Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
kathyv

This summer

What's everyone's plans for the summer? Are you doing anything fun? Out of the ordinary? Special?

For myself, I have school for 5 days next week, I have a couple of 4-H judging jobs, I will work at our county fair then the hubby and I are traveling to Iowa as our oldest daughter is having her second baby in August! YAY! Get to play with the grandson and hold the new baby!

...Have 2 weeks of muggy hot storms and fire flies. . . whee! Wink

I am looking forward to it!

Just working this summer Sad I've got a long weekend in Amsterdam booked though - ever been there before, so really looking forward to that Very Happy

What's a 4-H judging job?

I'm heading over to the US, a week on Monday, for a wedding in Boston Very Happy

The rest of the summer will be devoted to getting our spare room into someting resembling a nursery for the arrival of our first kid in October Very Happy

Amsterdam is ace - only disappointment was the food. If you are a vegetarian there isn't much choice food wise apart from chips though...it's all steakhouses and grills.

Reluctant Hero wrote:

The rest of the summer will be devoted to getting our spare room into someting resembling a nursery for the arrival of our first kid in October Very Happy

Aw the very best tae ye! Very Happy

Yer gonnae need it! Laughing

Bairns! Bairns is it? Is nae aboot time the summer holidays waur ower wi.5 weeks tae go. i cannae haundle ony mair. Crying or Very sad
Cymro

Well just bought a house and moved in so thats taking some sorting out.

Am getting married at the end of August in Oban, so sorting everything out for that.

Appart from that, working as usuall.
kathyv

SLG wrote:
Just working this summer Sad I've got a long weekend in Amsterdam booked though - ever been there before, so really looking forward to that Very Happy

What's a 4-H judging job?

Amsterdam is nice! Lovely places to wander around and look at buildings!

4-H is a youth org here in the States, kids do projects and then show their work for evaluation. Just about anything a kid wants to do can be a 4-H project. The popular ones aroud here are horses, raising market livestock, cooking, sewing and craft type projects. The kids also participate in public speaking and record keeping. I judge both those areas.

It's so nice to read about babies coming and marriages happening! Congratulations to all!
SF102

Moved house in Feb (STILL waiting for the builders to finish the snag list) getting merred in Nov . . .got a stag w/e in Oct just left me job . . . got a mortgage the size of some countries GDP but apart from that i'm doing bugga all except trying to chill

As its summer all the time in Boghall,fowk usually travel abroad.Richt noo ah cuid happily roll in the sna' tae cool doon! Ahm weeing everywan aff frae stondin wae ma heid in the fridge freezer compartment. clown
Ah can hear it noo'".Pit yer honds in the air an step back frae the fridge!" PDT_Aliboronz_14

Kathyv it didnae work! Ah tried every thing!! scratch
kathyv

BabyG that is bazaar! Did you ever hear anything from Admin? I can bump them again.

I like your idea about the freezer, it's supposed to reach into the hundreds (Ferinheit) this weekend, too hot, I wish we had snow! (In Feb. you understand, I'll wish for warmth!) lol
Cymro

Off to Cork for my stag weekend in just over a week.
SF102

Cymro wrote:
Off to Cork for my stag weekend in just over a week.

We'll all be having a drink for the condenmed man GL and enjoy Very Happy

Haidh Kathyv, after I posted the above, I tried yet again.Well after much ado it worked!! Shocked I left you a message over there so you would know its me. I had a good look see and was assaulted with images of the union rag and references to "northern Britain". Shocked horror Shocked horror ....excuse me a mo while I puker aaaaaaaaahhhhhh thats marginally better! personally i could live with southern Britain slightly better!

congrats on being a Granny....again! Laughing
kathyv

Yay! I'll go read!

Congrats Cymro! Wish I could go! Then again, maybe an American Granny would dampen your party! LOL Smile

Amsterdam seems to be a popular place. I took Baldrick there once and after he begged, I let him sit across from me at a table in a small cafe. He was so grateful, his eyes watered ... as did mine ... but that was from the rank smell of having him so near me.

The wretch obviously felt at home bacause we witnessed an act of genuine poverty in that cafe. Two tables away, a group of some seven youths (university students no doubt) were reduced to sharing a single cigarette between them.

Baldrick felt a certain kinship with them, so I got up and left and went off to a flop-house, leaving Baldrick to wallow with those plebs.

Amsterdam ... huh!! And how many Amsters died to make that dam I wonder!!

I am just back from my trip to Boston. It was awesome!!

