khraeigh
Peter Dow.Is he a sexual pervert?
The self proclaimed "standard bearer?"
Got a PM from him....not impressed.
Firefox
I think everyone got a message from the Psycho National Standard Bearer.
No class...
Everyone knows Heather the Weather is unsurpassable...
khraeigh
| Firefox wrote: | I think everyone got a message from the Psycho National Standard Bearer.
No class...
Everyone knows Heather the Weather is unsurpassable...  |
Lorraine Kelly is the finest piece of 'totty' to ever grace these lands.
Sorry khraeigh, Peter has been now been banned. He had previously posted the same message on the normal forum and had had it deleted and been warned about it. We can only apologies to everyone for his abuse of the board.
Firefox
It's not like he's not good at getting banned. Everywhere has banned the guy. It's an illustrious club.
In fairness though, I don't think it was the board he was abusing as much as himself.
I'm telling you, we'll be seeing pictures of him in the papers at some point when the police find the bodies in his freezer and where his neighbours will be filmed saying: "He always seemed like an oddball" and "I kept hearing him muttering about condoleeza rice and how he was a pole holder."
I honestly think it's better the guy is abusing folk and their opinions on Internet Forums than real people on the streets of Aberdeen. I think there is something seriously wrong with him and would encourage him to seek medical help.
He just went too far. Vulgar language, twinned with the constant spamming of the forum meant he had to be banned - there was no other option. We actually tried to give him a chance here but he blew it.
Celyn
Well done, Mods and Admins.
Peter Dow really needs to check the dosage of the dried frog pills. I feel quite sorry for the good people of Aberdeen.
Nina
Man that was bad... got my mailbox full with porn of Peter Dow
Hey Dutch, yer got perved tae???? Ah diidnae watch that video,ah could'nae tak nae nay mair! Sides' ah felt sorry for that poor lassie.Imagine havin' that done tae you!!
Ah hope he disnae come tae Moray aften, guid job I'm saftely here in Boghall.
Ahm aft tae mah wee oot hoose the noo, ah need wan
BG
sandmountainslim
Moderators, Please disregard my email concerning Peter Dow and his insanity, I wrote it before seeing this thread. I like sex as much as the next man but I honestly think Dow is a complete pervert and/or lunatic. No class at all, I hope he gets help as he is a pitiful character who probably wouldn't harm anyone.
WP
neil8r
Glad to see the guy has been banned, i just logged on briefly today as i'm on holiday to get his PM, the man? is an idiot.
Cymro
seems the pervert has re-signed in under a new ID. Can't someone ban his ISP? It causes some problems for me while accessing this site from public computers as the selfish prick is using inappropriate language.
He's a sick person
He's actually rejoined with as PeterDow 2 3 and 4! I can't ban him, we'll have to wait for rs_azzuri to return. He seems to have disappeared for the time being. So hopefully we can ban him before any more harm is done. Noone's had any more pms from him have they?
no more pms but I'd hit the sea of posts under PD2 is the guy bored, he must've spent hours on his road to destruction.
Carol
Glad to hear that Carol. The guy has serious issues. I probably do as well, took me ages to delete all of them! Hopefully this is the end of it.
Cymro
He's posted this thread to this website on another site. Read the bottom bit in particular:
| Quote: | The Sicko
Hey, the Nazis thought that homo-sexuals were sick perverts and they gassed them.
The forum site in question is Our Scotland.
I started as I did here. I made the one post, intending to debate one thread about "sexy Sarah" etc.
However, the moderator deleted the post repeatedly, even though I was trying to post it in the "General Banter" forum - akin to our "Members' Bar" forum.
So being unable to post on that forum - I sent a PM with the post to most of the members there. One PM each.
I wouldn't have needed to send ANY PMs there - if my one post had been allowed to stand.
I also added a PS to the moderator at the bottom of my PMs.
Subsequently, I was banned from the forum by the forum administrator - presumably for sending the PMs when the same post was deleted.
So now I have a very serious political dispute with the adminstrator of Our Scotland.
All I ask is the opportunity to put my case - but if that is denied to me then I am entitled to resist and fight my oppressors.
I've opened my dispute with Our Scotland admin with a wee bit of flaming - but the admin is on the ball this afternoon - so I'll need to come back with a more robust strategy for taking the fight to them.
Hey if anyone on this forum wishes to act as peacemaker - then I am all ears. |
The sooner the Perv's ISP is banned the better.
...what forum was this Cymro?
Nina
"Oppressors" he says...sicko
Go moderators, go!
Cymro
| rs_azzuri wrote: | | ...what forum was this Cymro? |
www.politicsforum.co.uk
wisnaeme
Nae bad, oor "Rinty's" on that wan as weel.
Nah, crap politics forum, dinnae go there
kathyv
Hello everyone. I am a mod over at scotland.com and we have had some issues with this crackpot. He actually posted there seeking assistance in getting him reinstated here! He outlined what he'd done here, I posted and told him thanks for the heads up, we would monitor him even closer now that we know it's cronic.
I just wanted to visit and read what you all had to say about him. I enjoyed your remarks! He may find his bottom banned at s.com fairly soon, too.
Katie1984
I got that PM to - the guy needs to get out more - his family must be proud!
Katie1984
By the way have a look at this! Utter cringo!
http://scot.8k.com/lookingforawoman.htm
Nina
Maybe you should apply Katie?
| kathyv wrote: | Hello everyone. I am a mod over at scotland.com and we have had some issues with this crackpot. He actually posted there seeking assistance in getting him reinstated here! He outlined what he'd done here, I posted and told him thanks for the heads up, we would monitor him even closer now that we know it's cronic.
I just wanted to visit and read what you all had to say about him. I enjoyed your remarks! He may find his bottom banned at s.com fairly soon, too.  |
Hi Kathyv the man is a complete clown an should be locked up,ye can get a doon tae earth,nae messing aboot summing up ae him ower at FirstFoot.com nae holds barred and loads ae sweery words aboot him.....but aw true.
no wonder he's single I'm led to believe he walks around Aberdeen with his billboard, I'm sure someone said there were bells dangling on it as well.
Carol
| carol wrote: | no wonder he's single I'm led to believe he walks around Aberdeen with his billboard, I'm sure someone said there were bells dangling on it as well. |
I saw him at the Wallace day in Aberdeen last year. All dressed up in his 'national standard bearer' outfit . Didnae see any bells though. Saying that, I was a bit scared to get too close
Nina
I'll ask my Da or brother to keep an "eye" out on the national standard bearer. Maybe he can thrust the flag of Dutchland in his....
I sometimes think he's some sort of Unionist agent to make the world think all Scots Nationalists are lunatics - but I seriously doubt you could act that crazy.
I don't think he quite understands how he protrays himself is actually counter-productive in that I'm sure it turns a lot of folk off from supporting Independence.
Katie1984
| rs_azzuri wrote: | I sometimes think he's some sort of Unionist agent to make the world think all Scots Nationalists are lunatics - but I seriously doubt you could act that crazy.
I don't think he quite understands how he protrays himself is actually counter-productive in that I'm sure it turns a lot of folk off from supporting Independence. |
Is enough to turn a girl off MEN full stop! Think I'll become a Lesbian!! OK maybe not.....
Aye Katie1984, it wuid pit us lassies af men fer, wal a while at least!!
Ah dinnae think ah cuid handle bein' ae Lesbian nay matter how ugly it gets! yon crazy loon is stuck oan stoopid!
BG
There was a chap who posed as a woman on Peter's "Looking For Love" Yahoo Group (basically he is the only member... unsurprisingly) and after about four emails Dow was talking about children and practically proposing marriage. *shudder*
| Quote: | | I would though consider taking on a woman who would be bringing her children from a previous relationship with her to stay with us - so long as my woman is ready to conceive right away and is prepared to deliver my children to create our new family. My woman's daughters would be particularly welcome but I won't allow a woman's teenage or older sons to move in with me as I don't want to have to deal with testosterone-fuelled conflicts with rival young men in my own household. |
I really do think he's a paedophile.
| Cymro wrote: | seems the pervert has re-signed in under a new ID. Can't someone ban his ISP? It causes some problems for me while accessing this site from public computers as the selfish prick is using inappropriate language.
He's a sick person |
irony alert
seriously though hes got to just be at the wind up, if that teenage daughter things true ad kick him in the balls myself.
Katie1984
| Babygael wrote: | Aye Katie1984, it wuid pit us lassies af men fer, wal a while at least!!
Ah dinnae think ah cuid handle bein' ae Lesbian nay matter how ugly it gets! yon crazy loon is stuck oan stoopid!
BG  |
Avoid him at all costs - same bargepole as the YSI and FSN!
Whaes the FSN? by ra way.An yer richt Katie aboot yon barge pole an yon Dow creature `cept id rather turn him intae a kebab wi yon bargepole.
ladyinthemists
This guy is REALLY a bonafide SICKO!!! Perhaps the public assistance he really should be on is some sort of long term imposed residency in a mental asylum
peter dowPeter is actually suffering from a psychiatric disorder for which he has been hospitalized in the past. I think he goes off his medication now and then, and that is when the awful posts start again.
ladyinthemists
Thanks for that info, mairead...I find this guy rather scarey! Just in case, I have banned his user name from my own forum site (Gathering of Scottish Clans) as I certainly don't need that sort of a headache
The Lithgae Jambo
| ladyinthemists wrote: | Thanks for that info, mairead...I find this guy rather scarey! Just in case, I have banned his user name from my own forum site (Gathering of Scottish Clans) as I certainly don't need that sort of a headache  |
Well, make sure you use a wildcard, LITM. Oor Peter was banned from the old Beeb boards regularly but just re-registered with another number after his name.
scotpeterdow -> scotpeterdow1 -> scotpeterdow2 -> scotpeterdow3 -> -> -> scotpeterdow(n+1)
ladyinthemists
| The Lithgae Jambo wrote: | | ladyinthemists wrote: | Thanks for that info, mairead...I find this guy rather scarey! Just in case, I have banned his user name from my own forum site (Gathering of Scottish Clans) as I certainly don't need that sort of a headache  | Well, make sure you use a wildcard, LITM. Oor Peter was banned from the old Beeb boards regularly but just re-registered with another number after his name.
scotpeterdow -> scotpeterdow1 -> scotpeterdow2 -> scotpeterdow3 -> -> -> scotpeterdow(n+1) | oh WOW!!! Good point! Thanks, The Lithgae Jambo!
RadgeJougal
Re: Peter Dow. | khraeigh wrote: | | Is he a sexual pervert? |
Yes more or less, with a Condi Rice fetish.
RadgeJougal
| azzuri wrote: | | I think there is something seriously wrong with him and would encourage him to seek medical help. |
It's a bit like Dave Coull, he goes round bothering everyone, and then thinks he is a victim of political persecution.
ladyinthemists
| RadgeJougal wrote: | | It's a bit like Dave Coull, he goes round bothering everyone, and then thinks he is a victim of political persecution. | Now he's a new one to me...haven't heard of him...yet...
Aw, C'mon Radge, That's a bit uncalled for, from someone with your obvious abilities and intelligence. I don't know why you get so upset about Dave Coull but it's not nice to say these sort of things. You disappoint me.
The Lithgae Jambo
| ladyinthemists wrote: | | The Lithgae Jambo wrote: | | ladyinthemists wrote: | Thanks for that info, mairead...I find this guy rather scarey! Just in case, I have banned his user name from my own forum site (Gathering of Scottish Clans) as I certainly don't need that sort of a headache  | Well, make sure you use a wildcard, LITM. Oor Peter was banned from the old Beeb boards regularly but just re-registered with another number after his name.
scotpeterdow -> scotpeterdow1 -> scotpeterdow2 -> scotpeterdow3 -> -> -> scotpeterdow(n+1) | oh WOW!!! Good point! Thanks, The Lithgae Jambo! |
TLJ, Lithgae or Jambo will do !!
RadgeJougal
| mairead wrote: | | Aw, C'mon Radge, That's a bit uncalled for, from someone with your obvious abilities and intelligence. I don't know why you get so upset about Dave Coull but it's not nice to say these sort of things. You disappoint me. |
Because I've seen him attack and be unpleasant to lots of people. He has nothing constructive to offer.
He's made lots of personal remarks about various people. Normally I would draw the line, but in this case, he's stepped over it hundreds of times.
Holebender
I'd be quite surprised if you could find an example of Dave Coull making a personal remark about anyone. He's very careful about that.
Margaret Dave coull has upset quite a few people, funnily enough some in your circles
HB you are well aware of Dave's unpleasantness towards individuals
Dave Coull
I never usually look at the "General Banter" section of Our Scotland. But I happened to notice that, at one point, Holebender was listed as the "latest poster". So I wondered, "what is HE posting in the General Banter section about?" - and, lo and behold, it turned out the topic he had posted about was ME ! Well, the topic had started out being about Peter Dow (and I agree with what has been said on that subject) but then Radge Jougal decided to change the subject and talk about me. I only found this out completely by accident.
Holebender wrote "I'd be quite surprised if you could find an example of Dave Coull making a personal remark about anyone. He's very careful about that." - yes, I am very careful, but I'm sure I must have made the occasional personal remark. But only if (1) the person concerned had first made a personal attack on me, for instance, calling me "a daft auld tumshie" (note the disgraceful age-ism in that one from Radge Jougal), or (2) some personal characteristic was genuinely relevant to the subject under discussion. But I think you will find that, in every case, I always PREFER to discuss in terms of principles, or policies, or issues, or perspectives, rather than personalities.
Of course, a lot depends on context. If a good friend of mine should call me "a daft auld so-and-so", well then, that is just friendly banter. But if somebody I don't know at all calls me the same thing with clearly hostile intent, that's a different matter.
Dave hon, I think you should come over into the General Banter section more often. .Know why? Cos' you need to lighten up dude and whats more your social skills need some work. Seriously!
RadgeJougal
| Holebender wrote: | | I'd be quite surprised if you could find an example of Dave Coull making a personal remark about anyone. He's very careful about that. |
Sure... sure. And the Pope is a Muslim.
He's an unpleasant little man, whose man object in life is fighting with people.
He has a "reputation" all over the country.
Dave Coull
What is "banter" ? A lot depends on the context. If a good friend of mine should call me 'a daft auld so-and-so', well then, that's just friendly banter. But if somebody who has previously shown extreme hostility towards me says exactly the same thing, then that's a different matter.
Babygael wrote "Dave hon, I think you should come over into the General Banter section more often".
Sorry, I really don't have enough spare time, and, with what spare time I do have, there are things which give me far more pleasure that I would rather be doing.
Babygael wrote "you need to lighten up" - you're saying that because on this "Our Scotland" forum you only know me as somebody interested in Scottish politics and Scottish history. In reality, of course, there is a lot more to me than that. Just not on the "Our Scotland" forum.
When I "lighten up" , I prefer to do so amongst friends. It has been proved beyond a shadow of a doubt that there are at least a couple of folk here on this forum who are downright UN - friendly towards me. So, nothing personal against you, Babygael, but I'll stick to doing my lightening up elsewhere, in more friendly company.
RadgeJougal
| Dave Coull wrote: | | me "a daft auld tumshie" (note the disgraceful age-ism in that one from Radge Jougal). |
"Daft auld/daft old" is a phrase, and has nothing to do with age.
| Quote: | | I prefer to do so amongst friends. |
What friends?
Dave Coull
In reply to Babygael's "lighten up" suggestion, I wrote " When I 'lighten up' , I prefer to do so amongst friends. It has been proved beyond a shadow of a doubt that there are at least a couple of folk here on this forum who are downright UN - friendly towards me. So, nothing personal against you, Babygael, but I'll stick to doing my lightening up elsewhere, in more friendly company."
The poster who goes under the name Radge Jougal ("Mad Dog") asks "What friends?"
Which proves two things (1) that I was right about the impossibility of "lightening up" on this forum, and (2) how very sensible it is of me to keep my politics and my personal life separate.
RadgeJougal
Yes, extremely sensible. Here's a challenge Dave, and I don't want you to tell us the answers, but to ask yourself it. Can you name ten friends to yourself? (Excluding family members)
Holebender
RJ, if it's not too much to ask, would you mind taking this petty vendetta of yours elsewhere? Your only contributions to this forum seem to consist of attacks on Dave Coull and, frankly, it's boring and a little pathetic. You obviously know who he is and have a personal dislike of him. You could at least even the odds a little by letting him know your true identity so he knows just what it is that has you behaving like such a wee boy.
ladyinthemists
whoa! I know a few of the folks who are members here but some of you I am only just learning about....Dave Coull being one of them. I would really rather be allowed to judge him for myself on his own merit than to see all the opinions of others (either good or bad). It just seems to me that this thread has now become a "Dave Coull Bashing" instead of the topic which it originally began with...a discussion about a well known (even by ME) weirdo who has caused numerous problems on many different forum sites. Please, let's either get back to the subject and stop bashing one of our own members here or...perhaps...this thread ought to be locked by Admin? Just my opinion, not intended to offend anyone nor to point any fingers.
Dave Coull
My mother used to sing "Count your blessings, name them one by one, and it will surprise you what the Lord has done".
A bit more scientifically, a major sociological survey on the subject of "friendship", in which thousands of people took part, established that, while most people have a great many acquaintances with whom they are on reasonably friendly terms, when asked the question "How many real friends do you have?" , it turned out that, not counting spouses or family, the AVERAGE person considers that they have only two or three "real friends".
It may seem surprising that the average is so low, but apparently the lives of the great majority of people are far lonelier than they might appear to be on the surface. So, if the average person has two and a half real friends, then, by that standard, I consider myself to be blessed indeed to have far more real friends than most folk. I don't know WHY I have far more real friends than most folk, I'm certainly not claiming that I _deserve_ to have far more real friends than most folk, and I don't think it is because of anything that I have done, but, much to my own surprise, it turns out that I do have far more real friends than the average person.
Radge Jougal shows an unhealthy interest in my friends. I think it better my friends should not be exposed to the Rabid Dog. Besides, I don't see why I should answer personal questions from somebody who hides himself behind a pseudo-name.
RadgeJougal
| Holebender wrote: | | Your only contributions to this forum seem to consist of attacks on Dave Coull and, frankly, it's boring and a little pathetic. |
Yes, he, sorry, it is boring and a little pathetic.
I have four pages of contributions, most of which aren't related to the self-proclaimed master of the universe and part time anarchist.
| Quote: | | Radge Jougal shows an unhealthy interest in my friends. |
I would if you had any. Even the people you think are your "allies" talk about you behind your back. Including one here.
Dave Coull
I wrote "Radge Jougal shows an unhealthy interest in my friends".
The poster who uses a name meaning "mad dog" says "I would if you had any".
Ignore the "if you had any" jibe and note the far more significant "I would" admission.
By his own admission, Radge Jougal WOULD take an unhealthy interest in my friends if he was in a position to do so.
Which proves just how right I was when I said "I think it better my friends should not be exposed to the Rabid Dog".
peter dowAch, I'll be back when all this nonsense stops. Grown men acting like weans is not good for any forum. Whatever happened to 'Sticks and Stone' attitude.
Hey Dave! I'm friendly!!
| Quote: | | grown men acting like weans |
I rest my case!
And hey! we who have a good laff in the Banter section are watching the great intellect of oor loons at work....what can I say?
Dave Coull
Babygael wrote "Hey Dave! I'm friendly!!"
So how come, in that picture of you, you're firing a gun straight at me?
Okay, I realise it's no real!!! And my wife (who has just been reading all of these posts) says she doesn't believe you look anything like that..........
Holebender
| RadgeJougal wrote: | | the self-proclaimed master of the universe and part time anarchist. |
OK, I'll bite... where and when has Dave Coull proclaimed himself "master of the universe"?
Neil and here's me thinking Mad Dog was the only ankle biter around here
holy moses, Dave is God
ladyinthemists
| Holebender wrote: | | RadgeJougal wrote: | | the self-proclaimed master of the universe and part time anarchist. | OK, I'll bite... where and when has Dave Coull proclaimed himself "master of the universe"? | (I think he means Peter Dow there...)
RadgeJougal
Peter Dow is master of the universe and also Condi Rice's fiance!!!
I'm seriously out of touch who is Condi Rice?
Dave Coull
Carol wrote "holy moses, Dave is God".
You clearly didn't have a good Christian upbringing like me. My mother would have washed my mouth out with soap if I had used an expression like "holy moses", or worse still "J.... C.....", and as for even mentioning the possibility of any mere mortal being God.......
nearest I got to being a Christian Dave was being made to stand up to God Save the Queen!!
RadgeJougal
| carol wrote: | | I'm seriously out of touch who is Condi Rice? |
Condoleeza Rice who works for George W. Bush, one of the world's most powerful ladies. Not my cup of tea, particularly as I don't agree with just about any of her politics - see here -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI2slIXxhnU
ha ha I recognised the last name just wasn't sure if it was her
that guy's nuts!!!
I CANNOT BELIEVE that you do not know who Condi Rice is carol!! Wot planet are you livin' oan hen??
I hear she had a affair wi' dubya!! And noo' his wifey wants oot!
You know what, I liked clinton and was sadly dissapointed by the Americans for hanging his laundry out as they did. I hate that!
It makes me laff, cos' check the Kennedy's record!!
in cuckoo land BG
Weel carol hen dinnae ignore the seat o' power in oor time lass!!
Credit where credit's due!
Besides,oor clannsmen helped tae build the michty USA!
Will they noo ' turn oan oan us ye think lass?
RadgeJougal
There aren't many people with that first name about. More a condi-or than a hawk. Haha!
Condi does it for certain people, but I've never seen the attraction myself. Maybe it's the Thatcher complex, relatively unattractive, but extremely powerful woman draws men in. Certainly her "mind" doesn't do much for me either.
This one is an education video, designed for Americans, to warn them of the danger of Queen Brenda.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtdntLgXsmU
Queen Brenda???? pardon my tears o' mirth lad!!!
kathyv
Apparently I live in cuckoo land too, I do know who Condi (gag) is but have no idea about Queen Brenda?
cuckoo cuckoo cuckoo!
my brain just doesn't engage .......... genuine reasons, not quite cuckoo yet
Carol
Weel why ahm I not surprised at that hen? Queen Brenda....aka QE2
Och an' by-th'-way Dave, wifie is right,ah dinna look like that....ah look much better than that,thanks all the same!!
I read that condi had a fling with the Prez?? Did anyone else hear that?
ladyinthemists
Why do they call QE2 "Queen Brenda"? Where's that come from???
I've no Idea! Its just a bit o' Scots cheek as far as i'm concerned!
Mairead might well know,I can understand Betty Battenburgh tho'!
kathyv
OHHH! I DO know who Queen Brenda is, I remember learning that we whooped up on some of her ancestors a couple of hundred years ago! LOL
You couldn't elaborate on that could you? I'd be interested to know about Brenda!!
Holebender
Brenda is the name used by the satirical magazine Private Eye How they came up with that name is beyond me, but I'm pretty sure that's the source. It's always written as Brenda, not Queen Brenda.
Dave Coull
Ladyinthemists asked "Why do they call QE2 'Queen Brenda'? Where's that come from???"
It comes from the satirical magazine "Private Eye". They have been calling the Queen "Brenda" for many years. In 1969 the BBC had a documentary entitled "Royal Family", in which the royals co-operated, because they were worried about seeming too remote and wanted to give the impression of being more like everybody else. As a result of that, "Private Eye" took to treating the royals as if they were working-class characters in a soap-opera, referring to the Queen as "Brenda", the Prince of Wales as "Brian", the late Princess of Wales as "Cheryl", and so on.
Babygael wrote "Its just a bit o' Scots cheek as far as i'm concerned!" - the original bit of cheek which popularised the idea of calling the Queen "Brenda" came from a magazine which is definitely English.
ladyinthemists
Thanks, Holebender and Dave. I would never have made the connection
litm
Peter DowLoL Babygael, Scots cheek, aye and we hae plenty o' that
RadgeJougal
| Holebender wrote: | | Brenda is the name used by the satirical magazine Private Eye How they came up with that name is beyond me, but I'm pretty sure that's the source. It's always written as Brenda, not Queen Brenda. |
Brenda is used by the intelligence services as a codeword.
Peter DowLOL Radge,
Well if its a code word for Queen Betty, it's not much good now.
Not much!!
Thanks holebender and Dave for clueing me in, I often wondered where "Brenda" came from!
ladyinthemists
Where or how they came up with "Brenda" from "Elizabeth" is beyond my comprehension. Now "Betty," "Beth," "Betsy," or even "Bets" or "Bess" I could understand but "Brenda"??? Nah...just makes no sense to me...
RadgeJougal
Re: Peter Dow | mairead wrote: | LOL Radge,
Well if its a code word for Queen Betty, it's not much good now. |
Not any more. The intelligence services supposedly had various names for each of the major members of the English royal family. Elizabeth's was "Brenda". It's probably something else now.
RadgeJougal
| ladyinthemists wrote: | Where or how they came up with "Brenda" from "Elizabeth" is beyond my comprehension. Now "Betty," "Beth," "Betsy," or even "Bets" or "Bess" I could understand but "Brenda"??? Nah...just makes no sense to me...  |
You're not meant to. By using "downmarket" names for various royals, they were able to talk about them with no one else understanding.
Dave Coull
Radge Jougal wrote "Brenda is used by the intelligence services as a codeword" - the "intelligence services" copied Private Eye, a magazine which has been referring to the queen as "Brenda" since 1969.
Ladyinthemists wrote "Where or how they came up with 'Brenda' from 'Elizabeth' is beyond my comprehension. Now 'Betty', 'Beth', 'Betsy', or even 'Bets' or 'Bess' I could understand but 'Brenda'??? Nah...just makes no sense to me..."
All these other names are derived from "Elizabeth". The whole point of "Brenda" is that it isn't. Private Eye refers to Prince Phillip as "Keith", and Prince Charles as "Brian". Because the royals had tried to make themselves more "human" by allowing television cameras to film them at home, Private Eye decided to treat them as if they were a supposedly "common" family in a television soap opera, and give them "common" names. Not necessarily "common" in the sense of "popular" ("Brenda" is actually relatively rare), but "common" in a snobbish sense, like "chav". Although Private Eye makes fun of the royals, many of its writers come from a rather "posh" English boarding school background, so even in mocking the royals they tend to show their own snobbery towards the working class. Mind you, it's still funny, despite that.
ladyinthemists
AHA! Okay....gotcha now. Thanks, all, for clearing this up for me