Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication
mebuffyg

Thank you!

Very Happy I just wanted to thank any all who answered my questions. I got an excellent grade on my report. You were all very helpful and very nice. Thanks again. Very Happy

Well done! Glad it went well
True Scotsman

Good for you & well done Buffy.

Now I just have to find alittle more information on the Forbes clan, but that is just for me.

Thanks for the congrats!
True Scotsman

Nae problem.

True Scotsman wrote:
Nae problem.

That is the clan that I believe I am related to from what I have been able to research so far. Do you know anything about them?
True Scotsman

People who often use the word nae are often Doric & Scots speakers. You find people who speak doric in the North-East of Scotland, especially in Aberdeen. I myself use some Scots & Doric words when I am speaking to someone. Wolf & Babygael speak Scots so they can tell you all about it. Maby I should be speaking Scots or Doric myself since I often use some of the words.

Sorry I thought you meant something else. Silly me.
True Scotsman

We all make mistakes. But if you are intrested in knowing more about Scottish Languages Buffy here are some websites.

Scot's Language

http://www.dsl.ac.uk/

http://www.scotsdictionaries.org.uk/

Scottish Gaelic Language

http://www.mackinnon.me.uk/Faclair/

That is if you are intrested in Scottish Languages

Thank you! I am very interested. At least that way when I finally get to to a holiday there I won't seem like such a tourist. Laughing
True Scotsman

One last thing. You can also go too the Gàidhlig section to find more about Scottish Gaelic & or go into the Recommended Sites section to get more websites on Scotland. Does this help?

any little bit helps. Hopefully I can learn a thing or two, but I don't know, its hard enough to remember how to speak english properly sometimes.lol

Ok - well it's coloUr and favoUr, not color and favor!

Very Happy
mebuffyg

Oh yes I know those those little things. LOL.
The next few days I am taking final exams, so after they are over I will be able to learn a thing or two. Then I can emerace myself into the colour and flavour of all that is Socttish. Very Happy

mebuffyg wrote:
Now I just have to find alittle more information on the Forbes clan, but that is just for me.

Thanks for the congrats!

The Forbes clan ye say i can tell ye ma clan the Gordons an yer clan the Forbes were always knocking lumps oot ae each other.
The Gordons always won mind ye. Wink Ive often heard it said that Gordons an Forbes are no technically clans an are sometimes cried families insteed,i ken thats because the Gordons had settled in the borders afore they waur grantit lands in the north east,im no sure if the Forbes waur a borders family as weel or no.Thaur a wee site here for ye tae hae a look at though.Ye`ll maybe find something thaur thats ae use tae ye.
http://www.rampantscotland.com/clans/blclanforbes.htm

Wit did ye think "nae Problem " ment?? Mebuffyg! Its nae Clann ah recognise!! Shocked

Ah dinnae !! Mr. Green Mr. Green Wit coloUR is yer Breacan lassie??

Onyroad, ahm happy fer ye that ye got through yon exam.

have wan' oan BG

BG Mr. Green
mebuffyg

Babygael, Correct me if I am wrong but nae probblem means no problem right?
I understood that part, I was just really really tired when I read it, too many late nights studying. Wink I'm not through exams just yet I have two more to go. Over the summer I will have three more classes. I am trying to get through as quickly as possible. I waited too long to go back to school. Laughing Its harder than I remember. But I have managed to keep up all my grades. Very Happy On the breacan, I know that the site the Wolf listed there is a copy of it.

My maiden name is Watts, which from what I found traces to the Buchanan and Forbes clans. From what I read so far I think that Forbes branched off somehow from the Buchanans. But I am not certain of this just yet.

But thank you for the information Wolf! Hope that you don't have to knock me on the head too often. Laughing

Aye, mebuffyg. an' yup, ah onderstan late nights tae I'm havin' wan mah sel' the noo'.

Wal . breacan is the Gaelic word fer Plaid.See the word "plaid " is origionally from Italy,or some sech, ye ken?Like yon Bonny Prince.

I always hev tae remember that Arkansas is prounounced differently fra' the way its spelt!!

Anither guid web site like this wan is WWW.thebloodisstrong.com

However, tha's wan serious scots forum!!Loads of info an' quite a few of yer countrymen/women oan it.

Wolfie sent ye tae WWW.rampantscotland.com,that an' Electricscotland is guid tae.

I'll bide ye guid nicht the noo', BG dwarf
mebuffyg

You don't want to know how I pronounce Arkansas.LOL. Its not pretty.
I wasn't sure how to describe the breacan, don't laugh but I looked up the word to see what it meant before I answered, ok you can laugh its funny.
I have been on the electricscotland site. But thanks for the other info. I will use it.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication