Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
sandmountainslim

[ScotWatch] Ancestor's Lament

Compatriots,
The following was sent to me by the Patriot known to me only as "Ulster-Scotsman", I do not know his name nor do I know if he authored the poem (I believe that he did).
I do however believe that you will find it worthy of reading.
Deo Vindice
WP

~ Ancestor's Lament ~

Last night the ancestor's voices carried me back a thousand years
They told of another land,
Another people,
Another trail of tears

I heard ancient warrior's lift their voices in angry battle cry
I saw bloody swords in foreign hands held high

I saw their homes a burning
Heard the women and children's cries
I saw the tears of anger in Celtic warrior eyes

Foreign hands had taken their lands
And sold them for tainted gold
Driving the women and children
Into a bitter winters cold

Pipes that stirred Celt's hearts to fight
Forbidden throughout the land
Yet their braes could be heard
Cross the moors late at night

I see in the pale moonlight across the moor
The spirits of those who so boldly
Fought for home and family in ancient war

As they come closer I feel their pride
And know through my many war trails
They have always been at my side
Theresa

Sandmountainslim,

Very beautiful. There's a similar one in the Welsh heritage about Llywellyn ap Gruffydd -- quite moving, and also gives that sense of the transcendence of time.

Thank you for an inspiration!
T.
garye

Ah shouldnae really slag this aff but, well ah will onywiy.

First whit happened in 1006 that this refers tae?

Second bagpipes were only outlawed in the disarming acts after 1746.

Thirdly if this is refering to Highland clearances the unpalatable fact is that it was many hereditory clan chiefs that did the clearing.

Tha mise dullich, ach tha seo cac.

Aye Garye,but it waes the sasannach that bribed them,set them up for it.
Because they are experts at "divide and conquer" If the english had kept tase their side of the border.we widnae be havin' this conversation. noo!

h

Ulster Scots are highly unlikely to be from the Highlands and most of us are from Ayrshire, Galloway and Cumbria.

Although we did have our own clearances down here too. I would advise reading Rab Wilsons epic poem "Cormilligan" on that subject. I'ts in his latest book "Accent o' the mind"
sandmountainslim

garye wrote:

First whit happened in 1006 that this refers tae?

I have no idea Confused As I said "Ulster-Scotsman" who is a fellow from NI wrote it and passed it on to me, I just thought it was a good poem.

As Rinty says I understand that most folk from Ulster are Lowlanders but there are some Highland folks there also. My Stewart and McCurdy ancestors lived in Ulster at one time but were immigrants from Bute (are the Islands not counted as Highland?). I have also been researching my grandmothers family whose surname was Maness, from what I understand they were Highlanders but bloodwise more Scandanavian than Scot. Any of you ever run across the surname Maness anywhere in Alba nowadays?
WP

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads