Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society

Two Killed in Mine Accident

Sadly, two men lost their lives today at Pennyvenie Open cast.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/glasgow_and_west/6399083.stm

Sad news indeed. I think we sometimes forget that these jobs still carry dangers with them and that our society isn't as cushioned as we think.

Aye, never a day dawns but there are broken hearts somewhere. Such a tragic accident.
Cymro

Indeed very tragic. Seems particularly tragic when it is a work related accident like this - people probably doing what that have done 10's of times before with no problems then suddenly something tragic goes wrong. Terrible loss.

The same sort of thing happened to a very close friend of mine and my wifes family very recently on Skye.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/highlands_and_islands/6339839.stm

Sympathies with the families of the two men.

Sad indeed.

I know this is completely off-topic Rinty, but isn't Dalmellington in SOUTH Ayrshire?

b

You would think, but no. The Doon Valley is in East Ayrshire in terms of local government.

Its definitely south on a map though!

I never thought Killie was in East Ayrshire until they were stuck for a name for the new council. We always called things in the Cumnock area "east" ayrshire such as clubs etc. Now we are the wee cousins in East Ayrshire with Killie (not very far east at all) is the supposed centre.

I always think that the constituency was drawn up in this way as to support a Labour majority vote though - if it was Kilmarnock alone we would definitely have a SNP sitting MSP.

h

Absolutely, it is we dour cumnock types that send the Labour councillors to London Rd, to our shame.

We had one SNP councillor briefly, Julie Faulds in Netherthird and Ochiltree. She was a good councillor too and the local SSP branch (now the local Solidarity branch) worked very closely with her. In 2003 we didnt stand a council candidate in Netherthird, even though it is by far our strongest area, to assist Julie's re-election. Unfortunately it didnt work out.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society