paintedwoad So new I've only posted once!!!
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:54 pm Post subject: Gaelic language |
Hello, I was wondering if they are any persons out there into Gaelic language/culture?? Some one who is also a beginner in the language? [/b]
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:14 pm Post subject: |
Hi paintedwoad. Welcome to the forums. I'm not a speaker myself but there are quite a few people of the forums who are.
Someone will no doubt be along soon to converse with you.  _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Nina I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:07 pm Post subject: |
Hello Paintedwoad, I am learing the Gealic from a friend.
Welcome!  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
Abieuan 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:44 pm Post subject: |
Fàilte, paintedwoad, is mise Abieuan agus tha mi ag ionnsachadh Gàidhlig cuideachd.
Ciamar a tha sibh ? |

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:28 pm Post subject: |
Show off
 _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
SAOR ALBA Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:04 pm Post subject: |
Tha gu math. Ciamar a tha sibh fhein?
'S mise Aodh. Tha mi fuireach a' Glaschu.
I'm also learning Gaelic so i am not sure if the above is perfect but i try. |
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:26 pm Post subject: |
Hai, Aodh,
I have only the basics myself, but i can help by saying that "a' Glaschu" means "from Glasgow".
To say "I live in Glasgow" would be Tha mi a' fuireach ann an Glaschu.
I am from Glasgow - Tha mi a' Glaschu.
What books or courses are you learning from?
I am using the Speaking our Language books.
Tioraidh an-dràsda. |
SAOR ALBA Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:45 pm Post subject: |
| I'm mostly learning from the internet and books i keep getting out from the local library. I'm thinking of enrolling on a course soon though. I mean i've been at Gaelic since primary school but i keep forgetting about it for a while then when i get back round to it i have forgotten everything. |
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:19 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | but i keep forgetting about it for a while then when i get back round to it i have forgotten everything. |
Tha mi a' tuigsinn.
The best way to get by that is to become "immersed".
Although i have not done it myself, there are week long residential courses where little other than Gàidhlig is spoken.
That would really get it "intae yer heid".  |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:52 pm Post subject: |
| That's what I really want to do Abieuan. It's so difficult to get to grips with a language when you only hear or speak it at a class 1hr a week. |

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:40 pm Post subject: |
SLG I find your avatar quite scary
Who is it? Or...what is it?? _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:12 pm Post subject: |
Sorry to scare you He's Papa Lazarou. A character from a sureal comedy show called the League of Gentlemen.
| Quote: | | Bizarre, otherworldly guy who calls everyone "Dave", sells pegs, and who steals your taps as well as your wife. He's the ringleader of his "Pandemonium Carnival", and typically travels with 3 dwarves. His coloring is very odd, to say the least. He demonstrates "amazing psychic powers" by contacting the dearly departed as part of his circus act (although he really just does this to get more wives). He collects wives, and keeps a list of all of them in a book. He makes sure he has a good supply of animals for his circus. To "mingle" with normal society he took someone else's name and persona (covering his dark skin with makeup techniques learned from his many wives). |
Have a look at http://www.papalazarou.co.uk/index2.html  |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:09 pm Post subject: |
"you're my wife now!"
 _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: |
Wow...
damn... what a creepy bastirt.
He might be inspired on papa and baby Doc? Former voodoo presidents of Haiti??
PS: Somehow, i don't think you are sorry to have scared me at all.... Am i right or am I right?  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:31 pm Post subject: |
You've got me there Nina, a wee scare never did anyone any harm
Papa Doc of Haiti really was a scary man though. |
Leathlaobhair No Longer a Wean

Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 94 Location: Every day above ground is a good day
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:19 am Post subject: |
I speak Irish Gaelic firstly but I try my hand at Scottish Gaelic every once in a while. It's similar and I can pick out words occasionally. But there are quite a few speakers here. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:09 am Post subject: |
Haidh,, paintedwoad here! Thanks for the welcome everyone.I am also a beginner in Gaelic and welcome any attempts from all interested in throwing back and forth what we do know and maybe as a result ,help each other along the way!
I am doing a course at college(online) and have exams in june, I think.
Sorry I did'nt get back to all of you who posted a message.I don't live in the u.k and with you it would be as I post this, 3.59am your time!  |
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:01 pm Post subject: |
Hai paintedwoad/babygael !?
Which dialect are you learning ?
I started learning from a lady from Baraigh/Barra, then from the "Speaking our Language" books which are in Skye dialect.
I now find that i pronounce words that i learned earlier in the Barra dialect and ones i learned later in the Skye dialect.
It sounds odd as there are quite big differences. |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:00 pm Post subject: |
Haidh Abieuan, Well I realise that the two names are a little confusing,my mistake I am not used to using chat sites untill recently.
I was paintedwoad but thought it was a little long winded and tried unsucessfully to change it
B.G is fine.
I am doing an online beginners course through a college in Dun Eideann and yes I am familliar with S.M.O in Skye and have often looked at "Speaking our language" on their web site.
I am glad that you also mentioned the different dialects,I am not that famillar with the language to pick up dialect yet,but I have noticed differences here and there.mainly in the written form.And wondered if it was me or them
I guess at the end of the day the really important thing is to understand each other
The lack of regular every day use and the ravages of time have most probably contributed to that.Small pockets of folk speaking it here and there around the country in isolation would likely cause these differences to appear.
Maybe unlike English for example where there is one acceptable "correct" way of speaking yet has many dialects. Gaelic has prehaps not achieved a "Standard" way of speaking that all else follows I don't know what our Irish friends have to say on the matter?
You pose a good question actually I think I will try and clear that up with my Tutor.
Later,B.G  |
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:23 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | I am not that famillar with the language to pick up dialect yet,but I have noticed differences here and there.mainly in the written form.And wondered if it was me or them |
They are even more noticable in spoken language.
ie, the word bord is pronounced as borsht on Baraigh.
| Quote: | | The lack of regular every day use and the ravages of time have most probably contributed to that.Small pockets of folk speaking it here and there around the country in isolation would likely cause these differences to appear. |
No, BG, that may be true for the islands, but on the mainland the dialects follow the ancient Clan territories.
I don't know about the Irish situation either, that would be interesting to find out.
Which part of Scotland does your tutor come from and does he/she use their local dialect ? |