Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society

scottish radio dj makes paedo "joke" on air

for those who dont know rangers and many fans of other scottish clubs namely hearts and motherwell have been trying to make an issue of "big jock knew".

this is a reference to a sex scandal at celtic bhoys club many years ago were young boys were abused.

this is referring to allegations that celtics greatest manager jock stein knew about this. he was celtic manager at the time. these claims are totally without substance and do not have one shred of evidence.

at present this "big jock knew" is appearing in graffiti, message boards and has even been painted on banners held over motorway fly overs when celtic are travelling to other grounds in scotland.

real radio dj steven mckenna has thus decided in his wisdom at the end of a pink song which finishes in the line "who knew" to quickly say "big jock knew" at the end of the song.

this person should be sacked immediately for making light of paedophillia and also for attempting to blacken the name of a scottish sporting hero in a sick little point scoring contest.

Haha, very good.

I would hope that the station reprimand him at the very least and that he apologises to the Stein family.
macnumpty

I would also hope that he apologises to the abuse victims and their families, who've had this whole sorry episode dragged up again for the sake of a cheap joke.

Aventinian wrote:
Haha, very good.

Question

I agree that the families wouldnt want it brought up again numpty but this guy has accused Jock Stein of the henious crime of being complicit in abuse of children. It's a terrible slur and must make his family sick and angry.
macnumpty

True, but I can't help but wonder how many people have actually stopped to think about the abuse victims. McKenna clearly didn't.

I mean, it's wrong that Big Jock should get dragged over the coals when he's no longer alive to defend himself, and his family are right to feel aggrieved, but this will be reopening deep, deep wounds for many people, and insulting Jock Stein's memory, which is utterly disgraceful, is small potatoes when compared with turning child abuse into a joke.

I think Parky hit the nail on the head when he said McKenna should be fired for making light of paedophilia: I reckon that's the most serious thing the DJ did, and the slur on Stein comes in at #2. He should apologise to Stein's family as well, of course, but that's just the tip of a very large iceberg.

Typically sad from a comedian who isn't very funny and I agree with MacNumpty. Anyone who even brings up paedophilia in a joke context is a bloody pathetic individual.

he has now stated that he didnt know the meaning of the term at all and was unaware what it related to.

to me that just sounds like absolute bollocks. why would a dj knowingly make reference to something he had no idea about at the end of a song.

he has also now claimed threats have been made against his two year old child. now call me cynical but this sounds to me like a blatant attempt to get himself some kind of sympathy.

it also looks like he wont be sacked.

Aye, of course he's talking rubbish. Just trying to save his job. Up to Real Radio what they do though. If folk don't listen to his show then they'll get rid of him or at least lose money on advertising.

mairead wrote:
Typically sad from a comedian who isn't very funny and I agree with MacNumpty. Anyone who even brings up paedophilia in a joke context is a bloody pathetic individual.

Just a point on this - what is everyone's view on Chris Morris' 'Paedoph Isles' Brass Eye episode he did? You know the one where after it was aired he actually had to flee with his family to France for a couple of months such was the uproar?

I thought it was a brilliant programme on the media and public reaction to dealing with peadophilia.

I thought it was an excellent program as well. I don't think you can put the two in the same bracket. Morris was making a serious point in an intelligent and funny way. McKenna was using pedophilia to have a wee dig at a football team he doesn't like.
Anthropos

Re: scottish radio dj makes paedo "joke" on air

parkhead_rfb wrote:
for those who dont know rangers and many fans of other scottish clubs namely hearts and motherwell have been trying to make an issue of "big jock knew".

I was ignorant of this, not being knowledgable of football generally.

parkhead_rfb wrote:
this is a reference to a sex scandal at celtic bhoys club many years ago were young boys were abused.

this is referring to allegations that celtics greatest manager jock stein knew about this. he was celtic manager at the time. these claims are totally without substance and do not have one shred of evidence.

So I therefore presume it is merely rival fitbaw fans acting in their usual manner rather than some sort of organised campaign seeking justice.

parkhead_rfb wrote:
real radio dj steven mckenna has thus decided in his wisdom at the end of a pink song which finishes in the line "who knew" to quickly say "big jock knew" at the end of the song.

this person should be sacked immediately for making light of paedophillia and also for attempting to blacken the name of a scottish sporting hero in a sick little point scoring contest.

Should he be sacked for both, or just the former?

As I already said, I am not well informed about these matters, but after reading the thread I did a bit of googling and found the following:

http://www.randalstowncsc.co.uk/modules/news/article.php?storyid=449

Which if you click on will take you to a website where McKenna can be heard making an apology for the incident.

Is this satisfactory, or does he still need to get his P45?

I would say both are as serious as each other.

he is also now only apologising because people have complained and his explanation is nonsense. that is unless he always goes around randomly shouting slogans he has heard when going about his daily life.

and no there is no campaign for justice its just simple minded huns who have nothing better to shout about because their team is so s***e who have came up with it.
Cado

Anyone who even brings up paedophilia in a joke context is a bloody pathetic individual.

oops.
Cado

oops, again.

Cado wrote:
oops, again.

did you mean to quote me or were you trying to quote your ma after she had you and your brother?
Cado

oh, deary deary me......
Cado

did you mean to quote me or were you trying to quote your ma after she had you and your brother?

Neither.

Just taking the heat out of the table thumping brigade on the anti side.

You'll note Ive never actually promoted 'paedophila' as such. Rather I'm simply defending a communities right to be left alone, a families right to live without worrying whose looking over their shoulder - and a kids right to be free to have a childhood without paedophiles interrupting it.

Yup - some of it is pretty sick - but thats the point, it is sick. So bringing 'humour' to the issue can't actually bring any harm IMO - since what can you be left to conclude?

I just think its a better way of dealing with it - than going on a crusade.

Shocked

OH - got you now.

Now - my comment wasn't reffering to the point you'd mentioned above as such - it was Maireads point.

Rather my 'oops' was in response to the fact that I think Ive just succeeded in dragging the BBC message boards back into the sewer from whence they came.
Holebender

Oh my, that's some rapier of a wit you've got there Parkie. I am in awe of the power of your words... did you make them up yourself or did some big boys tell you that in the playground before you started your Summer holidays?

oooo, Nippy sweetie there holebender.
sgmillerton

parkhead_rfb wrote:

at present this "big jock knew" is appearing in graffiti, message boards and has even been painted on banners held over motorway fly overs when celtic are travelling to other grounds in scotland.

this is the same idiot who, a couple of years ago, after a couple celtic players at a function were videoed singing ira/f**k the queen songs. there was much uproar about this and many felt offended by the players loutish and secterian behavior. however this clown mckenna, at the end of a real radio phone in started shouting al queda, al queda. when questioned he said does that make me an al queda supporter. he is an idiot.

sgmillerton wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

this is the same idiot who, a couple of years ago, after a couple celtic players at a function were videoed singing ira/f**k the queen songs. there was much uproar about this and many felt offended by the players loutish and secterian behavior. however this clown mckenna, at the end of a real radio phone in started shouting al queda, al queda. when questioned he said does that make me an al queda supporter. he is an idiot.

nothing sectarian about the ira or singing f**k the queen.

if people are going to be offended they should at least know why they are being offended.

It should be added that the celtic players in question were filmed singing the fields of athenry and none of them on the recording took part in the chants about the IRA and the Queen that some celtic supporters were chanting as part of their version of thje song. So:

"a couple celtic players at a function were videoed singing ira/f**k the queen songs" didnt actually happen.

If you're talking about the video with Pearson and Hartson - it definitely looked to me like Pearson was shouting IRA as well.

I dont agree SLG, I dont think either of the two players were involved in the chanting.

Actually SLG, I looked at it again and it does look like Pearson chanted IRA at one point, his hand went to his mouth to chant at the same time as IRA was chanted at least. Hartson clearly didnt and McGeady, who most claimed was also involved, isnt even in the picture.

parkhead_rfb wrote:

Is the same true of 'f**k the Pope' songs? After all, I remind you both are temporal heads of churches.

Anyway, I came on here with a proud report... I saw a "Big Jock knew" piece of grafitti in Glasgow and thought of thought of this thread!
sgmillerton

Aventinian wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

Is the same true of 'f**k the Pope' songs? After all, I remind you both are temporal heads of churches.

Anyway, I came on here with a proud report... I saw a "Big Jock knew" piece of grafitti in Glasgow and thought of thought of this thread!

i suspect that some twisted and vague difference will be found to justify one offensive chant and great outrage will meet chants of the other. such is the twisted mind of the old firm bigot.

Aventinian wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

the queen as the head of the british state is obviously going to come in for stick from celtic fans. doesnt mean its because she also happens to be the head of some protestant churches (i say some as i am assuming not all branches of the protestant church would have her as head, i may be wrong though).

as you will be aware the british states dealings in ireland have caused a fair old bit of tension in ireland over the centuries. as the figure head of that state its not surprising she gets stick from a support with links to there.

sgmillerton wrote:
Aventinian wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

i suspect that some twisted and vague difference will be found to justify one offensive chant and great outrage will meet chants of the other. such is the twisted mind of the old firm bigot.

its not really vague though is it. for years celtic fans have sung irish republican songs. she is head of the british state, nothing vague about that link.
sgmillerton

as i suspected one old firm bigot justifies secterian chanting against the queen, not because she is the head of the church/churches oh no, it's because the irish don't like her. and that makes it okay.

what happens if a rangers bigot says he shouts against catholics and the pope because he disagree's with the catholic churches policy on abortion. i take it that would be okay as well.

ONLY the mind of old firm bigots can such simlpeminded, adolescent slavering's be justified.
Pip

the queen as the head of the british state is obviously going to come in for stick from celtic fans. doesnt mean its because she also happens to be the head of some protestant churches (i say some as i am assuming not all branches of the protestant church would have her as head, i may be wrong though).

She's only head of the Church of England. She's not head of the Church of Ireland/Scottish Episcopalians (both part of the Anglican communion) or the Church of Scotland. When she's in Scotland she's part of the Church of Scotland but she's not it's head.

Geez weez! Och, is she the heid o' th' scottish parliament? Shocked Is she th' leader o' th' Scots?

sgmillerton wrote:
as i suspected one old firm bigot justifies secterian chanting against the queen, not because she is the head of the church/churches oh no, it's because the irish don't like her. and that makes it okay.

what happens if a rangers bigot says he shouts against catholics and the pope because he disagree's with the catholic churches policy on abortion. i take it that would be okay as well.

ONLY the mind of old firm bigots can such simlpeminded, adolescent slavering's be justified.

I think i have openly stated on here several times i have no time for the catholic church. doesnt mean i want to be up to my knees in fenian blood and have celtic players bless themselves in doors as it offends me though.

and the british state transported food from ireland while her people starved to death, subsequently the irish and celtic ended up in scotland and elsewhere, its not really surprising those of irish descent dont roll out the welcome mat for the head of that state.

and as has already been pointed out she isnt even the head of all protestant churches only a few.
sgmillerton

and this, good people of scotland, is where the secterian problem is resucitated on a daily basis. whilst these pathetic justifications for secterian bile are spewed out by simpleminded bigots the 2 sided secterian problem in scotland will NEVER go away.

shame cos it's decent wee counytry really.
Holebender

Got it in one, sgmillerton.
iainmhor

Aye forward to a secular Scottish Republic. Thats what Republicans demand. Is that sectarian? The flip-side of the loyalist/unionist coin?
Holebender

Don't you find it odd that these Tricolour-waving Irish Republican Celtic supporters consistently vote for the arch Unionist establishment supporting Labour Party? If they really wanted to do something about the British state instead of just shouting about it from the terraces they'd vote to destroy it. It's all talk.

sgmillerton wrote:
and this, good people of scotland, is where the secterian problem is resucitated on a daily basis. whilst these pathetic justifications for secterian bile are spewed out by simpleminded bigots the 2 sided secterian problem in scotland will NEVER go away.

shame cos it's decent wee counytry really.

aye apart from all the anti english bile as well....still though thats allowed isnt it.

Holebender wrote:
Don't you find it odd that these Tricolour-waving Irish Republican Celtic supporters consistently vote for the arch Unionist establishment supporting Labour Party? If they really wanted to do something about the British state instead of just shouting about it from the terraces they'd vote to destroy it. It's all talk.

and you have evidence to show how celtic fans vote or is it a guess?

I voted SNP and then SSP in the last election. i voted snp on the constituency list as the ssp were not available. still though dont let facts get in the way of that big generalisaiton there.
sgmillerton

iainmhor wrote:
Aye forward to a secular Scottish Republic. Thats what Republicans demand. Is that sectarian? The flip-side of the loyalist/unionist coin?

neither are secterian and never will be, however, there are numpties who make them secterian with their bigotted abuse and in the main they are old firm droolers and groundbeaters.

someone said anti-english bile is ok, NO it is not. their is nothing worse than some dimwitted twit spouting anti-english bile all in the name of independence. and then they will be the first to point the finger when old firm fans voice their crap. anti-english/catholic/british/protestant/union/republican/queen is utterly offensive and always will be.
Holebender

The evidence, Parkie, is the number of Labour politicians who are regularly welcomed at Parkhead. And Ibrox. As someone else pointed out, the Old Firm is just that, one firm. They are the two sides of the same coin, only their fans seem too wrapped up in their own particular flags to realise they're being duped and exploited (by the Old Firm and by Labour). Maybe it's just coincidence that the Old Firm is situated in the heart of Labour's stronghold in Scotland?

As someone else has pointed out as well, anti-English bile is no more acceptable that religious-based bile, but I will take issue with one thing; the ones who spout the anti-English bile are rarely doing so in the name of independence. The most virulent anti-English bile peddlers are almost always the ones who dutifully trot along and vote Labour time after time.

Holebender wrote:
The evidence, Parkie, is the number of Labour politicians who are regularly welcomed at Parkhead. And Ibrox. As someone else pointed out, the Old Firm is just that, one firm. They are the two sides of the same coin, only their fans seem too wrapped up in their own particular flags to realise they're being duped and exploited (by the Old Firm and by Labour). Maybe it's just coincidence that the Old Firm is situated in the heart of Labour's stronghold in Scotland?

As someone else has pointed out as well, anti-English bile is no more acceptable that religious-based bile, but I will take issue with one thing; the ones who spout the anti-English bile are rarely doing so in the name of independence. The most virulent anti-English bile peddlers are almost always the ones who dutifully trot along and vote Labour time after time.

so celtic fans are all unionist because some labour MP's have been at celtic park? aye well thats sound reasoning about how people vote if ever i have seen it.

you will also find (if you actually knew what you were talking about in the first place) that rather than labour the conservatives would be the natural choice of a pro union rangers fan as they have traditionaly been backed by the unionist parties in the six counties.

you should also be aware that although ibrox is based in the govan area large parts of that area have in fact been home to vast numbers of irish and many republican flute bands in glasgow have also been based in that area and there is still one there to this day.

so other than the fact that some labour mp's have been at celtic park do you actually have anything sensible to add about how celtic fans vote?

Holebender wrote:

would also be interested how you know the anti english all vote labour as well.

is it the research that was done a while back at the "because i said so university"?
Holebender

Like I said, the Old Firm being at the heart of Labour's stronghold must be purely coincidental then. It's not just the party members at old firm matches, it's the party members representing constiuencies inhabited by Old Firm supporters.

The numbers of Tory MPs, MSPs and councillors representing the areas around Ibrox would seem to give the lie to your assertion that Rangers supporters vote Tory, or is that from your "because i said so university"?

At least I have evidence in the form of Labour politicians being elected to represent the area, where's your evidence? Haven't you noticed that (as I started out saying) it's the Labour Party which is the most staunchly Unionist and pro-Establishment? Why wouldn't your stereotypical Rangers supporter vote Labour? The real question is why would the stereotypical Celtic fan do it, and the evidence clearly shows he does. (I know Labour has a long tradition of stuffing the ballot boxes down that way but even they wouldn't get away with it if they didn't have a pretty strong support base, so those Labour MPs, MSPs and councillors represent somebody. You'll be telling us next that it's everybody except the Celtic fans who vote them in!)

Holebender wrote:
Like I said, the Old Firm being at the heart of Labour's stronghold must be purely coincidental then. It's not just the party members at old firm matches, it's the party members representing constiuencies inhabited by Old Firm supporters.

The numbers of Tory MPs, MSPs and councillors representing the areas around Ibrox would seem to give the lie to your assertion that Rangers supporters vote Tory, or is that from your "because i said so university"?

At least I have evidence in the form of Labour politicians being elected to represent the area, where's your evidence? Haven't you noticed that (as I started out saying) it's the Labour Party which is the most staunchly Unionist and pro-Establishment? Why wouldn't your stereotypical Rangers supporter vote Labour? The real question is why would the stereotypical Celtic fan do it, and the evidence clearly shows he does. (I know Labour has a long tradition of stuffing the ballot boxes down that way but even they wouldn't get away with it if they didn't have a pretty strong support base, so those Labour MPs, MSPs and councillors represent somebody. You'll be telling us next that it's everybody except the Celtic fans who vote them in!)

I didnt say i had facts i said it would be their natural party given the link between the tories and the unionists. at least i am stating a fact your just giving off about something you cant prove at all.

but really its besides the point as scotland in the large part has been a labour stronghold for the biggest part of the 20th century as basically there were only two major choices in british politics.

If i had the choice between labour and tories i would have been voting labour as well as they would be the lesser of two evils. doesnt make me pro unionist or even labour.

luckily by the time i came round to voting there were parties like the SSP and the SNP (who by that time were a far larger and less right wing party).

so until you can provide recent research on who celtic fans actually vote for i would ask you to stop spouting crap which you cant come anywhere near to proving. a large percentage of celtic fans wont even be eligible to vote in british elections anyway.
Holebender

I suppose reading isn't a strong point with you, is it? How many times do I have to state that the areas inhabited by Old Firm supporters consistently return Labour representatives in elections before you get it? That's a fact. Everything you write is unsupported conjecture, like your "fact" that Rangers fans are natural Tories, even though few of them actually vote Tory.

In case it escaped your notice, the SNP has been around since before the Second World War (had it's first MP elected in a by-election in 1945) and the Liberals were around even before the Labour Party so it never has been a case of a choice of only Labour or Tory. But don't let the facts get in the way of your prejudices.

It really is pointless engaging with you, Parkie, as you never listen to anything which doesn't fit your set-in-concrete green-tinted world view.
RadgeJougal

Went to two Fringe shows last night - paedo jokes galore...
RadgeJougal

Holebender wrote:
the Liberals were around even before the Labour Party.

The Liberal party hasn't existed since the 1980s, unless you mean the small group continuing.
Holebender

I mean there was never a situation in which there was a straight choice between Labour and the Tories. There has always been at least one other party to choose from. When Labour came into being the choice was Labour, Liberal or Tory. Later it was Labour, Liberal, Tory, or SNP. Later still it was Labour, Alliance, Tory, or SNP. And so on.

I hope that has cleared up any misunderstanding.
RadgeJougal

You're right in a way - although you missed out the SDP (Charlie Kennedy's old party), which is also an argument in favour.

However, for year, the UK has been a two party state. 2 1/2 party anyway. Devolution changed that. I think in the 1950s, and early 60s, it was mainly a Tory-Labour battle as the Liberals were still declining and the SNP had not risen yet. The SNP really didn't start doing well until the late 60s, although it had a few successes before then.
Holebender

Regardless. All I was doing was showing parkie that he was wrong when he said people had no choice but Labour or Tory. Even if the other parties were relatively minor the choice was still available.

And I was not attempting a comprehensive listing of all the possible candidates on the ballot paper throughout history.

you still havent shown any research onto how celtic fans vote or any to proof your other claim that anti english people mostly arent nationalist either.

your basing claims about how celtic fans voted on a massive part of the century where the vast vast majority of people voted either tory or labour. there was no such thing as voter dealignment until fairly recently, you can hardly blame celtic fans for a ingrained political trend.

as i have already said on here celtic forums have also conducted polls on independence and these have given wide majorities in favour of it whilst this may not be proper research as such you on the other hand have nothing to back up what you say on how celtic fans vote
Holebender

FFS parky! It doesn't take research, all you have to do is look at electoral returns. Who do you suppose is voting Labour in all the areas where Old Firm supporters live?

That's enough, I've told you the same thing 3 or 4 times now and you are clearly too dense to take it in. I'll say no more until you can show some actual evidence of Rangers fans voting Tory.

BTW, research shows that up to half of Labour voters support independence so your Celtic website evidence doesn't prove a thing. Actual votes in actual elections do, however.

Holebender wrote:
FFS parky! It doesn't take research, all you have to do is look at electoral returns. Who do you suppose is voting Labour in all the areas where Old Firm supporters live?

That's enough, I've told you the same thing 3 or 4 times now and you are clearly too dense to take it in. I'll say no more until you can show some actual evidence of Rangers fans voting Tory.

BTW, research shows that up to half of Labour voters support independence so your Celtic website evidence doesn't prove a thing. Actual votes in actual elections do, however.

and where do "old firm" supporters live?

celtic have fans all over the world and a large travelling support from ireland, england and wales.

you still havent answered the english question though your doing a good avoidance on that one. what were you basing that statement on?

"the areas inhabited by Old Firm supporters consistently return Labour representatives"

Its convenient to have celtic supporters as a scapegoat for Labours victories but even if the above were true it means nothing in terms of proving what way Celtic supporters vote.

The vast majority of Killie fans live in areas that return Labour MPs and MSPs until this year, does that mean that the Killie fans have been propping up the union? The same is true for Motherwell, Airdrie, and almost every other central belt team.

Most Celtic fans I know are either not interested in politics or they are SNP supporters. The Celtic fans like Parkie who are also interested or involved in Irish Republicanism are even more pro-independence and would vote SSP, SNP or Solidarity mostly.

There is something quite ugly about the whole thing. Many Celtic fans in Glasgow and Lanarkshire were immigrants or descendents of immigrants, for most of the 20th century the Labour Party were a natural home for those people, as it was for asian immigrants later, or Black immigrants in London.

You probably could have made the case for Celtic supporters being largely Labour supporters three decades ago but not now. But then, three decades ago you could have argued the same for supporters of most teams.

I think that post the NI "troubles", post Miners Strike etc, there is little of that historical tradition left. There has also traditionally been a large "left" section of the Celtic support which at one time may have been Labour but since the change in Labour and the emergence of pro-independence left parties and the emergence of the SNP as a serious force in the late 70's, I think that will have changed.

Asians in Glasgow traditionally supported Labour but the younger generation are more Solidarity/SSP/SNP minded, I hope that decades from now we wont be accusing Glasgows asians of propping up the union.

The whole thing smacks of trying to paint Celtic fans as outsiders who are a sort of foreign enemy within and it worries me.
Holebender

Take your west Central Belt glasses off. Only there could SCOTS who support Celtic be depicted as foreign because their ancestors originated in Ireland a century and a half ago. The rest of Scotland doesn't care about that sectarian crap.

"Take your west Central Belt glasses off. Only there could SCOTS who support Celtic be depicted as foreign because their ancestors originated in Ireland a century and a half ago. The rest of Scotland doesn't care about that sectarian crap."

You obviously do, for the whole of this thread you have attempted to take a football club, pigeonhole all of its supprters as the same and then attach stereotypes to that group of people based on sectarian myths and generalisations.

I am from an Ulster/Orange background, was brought up as a catholic, have few links to Ireland except as immigrants to Ireland from Scotland and have NEVER supported Labour.

I dont see myself as an unlikely Celtic supporter or an unusual one. People like me and various other mixes of backgrounds are the norm at Celtic Park.

I dont know how many people here are Celtic fans but both Parkie and I are supporters of Independence for Scotland and vote for pro-independence parties. Where does that leave your theory?

If I were to guess, I would imagine that Celtic fans might break down as similar to the Scottish election results, with probably a higher level of support for Solidarity and SSP and LESS support labour than across Scotland in general.

Whereas Motherwell fans would be more pro-labour, yet they dont face your wrath or your bigotted stereotyping.
Holebender

There was no bigotry, no stereotyping, just a general obseration (borne out by election results and the large number of Labour politicians who regularly attend Old Firm grounds) that it is odd that the tricolour-waving Irish repubican supporting Celtic fans seem to form a significant part of the bedrock of the arch unionist Labour party's support.

I have never, at any time, said that all Celtic supporters do this or that, or anything of that nature. That would be stereotyping and probably bigoted. My observation is based on the statistically significant numbers of Labour voters in the general area surrounding the Old Firm's grounds.

As for me doing this for "the whole thread", I didn't even bother posting about this until a few days ago when the thread was already near the end of its second page.

There was no bigotry, no stereotyping,

I disagree, you have a view of celtic supporters that is a sweeping generalisation based on your ignorance.

just a general obseration (borne out by election results and the large number of Labour politicians who regularly attend Old Firm grounds)

You have yet to prove (even remotely) that it is borne out by election results. Labour politicians supoorting a team is nowhere near the same thing as that teams supporters follwoing Labour.

Election results show that Labour win in the Central Belt, an area that conmtains the supporters of Celtic Rangers, Partick, Killie, Morton, Airdrie, Motherwell, St Mirren etc etc etc

My two local Labour politicians are Cathy Jamieson (Kilmarnock supporter and season ticket holder) and Sandra Osborne (no idea who she supports), Sandra replaced George Foulkes (Hearts fan).

I have three labour and one SNP councillor, the Labour members being two rangers and one Kilmarnock fan, the SNP councillor being the only Celtic fan.

You are taking a historical generalisation of Celtic supporters and applying it to the modern day with no evidence to back it up. In doing this I have to wonder about your motivation.

it is odd that the tricolour-waving Irish repubican supporting Celtic fans seem to form a significant part of the bedrock of the arch unionist Labour party's support.

See, that part is where you are completely wrong. The minority of Celtic supprters who are irsih republican "tricolour wavers" would be mainly supporters of pro-independence parties. It may be that they were once part of Labour but since the 70's at least that has not been the case.

The other celtic fans would be far more likely to be labour supporters, in common with supporters of other teams in areas where Labour have a large support.

That tricolour waving group do not amount to enough to win a constituency never mins being the bedrock of a party who have dominated scottish politics for a decade.

I have never, at any time, said that all Celtic supporters do this or that, or anything of that nature. That would be stereotyping and probably bigoted.

