Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

FreedomNow
Scottish NationalismHow did you first become involved or interested in it? I used to not bother about politics at all but after reading about our proud history and seeing how Ireland was oppressed by the union I thought, why shouldn't Scotland be free? What about you?
Firstly, I think that everyone should be interested in politics because as the advert says, it affects practically everything we do. From buying a pint of lager down in your local, to spending billions on a nuclear weapons system, it all affects us.
I guess my nationlist insincts have stemmed from the poll tax. Although I was slightly too young to be affected by it when it was introduced, I remember thinking that we were just being used as guinea-pigs by the Westminster Tory government. Despite there being virtually no Tory MPs in Scotland, they managed to impose this unwanted tax on Scotland.
It is a bit like what Labour are doing with Trident. No-one wants it and the majority of Scottish MPs voted against it, yet it will still be imposed on us.
It is time for Scotland to have a say in its future instead of being told what to do.
It's time for independence.
I learned at very young age, more than 50 years ago, to be interested in the freedom of Scotland as my dad was a great believer in independence even in those days.
wisnaeme
I was always a bit of a rebel ,I suppose. When someone in authority (teacher,parent,boss or whoever) commanded me to do something I usually had a tendency to ask: why ? Sometimes that attitude did nae gan doon verra weel.
I first got interested in politics when I asked why to a heid bummer of a union, at that time himself was called a regional organiser, among the other names he's collected since. After that I took a dislike to yon "enforcer",which was mutual by the way and I've disliked Labour ever since. That's how I became interested in politics. I think more folk,regardless of their political viewpoint should ask why and hold the creatures to account for their actions and decisions while they hold public office. I might add that attitude like that can sometimes get you into terrible trouble,still being an affront tae their Mi Lud's dignity,"rendition" flight and jail time not withstanding, I'm still asking why. In the case of Scotland becoming a nation again and being responsible for it's own self, why not.
I look forward to meeting more folk with the same attitude with their merching shoes on in Embra at the end of the month,by the way.
kevin04
I suppose I've always been a nationalist, I remember being around 12 years old or so and going to Canada and putting Scotland as my citizenship and my country on the immigration forms and it worked aswell, no questions.
I've always seen Scotland as a country and I've seen how beautiful our country is, I also think we have our own culture aswell, ok it's maybe not too different from general english, irish, welsh culture but we have our own culture and of course our identity.
I also see Scotland as a country and I think countries are best governed by themselves in their own capital city and this is probably why I'm a nationalist, I also can see how good a future we can have as a small independent nation, Some people think we have a better-more important say being part of the United Kingdom but we don't, We didn't choose or want Iraq, Afghanistan or Trident in Scotland, I'd rather we had our own voice at a table that might be small and honest rather than a big bully type voice that Britain does,
We have 5million people, the majority of us feel Scottish and are proud to be Scottish, so why don't we run our own land?
Hopefully come May 3rd we'll gain a huge step to getting to my dream of having our own country.
Corby Boy
I am an Anglo-Scot brought up in England (although Corby - is known as little Scotland due to the high Scottish population there!) but who has always had strong links to what I consider my spiritual homeland (it's in the blood). My interest was really stemmed from stories of Bruce and Wallace and Scotland's rich history and culture from my grandmother, and a natural love for the country and the feeling of being Scottish from an early age (supporting England at sport never entered into it at all). The political dimension for me occurred during the Thatcher era and the feeling of injustice that Scotland was having to deal with effects that she didnot want due to the undemocratic nature of British politics pre-devolution e.g. Poll Tax etc.
I am a firm believer that Scotland will be an independent nation and most certainly should be. She is one of the world's oldest (and unconquered) nations - the anglo-Scottish border is one of the oldest in Europe. Scotland needs to reclaim her rightful place in the world as a proud, independent, all encompassing and progressive nation state. Free for all irrespective, colour, creed, religion or sex.
Economist
I don't know, how I came to support Scottish independence. Nevertheless, I was brought up (by parents who weren't hugely nationalist - my grandmother was, though) to think of myself as Scottish, Scotland the country I come from and the Saltire, the flag of that country. And to be honest, I think that was the way we were "conditioned" to think in the school system - if I can put it this way. This notion of Britishness, just seemed entirely alien - and still does. I suppose I really became politically aware about the same time as the establishment of the Scottish Parliament in 1999, when I was 15 and I remember the optimism surrounding that.
But like everyone else, I've seen how our politics in Scotland has become maligned, corrupt and debased. I firmly believe that the Union, has a big part to play in that. And we can so do better than that. I see how Scotland has been taken for a ride by careerist Unionists, how our "branch" economy has stuttered along, how our economic potential has been sucked dry, whilst much poorer and smaller countries have zapped ahead of us. And at the same time we allow Scotland to be insulted and patronised by those who we elect, and many, many others as well.
I'm not really old enough to remember the Thatcher era in Scotland (when I know a lot of moderate people in Scotland turned nationalist), I was only 6 when she was kicked out of office. I can understand why a lot of people felt the way they did about her.
And although it sounds apocryphal, I visited the UN in New York, last year, and saw all the flags of the world fluttering outside underneath the UN flag (which is my avatar) and I really, really want to see Scotland's flag there - it should be. The Union is an interruption to our normal status, as an independent country, in my opinion. It is time to move on, and consign the historical anachronism that is the UK, to the annals of history.
Economist
Oops double post.
skip
lol, this has turned into quite a long yarn about things I remember from the 1980s.
Firstly, on the nationalism stuff from an early age. I was always encouraged to pick up scottish story books, read Burns, or to be taught Scottish songs. n later life you realise that there is usually a story or meaning behind the lyrics. In that sense I was to know my roots and not be ashamed of speaking scots or weegie!
Although I was at primary school I remember miserable scenes on the tv as i grew up: race riots, miners (and police baton charges), poll tax riots, and teacher strikes. Everyone seemed to hate Mrs T and be riled when she came on TV only a few posh people had good things to say about her. It seemed there was nothing we could do to stop her. It felt a bit hopeless though because Labour were the opposition and my folks would tell me how useless they were in the 70s. I remember the first election i stayed up for was govan by-election '88 and hoping for a Sillars victory. He was representing scotland and in retrospect i think there was a bit of appeal that our underdog could take on the big well-known parties.
I remember being told i couldn't go to a youth club until i'd seen this momentus moment on TV when reagan and gorby signed a treaty to reduce their ballistic missile stockpiles or something. Between them my parents have voted for the four main parties (except labour) in their time. They were not political or cnd or anything but this live tv event was so something i was to see!
One of my earliest memories was being at a street party being held for the royal wedding of Charles and Di... gives me the boak to think about it but I think there was one royalist in the street and the rest if the mothers felt duty-bound to make an effort! For kids the idea of princes and princesses was more like a fairytale. No chance that would happen now.
I remember a number of years after that being sent to the cub scouts and being in a wee room where the new recruits were meant to take the scouts promise, lol and me refusing because I didnt like the Queen and I sounded daft promising to do duties for someone I'd never met. Quite proud of that!
We always watched sport and cheered on Scotland... then you start to realise how England top the queue when you're looking out for your team on the news.... or how English cricket used to knock childrens TV programs off the air. You are brought up to be fair but it seems unfair. You start to realise that the other 'home nations' are similar to us. They all want to beat England at the football or rugby. Memories of the Mexico '86 world cup were the never-ending updates from the England training camp and the momentum building - then the collective relief when Maradona knocked them out single handedly. Wasn't old enough to work out why we were aggitated but as time goes on it sinks in that it was because the pundits only wanted to talk about England and then you'd get the token Scotland bit or Northern Ireland.
Some of the bias was shocking... right down to the pannini sticker albums where Scottish teams were not afforded a double page.. and our stickers had two-players on them when english clubs had a a player per sticker! Geez, Wales and Northern Ireland never existed in these sticker albums, lol. Then I'm the young kid holidaying in Scarborough or Blackpool and they don't want your £5 notes. Nice people but why do they treat us different.
Good sporting moments were the '86 Commonwealth Games when we all watched Liz Lynch (mccolgan) and Yvonne Murray in edinburgh. Even people that weren't that interested in athletics were pleased they had won medals for Scotland. Again, it was success for the underdogs and our athletes didn't normally get the chance to compete wearing the dark blue. First time I really remember Flower of Scotland starting to take off as an anthem was during the five nations winning run in 1990. Scotland the Brave was used at the world cup that year.... but FoS was also adopted by the SFA - I never heard it at new year or at parties like I hear it now.
Then there was the sort of things that make you think there's something wrong. Clydeside closures, steelworks, mines. lots of things seemed to be shutting. IRA bombs and explosions in England and Belfast always making the news. Then there's Timex in the early 1990s. Lots of people are not happy.
Thatcher's person in scotland is George Younger, (I sensed he's hated), Rifkind (respected but trying to fly under the radar), Lang (disliked but bullish) and then Forsyth (nightmare). Everyone thinks Major is nicer than Thatcher but still useless. At least Hesaltine helped get rid of the tweady old crow. In 1992 I'd have rated SNP best, then Lib Dems, then Labour, then Tory. I'd have taken kinnock's Labour (or J Smith's) over any Tory party. Nowadays I'd have SNP, then Green and Socialist over the rest. Now with devolution the best Westminster government is the one that makes the most c**k-ups.
So some of these things shaped my views on Conservatism. Some put me off the British state. Some things made me aware of my nationhood. There was a definate sense of discontent but nobody around to sieze the moment and do something.
I hope there are people my generation who endured a long Tory reign into their teenage years and hated it. And now are nearly at year ten of an unpopular Labour reign... and are losing patience. You would surely start to look at the other parties for your politicians.
darkside
well said skip
Quality post skip.
Particularly enjoyed this remark
| Quote: | | Maradona knocked them out single handedly |
mac
I'm a newbie, totally excited at finding this site, and am enjoying all the posts.
Welcome to the forums mac. Hope you can contribute positively here.
mac
We're on the same page, Skip!My sentiments exactly.