ProudToBeAScotsGirl
What could the wee folk do?I don't know if this has been covered before, but I was wondering what the average wee folk could do to help and promote the idea of Scottish Independence without coming off as a mad loonie or starting debates they don't have the knowledge to win...then again...supose that happens no matter what you do!
The only ideas I have are to make sure the traditions are learned and passed on, keep a flag(s) about for all to see, and make sure the shortbread is in good stock! Seriously though, is there much else someone with little political or debate skill could do?
kathyv
Well, I am doing my part over here with the shortbread part!
Is there a group yiou could join? Something that meet regularly and seriously?
Join a political party which supports Independence and get involved at grass roots level, doing leaflet drops, election campaigning etc..
The big three that are 'pro-Independence' are;
The SNP (Scottish National Party),
The SSP (Scottish Socialist Party)
Scottish Green Party
There are also another few smaller pro-Independence parties out there such as the Scottish Enterprise Party, the Scottish Independence Party and the Free Scotland Party.
You could also get involved with and become a member of 'Independence First', see - www.independence1st.com
They campaign for a referendum to decide whether Scotland should be Independent. It is mainly a 'pro-Independence' group and may benefit a lot more from having your help than one of the bigger parties. They are also having a 'March for Independence' in September - you could help them out organising and promoting that. They have local branches which you can get in touch with via the website.
If you are interested in Independence first or are looking for more info you can PM myself or email me at secretary@independence1st.com
As for promoting independence I recently rejoined the SNP. Also a few years ago co-founded two heritage groups, Scottish History for All and the Friends of Sauchie Tower.
Unfortunately I can't contribute to the shortbread part as I'm useless in the kitchen.
Regards
Carol
IF Convenor
If I'm not mistaken, PTBASG is in the USA.
I'd suggest joining some cultural organisation(s) with Scottish connections. As well as supporting the cause, it would provide a good oportunity to learn more and maybe start winning those arguments.
The wee folk! Ah yes ... a cute epithet for what we aristos call you plebs. And don't be silly, we only gave you a pretend parliament to play with. Of course we're not going to let you "rule" yourselves. We can't allow you to get so disappointed that you'll want real independence. You're never getting that, so get used to it. Away and strangle that bagpipey animal thingie and let us get on with running things for you.
Firefox
| Blackadder wrote: | | The wee folk! Ah yes ... a cute epithet for what we aristos call you plebs. And don't be silly, we only gave you a pretend parliament to play with. Of course we're not going to let you "rule" yourselves. We can't allow you to get so disappointed that you'll want real independence. You're never getting that, so get used to it. Away and strangle that bagpipey animal thingie and let us get on with running things for you. |
Am I the only person that finds this guy funny?
As you can see, he has inspired me to change my avatar!
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
You guys have some great ideas! I hope this helps other members out in the future as well. I actually came up with a great idea, but I don't know when I will have the money to make it happen with all this moving business going on. Ive not given up on it though! And now I have some great ideas to consider as well in addition to my own.
| Firefox wrote: | | Blackadder wrote: | | The wee folk! Ah yes ... a cute epithet for what we aristos call you plebs. And don't be silly, we only gave you a pretend parliament to play with. Of course we're not going to let you "rule" yourselves. We can't allow you to get so disappointed that you'll want real independence. You're never getting that, so get used to it. Away and strangle that bagpipey animal thingie and let us get on with running things for you. |
Am I the only person that finds this guy funny? |
Funny? Would you like to keep your head ... or can Lord Flasheart use it for a ... what did he call it ... oh yes ... an ashtray?
| azzuri wrote: | As you can see, he has inspired me to change my avatar!  |
The Blackadder Family have always been an inspiration to little plebs such as yourself. You may use the 'avatar' ... but don't make waves ... the headsman still has a job.
| Blackadder wrote: | | azzuri wrote: | As you can see, he has inspired me to change my avatar!  |
The Blackadder Family have always been an inspiration to little plebs such as yourself. You may use the 'avatar' ... but don't make waves ... the headsman still has a job. |
Thaur only wan heidsman roon these pairts cheiftan.
Ahh ... would that be the gentleman quaintly referred to as Heid the Ba'??? He's been on a backhand retainer to Melchett's family for years! Sorry.
This eejit has got to be asasannach joker
| Babygael wrote: | This eejit has got to be asasannach joker  |
How perspicacious of you.
And ... wrong as well.
Perspicacious and wrong???
Perspicacious and wrong? Whit does wrong mean by the way? ave had a keek in ma book wi aw they words an things in it but a cannae find it onywhaur.
A perspicacious person is one who discerns or who understands something without needing an explanation.
Wrong in this instance means ... not right.
Got to go a little bit yet to understand this Edmund Blackadder, but you will ... I'm sure of it.