The Queen at 80......what happens next though?The Queen turning 80 got me thinking.......what effect will it have on the Union when she pops her clogs?
I'm assuming she won't live forever - so when this happens will it be another obstacle to Independence for Scotland removed?
The last surviving monarch from the good 'ol British WWII era - when Britishness was embraced rather than shunned in Scotland as it is now.
Would it be the straw that breaks the camel's back? Could Scots sit and watch the coronation of that buffoon Charles in their name? 'God save the King', and no doubt the 'celebrations' staged all over the country with the flying of the union flag all that crap? I imagine the British national anthem might then change also.
It's all these little changes that distance Scots from feeling any sort of attachment to Britishness and to embrace Independence.
What do you guys think?
Lothian Sky
Not wishing to dance on anybody,s grave here, but I can see the winning post from here, rs!
Get the beers in.
Everywan ae them,goes withoot saying.
frank rizzo
The British state and the monarchy go hand in hand. Once one goes, the other will follow.
Bring it on!
Re: The Queen at 80......what happens next though? | rs_azzuri wrote: | | I'm assuming she won't live forever |
That sounds like treason to me!
| Quote: |
The last surviving monarch from the good 'ol British WWII era - when Britishness was embraced rather than shunned in Scotland as it is now. |
Well, shunned by the sort of folk you associate with. Just because they don't play God Save the Queen after the films in the cinema anymore doesn't mean we're less willing to embrace our Britishness.
| Quote: | | Would it be the straw that breaks the camel's back? Could Scots sit and watch the coronation of that buffoon Charles in their name? 'God save the King', and no doubt the 'celebrations' staged all over the country with the flying of the union flag all that crap? |
Popular opinion is growing in favour of Charles. And imagine if it happened and William took the throne (by the convenient abdication of an ageing Charles) - the republican movement would be set back by decades.
I think Charles wouldn't actually make a terrible King. As for the celebrations, you lot managed to get through the Jubilee, I'm sure this won't push you over the edge.
| frank rizzo wrote: | | The British state and the monarchy go hand in hand. Once one goes, the other will follow. |
There's plenty of Monarchist Nationalists and Unionist Republicans.
macnumpty
But the whole nature of the current state is the United Kingdom, and if you challenge one aspect of that, surely you have to examine the whole?
Yes, if Britain ever decides to become a republic the who UK constitution is up for grabs. I hope we're well out of it by then, but that is something of a fall back position.
Abieuan
I wouldn't want Charles as King of Scotland for the reason that i don't want any London based monarch as our King.
As for old wingnut himself, he's not such a bad guy, i like his views on organic farming an modern architecture.
Neil
The long term problem for monarchy as an institution is that because people are living longer 80 is likely to be the average age of monarchs from now on. Even Popes get the job before they get their bus passes.
| Neil wrote: | | The long term problem for monarchy as an institution is that because people are living longer 80 is likely to be the average age of monarchs from now on. Even Popes get the job before they get their bus passes. |
You're quite right. While the Queen has handled her advancing years very well, this will not be true of every aged monarch. The idea of a dottery 90-odd year old Charles on the Throne doesn't fill me with confidence in the system at all.
For an example, see the last Pope - he could barely speak! Although admittedly it didn't seem to do him any harm in the popularity stakes.
frank rizzo
Re: The Queen at 80......what happens next though? | Quote: | | There's plenty of Monarchist Nationalists and Unionist Republicans. |
Plenty of Scottish Nationalists that support the monarchy? Well, I'm a member of the SNP and in my local party have yet to meet one.
However, the point I was making is that the British Constitution and the monarchy are linked firmly together.
m | Quote: | | Plenty of Scottish Nationalists that support the monarchy? Well, I'm a member of the SNP and in my local party have yet to meet one. |
Well why don't your branch attempt to make it SNP policy?
My idea for the queen and her family would be to involve television to maximise potential revenue from our most famous tourist attraction.
All of their assests could be auctioned off on Bid Up TV while all of the royals are assembled on St Kilda for a TV Big Brother show. Each week the public get to vote off one of the family who will immediately be thrown in to the sea. The winner will be sold off to any country who lacks the confidence to be a republic and needs an ancient figurehead to rule them.
The PPV revenue and cash from the phone calls could be used to refurbish Buckingham Palace in to a massive homeless hostel.
Re: m | Rinty wrote: |
My idea for the queen and her family would be to involve television to maximise potential revenue from our most famous tourist attraction.
All of their assests could be auctioned off on Bid Up TV while all of the royals are assembled on St Kilda for a TV Big Brother show. Each week the public get to vote off one of the family who will immediately be thrown in to the sea. The winner will be sold off to any country who lacks the confidence to be a republic and needs an ancient figurehead to rule them.
The PPV revenue and cash from the phone calls could be used to refurbish Buckingham Palace in to a massive homeless hostel. |
Aye! genius pure genius! i like the sound ae that.i`d love tae be the presenter ae that in the St.Kilda hoose jist so i could gie them aw a richt royal punch tae the side ae the heid afore they were thrown intae the sea.
Yer onto something there Rinty....i`ll see ye in the tower o london mair than likely.
Re: m | Wolf of Badenoch wrote: | | Rinty wrote: |
The PPV revenue and cash from the phone calls could be used to refurbish Buckingham Palace in to a massive homeless hostel. |
Aye! genius pure genius! i like the sound ae that.i`d love tae be the presenter ae that in the St.Kilda hoose jist so i could gie them aw a richt royal punch tae the side ae the heid afore they were thrown intae the sea.
Yer onto something there Rinty....i`ll see ye in the tower o london mair than likely.  |
Sounds good Wolf.
Rinty - a spot on reflection of how the Royals could interact and blend in with 21st century Britain.
Abieuan
We need our own Royalty, not the English class based one, but one that has no estates or great wealth, one that is paid a wage to do the job.
Mmmm, the Stewarts spring to mind.
jWell when we get rid of the Windsors we might need the Stewrats for St Kilda Big Brother two, but the viewing figures won't be as high.
We need no Kings Queens, Lords, Barons, Popes, Bishops or any other unelected icon appointed by "god". We need the people to run our country.
Leathlaobhair
| Rinty wrote: | Well when we get rid of the Windsors we might need the Stewrats for St Kilda Big Brother two, but the viewing figures won't be as high.
We need no Kings Queens, Lords, Barons, Popes, Bishops or any other unelected icon appointed by "god". We need the people to run our country. |
You must be kidding! Where would you be without a bunch of inbred Germans plastered all over supermarket papers!?
Exactly leathlaobhair!! Ahm a scot an' ah cannae tak these *&^% Brit scots amang us.Wha' the fek is goin' on??
"scuse my language!
BG loves yer!