Just trying to catch up on everything as if it is not about the US, Israel or Bliar sucking up to Bush, then it doesn't get reported in America Laughing

Welcome back RH - did you get my pm?

Thanks for the welcome back Very Happy

I've replied to your pm azzuri

Welcome back - Boston's a really nice city eh. I wouldn't mind going back there for a few days.

I was thinking of visiting Boston around Christmas time - is it worth a visit?
kathyv

I was in Boston once, I was 9 months old so I don't remember it! LOL

Blackadder, are you SURE it wan't the fumes form a near by Coffee House making your eyes water? LOL

You obviously do not have a Baldrick as a family retainer. Ask anyone here. They've all heard of him, haven't you?

Come on ... your opinion of Baldrick please ... and be honest ... he's sub-human, so he has no feelings to hurt!

Blackadder wrote:
You obviously do not have a Baldrick as a family retainer. Ask anyone here. They've all heard of him, haven't you?

Come on ... your opinion of Baldrick please ... and be honest ... he's sub-human, so he has no feelings to hurt!

Never heard ae him.
Cymro

Well, got back from Cork in one piece. Really good city for a night out. Quite popular for Stags from what I gathered but wasn't noticable - plenty out but didn't see long trails of Stag and Hen Parites thankfully - I just wanted to have a good night out with a small group of friends not anything resembling Ibiza!

Managed to watch the Celtic match at a Celtic Pub not far from the City Centre, which was a really good laugh. Just asked the Taxi driver to take us to a pub where we could watch the Celtic match and he took us there. Really friendly pub. Even my friend who thinks footballs are the wrong shape and should be egg shaped enjoyed himself.

3 weeks and I'm off to Oban for my wedding then it's off to Dubrovnic for my honeymoon.

Sounds like a good time was had in Cork then, Cymro. So you're getting married in three weeks and then straight off on the honeymoon? I was planning on spending a week or so in Croatia this summer, I really fancy Dubrovnic, it never worked out though. I'm sure you'll have a great time there.
Cymro

Hope so

SLG wrote:
Welcome back - Boston's a really nice city eh. I wouldn't mind going back there for a few days.

I was staying in a little town just north of Boston called Marblehead, but managed to get into Boston itself for a couple of days. The whole area is really nice.

It was also boiling. One day was 107 degrees!! I think I stayed in the pub that day. Although if you are planning a visit in the winter azzuri, I am assured it gets a lot colder than Scotland and snows a lot as well.

If anyone find themselves in Marblehead, I would recommend Sweeneys as the best pub to drink in.

Boston is typical of its Colonial past. It's a dump for criminals and the lower orders with less than a tenth of a working brain.
True Scotsman

For me soon it will be time too start college again in September 5th.

And this would be MacJock's College for Advanced Turnips, wouldn't it??
True Scotsman

No it wouldn't happan to be MacJock's College & it has nothing too do with turnips Blackadder.

True Scotsman wittered ...
No it wouldn't happan to be MacJock's College & it has nothing too do with turnips Blackadder

"... happans ..." ???

Oh, I think it is.

So wher' did ye go tae skool? Dome ass!!! PDT_Aliboronz_39 Just yew leave TS alane!

"Dome ass"??? As in the dome of St Paul's? That's certainly not a typo!

I rather think that was deliberate, BG. You've never come across as someone that thick before. Why pretend to now?

Well Blockaddure,if ye had bin dwelling onywhere bit yer ain world, ye'd ken dumbass erm domeass!

Wot! cannae tak a wee insult?? HOW typicall of the sasannach!! LOVE tae gie it but want everything to happen their ain way!! (Badword fer engerlish people inserted here!!) sunny dwarf

Can I ask ... what do YOU think was lacking in your early education that turned you into a semi-literate turnip??

It's just that if you know ... I'll have it added to Baldrick's children's education ... when ... IF ... he figures out what else it's for, apart from stirring his tea,

Did I upset diddums...again? I'm sawwe!

Ah wint tuh an all gurls prop skool fer 'neeps, Whats semil-l-l-liter- bom ate mena erm mean??

Wull at least Ah wint t-t-to skool!! cat

You can never upset me, dearie. I'm so far beyond your ability to catch up, it's almost touching. Smile

Tell yer sel' that if it maks yer feel better old boy! sunny

Tons, pookie ... tons!! Smile

I'll let yer aff the hook .....this time, dwarf but dont git used tae it!!

Promise?? May your lum never find out it's in a smokeless zone! Smile

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads