Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

Political Songs

Listening to Greenday's American Idiot got me thinking. Are there any great protest or politically motivated songs which you feel relate to you and if so what are they. Am not interested in any radical politics so plaese dont give and racist or bigoted answers, not that most of you would, just dont wanna give the administrators un-nessessary work Wink
IF Convenor

Michael Marra's "Hermless".

If you don't know it, the lyrics are here.
frank rizzo

Proclaimers - Cap In Hand

I could tell the meaning of a word like serene
I got some 'O' Grades when I was sixteen
I can tell the difference between magarine and butter
I can say "Saskatchewan" without starting to stutter

But I can't understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand
I could get a broken jaw from being in a fight
I know its evening when day turns to night
I can understand why Stranraer lie so lowly
They could save a lot of points by signing Hibs Goalie

But I can't understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand

We fight - when they ask us
We boast - then we cower
We beg
For a piece of
Whats already ours

Once I thought I could make God a bribe
So I said I was in his lost tribe
Getting handouts can be so frustrating
"Get in line son, there's five million waiting"

I can't understand why you let someone else rule your land, cap in hand
I can't understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand
I can't understand why you let someone else rule your land, cap in hand
Firefox

For Blackleaf especially (and Aventinian since he's the nicest unionist we've met) this little known song about Scottish Independence:

Tiffany - I think we're alone now

Children behave
Thats what they say when were together
And watch how you play
They dont understand
And so we're

Chorus:
Running just as fast as we can
Holdin on to one anothers hand
Tryin to get away, into the night
And then you put your arms around me
And then we tumble to the ground
And then you say

I think we're alone now
There doesnt seem to be anyone around
I think we're alone now
The beating of our hearts is the only sound

Look at the way
We gotta hide what were doin'
cos what would they say?
If they ever knew
And so we're

Repeat chorus

I think we're alone now
There doesn't seem to be anyone around
I think we're alone now
The beating of our hearts is the only sound
wisnaeme

IF Convenor wrote:
Michael Marra's "Hermless".

If you don't know it, the lyrics are here.

Noo playing on Travelling Folk, ( Listen agin ) BBC Radio Scotland, thurd wan doon. Label Eclectic ECL CD 9104.
Smile

Maol.Chaluim

Both Sides The Tweed
(Words : Trad & Dick Gaughan / Music : Dick Gaughan)

What's the spring-breathing jasmine and rose ?
What's the summer with all its gay train
Or the splendour of autumn to those
Who've bartered their freedom for gain?

Let the love of our land's sacred rights
To the love of our people succeed
Let friendship and honour unite
And flourish on both sides the Tweed.

No sweetness the senses can cheer
Which corruption and bribery bind
No brightness that gloom can e'er clear
For honour's the sum of the mind

Let virtue distinguish the brave
Place riches in lowest degree
Think them poorest who can be a slave
Them richest who dare to be free

More about the song here:

http://www.dickgaughan.co.uk/songs/texts/tweed.html

M.C. That wan's Gle` Mhath!

IF Con wuid hae tae tak his tae "First Foot" fer approval.

BG
IF Convenor

BG. I do not know what your problem is, but you are starting to irritate me. I hope you've a good reason for being such an obnoxious female dog.
Maol.Chaluim

Hit the road, Jack,
And don't you come back,
No more no more no more no more
Hit the road, Jack,
And don't you come back no more....
wisnaeme

Ah like this wan an it's an ither sang yon Dick Gaughan trots oot weel.Brian McNeill wus ra scribe.

No Gods and Precious Few Heroes.

I was listening to the news the other day
I heard a fat politician who had the nerve to say
He was proud to be Scottish, by the way
With the glories of our past to remember
"Here's tae us,wha's like us", listen to the cry
No surrender to the truth and here's the reason why
The power and the glory's just another bloody lie
They use to keep us all in line

For there's no gods and there's precious few heroes
But there's plenty on the dole in the land of the leal
And it's time now to sweep the future clear
of the lies of the past that we know was never real

Farewell to the heather in the glen
They cleared us all off once and they'd do it all again
For they still prefer sheep to thinking men
Ah, but men who think like sheep are even better
There's nothing much to choose between the old laird and the new
They still don't give a damn for the likes of me and you
Just mind you pay your rent to the factor when it's due
And mind your bloody manners when you pay

And tell me will we never hear the end
Of poor bluidy Charlie at Culloden yet again?
Though he ran like a rabbit through the glen
Leavin better folk than him to be butchered
Or are you sittin in your Council house, dreamin o your clan?
Waiting for the Jacobites to come and free the land?
Try going down the broo with your claymore in your hand
And count all the princes in the queue

So don't talk to me of Scotland the brave
For if we don't fight soon there'll be nothing left to save
Or would you rather stand up and watch them dig your grave
While you wait for the tartan Messiah?
He'll lead us to the promised land with laughter in his eye
We'll all live on the oil and the whisky by and by
Free heavy beer! Pie suppers in the sky!-
Will we never have the sense to learn?

That there's no gods and there's precious few heroes
But there's plenty on the dole in the land of the leal
And I'm damned sure that there's plenty live in fear
Of the day we stand together with our shoulders at the wheel
Aye there's no gods.

the bard of keppoch

a prisoners anthem and does the massacre of glencoe count,
SF102

I just spent the last 15 mins looking on SLF trying to pick a lyric and couldn't really pick just one as there seem to be too many songs in which they protested about what was happening at the time so thought i'd just give some of the song titles instead (the link is up there ^^^^ so just have a butchers at them and see what you think. Suspect Device, Wasted Life, Alternative Ulster, ROOTS, RADICALS, ROCKERS AND REGGAE, Silver Lining, Each Dollar A Bullet, . . . .. In all this time i've not been able to think of one English protest type song Sad I may be biased but each of them tracks stands up musically i think so anyway

These songs became political after the intrigues in the court of Edward III and if caught singing them, you were sent to the Headsman.

My Lief Is Faren in Londe

My lief is faren in londe -
Allas, why is she so?
And I am so sore bonde
I may nat come her to.
She hath myn herte in holde
Wherever she ride or go -
With trewe love a thousand folde

Cuckoo Song

Sumer is ycomen in,
Loude sing cuckou!
Groweth seed and bloweth meed,
And springth the wode now.
Sing cuckou!

Ewe bleteth after lamb,
Loweth after calve cow,
Bulloc sterteth, bucke verteth,
Merye sing cuckou!
Cuckou, cuckou,
Wel singest thou cuckou:
Ne swik thou never now!

You can see how revolutionary they were. Holy Mother Church excommunicated people for less.
IF Convenor

Scotland has only had two Kings named Edward although, strangely enough, they were known as Edward VII and Edward VIII. Please explain who this Edward III character is.

It is customary to give the realm as well as the title of foreign monarchs so that those who are unfamiliar with these non-native people can know which king is being cited.

Scotland had ONLY one native crowned king called Edward surnamed Balliol. (Edward Balliol (Eideard) (Antiking 1329 – 1363) DO look it up, old boy! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_of_Balliol

The other Edwards (VII and VIII) were kings of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

One assumed others knew I was of course referring to the the king of England, Edward III (13 November 1312 – 21 June 1377). Are you so unfamiliar with the line of Monarchy of our United Kingdoms? On a board like this, is it not wise to assume that interest in this subject is part and parcel to acknowledging our rich shared history? And if they are not, then not to seem pedantic and unecessarily didactic?

As my grandmother used to say ... Ask and thou shalt be given. (she was little loony!!)
IF Convenor

Eddie Balliol was a usurper, never recognised, old chap.

Never heard of an interregnum?? Even interregnal kings are part of the history of a land.

Doesn't alter the fact that in some parts he was recognised. (Though how without a camera in those days .... ????)

Now back to the Protest songs ... this one would have ended you up in the stocks if you sung it anywhere near the Laird of Lumphinnan ...

We In Our Wandering.

We in our wandering,
Blithesome and squandering,
Tara, tantara, teino!

Eat to satiety,
Drink to propriety;
Tara, tantara, teino!

Laugh till our sides we split,
Rags on our hides we fit;
Tara, tantara, teino!

Jesting eternally,
Quaffing infernally.
Tara, tantara, teino!

Craft's in the bone of us,
Fear 'tis unknown of us;
Tara, tantara, teino!

When we're in neediness,
Thieve we with greediness:
Tara, tantara, teino!

Brother catholical,
Man apostolical,
Tara, tantara, teino!

Say what you will have done,
What you ask 'twill be done!
Tara, tantara, teino!

Folk, fear the toss of the
Horns of philosophy!
Tara, tantara, teino!

Here comes a quadruple
Spoiler and prodigal!
Tara, tantara, teino!

License and vanity
Pamper insanity:
Tara, tantara, teino!

As the Pope bade us do,
Brother to brother's true:
Tara, tantara, teino!

Brother, best friend, adieu!
Now, I must part from you!
Tara, tantara, teino!

When will our meeting be?
Glad shall our greeting be!
Tara, tantara, teino!

Vows valedictory
Now have the victory:
Tara, tantara, teino!

Clasped on each other's breast,
Brother to brother pressed,
Tara, tantara, teino!
scottishjameseboy

Political songs eh, plenty o'them tae choose frae, how's about "The wee, wee German lairdie"?

Wha the diel hae we gotten for a king
But a wee wee German lairdie,
But when gead tae bring him hame,
He was delvin' in his yardie.
He was sheughin kail, and layin' leeks,
Wi'oot the hose and but the breeks,
An' up wi' his beggar duds he cleeks.
This wee, wee German lairdie.

Noo he's clapt doon in our guidmans' chair
The wee, wee German lairdie.
And he's brought fourth o' foreign trash
And dibbled them in oor yardie
He's pu'd the rose o' English loons
And broken the harp o' Irish clown's
But oor thistle tap's will jag his thoomes
The wee, wee German lairdie.

Could go on but can't be bothered typing the rest!!! (Jacobite song)
I have heard this song called "The wee bit German lairdie" sung by Alastair McDonald (slightly different) words as well

Will have more songs to follow.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads