Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

jamesieboy
Surely a scam security alarm company!The other night I received a phone call from a security alarm
company.
The girl informed me that there had been a big rise in crime in my neighbourhood and she was calling on behalf of a company which sold security alarms.
Sound like Bull****? Yes, I think you've got the drift.
I informed her that, as a member of a local comunity council, I had info and statistics that the opposite was the case and that many crimes had been solved and the area had been quite quiet for some time now.
At that, she hung up.
I then telephoned the Telephone Preference Service and registered a complaint.
This company, named after an elite army unit, and named under an article in a Sunday tabloid newspaper, is 'allegedly' headed by an ex-professional footballer.
Has anyone else had this scam phone call?
What community council are you on?
jamesieboy
That would give away my identity, something no-one on this, or any other site, not surprisingly, would do.
Dave Coull
On Wednesday 8th April, | Holebender wrote: | | Hardly anybody here uses his or her real name | to which I replied | Quote: | | As you know, there is at least one exception to that rule. |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | as a member of a local comunity council |
| Rinty wrote: | | What community council are you on? |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | That would give away my identity, something no-one on this, or any other site, not surprisingly, would do. |
SPEAK FUR YERSEL.
Rinty uses his real name on some forums. Although he uses the name Rinty here, he makes no attempt to hide his identity, and has, in fact, confirmed his full name several times, here on Our Scotland. As for me, there is absolutely no hiding of identity whatsoever, where I'm concerned. I'm Dave Coull.
Lord Pitsligo
| jamesieboy wrote: | | That would give away my identity, something no-one on this, or any other site, not surprisingly, would do. |
But for a quirk of fate, I could have been Lord Pitsligo...
Stevie
Okay, who is Lord Pitsligo?
Lord Pitsligo
| BRAVEHAND wrote: | | Okay, who is Lord Pitsligo? |
Oh, its no big deal, just some fallout from who took which side in the '45 uprising.
linoleum
Re: Surely a scam security alarm company![quote="jamesieboy"]The other night I received a phone call from a security alarm
company.
The girl informed me that there had been a big rise in crime in my neighbourhood and she was calling on behalf of a company which sold security alarms.
Sound like Bull****? Yes, I think you've got the drift.
I informed her that, as a member of a local comunity council, I had info and statistics that the opposite was the case and that many crimes had been solved and the area had been quite quiet for some time now.
At that, she hung up.
I then telephoned the Telephone Preference Service and registered a complaint.
This company, named after an elite army unit, and named under an article in a Sunday tabloid newspaper, is 'allegedly' headed by an ex-professional footballer.
Has anyone else had this scam phone call?[/quote]
i take it you are combat 18/national front member.hahhahahahhahahaha ya nasty big raycist.
hahahhahahahhaha.superb.
i phoned one of these 'injured at work compensation' companies. i asked how mush compensation i would be paid if i lost a thumb and forefinger in a work related accident. i was told several thousands of pounds. sounding excited they asked when this happened. i told them it had not happened as yet...................................
jamesieboy
My community council is. shall we say, westward ho//
Even west of, shall we say, Alderman Road....or even west of....Kilbowie Road...
Nuff said.
jamesieboy
My name is.....
I am am a member of the west of scotland tartan army.
I love scotland.
I am not homosexual.
I am a member of a political party which strives for scottish independence.
I like curries and real ale....not that Tennents Lager s**t
I am a teacher...and an informed (I informed myself) intellectual.
I like ethnic minorities and encourage people from s**t hole countries to settle here.....and appreciate real ale.
I hate, with a passion, the Old Firm and their whole sectarian agenda.
I hate paedophiles, criminals, mafiosi and their whole PC thought police who protect them.
I love Tennent's Bar and Byres Road.
I love....the truth...and I hate the PC lies agenda.
Dave Coull
On Wednesday 8th April, | Holebender wrote: | | Hardly anybody here uses his or her real name | Although it should be pointed out that at one time Holebender used the name "IndependenceFirstConvenor", and, since it was a matter of public record who the convenor of IF was at that time, it was very easy for anybody to figure out his name! Since switching to "Holebender", Aventinian has in fact used HB's real name here, and the only concern HB had was that he might be confused with another poster with the same first name. Anyway, I replied | Quote: | | As you know, there is at least one exception to that rule. |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | as a member of a local comunity council |
| Rinty wrote: | | What community council are you on? |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | That would give away my identity, something no-one on this, or any other site, not surprisingly, would do. | I said | Quote: | SPEAK FUR YERSEL.
Rinty uses his real name on some forums. Although he uses the name Rinty here, he makes no attempt to hide his identity, and has, in fact, confirmed his full name several times, here on Our Scotland. As for me, there is absolutely no hiding of identity whatsoever, where I'm concerned. I'm Dave Coull. |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | I hate paedophiles, criminals, mafiosi | Fa disnae? | jamesieboy wrote: | | and their whole PC thought police who protect them | And there we have Jamesie's extreme right wing thought processes exposed. It is not enough just to be against paedophiles, criminals, and mafiosi; you ALSO have to accept every word that Jaemsieboy tells you as the gospel truth, even when the things he tells you are confused and contradictory, because, if you DON'T accept every word he tells you, then you must be part of the "PC Thought Police". Everybody who is not with us is against us - it is a familiar pattern used by authoritarians throughout the ages. | jamesieboy wrote: | | I love....the truth | Okay, Mister I-love...(moment's hesitation)...the truth, what's your name? Mine is Dave Coull. You love telling folk to "do a google", well, you could easily find a lot of stuff about me (some of it lies, but not from me)...... | jamesieboy wrote: | | I hate the PC lies agenda. | There we have have Jamesie's extreme right wing thought processes exposed again. It is not enough just to be against paedophiles, criminals, and mafiosi; you ALSO have to accept every word that Jaemsieboy tells you as the gospel truth, even when the things he tells you are confused and contradictory, because, if you DON'T accept every word he tells you, then you must be part of the "PC Lies agenda". Everybody who is not with us is against us - it is a familiar pattern used by authoritarians throughout the ages.
jamesieboy
But, Dave, how can i be right wing when I go around pubs in the west of Scotland area with a watch with Enver Hoxha's picture on it?
Wasn't he extreme left wing?
Holebender
Maybe it's an extremely cunning disguise?
Or it would be if it wasn't for that fact that well over 99% or the population couldn't tell you who Enver Hoxha was, let alone what he looked like.
agentmancuso
Not true, as the cunningly-disguised-as-himself Brechin No. 1 has already pointed out. Several people on here know my identity to a greater or lesser extent, and at least one has been in my house on many occasions.
But then, having an identity to reveal requires being a real person in the first place, and not just a troll shaped pot of piss.
Lord Pitsligo
| jamesieboy wrote: |
I am not homosexual. |
Wow, that one was high up the list! Who are you trying to convince, us or yourself?
Dave Coull
| agentmancuso wrote: | | Not true, as the cunningly-disguised-as-himself Brechin No. 1 has already pointed out. | I feel I must point out I'm not in any sense "Brechin No 1". Yes, now, in the evening of my years (but with yet another move now in prospect), I have spent about 5 percent of my life with Brechin as the nearest town; but for 95 percent of my life Brechin was NOT the nearest town. Furthermore, I have never in my life slept even one single night within the boundaries of Brechin city. I have slept in Aberdeen, Aden, Axminster, Bahrein, Barcelona, Birmingham, Burnley, Brighton, Bristol, Calais, Coatbridge, Comrie, Corby, Cupar, Dundee, Edinburgh, Ferryden, Glasgow, Larling, Lewes, Llandanwg, London, Los Angeles, Manchester, Montrose, Newcastle, New Jersey, Paris, Port Glasgow, Prague, San Francisco, Scunthorpe, Sheffield, Ullapool, Wick, and Sheikh-Othman (Yemen), but never in Brechin.
Holebender
I notice you've never slept in the city that never sleeps.
agentmancuso
| Holebender wrote: | | I notice you've never slept in the city that never sleeps. |
Arbroath?
jamesieboy
Fit! Brechin never sleeps? They must be sleepin durin the day then cos there's no a lot goes on in the toon. Apart from the occasional east European goin oot and choppin folk tae bits.
jamesieboy
So holebender was the Independence First Convener?
I shall find out who he is at the conference next weekend so i can punch his nose for insulting me when all I have brought is some welcome fresh air to this forum.
Holebender
Good luck trying. I quit that organisation when it changed into an overtly left wing and authoritarian group. If you're a member now you are clearly comfortable in such a setting.
I'm surprised to hear they're still going.
Dave Coull
| jamesieboy wrote: | | So holebender was the Independence First Convener? I shall find out who he is at the conference next weekend | So, you are claiming that I.F. still exists, and that you are a member of it, and that they have a "conference" next weekend which you will be attending? Given your past record of inaccuracy, I''m not sure how accurate ANY of that is. However, if it does still exist to any extent, they have almost certainly been doing some re-writing of history, so, for the benefit of anybody who doesn't know the history of Independence First, here's a wee bit of it, taken from the as-yet-unpublished work on the subject by the guy who suggested the campaign in the first place and organised its very first meeting. We originally formed Independence First in late 2004/the beginning of 2005 as a strictly NON-PARTY-POLITICAL group. From the very start, we intended Independence First to include people who, while agreeing on the basic aims of campaigning for a referendum and for independence, would have lots of different viewpoints. It was always accepted that a wide spread of opinion was bound to lead to arguments amongst the members. Some of us took the view that this was a GOOD THING - a campaign which could allow vigorous discussion of dissenting views was a positive strength, it's the attempt to impose a monolithic "Unity" which is a sign of weakness. But by March 2007 it seemed to some of us that the original non-party-political nature of IF was being compromised. At the Annual General Meeting of Independence First in March 2007, Eric Canning, the Leader of the Communist Party in Scotland, who had joined IF just one month earlier, was elected as convenor, by a majority of just one vote. It seemed to some of us that the leader of a political party (even a very small political party) becoming, in effect, the "leader" of IF, brought the non-party-political nature of the campaign into question. We argued for this view, politely but firmly, through the Members' Forum. Subsequent to that extremely narrow vote at the AGM, many changes took place in IF within a matter of five or six weeks. Some of these changes were intended to strengthen the position of the convenor and to centralise power within the campaign. But the most depressing change of all was that the response to us expressing our arguments, politely but firmly, through the Members' Forum, was that the Members' Forum got closed down. This response to internal dissent, reminiscent of the most authoritarian of political parties, left us with no choice but to leave IF. Sixteen people, including nearly every one of the founders, such as Holebender, and the one who came up with the idea of the campaign in the first place (me), and the one who came up with the name (Chicmac), resigned. They included folk with (from my point of view) fairly right wing views, as well as folk on the left, and folk somewhere in the middle. The most important thing these people had in common was that they didn't like authoritarianism. Specifically, they didn't like the IF Members' Forum being closed down in order to suppress dissent. We issued a statement explaining the reason for our collective resignation. Anybody who chose to remain a member of I.F. AFTER the Stalinist closing down of the members forum, and AFTER we resigned and issued that statement explaining the reason for our resignation, is somebody who chose to side with dictatorship and suppression of free speech.
Dave Coull
| Holebender wrote: | | I quit that organisation when it changed into an overtly left wing and authoritarian group. | I agree the rump IF after nearly all of the founder members quit was authoritarian, but I can't accept the description of it as "left wing". For one thing, some of the folk who remained members held distinctly "right wing" views in many ways - both their Treasurer and their Acting Secretary spring to mind. For another thing, some of those who resigned because they were sickened with the suppression of dissent could be regarded as far to the "left", including a couple of members of the Scottish Republican Socialist Movement, and two subscribers to the anarchy list! No, the difference between those who remained in I.F. and those who resigned wasn't about "left" and "right". It was about authoritarianism versus free speech.
Dave Coull
| jamesieboy wrote: | | all I have brought is some welcome fresh air to this forum. | Fresh air? Is that fit ye ca it? Smells mair like a fart tae me.
Lord Pitsligo
| jamesieboy wrote: | So holebender was the Independence First Convener?
I shall find out who he is at the conference next weekend so i can punch his nose for insulting me when all I have brought is some welcome fresh air to this forum. |
Wow! Cyber stalking and threats of violence. Just as well your a proven liar, or the mods might have to do something about you!
Holebender
Yes, the threat of violence had been noted.
Holebender
Dave, it wasn't that it took on any particular political hue, it was that it became partisan. I would have left regardless of which strand of political thought it followed, as the non-party aspect was of the highest importance to me; it was what made Independence First a force to be taken seriously.
jamesieboy
What's all SAS Fire and Security Limited which is run by, allegedly, criminal gangsters, featured prominently in the Sunday Mail, and continue with their policy (probably illegal) of pestering people by phone to by one of their security alarms?
Ooops!
Dave Coull
| Holebender wrote: | | Dave, it wasn't that it took on any particular political hue, it was that it became partisan. I would have left regardless of which strand of political thought it followed, as the non-party aspect was of the highest importance to me; it was what made Independence First a force to be taken seriously. | Agreed. As it happened, the individual who became convenor of Independence First in 2007 was the leader of a very small political party, the Communist Party of Scotland, but I would have taken exactly the same attitude if it had been Alex Salmond, or Tommy Sheridan, or any other party leader. There was no problem over having a MEMBER of the CPS, or any other political party, in an official position, the objection was to a NATIONAL OFFICIAL of any political party being seen as the representative of a supposedly "non-party" campaign. Most of the folk at that AGM were unaware of Eric Canning's position as the leader of the Communist Party of Scotland. Most of us didn't know him, so he gave a five minute "introduction" of himself, but without mentioning his leadership of a political party. I very much doubt if he would have been elected (with a majority of one vote) if everybody there had realised he was a party leader. Although it was me that chaired that meeting, and me that declared him duly elected, I wasn't sure myself. It was only when I got home and did a bit of checking that there could be no doubt that he was in fact the leader of a political party. I later phoned Eric Canning and asked him - very politely - if he would be prepared to quit his position as leader of the Communist Party, and carry on as convenor of Independence First. I did NOT ask him to quit the CPS, you understand, but just to quit being party leader, because this was incompatible with being the convenor of a non-party-political campaign. Eric's response was downright rude. We had discussion about this on the Members' Forum, conducted quite politely on our part I thought, but with total venom on the part of some of those who thought it was perfectly okay to have the leader of a political party as convenor of Independence First. And of course the last straw was when they decided to suppress all dissent by closing down the Members' Forum. When they did that, we had no option but to leave, and Independence First no longer had the potential to be "a force to be taken seriously".