That is ecatly what you have done and why I described it as stereotyping and bigotted. Up until just four months ago Kilmarnock has returned Labour MPs and MSPs for decades yet I dont see you secribing Kilmarnock, or any other team from traditional Labour heartlands as being a bedrock of unionism. What you are trying to do is portray Celtic supporters as some sort of foreign enemy within, an easy scapegoat because some of them display their heitage and history from another country. Its as old as the hills.

My observation is based on the statistically significant numbers of Labour voters in the general area surrounding the Old Firm's grounds.

While not providing any evidence that the suppirters of that team live near the ground and ignoring the statistically significant labour support near the grounds of St. Mirren, Dumbarton, Clyde, Dundee, Partick Thistle etc etc etc.

You have provided no case, you call it staitsitical and observational but you only repeat stereotypical generalisations with no evidence.

Near Celtic's ground you will find mainly Rangers supporters and a low turn out in elections!
Holebender

Sigh... whatever you say. It is utterly pointless continuing this in the face of your (and Parky's) complete refusal to accept that the West Central Belt still mostly votes Labour and still houses the Old Firm. Have it your way.

The point about Killy, etc. is meaningless because they don't have fans who spend every Saturday flaunting their Irish republican credentials. That's the point, Celtic supporters (not all of them of course) wave their Tricolours and sing their songs and then vote for the Establishment. Fans of other teams may very well also vote Labour, but they don't spend every Saturday pretending to be such rebels against the UK.

All the rest of your stuff about me trying to portray Celtic fans (including my neighbours across the street?) as foreign anything is utter crap. I am not trying to portray them as anything except hypocrites for their public displays of anti-Britishness while privately supporting the bedrock of the State with their votes. (My neighbours, btw, support the team but don't go in for all that fake Irish Republicanism.) You utterly fail to get it so I'm not going to continue. I will not post another word in this thread.

It is clearly also true that Parky was completely correct when he said Rangers fans naturally tend to vote Tory. How could I have missed noticing?

he sighed and repeated himself rinty! how will we cope with this great debater?

its no surprise your bored. all you have done is spent a few pages repeating yourself and telling us we are blinded despite repeated requests to actually show some evidence for what your claiming.

you also have for what the third time now refused to answer your statement as to how you know most scots who are anti english are not nationalist?
sgmillerton

Rinty wrote:
"the areas inhabited by Old Firm supporters consistently return Labour representatives"

Its convenient to have celtic supporters as a scapegoat for Labours victories but even if the above were true it means nothing in terms of proving what way Celtic supporters vote.

The vast majority of Killie fans live in areas that return Labour MPs and MSPs until this year, does that mean that the Killie fans have been propping up the union? The same is true for Motherwell, Airdrie, and almost every other central belt team.

Most Celtic fans I know are either not interested in politics or they are SNP supporters. The Celtic fans like Parkie who are also interested or involved in Irish Republicanism are even more pro-independence and would vote SSP, SNP or Solidarity mostly.

There is something quite ugly about the whole thing. Many Celtic fans in Glasgow and Lanarkshire were immigrants or descendents of immigrants, for most of the 20th century the Labour Party were a natural home for those people, as it was for asian immigrants later, or Black immigrants in London.

You probably could have made the case for Celtic supporters being largely Labour supporters three decades ago but not now. But then, three decades ago you could have argued the same for supporters of most teams.

I think that post the NI "troubles", post Miners Strike etc, there is little of that historical tradition left. There has also traditionally been a large "left" section of the Celtic support which at one time may have been Labour but since the change in Labour and the emergence of pro-independence left parties and the emergence of the SNP as a serious force in the late 70's, I think that will have changed.

Asians in Glasgow traditionally supported Labour but the younger generation are more Solidarity/SSP/SNP minded, I hope that decades from now we wont be accusing Glasgows asians of propping up the union.

The whole thing smacks of trying to paint Celtic fans as outsiders who are a sort of foreign enemy within and it worries me.

this is funny, where are these hoards of celtic supporters and young asians who support the ssp/solidarity. were they on holiday at the last election when the left wing extremist parties got well and truly told where to go by the electorate.

the vast majority of football supporters support the snp and labour, how do i know this, cos they won the most votes at the last scottish election. all this posturing and pontificating, why? the results speak for themselves.
sgmillerton

and so what if the majority of celtic fans vote labour and the rangers fans vote tory. so long as the scottish people contunue to see sense and not vote for the likes of the ssp/bnp/ukip/christian and other such idiotic parties we will do fine.

sgmillerton wrote:
[.

this is funny, where are these hoards of celtic supporters and young asians who support the ssp/solidarity. were they on holiday at the last election when the left wing extremist parties got well and truly told where to go by the electorate.

the vast majority of football supporters support the snp and labour, how do i know this, cos they won the most votes at the last scottish election. all this posturing and pontificating, why? the results speak for themselves.[/quote]

i voted SNP in the constituency as no other viable alternative was there for me. many others who would be on the left probably did the same.

you also had the problems with the SSP/solidarity which really damaged the left this year. coupled with that many who are pro independence and left leaning also made a big push for the snp as it looked like the year they could be the majority (and they were right).

once again you have tried to reduce a complex issue like voting patterns down to suit your simple narrow view points.
RadgeJougal

Holebender wrote:
Regardless. All I was doing was showing parkie that he was wrong when he said people had no choice but Labour or Tory. Even if the other parties were relatively minor the choice was still available.

Not really. If you live in a two party state, why would you vote for a party which is extremely unlikely to take power? At least we've got away from that - pity the Yanks - they have the "choice", but try voting for anyone else...
sgmillerton

parkhead_rfb wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:
[.

the vast majority of football supporters support the snp and labour, how do i know this, cos they won the most votes at the last scottish election. all this posturing and pontificating, why? the results speak for themselves.

i voted SNP in the constituency as no other viable alternative was there for me. many others who would be on the left probably did the same.

you also had the problems with the SSP/solidarity which really damaged the left this year. coupled with that many who are pro independence and left leaning also made a big push for the snp as it looked like the year they could be the majority (and they were right).

once again you have tried to reduce a complex issue like voting patterns down to suit your simple narrow view points.[/quote]

MY NARROW VIEWPOINTS, you are kidding surely. i voted snp, they won the election by a whisker. the vast majority of football fans voted for labour or the snp, this is shown by the election results when the snp and labour picked up the majority of votes. that is not my narrow viewpoint, that is very recent history.
Cymro

Rinty wrote:

I disagree, you have a view of celtic supporters that is a sweeping generalisation based on your ignorance.

In the same way you get certain people on here making generalisation based on ignorace about Rangers. Every due respect Rinty, but the silence from you then is deafening. What's good for the goose is good for the gander?

In all seriousness though, I'm not suprised Labour and Celtic fans who look towards the situation in Northern Ireland are closely linked. Between Labour and the Tories, Labour has by far the most contructive attitude towards the future political status of Northern Ireland both histoically and at present. This is a pretty well documented thing, I've just finished reading a book on the Troubles by a former SDLP councillor (Can't recall his name - Brian Finney or something? and this is mentioed in it). So from that I suppose for these people (and note that I'm not descibing all Celtic fans as "these people", this is an element of the Celtic fans - a more vocal bit maybe?) 1 Union is more important than another - the Union between the UK and Ireland in 1801 been more of a contentious suspect than the Union between England and Scotland.

Fair?

"complete refusal to accept that the West Central Belt still mostly votes Labour and still houses the Old Firm. Have it your way."

No, I confirmed that, west central belt teams are based in areas where Labour win elections. You have no evidence to link the fans of the dozens of teams in that area to votes in elections, never mind specifically celtic fans.

The point about Killy, etc. is meaningless because they don't have fans who spend every Saturday flaunting their Irish republican credentials. That's the point, Celtic supporters (not all of them of course) wave their Tricolours and sing their songs and then vote for the Establishment. Fans of other teams may very well also vote Labour, but they don't spend every Saturday pretending to be such rebels against the UK.

Ah, now we are getting to the "point". The point being your problem with sections of the Celtic support and tricolours. See what I mean about portraying them as foreigners?

I would think that all of the tricolour wavers would support por-independence parties. Do you have any evidence to contradict this?

If you were to break down the celtic support into sections re voting intention I would bet that it wouldnt differ much from the votes across scotland. BUT ( a big but Wink ) the section that contained Irish republicans would most certainly be mainly SNP/SSP/Solidarity.

I am not trying to portray them as anything except hypocrites for their public displays of anti-Britishness while privately supporting the bedrock of the State with their votes. (My neighbours, btw, support the team but don't go in for all that fake Irish Republicanism.) You utterly fail to get it so I'm not going to continue.

Again with the same mistake. Those who oppose the british state in song and displays at Celtic part are mainly (if not all) supporters of Scottish independence too. The rest of the celtic suport would be more likely to be Labour than that group.

I will not post another word in this thread.

Good.

SGmillerton said:

Nice piece of editing, in my post I said SNP/SSP/Solidarity, in your reply you conveniently miss out the SNP and then tell me that they vote SNP or labour!

Thats one way of winning an argument, argue against what you wish someone had said rather than what they actually said.

The point was that although most people from immigrant backgrounds were once seen as solid supporters of Labour, the next generation are not necessarily the same.

In the same way you get certain people on here making generalisation based on ignorace about Rangers. Every due respect Rinty, but the silence from you then is deafening. What's good for the goose is good for the gander?

I think that is unfair and untrue. I am sure Parkie would disagree and sees me as some sort of closet hun Laughing

I think you are wrong on the link with Labour and NI. Labour was traditionally the party for Irish immigrants as it was for most immigrants but I think the republican end of the Celtic support would not be supporters of Labour or their record in NI when in government.

Most if not all of the people I meet at Celtic Park who wave tricolours or are involved in republican politics will support SNP, SSP or Solidarity.

If you are looking for Labour supporters at Celtic Park the rest of the support would be far more likely then the republican element, this is where the whole thread is working on a wrong premise.

It would be hypocritical if people opposed the British state in NI but supported it in Scotland but I dont think it is the case. At most of the pubs and gigs where the republican music is played for a largely celtic-supporting audience, Flower of Scotland will be sung by the whole crowd with gusto.

I still see no evidence for voting intentions of football supporters other than we know that Labours support is mainly in west central scotland and therefore the football teams from that area are more likely (all of them) to show a percentage of labour support that reflects that.

In recent decades that would mean nearly half of them having no preference and the remianing half voting about 40% Labour at best, meaning 80% are not labour supporters even in their "heartlands".
sgmillerton

i'm sorry but this is laughable. those who wave tricolours are likleyto vote for the ssp/snp/solidarity, i suppose those waving a union jack all vote tory as well? has someone been spiking your coffee? you should open a tartan tat gift shop in edinburgh, your cliches are quite remarkable. AND, why on earth would a left wing extremist change votes from ssp/solidarity to a capitalist and centrist (right) party such as the snp. WHY?

are you saying that the snp now has a band of left wing loonies in their ranks (not good, cos i support them, the snp that is!!) and supporting them OR, or BOTH the ssp/solidarity are now just a shiny badge to wear for dissafted students in buchan street going to poetry slams.

do tell.
babykitten

RadgeJougal wrote:

Not really. If you live in a two party state, why would you vote for a party which is extremely unlikely to take power? At least we've got away from that - pity the Yanks - they have the "choice", but try voting for anyone else...

Likewise, if one party was extremely LIKELY to take power then what purpose is served by also voting for that party? To be on the winning side?

I can understand why people would tactically vote to keep someone else out (as in a two party state which you describe), but you hear people say that there's no point in voting for party x because they will never win. They'll never win if people have that attitude! You should vote for who you believe in, especially in a PR system where tactical voting is less 'necessary'.

Voting for the winner simply because they are likely to be the winner is pretty much moronic.
sgmillerton

parkhead_rfb wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:
[.

once again you have tried to reduce a complex issue like voting patterns down to suit your simple narrow view points.[/quote]

the majority of voters voted for pro-union parties i'm afraid to say and i suspect, unfortunately that means alex will have to water down any independemce plans in the meantime,

i'm sorry but this is laughable. those who wave tricolours are likleyto vote for the ssp/snp/solidarity,

Yes, I would say so, those are the three pro-independence parties and those who wave tricolours at Celtic park are, in my experience, supporters of Scottosh Independence and opponents of the British state.

i suppose those waving a union jack all vote tory as well?

Well I didnt say that, but they would defintely be more likely to vote for a unionist party than someone waving a tricolour.

has someone been spiking your coffee? you should open a tartan tat gift shop in edinburgh, your cliches are quite remarkable.

An example? I would say that labelling the Celtic support as unionists and total support for labour is the cliche in this thread.

AND, why on earth would a left wing extremist change votes from ssp/solidarity to a capitalist and centrist (right) party such as the snp. WHY?

I dont know. As I didnt suggest that anyone DID make that change it would be down to you to provide evidence for that. Howevere, some on this forum who normally vote SSP/Solidarity have stated that they voted SNP this time as they had a chance of defeating Labour. The point in lumping the three together in the context of republican celtic supporters is that the group would be more likely to vote for a pro-independence party.

Personally, I dont think many people would change to SNP from SSP or Solidarity but the figures from the election bear it out.

The total list votes for SSP/Solidarity combined are almost identical to their vote in 1999 as are the list votes for the SNP, suggesting that a significant number of people DID move their vote from SNP to SSP in 2003 (as well as the Greens) and an almost identical number returned to the SNP in 2007.

are you saying that the snp now has a band of left wing loonies in their ranks (not good, cos i support them, the snp that is!!)

er no, I didnt say that, I said that the republican celtic supporters are more likely to vote for a pro-independence party than a pro-union party

and supporting them OR, or BOTH the ssp/solidarity are now just a shiny badge to wear for dissafted students in buchan street going to poetry slams.

Again I didnt say that. I dont know about the poetry slams either. I know the SSPs youth wing DO hold some of these events but I've never heard of them in Solidarity. As someone involved in Scottish publishing, book and poetry events I dont like the "slam" idea as I dont like competition based events with winners and losers. But at least you have introduced another good stereotype and/or cliche to the debate as we were running short of them.

do tell.

Why dont you tell us why you think that my case that the republican leaning Celtic supporters support pro-independence parties is wrong?

Or show me where I said the SNP were left wing or where I said they were just about badge wearing?

I think you might be quite a young person and would advise you that, for the purposes of debate, it is best to stick to addresssing points people actually make and not what straw men you feel omfortable in knocking down.
sgmillerton

Rinty wrote:
i'm sorry but this is laughable. those who wave tricolours are likleyto vote for the ssp/snp/solidarity,

Yes, I would say so, those are the three pro-independence parties and those who wave tricolours at Celtic park are, in my experience, supporters of Scottosh Independence and opponents of the British state.

i suppose those waving a union jack all vote tory as well?

Well I didnt say that, but they would defintely be more likely to vote for a unionist party than someone waving a tricolour.

has someone been spiking your coffee? you should open a tartan tat gift shop in edinburgh, your cliches are quite remarkable.

An example? I would say that labelling the Celtic support as unionists and total support for labour is the cliche in this thread.

AND, why on earth would a left wing extremist change votes from ssp/solidarity to a capitalist and centrist (right) party such as the snp. WHY?

I dont know. As I didnt suggest that anyone DID make that change it would be down to you to provide evidence for that. Howevere, some on this forum who normally vote SSP/Solidarity have stated that they voted SNP this time as they had a chance of defeating Labour. The point in lumping the three together in the context of republican celtic supporters is that the group would be more likely to vote for a pro-independence party.

Personally, I dont think many people would change to SNP from SSP or Solidarity but the figures from the election bear it out.

The total list votes for SSP/Solidarity combined are almost identical to their vote in 1999 as are the list votes for the SNP, suggesting that a significant number of people DID move their vote from SNP to SSP in 2003 (as well as the Greens) and an almost identical number returned to the SNP in 2007.

are you saying that the snp now has a band of left wing loonies in their ranks (not good, cos i support them, the snp that is!!)

er no, I didnt say that, I said that the republican celtic supporters are more likely to vote for a pro-independence party than a pro-union party

and supporting them OR, or BOTH the ssp/solidarity are now just a shiny badge to wear for dissafted students in buchan street going to poetry slams.

Again I didnt say that. I dont know about the poetry slams either. I know the SSPs youth wing DO hold some of these events but I've never heard of them in Solidarity. As someone involved in Scottish publishing, book and poetry events I dont like the "slam" idea as I dont like competition based events with winners and losers. But at least you have introduced another good stereotype and/or cliche to the debate as we were running short of them.

do tell.

Why dont you tell us why you think that my case that the republican leaning Celtic supporters support pro-independence parties is wrong?

Or show me where I said the SNP were left wing or where I said they were just about badge wearing?

I think you might be quite a young person and would advise you that, for the purposes of debate, it is best to stick to addresssing points people actually make and not what straw men you feel omfortable in knocking down.

opponents of the british state-are we at war or something and yes that is still cliched rubbish. i'm sure that like most flag waving football fans they do not even know why the flag is being waved.

more likey to vote for a unioist party if they wave a union jack-see above.another cliche.

celtic fans supporting unionist parties, well plenty are still doing it going by the last election results, you know, with all the pro-union parties winning the most votes.

so commited ssp and solidarity voters abandoned their party just so as to try and defeat pro-union parties as they were pro-independence, are you serious? utter, utter nonsense.

'i don't like competition events based on winners and losers' good grief. we sir, will never agree if that is your liberal left viewpoint and you are in a very PC minority.

funniest of all, i thought of some cliche for left wing extremists (poetry slams) and i find it is actually true. there is no hope for that lot of idiots.

i did not say you said the snp weere left wing. read it again.

your views that republican celtic fans vote for pro-independence parties is wrong, has been for quite literally decades, staunch labour voters and always have been.maybe now, they are, i hope, they are now thinking for themselves. to deny celtic fans were/are not pro-labour is just daft and you know it.

i'm quite a young, qualified vet actually. and you talk to me about cliches.

Cymro wrote:
Rinty wrote:

In all seriousness though, I'm not suprised Labour and Celtic fans who look towards the situation in Northern Ireland are closely linked. Between Labour and the Tories, Labour has by far the most contructive attitude towards the future political status of Northern Ireland both histoically and at present. This is a pretty well documented thing, I've just finished reading a book on the Troubles by a former SDLP councillor (Can't recall his name - Brian Finney or something? and this is mentioed in it). So from that I suppose for these people (and note that I'm not descibing all Celtic fans as "these people", this is an element of the Celtic fans - a more vocal bit maybe?) 1 Union is more important than another - the Union between the UK and Ireland in 1801 been more of a contentious suspect than the Union between England and Scotland.

Fair?

labour have a terrible record in the six counties and didnt seem to have a problem sending the troops in in the first place. we all know what happened then while they stood back and watched.

the only thing labour has had in its favour in that respect is that a few significant players in the party have been pro irish independence but these have generally not managed to transform their views into policy.
Dave Coull

sgmillerton wrote "the majority of voters voted for pro-union parties" - that is true, but it is NOT true, as claimed by the leaders of these parties, that the majority of voters voted for the Union. Opinion polls have shown that quite large percentages of supporters of these parties would vote for independence in a single-question referendum, and yet they go on voting for these pro-union parties in party political elections (for reasons other than their views on independence or union). On the other hand, a minority of SNP voters might actually vote AGAINST independence in a referendum. Party political contests cannot show whether the majority of voters are for or against the Union, party political contests cannot show whether the majority of voters are for or against independence. There is only ONE way to establish whether a majority are pro-union or pro-independence, and that is through a referendum.

sgmillerton also wrote "unfortunately that means alex will have to water down any independence plans in the meantime" - that does not follow.

Some of us were demanding a referendum on independence from the previous Executive AS OUR DEMOCRATIC HUMAN RIGHT, and we are continuing to press that demand on the present Executive. We previously did so through Independence First, but we are now doing so through 'Determination', the non-aligned campaign for self-determination for Scotland.

