Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

TV programmes

Gonna stop now to go watch Top Gear.  It's a great and very funny programme that is also very informative ... even though I know sod all about the cars except they need fuel to make them go and they come in a variety of colours.

A bit like the women in my life!!!  Embarassed

Are there any TV progs you enjoy/want to discuss here?  No limits as per usual!!!  Twisted Evil

If there anyone on the planet who hasnt seen 'The Wire" then I suggest getting a hold of all 5 series.  Quite simply the best television ever made in my opinion.

There has been a significant number of good programmes from HBO in recent years like the Sopranos etc but this is a new peak.

X factor on a Sat night

BA the women in your life just drive you nuts x
Holebender

Oddly enough, I have just finished watching all four series of a BBC comedy series about some useless aristo and his smelly stupid servant and their misadventures through the ages. The first series is set at the end of the English Wars of the Roses, the second is in the English Elizabethan period, the third is Regency, and the final series is set during the First World War.

I cannot remember the name of the damned thing...
Runaway Weegie

Well of course I'd be happy to discuss nothing but Doctor Who, but Doctor Who requires an entire forum to itself, not just a menshie in a thread.

I've just watched the second episode of the History of Scotland. Reception was good tonight. It was a bit unsatisfying though, like when you bite into what you think is a big bit of chocolate, only to discover it's hollow inside. It was visually beautiful, and obviously made with an eye on the export market, but I felt I came away from it not knowing anything I didn't already know before.

Perhaps it's the format of TV shows in general, complex stories have to be simplified to the point where they can easily become misleading.

Doctor Who probably would need a thread on it's own.  A recently joined member, risto the great, suggested having a 'culture' forum.  The slight problem I have with it is defining culture as it could take in history, language, nedia, sport, heritage etc.

What do folk think about a 'popular culture' or even 'arts' forum?

Or can it easily be done by having separate threads like Blackadder has started re television?  We aleady have a well used 'books' thread that seems to work well without being in a 'culture' section.

nice to see a caring moderator  Wink

Dr Who's history  Wink

Well ... Top Gear is as always a very satisfying show. Captivating, entertaining and informative with three great presenters in Jezza, the Hamster and Captain Slow. I can say they were entertaining this week ... as opposed to last week when they were warned by the US State officials that they were not allowed to be entertaining!!  Great TV as always ... and Mark Wahlberg was fine as the Star in the Reasonably Priced Car.

I wish I could say the same for the programme that followed on BBC1.  Once again, History of Scotland failed on all counts! The music was too loud and intrusive ... I wanna throttle the sound engineers!  The information was nothing new ... even less informative that last week might have been. The dramatic presentation parts were repetitive and oddly placed. The camera angles following the presenter, looking over his shoulder all the time to address you, was very off-putting ... like his delivery of his lines!  The natural scenery ... well ... like I said before, only an idiot could screw that up ... but on the whole ... it was pathetic.  I feel sorry for the people who got conned into taking part in this trashy programme!

Carol ... you are a PHILISTINE!!!

Dr Who is TV drama at its BEST!!!

Begone evil witch!!! Evil or Very Mad

just stirring you up  Wink

already got Jimbo in my cauldron  Wink

Celebrity get Me out of Here

hey BA save me save me  Wink

Nope ... can't stand "reality" shows.  And I really dislike the Untalented Two ... Ant and Dec!!! Evil or Very Mad
Runaway Weegie

Doctor Who isn't drama BA, shame on you. It's a documentary.

Hey Carol! Hands off Jimbo OK? I've got him earmarked for MY cauldron.... the carrots,the spuds,the Frogs legs but not the underwear and THE mushrooms, are ready and simmering,oh and a wee bit of wart of toad and you know how that works cackle,cackle!

Well I can only read comments about that History program because its not likely to be shown here any time soon. Rolling Eyes

I'm watching "prison Break" which is OK. I also watch "The Unit" "cold case" and "Ghost Whisperer" but I do miss UK programing.  and watch anything that they show from there.I liked "Inspector Morse", and of course my all time favorite,"Allo, allo'  :lola:

I won't comment on Dr.Who cos' I don't want BA to throttle me Wink However i have seen "Top Gear" It used to come on Saturday afternoon.

Speaking of cauldrons, where's on top gear expert on the willow (broom stick to the uninitiated) the Indomitable mirrred??? i thought I saw her swoop in earlier.Oh well she's probably keeping a low pro Very Happy

Just like to I've never seen "The Wire".  Way too many copshows and hospital shows on TV.  I like a more varied fare.  And I'm a complete sucker for History documentaries.  

Which is why I though the BBC's History of Scotland would be great.  Sadly I was wrong.  Harking back to last night ... and reading comments on other threads ... it WAS very selective. It jumped from Constantine II An Midhaise last week, to Alexander II this week with a hardly a breath for the previous 300 years and some of the most formative events in Scotland under the Canmores.

Whoever set the tone and contents for this programme deserves a slap or two!!!

I didn't watch Children in Need on Friday night ... except for the Dr Who bit ... I'm fed up with Auntie's annual Greedathon.  I have two charities I regularly give two. Can't possibly support them all ... so I gave old Tezza a miss ... and I missed THIS little gem ...  

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7730724.stm

It's on the Politics thread ... but I thought it needed an airing in a "broader church" so to speak ... so I've copied it to Banter.  Personally, I find this very funny!  Very Happy

I absolutely detest these reality TV shows. What in the name of reality is real about them, particularly that obnoxious 'I'm a celebrity' rubbish.
I don't watch too many of the 'history programmes' either as I can usually pick holes in them, and it irritates me, although the one on the clans is not too bad.

"Just like to I've never seen "The Wire".  Way too many copshows and hospital shows on TV.  I like a more varied fare."

Although the main character in the 'wire' is a cop, it is far more than that.

I dont watch 'cop' shows, I watch the wire for its brilliant acting, writing and social commnetary.  The oft-used decsription of the show is 'dickensian' and I think that is apt. I would advise anyone not to write it off because it is based around a police precint.  Each of the 5 series has a different theme based in Baltimore, from drugs, schools, politics, unions, press etc.  It is fascinating.

The series that is based around the mayoral elections is probably the best political dram on TV for decades.

It is a shame that it only ever came to british TV through the fx channel, which I dont get.  I had to rely on american cousins for the first while, now all 5 series can be bought in this country on DVD.

Speaking of Dr Who ... did anyone see Friday's clip of the Christmas Special??  In a word ... Waaooow!!!! Very Happy
Runaway Weegie

Blackadder wrote:
Speaking of Dr Who ... did anyone see Friday's clip of the Christmas Special??  In a word ... Waaooow!!!! Very Happy

I missed it. What happened?

Can't tell you, Squeegee.  Wouldn't you to miss the surprise.  But it's not called The Two Doctors for no reason.  It looks like another winner!!!  Very Happy

Oh Lordie, here go the weans again with Dr Who............
Runaway Weegie

Ooooooo. The Two Doctors... I'd heard a rumour about that. I've got this friend who's a member of the Sisterhood of Karn, he mentioned something like that.

mairead wrote:
Oh Lordie, here go the weans again with Dr Who............
Exterminieren! Exterminieren!
Runaway Weegie

Well because I'm like a wean that cannae wait until Christmas, I went and found the trailer on Youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiBgJcB2Ve8

OOOOOOooooooo!
Runaway Weegie

Oh, a sort of serious question. Apparently Channel 5 will be available on freesat as of tomorrow, so we'll be able to receive it here in Spain. I've not seen the channel since it started when it was total rubbish, but I'm told that these days there are some good shows on it. Anything I should look out for?

Apart from Neighbours.
Jimbo

You guys have me at a disadvantage, I don't watch much TV.

One programme I try not to miss is 'Have I Got News For You'. I love the irreverent humour.

Mock the Week ... if only for Hugh Dennis and Frankie Boyle!  With HIGNFY, two of the best progs on the box.
Cymro

Can't wait for the impending return of 24

I saw that series too Cymo. Rinty and Prez Obama have something in common,apparently the Prez's favorite programs are  "The Wire" and M.A.S.H. I have seen at least one  episode of "the wire" but so long ago I can't remember what it was about.I have seen M.A.S.H and really loved that.

By-the-way, M.A.S.H stands for Mobile Army Surgical Hospital.....in case anyone was wondering.
kevin04

It's finished now but I've got Series 1 of the Wire to watch or start watching sometime soon, If being brutally honest, I'm going on the hype it's getting/got from reviews and punters. Anyone a fan?
Runaway Weegie

The Big Bang Theory is worth watching. Never fails to make me laugh. One of the main characters is Sheldon, a hyper-intelligent übergeek with zero social skills and an impressive array of obsessive behaviours.

I used to know a guy just like that. Scary.

I watched the story of the 'Lost prince'  about prince John, the present Q. Elizabeth's uncle, on TV last night. My but they are a cold breed.

"Anyone a fan?"

Big time, I watched it before the hype which mainly came in the last series (the 5th) as it wasnt shown over here apart from on fx channel.

It justifies the reviews, it is an incredible piece of work.  The first series is just a start and it will surprise you how the whole thing develops as it goes on.  Every level of baltimore life is shown and how they interact with one another, from politicians to police, trades unions, criminals, schools, teachers, the press.

The first series is, as the name suggests, about a police 'wiretap' on a drugs gang, it is where the story leads us that is most interesting.

The anti-hero Omar Little, a shotgun weilding openly gay man who robs the drug dealers, is one the great TV characters, a gay, black robin hood in a leather trenchcoat.

The main character McNulty is played by a british actor, dominic west, as is one the crime bosses stringer bell (idris elba), tommy carcetti a politician who emerges in later series is played by irish actor Aiden Gillen.

It is defintely up ther challengning the sopranos as the USAs best television ever.

We're all going to think differently on what constitutes the "best television ever", especially from the good ole US of A.  

For instance ... I think "Heroes" is the best thing in a long time! It's right up there with the Star Treks and Stargates.  But of course ... I'm a Sci-Fi fan. Not into any kind of cop or medical shows ... except maybe for "House" ... but that's probably because I like Hugh Laurie.

It's all a bit subjective.  Each to their own I say!!

I dont think anyone would disagree with the 'each to their own' idea, but this is a forum where we can express 'our own' views.

I am also not a fan of cop shows.  I got bored with heroes very early on and didnt atch it after a while.  Good writing, good production and good acting is what makes a good TV programme for me.

I've never seen 'house'.  My TV time is quite limited.  With 'the wire' it was all sent to me and not part of a schedule so I watched it on my PC ealy in the mornings.  I tend to lose the plot of Tv priogrammes due to missing episodes etc and am not very good with recording technology re televisions so havent got to grips with that as yet.

"Each to their own" doesn't mean you can't share views if that's what you're saying.  I merely meant, each to their own favoured choices.

And "Heroes" is so good BECAUSE  it is full of good writing, acting and has high production values.

"House" can be a bit like "disease of the week"  ... but it's the way "House" operates and his conflict with authority that makes it a great prog.  But then, Bryan Singer's a producer ... how can it fail!!!

"Each to their own" doesn't mean you can't share views if that's what you're saying.  I merely meant, each to their own favoured choices.

Yes, I Know???

It was stating the obvious really and I agreed.  What I meant was that although 'each to their own' is obvious, we can still express a view of 'best ever' in a subjective way.

I'd bet you would like 'the wire' as you, like me, are not a watcher of cop shows and this does nothing that cop shows do.  

House sounds interesting, I will look out for it.
Runaway Weegie

I like Heroes too. But I'm also a sci-fi geek.

Save the cheerleader, save the world!

I do have a major major quandary on Sunday though. A remake of the 70s classic Survivors is starting on BBC1 England - at the same time as the History of Scotland is on BBC1 Scotland. And my crappy wee satellite decoder won't let me watch one programme and record another.

The original series was written by Terry Nation, who also wrote Doctor Who. One of the stars in the remake is Freema Agyeman, Martha from Doctor Who.

"Heroes" ... is drama at its best ... following many of the rules of Aristotle's Poetics and the definition of the dramatic demiurge.  The central basis is the tragedy of a family committing godlike hubris in the creation and evolution of new powers in human beings. It is a sprawling epic of the proportions of a Dionysiac elegy and the world is the prize ... or is it?  

The plot twists are superb and you get to care for or hate each of the characters as they define, redefine and then change the rules and the dynamic, turning what you thought on its head. And now a new element is to be introduced ... a solar eclipse. But only the gods can move the heavenly bodies, can't they??

This is top notch writing ... and the Sci-Fi geek in me can't wait to see what happens next!!!

Well I love the medical documentaries and also the medical 'soaps' I also enjoy much on the History and Discovery channels.
I hate loathe and detest reality TV shows and the dopey game shows.

I used to watch Casualty quite religiously ... but I stopped doing so over a decade a go. "House" is my preferred dose of medical mayhem now.

Having said that ... I love "Scrubs"!!  It constantly has me in stitches!!!  Twisted Evil

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter Scottish Top Site - Topsites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites View Site Stats Scottish Politics