Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Dave Coull

The description is WRONG

Who decides on these bits under the "Author" name on this Our Scotland forum? They just appear there, they are not chosen by the authors themselves. Some of them say things like "Findin ma way" or "This is ma life" or "Gaining a reputation". That's fair enough, but what it says under MY name is just plain wrong. It has just one word : "Nationalist". I'll be sixty six next month and I have never in my entire life described myself as a Nationalist. I used to describe myself as an Anarchist, but stopped using that self-description quite a few years ago now, because an anarchist is somebody who is against all government, and I can't be one if I'm campaigning for an independent Scottish government. But no way have I ever been a Nationalist. A supporter of independence, yes, but that's not the same thing. I don't mind if I get described as "wise guy", or "smart alec", or "argumentative old so-and-so", or "troublemaker", or even just plain "trouble", there would at least be some justification for any one of these descriptions, and probably some of the folk on here can think of quite a few more descriptions which they would like to apply to me but which should not be printed on a site accessible to youngsters. But please - NOT "Nationalist"!

Ok Dave, I'll sort it out. By the way, as interesting as most of your posts are, they are often hard to read when they are all in one big paragraph.

Aw Dave, c'mon.
Don't you think you are nit picking a wee bit. We've all been called Nationalist at some time on here. It doen't mean anything. Just indicates the number of posts or something and would change to something else eventually with more posts.
Dave Coull

Mairead wrote

> Aw Dave, c'mon. Don't you think you are nit picking a wee bit.

Nit picking ?????!!!!!!!!!!!

NIT-bloody-well-picking???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!

You've been listening to your good friend Carol, haven't you?

> We've all been called Nationalist at some time on here.

The difference is that most of the folk getting called Nationalist are okay with that description. I'm a supporter of independence for Scotland. It's not quite the same thing. Now, some folk are BOTH supporters of independence AND Nationalist. And that's okay, I recognise that and I manage to get along with most folk like that. Or at least as well as I get along with anybody. But I'm NOT both of these things, and this distinction is very important to me.

I think Margaret is better suited for you Dave

Sorry Dave, I did not mean that post in a nasty way, and also, I am definately no friend of Carol. I thought you were aware of that.
I am also having difficulty finding the difference between those who want Independence for Scotland and Nationalists, who also want Independence for Scotland. Surely wanting an Independent Nation makes one a nationalist, or am I losing the plot here.
Please explain the difference.
Cymro

Many refuse to call themselves Nationalists because of the image of Nationalists = Racists, Nazis etc. Personally I don't regard racists such as the BNP as being Nationalists, they are Imperialists, but also Racists. The fact they call themselves Nationalists means nothing to me - I could call myself a bus, wouldn't make me a bus though.

For me a Nationalist is no more than a person who believes in independence for their country.

found this on a dictionary link Rolling Eyes
Aspirations for national independence in a country under foreign domination.

I would say one proud of their cultural identity, for an indy Scotland, nationalists are also more known for being members of the SNP

Margaret I'd rather not be a friend of yours than unite behind a defunct fraudulent prince

Carol

Aw away and get lost Carol. You're flogging a dead horse and no-one is the tiniest bit interested anymore.
Sad that your would be 'claim to fame' failed, yet again, and you managed with your usual megalomaniac charm to alienate even more people. You really need to get a grip.

Cymro.
Thanks for your reply. I am a nationalist in the sense that I believe in an independent Scotland. I do not believe in racism, religous differences or any other form of bigotry and my understanding of being a nationalist is simply a belief in a free Scotland, therefore I have no problem being called a nationalist.

Just checked a dictionary and it gives the definition of Nationalism as 'Devotion to one's country; a movement for independence

Hi auntie M ! That makes me a Nationalist then, which is admittedly, A WHOLE LOT BETTER THAN "GETTING ON A BIT!" LOL!! From a gurrrls perspective anyway! Wink Cool Laughing

Carol, wot is a defunct fraudulent Prince pray tell please? Sounds very mysterious indeed!!! Cool
Cymro

mairead wrote:
Cymro.
Thanks for your reply. I am a nationalist in the sense that I believe in an independent Scotland. I do not believe in racism, religous differences or any other form of bigotry and my understanding of being a nationalist is simply a belief in a free Scotland, therefore I have no problem being called a nationalist.

Just checked a dictionary and it gives the definition of Nationalism as 'Devotion to one's country; a movement for independence

I agree with you, that too is how I see myself. However, many - left wing people mainly see Nationalism as some Right Wing thing.

BG.
Carol is referring to Michael of Albany who, for many years was believed by the Jacobites, including me, to be the heir to the Stewart titles.
Carol, one time friend of Albany, but always one to grab the limelight, jumped on another guy's bandwagon and proceeded to expose him as a fraud, much to the shock and hurt of loads of folk who had grown to love the man.
Since then she has, at every opportunity continued to spout her venom at those of us who believed in Albany. She gets some kind of weird kick out of it.
Now had she exposed Albany in a literate and sensible manner, things might not have been too bad, however she chose to insult the integrity of many people in many forums, with her foul abuse and vicious name calling, then of course gets upset when folk respond to her in kind.
As you can see, here and elswhere, she is continuing to harp on and on about Albany, , thinking it will bring her that which she craves most, heaps of praise for her treacherous betrayal.
All this happened well over a year ago, but still she trawls it up again and again, and no-one is really interested now in yesterdays news.

Hope that explains things a bit for you, at least about the'defunct prince'.

Ave goat th' picture noo' thank ye kindly! Cool

So it is not safe to assume that Prince charlie has living rellies today? I mean fur such a randy guy, how is that possible? Shocked

Aye BG, there are other bloodline rellies. probably hundreds of them by now I would think. We are working on that at present.

mairead wrote:
Aw away and get lost Carol. You're flogging a dead horse and no-one is the tiniest bit interested anymore.
Sad that your would be 'claim to fame' failed, yet again, and you managed with your usual megalomaniac charm to alienate even more people. You really need to get a grip.

what claim to fame? I had nothing to do with his exposure, although yes I did do some research and did take a stance against him

do you know how embarassing it is to know that Lafosse passed himself off to an audience of around 70 as rightful heir to the throne of Scotland? The invitation from a history group I'm involved with. He also graced himself at Alloa Tower in the prescence of the Earl of Mar and Kellie who stupidly fell for his deceipt (and was actually drawn into it) the ones that will in the long term alienate themselves are the ones like yourself who still swear allegiance to the fraud.

keep it up Margaret continue to fire pot shots at me I will fire back

mairead wrote:
to insult the integrity of many people in many forums, with her foul abuse and vicious name calling,

Evidence please Margaret

mairead wrote:
Aye BG, there are other bloodline rellies. probably hundreds of them by now I would think. We are working on that at present.

well Margaret as Lafosse's (aka Albany) biographer you wouldn't know a fraud if one stared you in the face

So what I don't get is wots the big deal? Surely Scotland will never have a Monarchy (Scottish) again? Its just an interesting bit of detective work and if he's the real deal, well so much the better! It makes life more interesting! No?

Carol,
Maybe not, but I sure do recognise a self important attention seeking egotist who is so full of bile she can't let go of the past and thinks anyone is interested.

Babygael,
He sure did make life interesting and whatever he was or was not, he was all for an independence Scotland and as an orator, a pleasure to listen to.

Ahmfurbilin' Laughing Ooops! cuidna resist that wan!! (Stanley baxter again!)

Babygael.
I can't be bothered reading any more of Carols ravings. She seems intent on stirring things up yet again, on this thread.
It didn't work on the other thread so she's trying again here. I think I will just treat her with contempt and ignore. That way she can talk to herself, 'cos she sure likes the sound of her own voice, or in this case likes to read her own words, especially if she thinks her words might bother me....as if.

hard to think you would still bow down to him Margaret

you spew the bile Margaret your contempt towards me is quite clear.

there was no reason for my name to even be brought into this thread, but nope you cannot leave it alone

mairead wrote:
Babygael,
He sure did make life interesting and whatever he was or was not, he was all for an independence Scotland and as an orator, a pleasure to listen to.

if the guy was chocolate he would've eaten himself, he was so full of it Margaret. He was for himself not an independent Scotland it was part of his charade, bigger fool us for falling for it, he would've been laughing at us behind our backs, is that what you're proud of?

Yawn, Yawn Yawn b o r i n g

I met the guy the once and he seemed like a nice enough guy. I can totally understand that someone could end up quite bitter on finding out that it was a con. I'm surprised there's many folk out there with much sympathy for him. Any idea what he's doing with himself now?

Also, regarding Dave's 'title'... anyone got any good ideas? So far we have Dave's suggestions 'troublemaker', 'smart-alec' etc we could also term him 'definitely not a nationalist'. Any other good ones?

Also, Dave, I totally sympathise. I would never normally call myself a nationalist, although I would fit some of the definitions out there.

How about Independentist. Must admit I am bemused. I did not really know there was a difference and still don't see it.

Yes, Albany was/is a nice, unpretentious guy, even if he did fool us, and he'd still get a cuppa at my house because I truly liked him and he was my friend, and no matter what happens to my friends, I stick by them or I would have had no right to call myself a friend in the first place.
He did a lot for some folk who were quick enough to ingratiate themselves with him, but sadly those he thought the most of, were the first to disown him and kick him when he went down.
Typical human behaviour of course.
I can tell you that he is doing just fine now and is no longer in Belgium, having left there after his father died..

Well I guess it's the context that the word is used. Although I've always been pro-indepedence, I don't come from a 'nationalist' family and when I was at university nationalism was always a dirty word with the negative connotations to the fore. For many, it is used very different context, so I can understand that it's perfectly acceptable. Independentist or independentista sound good though Smile

Thanks for letting us know about Michael. I won't comment too much as I don't know the details of the situation. I guess different people will react in different ways to being fooled like that and perhaps the closer you are, the most let down you will feel.

Margaret the guy stabbed you in the back, what planet are you on? Friends don't deceive you. As for the ones he thought the most of???? The guy was an expert at fraud, he got away with it for 30 years, it wasn't just Scotland he hoodwinked, the damage he did was global. We are the innocent parties not him.

As for him doing fine, sure no doubt with loyal supporters such as yourself following like sheep keeping his fantasy alive.

SLG nope not bitter. It pisses me off when folk like Margaret and her minority take their vengeance out on the likes of myself rather than their fantasy prince who caused the path of destruction

SLG just saw your post, I wasn't close to Michael, so it's nothing to do with let down

regards

Carol
Dave Coull

Mairead wrote (to Carol) "You're flogging a dead horse".

"Flogging a dead horse"? Does that mean, into sadism, necrophilia, and bestiality?
Dave Coull

Carol wrote

> there was no reason for my name to even be brought into this thread

Mairead suggested that, in saying I'm a supporter of independence but not a Nationalist, I was "nit picking". Since YOU had made that very same accusation against me many times, I asked if she'd been listening to you.......
Dave Coull

SLG wrote "regarding Dave's 'title'... anyone got any good ideas? So far we have Dave's suggestions 'troublemaker', 'smart-alec' etc we could also term him 'definitely not a nationalist'." - No, no, that won't do, that sounds like I am ANTI-nationalist, possibly a Unionist, which is also completely misleading.

Dave, I did suggest independentist.
Re Carol and bringing her name up, every time anyone brings my name up on any forum Carol is in, you can expect the Albany issue to rise again. Tedious I know, but that's life.
I remember the things she has said about you too and the disruption she caused..
ERM, don't you understand that Carol sees herself as the best person to lead us to independence and always has to be the great 'I am'.
The rest of us count for little in her eyes.
As for 'Listening to Carol' geez Dave, but it would be hard indeed not to hear her. Pathetic, I know but there we go. LOL
Dave Coull

Mairead wrote that I was

> nit picking

and I commented

> Nit picking ?????!!!!!!!!!!!

> NIT-bloody-well-picking???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mairead responded

> Sorry Dave, I did not mean that post in a nasty way

I know, I wasn't really upset, and I WAS just joking about you sounding like Carol!

> Dave, I did suggest independentist.

What kind of a dentist is that?

Mind you, trying to get this description of me changed IS a bit like pulling teeth......

Margaret I don't stab Dave behind his back he knows how I feel about him so pointless stirring there. As a person he's a pain and I have very little respect towards him but there is no hatred there. Unlike your and others clear hatred towards me.

Dave in this instance re posting this thread I did not think you were nit picking, but yet again I know you better than Margaret

mairead wrote:

ERM, don't you understand that Carol sees herself as the best person to lead us to independence and always has to be the great 'I am'.
The rest of us count for little in her eyes.

Wrong as usual Margaret I have more value for individuals than you will ever have, any snootiness comes from Lady Muck yourself

Yawn ,Yawn, Yawn. Boring name calling as per usual.
The only individual you value is yourelf, hence most of your posts usually contain the words, 'I take the credit for,' 'I was responsible for' etc etc etc.
Likewise the only opinions which matter to you are your own.
Yawn, Yawn, Yawn.

Mornig Dave,
Glad you were joking about me sounding like Carol 'cos that's one insult I'd really find hard to forgive.

What kind of dentist. Well I have to asdmit I'm stuck on that one. Just seemed like a good option to nationalist. Very Happy Very Happy

mairead wrote:

The only individual you value is yourelf, hence most of your posts usually contain the words, 'I take the credit for,' 'I was responsible for' etc etc etc.

Once again evidence please Margaret

No time to trawl back through all your posts on all the forums which contain these words, but there are some on here who know doubt have read the same, that is, unless you have gone back and deleted them.

Well!well!well!...... Mairead! I never knew your familly name was MUCK?? Shocked(sorry no offence!) And a lady to boot! Strewth!!! Let me bow n' scrape at your feet M'Lady! Och aye! From the famous clan MacMuck ah presume?? Wink

queen
Aye something like that BG Wink Wink Wink

BG she's got a smart red velvet robe to go with it Razz

mairead wrote:
No time to trawl back through all your posts on all the forums which contain these words, but there are some on here who know doubt have read the same, that is, unless you have gone back and deleted them.

like myself one in a million Wink

unlike yourself who goes and edits once a moderator has kicked ass, I have not edited or deleted

Yawn Yawn, sorry Carol, no moderator ever forced me to delete anything. I did delete a few words in one post because I was advised by a moderator that you had taken it the wrong way.
Nor did I delete the one you went whining round the admin and moderators with last week on another site. You see, I am also a moderator and therefore I keep my own posts moderate, if you see what I mean.
By the way, Do you like my long red velvet Robe?

Mairead, wud that be a bath robe? Only carol mentioned aboot wan earlier? Jist askin'! Smile

Ond aye mairead,I'll bet it looks bonnie oan ye tae! Very Happy

must be a posh bath robe BG

yes Margaret I'd use it for wiping my feet on

Carol the heck ye say! Ye wud stond oan it? That wud be a bath mat then? Rolling Eyes

or a red carpet Razz

Fur lady M!! Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing (sorry mairead! LOL!)

Nae Bother BG. I know well your sense of humour.
It is a full length red velvet cloak with a high collar which has gold embroidery on it. I only use it one very special occasions.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society