Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT

SNP plan £1m toll for Trident

Some good proposals to wind Labour right up!

http://www.sundayherald.com/news/....snp_plan_1m_toll_for_trident.php
Scott2006

I don't see it as being useful at all.

Getting into a small minded monetary "road-toll" battle with Labour on this is not a vote winner.

Stick to the moral high ground - not a dangerous precedent with how much Scotland will take for allowing Trident warheads to be shipped up and down Scotland.

Not the best policy i've heard of recently.

What happened to their use of environmental laws and such to prevent trident being moved up through Scotland? I suppose this is better than nothing though.
wisnaeme

Scott2006 wrote:
I don't see it as being useful at all.

Getting into a small minded monetary "road-toll" battle with Labour on this is not a vote winner.

Quite the contary. Rome wasn't built in a day and neither was the union or Great Britain for indeed was it not events and circumstances before hand that led to greatness being created for the benefit of the elite above all else?
So why not use their laws against them. Indeed, why not use their opponent's policies against them?
I believe it is a flagship New Labour policy to implement road pricing,both locally and nationally.I am quite astounded to be informed that the New Labour Government and their branch office in Scotland are opposed to the SNP being in agreement with them on this issue,however selective the SNP are in the adoption of a New Labour policy. Many others ,like the greens,the Tories and the socialists have in the past and present agree that measures must be taken to preserve the planet.So what's the problem? Tax Trident out of existance and help preserve the planet is a very logical step to take indeed. Has it not been Labour policy to tax us out of existance in the recent past? Aye, so why are Labour so upset when a stealth tax which they want to introduce in their efforts to save the planet by the SNP? Could Labour have a conflict of interests here? Aye, but not the obvious ones apparently.

If westminster wants nukes,keep the bluidy things doon there! Wot cheek!

Babygael wrote:
If westminster wants nukes,keep the bluidy things doon there! Wot cheek!

"Westminster" is not by the sea, and equally it is not "Westminster" which wants them, but rather the UK Parliament - and they are being kept in the UK.

What happened to their use of environmental laws and such to prevent trident being moved up through Scotland? I suppose this is better than nothing though.

Exactly. If that was illegal, then so is this - so there's no difference. And it could never happen anyway - although to be honest, I think the judicial review or reference to the Privy Council is what the SNP want - conflict rather than any actual hope of their policies being put into action.

The engerlish greed for an empire is not shared by most scots and therefore we do not want weapons of mass destruction in SCOTLAND! Shocked After all they sent us away and we made great contributions to the growth and developement of many other Nations across the globe. We don't now plan on the engerlish/Americans blowing them up to kingdom come on our territory and in our name!!
skip

I like the sound of this. Nice headline to be reported over the weekend. Quite a fresh way to attack an unpopular policy. I think quite a lot of normal people will like the idea of a Scots government imposing fines on westminster government. Laughing

Labour is meant to be attacking SNP defence policy but I doubt they will have bargained for this counter response. They must be away researching the legality of it all.
Highlander

skip wrote:
I like the sound of this. Nice headline to be reported over the weekend. Quite a fresh way to attack an unpopular policy. I think quite a lot of normal people will like the idea of a Scots government imposing fines on westminster government. Laughing

Labour is meant to be attacking SNP defence policy but I doubt they will have bargained for this counter response. They must be away researching the legality of it all.

All westminster has to do is deduct what ever money the SNP gets from this stupid tax from the block grant the Scottish Parliament gets and then it all evens out. Problem solved and we can have nukes Laughing

Let Westminister kiss their erse!

Keep scottish oil in scotland,impose serious taxes on england every time they want to use scotland for anything,especially Trident! Retain our teritorial waters and fishing grounds.And bring our people back from Iraq.
Scott2006

There is no amount of money that a future Scottish government should accept for allowing these dangerous weapons to be transported through Scotland. Is the SNP proposing to get some sort of Nuclear Dividend from the pro-nuclear weapons unionist lobby at Westminster?

What message does this send? If we, the Scottish people and its representatives are seen to take payment for movements of weapons of mass destruction, is it really that much of a step for negotiating payments for temporary storage of such weapons?

Would the Greens and other parties support such a position? Who wants to be seen accepting opportunistic 'blood money' when a principled position of total and complete opposition to nuclear weapons has a wider group of supporters and is the only sane forward looking strategy for Scotland.

The MOD believe that Army movements have an exemption from any road charges that the SNP can dream up. If that is not the case it is not beyond the UK Parliament to pass such legislation as a clause in any future relevant Bill it brings forward.

The SNP are acting like a bunch of chancers. This kite-flying exercise does nothing to undermine Labour's pro-nuclear weapons position.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads