Winner Semi-Final One v Winner Semi-Final Two
Go on trinidad and tobago!
So who is going to win? I can't really see past Brazil myself. What about who to support with Scotland not making it. I suppose I'll be supporting Sweden, T&T and Paraguay by default , but I'd like to see Portugal do well. I've got a bit of a soft spot for S. Korea as well!
Blackleaf
England will win.
Best team in Europe and only ONCE has any South American team won the World Cup in Europe - that was when Brazil won it in the Sweden World Cup of 1958.
You could be right. I would maybe say that England are the strongest team in Europe. I still think Brazil. They have won World Cups in the US and Japan. They got to the finals in the last two European finals. I think they have a pretty good record. Better than Englands record in European finals.
Dave78
| Blackleaf wrote: | | England will win. |
Looking at things on paper, it's a strong possibility.
But then you've still got Gollum Erikson in charge, and we all know he'll make at least 1 major tactical blunder....hopefully a fatal one.
Failing that we can always count on the Swiss referees!
england have the best squad they have had in decades.
they are exceptionally strong in both defence and midfield.
they look a little light up front in terms af a poacher or a real striker but I suppose when the midfield pairing of gerrard and lampard score so many goals you don't need to worry so much about that.
rooney will always score goals but I think he will struggle with the expectation placed on his shoulders - who knows. I can see england getting to the semis at least, but to be knocked out by either brazil or germany.
germany have an inferior squad but on home ground and with that constant 'bouncebackability' they seem to have I expect them to be competing in the final.
Abieuan
Let's hope it's a Germany v England final
Deutchland, Deutchland oober alis
sorry about the spelling
| Quote: | | Best team in Europe and only ONCE has any South American team won the World Cup in Europe - that was when Brazil won it in the Sweden World Cup of 1958. |
So a south american team has won it in Europe so its entirely possible. Especially given that in the last two finals to be held in Europe south american teams have been in the final both times (brazil in '98 Argentina in '90) and that Brazil have won it outside South America last time round.
Brazil have reached the last three world cup finals in 3 different continents so the old chestnut about south american teams not travelling well doesn't work anymore.
Anyway, a sizeable chunk of Brazils and Argentinas squad play in Europe so its not exactly alien territory or major travelling for them.
I have a soft spot for the czech republic and can see them doing well but i think the final may be a bridge too far for the.
As for England if they had got rid of Sven before now their chances would be so much better than they are with him
bluearmyboy
As an Englishman would love to think we'll win it. That would make it a clean sweep; Rugby, Cricket and Football. As much as I'd like it, can't see it happening. There is always "something" that happens; a handball, a penalty that never was, a disallowed goal, a cross that becomes a shot, a silly ponytail. Always fxxxxng something!. Perhaps it's justice for the goal that never was in the '66 final.
Anyway, we are already disadvantaged by having a group of 5 teams, when all the others have 4.
I bet a Jock organised that!!
Neil
W | Quote: | | That would make it a clean sweep; Rugby, Cricket and Football |
What you really mean is that they won the Rugby world cup last time so if they could win the football and the cricket next it would be a clean sweep. Remember, England didn't win the cricket world cup and have hell of a lot to do to win it or the football.
Thats not fair Rinty credit where its due, Johnny Wilkenson won the rugby world cup
It's just a shame that Scotland didn't make it... Otherwise we could have been on for our prefered clean sweep of fitba, elephant polo and stone skimming
hIt needed to be said. Some English people are of the opinion that winning the ashes for the first time in ages is actually the world cup! Pakistans demolition of England shortly after shows that they are no position to claim to be the best in the world.
bluearmyboy
By birth we are marvellous at everything. We could have beaten Pakistan, but just couldn't be arsed. Too hot and where would Freddie have gone to celebrate?
Tough draw for Euro 2008, still there is always WC 2010. Is that the one in South Africa?
Cheers
Neil
Blackleaf
Where can I buy one?
I watched USA v Japan last night..no a bad game,thats the second time ive seen USA in a few months,guid passing an movement...very fast..i see they`ve got Italy in their group..i think my money will be gaun oan the Americans tae beat them..as for the world cup winners i cannae see past Brazil.
.......that's what I'm hoping too cos' England are a very good side.
Come on Brazil!
I know it wasn't a competative fixture, but the yanks were rank against us in the recent friendly. Can't see them causing much of a upset.
| rs_azzuri wrote: | .......that's what I'm hoping too cos' England are a very good side.
Come on Brazil! |
Aye..i think wi the players england have got they should be winning world cups and euro championships but i don`t think theyre that great as a team,plenty ae guid individual players richt enough.
waterboy
holland for me. think they will win it. or germany.