Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
mebuffyg

Scottish school system

Can anyone tell exactly how the school system is setup? Things like the age that children start school, what subjects are taught, etc. Also on average how many go on to higher education? What are the univerisities like?
Is there anything that you as a people would like to see being taught to your children?
One last thing, is there a literacy problem in Scotland?

primary school from either 4 0r 5 for seven years till 11 or 12. then secondary school from 12 for 4 years, two further years can be taken but that is optional unless you are below 16, you must be at least 16 when you leave. what is taught can vary but maths, english and a foreign language are all mostly taught as standard. numbers attendin university vary depending on region in poorer areas it is much much less than others.
mebuffyg

Thank you so much for the information. It will help a lot.

Re: Scottish school system

mebuffyg wrote:

Is there anything that you as a people would like to see being taught to your children?

Aye! Scottish history.It isnae taught properly in oor schools if at all.My experience is that primary schools seem tae be better regarding Scottish history but that can vary fae teacher tae teacher.Once they get tae Secondary education the teaching o Scottish history goes rapidly doon hill[no that theres much ae a hill tae go doon in the first place] and ony Scottish history taught is taken fae a british point ae view.
mebuffyg

Really! That is terrible, how sad that they don't get a solid grasp on their true history.

It's more than just sad. It's criminal.
mebuffyg

I completely agree. Here in the states our history is pounded into the students. Of course there is alot that is overlooked or it isn't presented in the right light but it is still given to us. To have your history and culture denied to you is criminal, you are absolutely right.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads