!!!
anything I don't like the look of I avoid
You don't use mirrors then?
Isn't it nice to leave people speechless!
kathyv
A friends mother used to butcher her own chickens then boil the chicken's feet for chicken stock, then she froze it for later use. When my kids saw this lady throw chicken feet in the pot, I really thought their eyes would pop out! They never wanted to eat at her house again!
I have another peeve. Long stretches of road with no ladies rooms for miles and hours!
Well, what's the point of building these things all over the unspoiled countryside?? What you need are more bushes, hedgerows and clumps of trees. Or don't you do these things outside of a flushable loo??
I have to admit though ... this is one instance where men have an absolute advantage over women .... plus we tend to be completely shameless in whipping it out!
Hey Kath just crouch and do a pee, just watch the jaggy nettles etc
On a serious note It's a pain when trailing around some of the smaller supermarkets etc and they don't have the facility.
See? Bare yer bum tae the elements? Nae chance!!
so it's ok for the male species and not us females?
Bloody mobile phones, especially those that never get answered and go on to an answering service. Grrrrh
Alasdair
never mind mobile phones that never get answered, how about just mobile phones in general. Despicable devices.
Well, I'd agree in principle Alice ... if one hadn't saved my life when I was nearly killed in a car crash not that long ago. They're very much necessary these days. Especially for country folk and lost ramblers!
kathyv
Adding: Men that can just whip it out and don't understand the poor lady who can't find a bushy enough bush on a busy road while dancing the 'dance'. . .
Maybe we should change the cell phone peeve to irresponsible cell phone users? They are good if there is a need, I guess, I don't have one and I don't intend to have one.
I saw this pet peeve yesterday in a restaurant, an English teachers nightmare. "Flavored lemonade; raspberry, cheryy and lime." I had serious doubts about ordering a meal from a place that hires people who can't spell cherry! Plus, it was printed from a word processor, so they can't even do spell check!
Alasdair
| Blackadder wrote: | | Well, I'd agree in principle Alice ... if one hadn't saved my life when I was nearly killed in a car crash not that long ago. They're very much necessary these days. Especially for country folk and lost ramblers! |
Ok. They have their uses ... glad you made it
I'm not sure that they're any more necessary than they were before they existed, although they do come in handy.
As to the country thing ... we can't get a signal where we are in the country. So, as Kathy says, irresponsible and rude mobile users it is ... bastards
I can't get a signal on mine where I stay either Although it has it's uses when we're at the caravan, mine get#s a signal and no-one elses does.
BA although you're a pain, I'm happy that you're here
It would be boring without you
On saying that I could pass you over for Alice
Yes Mobuile phones do have their uses, but when hubby wakes me up playing music on his at 2 am, I get a bit peeved. They are not just phones now, and I'm happy to say I don't have one, and won't have one, and manage fine without one. Can't get signals here anyway.
I have a Samsung D900
This the specs ....
3 megapixel camera with autofocus, flash and 4x digital zoom
Video camera (MPEG4 format)
Display: TFT, 262,144 colours, 240 x 320 pixels
Music player (MP3, ACC, ACC+, e-AAC+ formats) with 3D sound and digital power amp
FM radio (D900i only)
64-voice polyphonic ringtones / MP3 ringtones
Voice memo recorder
Integrated handsfree speakerphone
Messaging: SMS, MMS, email (POP3, SMTP, IMAP4, SSL, TLS)
T9 predictive text
Document viewer for MS Office, PDF and HTML files
Mobile printing via Bluetooth (PicBridge™)
Java games (Forgotten Warrior, Freekick, Arch angel, Cannon ball) plus downloadable games
Flight mode
Personal organiser functions
Memory: 70 Mbytes plus MicroSD memory card slot
Connectivity: Bluetooth 2.0, USB 2.0, TV-Out
WAP 2.0, GPRS Class 10, EDGE
Quad band
Size: 104 x 51 x 13 mm
Weight: 93g
Talktime: 3.3 hours
Battery standby: 260 hours
I have it hooked up to the desk computer most of the time and only remove it when I go out.
But I never have it switched on. After all, I don't go out so people can get a hold of me 24/7. Sod that! It's for emergencies only .... and I hate texting!!!
I've a basic Nokia with no fangled bits and it takes me to work that!
Much like Hubby's BA. And a damn nuisance it is, Grrrrh
I think we're all agreed on mobile phones ........... NEXT!!!
small print on cosmetics, cleaning stuff, other groceries etc. Cosmetics are the worst as you need a magnifying glass to read it
Instructions on how to use mobile phones and other gadgets. It's stupid that they come with such miniscule print you need a magnifying glass WITH your prescription reading glasses!
I can't follow instuctions, and nothing is ever straight forward. Got a gas bbq to build and it won't be me doing it!
Another pet hate of mine is when you go to read instructions and there are none. Just a bunch of wee diagrams.
You also get those with every condom!
Alasdair
I've always felt that if you need instructions to use something, like a phone, then it's not worth having ... these things should be simple.
Even most flatpack furniture should be self-explanatory ... but pisses me off more than anything about instructions is when it's all of a paragraph long but you have an encyclopedic type document written in every language known to man ... and possible some unknown to man too!
Aye Alasdair,
I agree.
Blackadder. Trust you to bring down the tone of the thread. Mamma would be so ashamed of you and anyway if you need instructions on that and don't know how to use one, keep your zipper up.
used to get embarrassed when a youngster when the boys blew them up as balloons
I see they're now freely available at the local surgery, stored behind the loo door!
kathyv
Along with those neighbors who can't hear their dog bark all night let's add who mow their yard starting at 7AM!
Why in the world? I feel like adding lights to my mower and mowing all night, competing with their barking dog all night, maybe they'll hear a lawn mower?
Another: Erectile Dysfunction and Viagra ads on television. And to be fair, Feminine Hygiene ads as well.
pikeys and socialists.
| Quote: | | Feminine Hygiene ads |
All of which are bloody disgusting!
And look ... a pinko commie peasant by the name of madleftie has turned up. Might have fun with him/her when Carol goes off on her honeymoon!
I think madleftie's been exterminated BA, that leaves Margaret, Kath and BG and they'll make mincemeat out of you
Anyway you've a few more weeks of suffering
A song springs to mind
'Will you miss me yeah when I am away'
'Will you hang my picture on the wall'
kathyv
BA Mincemeat pie! lol
back to Pet Hates
Reverse parking between 2 cars after an attempt many a time I've abandoned my car just outside the front door for the other half to park. The neighbours must think I'm nuts
Also an oven with an internal grill (unfortunately it was here before me) had family here for tea the other night and peeked into the oven and thought mmmmmm that steak pie is browning quick, then a few minutes later I smell something burning, looked at my pie and it was black then realised I had it on the wrong setting
Thankfully I had another steak pie in the freezer
Kath I dread the thought of nibbling BA at Christmas! Second thoughts could always add skooshie cram and have some fun
kathyv
skooshie cram, is that a way to flambé? LOL
cream as in whipped out of an aerosal
I'll keep digging
Yes, you do that, Carol. You should be very good at it by now what with 3 exes under various flowerbeds ... somewhere.
only thing that's been buried recently is the cockatiel under the rhubarb patch as well as a few goldfish, and it wasn't me that did it
Carol wrote:
| Quote: | | it wasn't me that did it |
We'll be seeing that in the papers within the year!!!
Hello magazine is calling me
Followed by The News of the World. I contacted them for you. Look out for the headlines ... "Black Widow of Perthshire to wed victim No #4!"
The subheading will read ... "Reluctant Hero" being groomed for husband No. #5"
See how helpful I am?
People really do get the wrong impression about ever-helpful Lord Edmund Blackadder XIV!
Alasdair
I think 'reluctant' might be the operative word there ... unless it's 'hero', in which case it could be carol ending up under a flowerbed!
See how they're ALL catching on to you now, Carol?? I was but the first!
Alice I would rather be pushing up daisies than rhubarb
Celtic Indian
People who drive any of the following :
Porsches
4x4s
Vans
Modified hothatchs
I don't like moths either.Creepy little things
hate cleaning out spider webs. Yeuk, full of wee dead things and THAT gives me the creeps
I use the nozzle of the hoover on spider webs Margaret, I've been known to sook up live beasties as well
Celtic Indian, I hate moths had them in my last house couldn't get rid of them kept finding holes in garments Thankfully they didn't follow me here
I don't like many insects I must admit. Anything with more than four legs is just damn unnatural I think ... and therefore is fair game for the process of elimination.
I will admit to a terrying fear of spiders, due to childhood episodes. I know I shouldn't be upset by them ... but just try telling me that while I run away at 70mph just to escape one.
Another I don't like is ... clowns! I have a cousin who is fascinated by them. Naturally, I don't like him either!
My 15 year old son is terrified of clowns. First sign of it was when we had him in Blackpool when he was younger, we had to avoid the entrance at the Pleasure Beach where the enormous model of a clown stood. He's also terrified of porcelain dolls.
Re: clowns ... your son is in good company. There are many people with this fear.
Clowns are just not funny. When do you think the world is going to wake up to that fact?
I don't know where the fear of the clown stems from, re porcelain dolls apparently he believes evil spirits can be channelled through them. Too many spooky films maybe?
He's seen the Chucky movies obviously!
yep, for a while though he was into the paranormal etc more watching Most Haunted and reading materials etc
The boy's a fool. Have him sectioned immediately!
he's past that phase,instead of ghost hunting it's female hunting
A perverted idiot! Have him sectioned AND put on the Sex Offenders Register! That'll sort him out!
not quite BA
He must need more work then. I can have Baldrick see to him if you like.
Baldrick's lusts are so sick and perverted, they'd knock anybody into a semblance of normality within 2 minutes! What he does with the dogs is best left unsaid ... but a 15 year old boy wouldbe a step up for him. Interested??
kathyv
Blacky, I think it's fascinating that you are pimping for poor Baldrick!
| Quote: | | fascinating that you are pimping for poor Baldrick! |
Interesting that you want to see it that way. But then, you ARE a peasant with the typical rustic's lack of understanding of the scientific need for experimentation by the intellectual classes, represented by my person on this forum!
"Poor" Baldrick is a throwback ... a missing link ... and one that needs study if we are to keep his subspecies in existence. Think of him like like a lone Australopithecine amidst modern man and you're pretty damn close to the truth.
Should we not therefore allow him to mate to see what can be produced ... if indeed it is possible?
A fear of Clowns is actually not uncommon. More people that you would imagine have this fear.
It's a pity you can't have any more children, Mairead. Of all the posters, I would have preferred Baldrick to have mated with you.
Still, if you're up for a bit of fun and don't mind being fimed ...................
Now there is a thought. LOL
You can just about cope with this Mairead, how on earth would you manage with a whole lot of wee maireads giving you gyp.
You really are kidding yourself, aren't you? I have dealt with you easily, on any and every day. A whole cloned army of you is still not equal to only the ONE of me!
Oh Yes!!!! Nae chance of that snakey. I'm too much of a handful for you.
Aye ... jist you keep oan tellin' yersel' that, auld yin!
Quoth the 'Youngster'
kathyv
| Blackadder wrote: | Should we not therefore allow him to mate to see what can be produced ... if indeed it is possible?  |
A word of advice, try to find him a female . . . simple biology after all is the best way to procreate.
Are you offering???
kathyv
Nice try but I don't plan to do your dirty wok for you, and my fertility may be in question at this point!
Don't you have a sister?
| Quote: | | I don't plan to do your dirty wok for you |
I have kitchen staff for that!
| Quote: | | Don't you have a sister? |
And don't for a moment think I'd allow any Blackadder to descend to that level of filth! That's what you peasants are for!
Fair point about your fertility, but that wouldn't stop you doing the deed now, would it? Won't you help a poor fellow human like Baldrick out? I realise there is a question about Balders being a "fellow human" ... but should he go through his life never knowing the comfort and love of a female?
Or is it always going to be the same with you lot? You all "defend" Balders and his "rights" ... but the moment you are asked to be within two metres of him ... suddenly you've all got better things to do!
I can understand that ... but don't talki him up one second ... and then turn away from the poor shambling idiot the next! At least I kennel him!!
Pet Hates
you're off subject
kathyv
I don't know if he's off as much as he's switched it, from Pet Hates to Hates Pet?
And there isn't enough sympathy in the world blacky! LOL
And you still haven't answered my question!
Nice one kathyv. LOL
And you're another one who rebuffed poor Balders many moons ago! So don't you start!
Aye well, I was alreadytaken
Taken? It's a damn shame the aliens brought you back!!!
I supppose you could say I was taken by an alien. Men are of course, aliens who were foisted on this woman's world eons ago, didn't you know that.?
Of course ... we are the only intelligent aliens on this planet!
Which is why you lot have the kids ... to give your smaller brains something to think about ... apart from "Does my bum look big in this?"
Ayr Right, we all know where men keep their brains and it ain't ntheir heads either.
That's why they get headaches when their zipper gets stuck.
kathyv
It's really odd, I think anyway, that men never put on their trousers and ask, "These don't make my Dinky look too small, do they?"