World Cup - who will win it?Now that the opening couple of games have taken place, who does everyone think will win the World Cup?
Argentina, Brazil, Italy and England (unfortunately) all have a chance of winning it, but I am going with Germany.
4 - 2 in the final against England
Just cant see past Brazil. But would like spain to do it, pity they lose their bottle around the semi-finals
Blackleaf
Go, T&T!!
A shock 0-0 draw for Sweden against Trinidad and Tobago means that England are already 2 points clear at the top of the group after they beat Paraguay 1-0. That means that if England beat Trinidad and Tobago on Thursday we'll be through to the Last 16 (which looks like it'll either be Germany or Ecuador) with the game against Sweden - who England haven't beaten since 1968 - to go.
-------------------------
Group B
.......................P......W.....D......L......F.......A.......Pts.......P/D
England............1.......1.....0......0......1.......0........3..........+1
Sweden............1.......0.....1......0......0.......0........1...........0
T&T..................1.......0.....1......0......0.......0........1...........0
Paraguay..........1.......0.....0......1......0.......1........0...........-1
Let's face it Blackleaf, I think even Scotland could have got out of that group.
You hardly looked convincing today and had to rely on an OG. Owen hardly looked fit having to be subbed after 55 mins or so.
But as is so often said, it is better to take the first couple of games slow and peak for the latter stages. You have got the players to make a go of it and if you don't at least make the semi-final, Erikson (sp?) should never get another job in management.
Here's hoping Erikson never gets another job in management
Well guys the Trini's held on for a draw!!!! The Swedes looked a little sick!!! Meanwhile, England played a really unconvincing game against Paraguay.
The trinis may be the rank outsiders but they are digustingly fit and have nothing to lose! And dont forget that TNT have some serious atheletes on the world stage otherwise!
BG
I was delighted to see TNT doing so well they deserved that draw. The only thing i dont get is why the TNT player was sent off minutes into the second half, i missed bits of the game because i was workin at the time?
| Morph wrote: | | I was delighted to see TNT doing so well they deserved that draw. The only thing i dont get is why the TNT player was sent off minutes into the second half, i missed bits of the game because i was workin at the time? |
The guy made a bad tackle in the first half and wis booked Morph,im sure it wis oan the same player as his sending aff wan.
Blackleaf
Daily Mail
Paul Hayward
I trust you observed Diego Maradona's angst [[he was as the stadium watching the game]] as the officials in the Argentina-Ivory Coast game failed to award his team a goal when the ball appeared to have crossed the line.
Diego jumped to his feet. Diego clutched his head. Diego raged at all the injustices of the world and fought back his tears. How COULD they do this? Is there no beauty or fairness on God's blessed Earth?
Not since 1986, old mate.
dailymail.co.uk
At the start of the WC, I feared England had a real chance of winning it, but half-watching their last two games, they hardly looked up to much.
There is a real possibility that Germany could face England in the next round.
Riot Police at the ready
That's what I was thinking as well. Really can't see it happening now. England still second favourites at my on line bookie, but I guess that's because of all the English punters putting money on them.
Still got to fancy Brazil, and Argentina look good. Of the rest, I was really impressed with Italy and have put a wee bit of money on them to win. Also think this could be Spains year.
| SLG wrote: | That's what I was thinking as well. Really can't see it happening now. England still second favourites at my on line bookie, but I guess that's because of all the English punters putting money on them.
Still got to fancy Brazil, and Argentina look good. Of the rest, I was really impressed with Italy and have put a wee bit of money on them to win. Also think this could be Spains year. |
Aye yer richt Spain looked very guid the other day,i wis tempted tae put a wee bet oan them,ive got money oan Argentina tae win,i`ll maybe check oot the odds for Spain tae reach the final itsel.
You see the Argentina game? Best performance so far IMO, you might be on to a good thing there. I put another wee bet on Cote d'Ivoire to get a result against the Netherlands today.
Aye unlucky agin the Netherlands thaur SLG,i thought it wis gonnae end in a draw.Yon Argentina are frightening,they had Messi,Tevez and Crespo aw oan at the same time at wan point. Theyre looking guid though.
got a wee bet on Spain too, looking good and got great odds just before the Ukraine game. Argentina were amazing today the build up to some of their goals was amazing. Looking great for the next round
McVinceJS96
Of course it'll be France!
Salute from a French fan of your country!
Awricht McVince how ye daein?
France eh?Zidane one of the best players to ever grace a fitba field.
Its strange how Henry doesnae play as weel for his country as he does for his club,he looked fed up in their last geme.I wis tempted afore it aw started tae put a bet oan him as top goalscorer,im kinda glad i didnae.
He`ll probably come oot an bang a hat-trick in his next geme noo.
France just seem a shadow of their former selves, with thuram, zidane and one other, sorry i cant remember, coming out of retirement to play in the world cup i fear France are stuck in a transitional period. This could stop them progressing much further than the 2nd round
McVinceJS96
We'll easily win against Corea and qualify for the next round...
But to be honest i think we'll lose in 1/8 final.
| McVinceJS96 wrote: | We'll easily win against Corea and qualify for the next round...
But to be honest i think we'll lose in 1/8 final.  |
Welcome to the board McVinceJS96.
Saw the France match tonight. In the first half they looked back to their best, but relaxed too much in the second half. They might struggle to qualify for the next round!!
It might be the last we see of the legend Zidane as he is suspended for the next match.
ME
brazil to win
england wont get to finals
Firefox
Is it me or do Brazil seem too bored to win at the moment? I'm hoping they're keeping the real talent in the tank for the second stage and on, but it's still dispiriting when the "over-hyped nancy boys" (to quote a workmate's description of Brazil) can't seem to be bothered doing anything other than functional.
Right now, I'm reckoning Argentina will win it.
Lothian Sky
Argentina to win. Brazil are looking a bit dodgy, as are England and France.
Blackleaf
Our Samba Boys
Clearly England need an injection of Brazilian flair. So here's a line up with that Samba feeling....
Paul Robinson - ROBBO; Gary Neville - PINGU; John Terry - ASBO; Sol Campbell - SCREWLOOSIO; Owen Hargreaves - DUNG; Joe Cole - NIGGLYBASTARDO; David Beckham - BIMBO; Steven Gerrard - DEYDOODO; Wayne Rooney - HURTATOE; Peter Crouch - VERTIGO; Michael Owen - ICOGNITO. SUBS: David James - PLEASEGODNO; Theo Walcott - BAMBINO; Jermain Defoe - SADDO. Sven Goran Eriksson - CHEERIO.
thesun.co.uk
Blackleaf
| Lothian Sky wrote: | | Argentina to win. Brazil are looking a bit dodgy, as are England and France. |
I think Argentina have peaked too early, and that could cost them.
England and Brazil are doing the right thing by hopefully getting better and better as the tournament progresses.
Blackleaf
Phrases you NEVER hear while watching England.
These comments are rarer than a funny Gary Lineker quip.
1) I love the way Gary Neville belts out the national anthem.
2) That's it lads, up and at 'em from the start.
3) At least Ashley Cole appears to have put studs in his boots this time.
4) Ian Wright could at least get a bit excited. It is England after all.
5) Look at Tord Grip, he's going absolutely mental!
6) Oh look, Michael Owen's doing his "Metal Mickey" goal celebrations.
7) Frankie Lampard and Stevie G are really gelling in the middle of the park.
I fancy Hargreaves to bang this in from 25 yards.
9) They way we've started this second half, Sven must have kicked some arse at half-time.
10) It's good to see we're going for more goals and not sitting on our lead.
11) If only Rio would get more involved in goal celebrations.
12) Now victory's assured, we should be able to sit back and enjoy the last half-hour.
13) Thank God for that. Jermaine Jenas is coming on.
14) Oh, these Budweiser ads really crack me up.
thesun.co.uk
Still think Spain are in with a shout this time round. Looking good along with Argentina
Blackleaf
Rooney will start against the Swedes tonight.
| Blackleaf wrote: | Rooney will start against the Swedes tonight.
The match against Sweden is a nothing match with nothing at stake. We will see how good you do against Germany in the next round
I think Engerland need to gain some perspective. They are relying on a nineteen year old kid who has been out injured for the last six weeks, therefore not match fit, to be the driving force behind them winning the World Cup.
There is no doubt Rooney is an exceptional talent, but to put so much pressure on his shoulders is dangerous and unfair.
| Quote: | Phrases you NEVER hear while watching England.
Thank goodness we beat Sweden for the first time in 38 years
lol
Ah had ae shock today! There in Super centre (Shopping centre) car park was a suv wae a St.George flag! All the Bajans (Brazil supporters for the most part) glared at it!! Ah parked ma car right up next tae it!! If ah only had a Saltire on ma big ride!!
And yes RH, ah had tae hit the mute oan ma telly because nae matter who is playing, the ENGLISH (?) commentator ALWAYS manages to bring up .........oh excuse me.... puker puker........ the englishshire team!!!
Nae surprises there!!
BG
The Quarter-final line up is now complete:
Germany vs Argentina
Italy vs Ukraine
Brazil vs France
England vs Portugal
I think that the winner of the World Cup will come from the winner of the Germany vs Argentina match.
Germany vs Brazil would be my preferred final. Would encourage more open attacking football.
| Blackleaf wrote: | Rooney will start against the Swedes tonight.
This picture disturbs me greatly, as though rooney himself has some sort of religious importance.
i agree, does seem to take it too far
http://www.marsbelieve.com/
Meanwhile their sales plummet in Scotland. Not that that will bother them.
Yon mars bars are reeking onyways.
Gies wan ae yon Tunnocks tea cakes ony day.
Nearly threw the TV remote at the TV today because of the amount of times the commentator mentioned England during the Argentina vs Germany match.
NEWSFLASH England were not playing in that match
Next World Cup, regardless of if Scotland are in it or not, we need Scottish commentators.
It's scandalous that we don't. I'm sure STV or BBC Scotland would be able to pull together the resources to send a few commentators. Mibee if things aren't changing by the run up to EURO 2008 we should organise some sort of petition. Call it an effort to avoid anit-English feelings of these times, much of which stems from the English commentators.
I said earlier in this thread that England were relying too much on Rooney and today it showed.
Playing 4-5-1 with the talent that England possess is criminal. There was so much pressure on Ronney's shoulders that he finally snapped.
What was the point of taking Walcott to the finals. Andy Johnson must be sitting back home thinking WTF.
However, most people in Scotland will be thanking Sven for his tactics over the last 3 weeks
The good news is that I don't see it getting any better under Mr McLaren.
I still think Germany are going to be in with a shout come July the 9th.
Boo Hoo - it was all that nasty man Ronaldo's fault!
wisnaeme
Ironic isn't it. The country that has had one of the oldest alliance with England is the one that puts the boot in to it. Now about that other English alliance.............................
I'd like to thank Gordon Brown for freezing VAT on champagne in anticipation of world cup success. Nice one Gordon, I'm f***ing steamin'
The Italy vs Germany match was probably the best match of the World Cup. Two outstanding goals to finish it off as well. Quality.
The one tonight wasn't as good, but I think the final is set to be a cracker.
If Italy continue to play attacking football, it could be a real open game with Henry and co being lightening quick on the counter.
Haven't seen or heard much of Henry in this World Cup for him being the best player in the Premiership, but Sunday could be his stage.
Would love to see Zidane retire by lifting the World Cup. Would be a fitting way to bow out for a true legend of football.
Final was a big disappointment. Italy looked pretty worn out. Glad italy won though - recouped my losses for the competition!
A couple of quality moments from Zidane though
Och aye whit ae grand heid Butt sae it wis and himself disgraced noo.
Can anyone tell me what the difference between what the likes of what Zidane did last night and what Cantona used to do regularly?
While everyone (the press) loved Cantona, they were lining up to slate Zidane.
Not one of the commentators last night likened the Zidane situation to Rooney's. While they are making excuses for Rooney, he just in effect did what Zidane did last night.
Personally I thought Zidane was awesome last night. He was the driving force behind everything and his pen after 5 mins was audacious to say the least
If he had scored with the header that Buffon tipped over, things would have been a whole lot different.
Far from souring the Cup final, his sending off cemented himself as a legend IMO and ensured we will be talking about this final for years.
We need a Scottish media.
I agree Hero, it seems that th emedia have used this as a way to forget about Ronney. But from what i have read the remarks made by Materazzi at least give Zidane the tiniest of excuses, Rooney had none