Angus Coull wrote to both the British government and to the Scottish Executive on the 4th of February this year, putting forward this demand on our behalf. This was a follow up to previous letters he had written to both the British government and the Executive in July 2006. He received rather negative responses from both Westminster and Holyrood on both occasions. But nevertheless our DEMAND for a referendum as of right is still on the table, so far as both the new Prime Minister and the new First Minister are concerned.

In May, we in 'Determination' wrote to the United Nations Human Rights Commission saying that we wished to register the fact that we considered our human rights were being breached by the refusal of the British government to hold a self-determination referendum for Scotland. A few weeks later, we wrote again to the UNHRC saying that, while we are certainly NOT withdrawing our complaint against the British government, in view of the election of an Executive in Scotland pledged to hold a referendum on independence, we will wait a bit to see what develops. However, we reserved our right to go ahead with our complaint if insufficient progress was being made.

Of course, any complaint to the United Nations Human Rights Commission could take many months to be investigaated, and of course we can not pre-judge the outcome of that investigation. Nevertheless, Gordon Brown should consider whether he really wants headlines such as UN INVESTIGATES SCOTTISH HUMAN RIGHTS COMPLAINT AGAINST UK .

As for Alex and the other members of the Scottish government, of course they have to go ahead with plans for a referendum on independence. After all, they wouldn't want to be seen as being accomplices to the British government's refusal of a basic human right - would they?

opponents of the british state-are we at war or something and yes that is still cliched rubbish. i'm sure that like most flag waving football fans they do not even know why the flag is being waved.

totally agree, but that is nothing to do with the subject we are discussing, which is whetherr celtic supporters are any more or ant less likely to vote for labour or a pro-union party than any other club.

more likey to vote for a unioist party if they wave a union jack-see above.another cliche.

Is it? Most people that I know who are pro-indepndence wouldnt wear or fly a union jack. I would think that people who choose to fly a union flag ore more likely to be unionist than those who dont. Is that so hard to believe?

celtic fans supporting unionist parties, well plenty are still doing it going by the last election results, you know, with all the pro-union parties winning the most votes.

Absolutely, but no more or less so than other fans, unless anyone has any evidence to contradict this. So far no-one in this thread has shown any evidence that celtic fans are pro-union other than cliches and stereotypes.

so commited ssp and solidarity voters abandoned their party just so as to try and defeat pro-union parties as they were pro-independence, are you serious? utter, utter nonsense.

Is it nonsense? In 1999 the list vote for the SSP, Greens and SNP is almost identical to the list vote in 2007 (taking the SSP and Solidarity vote combined in 2007). In the interim election (2003) the Greens and SSP list vote went up by about 130,000 votes, the SNP list vote went down by a similar amount. This year the smaller parties list votes went down by 130,000 qwith the SNP list vote returbning to the same as it was in 1999. Instead of just saying "utter utter rubbish" why dont you tell me what you think happened?

I didnt say that "committed" supporters of SSP/Solidarity changed their votes (you do like putting words in peoples mouths rather than actually debate what they said). My belief is that the voters in 1999 and 2007 is the total of the "committed" support, the extra 80,000 or so votes that the SSP got in wre not from "committed" voters, that musc is obvioyus as they didnt commit for more than one election. Again, I would be more than willing to change my mind if you could provide a decent debate that goes beyond saying the other opinion is "rubbish".

'i don't like competition events based on winners and losers' good grief. we sir, will never agree if that is your liberal left viewpoint and you are in a very PC minority.

I dont think that I am, not amongst poets, although many events that call themselves a slam dont actually do the competition end of it. Essentially "slam" poetry is a competition with a panel of judges deciding on the best poet. I prefer just open poetry events and that is why I run my exvents withouit the slam competition style.

I have never known that the difference for those who do or dont prefer slam events as being one of liberal or not? do you have any evidence at all for this assertion. As for minority, again I dont think so, very few poetry events in Scotland are "slam" events.

funniest of all, i thought of some cliche for left wing extremists (poetry slams) and i find it is actually true. there is no hope for that lot of idiots.

Then I would say you were mistaken, Slam events come from America mostly and I dont see any left/right split in who prefers what event. I think you are seriously misinformed re poetry events and dont know where you got the idea that "slam" was a left thing. I personally (as do most involved in scots publishing) prefer poetry without the competition and dont see any need for it.

Perhaps you have seen the SSP's youth wing organise a few of these events and mistakenly thought that this applies to the left rather than just some very small group of a small party?

i did not say you said the snp weere left wing. read it again.

I didnt say that you did, read it again Rolling Eyes . You said that I had said the SNP were "loony lefties" because I suggested that republican fans at Celtic are more likely to be pro-independence than the rest of the Celtic support.

You really are going nowhere with this, why dont you just state your case as to why you think competitive poetry events are left wing, why you think that it is "rubbish" to suggest that voters changed from SNP to SSP and back again, and why you think that republican celtic fans are unionist?

You will find that you will have less need to revert to insults if you put forward a case rather than a rant.
sgmillerton

you started with the insults if you recall. you keep telling me to come up with evidence to back up my argument, i did, election results! you choose to ignore this as it does not suit your agenda. i think you are very wrong and have blinkered attitude to flag waving and why they are waved, it is also simplistic at best.

i'm glad you enjoy poetry slams.
Cymro

parkhead_rfb wrote:
Cymro wrote:
Rinty wrote:

Fair?

labour have a terrible record in the six counties and didnt seem to have a problem sending the troops in in the first place. we all know what happened then while they stood back and watched.

the only thing labour has had in its favour in that respect is that a few significant players in the party have been pro irish independence but these have generally not managed to transform their views into policy.

Oh I think they have. Labour have always had a more open mind towards Irish Independence. It's this, along with Blair wanting his own sort of 'crusade' which lead to the Good Friday Agreement, IRA ceasefire etc. The Americans obviously have been big players - Clinton meeting with Adams in the bakery on the Falls etc, but it was only really under Labour that the Americans and the Irish managed to get some meanignful inroads in NI.

So, while I'm far from being a Labour supporter or a supporter of Blair I do think with regards of NI they have shown a positive attitude i.e I don't think Blair would have achieved nearly as much in NI had he been a Tory PM.

"It's this, along with Blair wanting his own sort of 'crusade' which lead to the Good Friday Agreement, IRA ceasefire etc."

Surely the whole process was started by John Majors government and not Blair?

Parkies reaction does not surprsise me and that is what I have been trying to say. The republican element of the Celtic support do not see Labour as friends and havent done for a long while, if at all. They see Labour as the party who sent in the troops and much more.

You may be right Cymru about Labour being more sympathetic to Irish independence and a united Ireland, but that is not the same as them having support from Irish republicans.
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:
Cymro