Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:14 pm Post subject: |
Hai, INDIGINEOUS...Specifies that someone or something is native rather than comming to or being brought in from else where.
NATIVE.....Implies birth or origin in the specified place i.e being a member of the origional inhabitants of a particular place.
Why the Irish girl was there I have no idea. But there she was never-the-less.
Yes Ireland is a different country.As is Scotland and wales and maybe even one day cornwall,who knows?
When I lived in London I felt very indigineous as long as I didnae speak ye ken? But then again I've spent many years living abroad and am used to living with vast cultural differences. I speak Bajan like a native,no difference at all.Yet I am constantly being called a tourist simply because I'm white.
BG 
_________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |

IF Convenor I really have nothing else to do!!!

Joined: 29 Apr 2006 Posts: 906 Location: Scotland or West Africa, it depends
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:58 am Post subject: |
Ah blame ye for haen a comma instead o a dot aifter yer www there. Kin ye nae copy an paste richt?
http://www.firstfoot.com/News/prussianblue.htm _________________ The man o independent mind,
He looks and laughs at aa that. |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4416 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:00 am Post subject: |
Haha. That seems to extreme to be real, but you can never tell with America sometimes. |
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 2:20 pm Post subject: |
Aye they`re real awricht,their parents hae them brainwashed and refuse tae let them attend school incase they come in contact wi blacks,jews and others that dinnae fit in wi their warped thinking,i mind seeing them oan a documentary a few years ago,the lassies said tae the film maker[away fae their parents earshot] that they wanted tae go tae school and meet other children,the only people they waur aroon were fascists.
Cannae mind the guys name whae done that programme noo,he is a jewish guy an i dae remember wan sinister part when the fascists were trying tae find oot his religion.he looked a very worrit man an neither wonder. _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 2:49 pm Post subject: |
Louis Theroux - an excellent documentary creator/presenter.
I saw that one too - couldn't actually believe some people in the deep south were like that. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Blackleaf Confirmed TROLL

Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:12 pm Post subject: |
This (overwhemingly Scottish) New Labour Government that we have is the major cause in the surge of support for the BNP.
They are too politically correct (say the word "black" or sell golliwogs in a toy shop and you can be put behind bars) and have made Britain's borders so open that we have no clue as to who is coming into Britain and whether or not they have a criminal record.
It's all this Labout political corectness and not wanting to cause offence to Muslims or Blacks that is causing the rise of the BNP. _________________ [img]http://home.att.net/~chuckayoub/black_sabbath/black-sabbath-1970.jpg
[/img]
Black Sabbath - 1970 |

Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 7:18 pm Post subject: |
| Babygael wrote: | Wolfie yer de man!!
Blackleaf is talkin aboot wha?? BNP?? Wal am no' surprised. Ahm no' a fascist.but I live oer'seas an' every time ah catch the plane back, ah al'ways end up in the sasannach capital.An every time, the homeless population an' beggers on the street are either fra" Eirennach, or they are Sasannach.While people fra' far awa lands occupy the council accomodation.
BG.  |
White Hart Lane comprehensive school in North London (near Tottenham Hotspur's ground) has 58 languages spoken by its pupils -
School where they speak 58 languages
By Dominic Hayes Education Correspondent, Evening Standard
20 April 2005
A London comprehensive has children from 50 countries, making it possibly Europe's most cosmopolitan school.
Many arrive at the White Hart Lane comprehensive unable to speak any English at all, and a large number are refugees. Some pupils of the same nationality also speak in different dialects.
But headteacher David Daniels told the Evening Standard: "The phrase I use is 'the family of White Hart Lane'. It's a truly international multifaith family."
This photograph shows a selection of children who between them speak 33 languages - 34 when English is included. Not all of the students representing each nationality were available for the photograph sitting.
White Hart Lane is one of the many schools in London which unite people and cultures from around the world. But no other school is thought to have so many different languages spoken under one roof.
The staff - who come from 33 countries - are almost as diverse as the pupils. However, the school has seen a great improvement in behaviour and exam results. In 2000, pupil behaviour was so bad that education inspection body Ofsted judged White Hart Lane to have "serious weaknesses", putting it one level above the category of officially failing schools.
Within two years, thanks to Mr Daniels' back-to-basics approach, behaviour improved sufficiently for Ofsted to take the school off the serious weaknesses list.
Exam results have also improved threefold despite the linguistic barriers facing many pupils. The proportion of children getting five Cs or better at GCSE has risen from 10 per cent in 2001 to 33 per cent last year.
Tales of individual achievement include that of an Albanian boy who scored seven As or A*s at GCSE - and got one of the top five marks in England for Italian - just two years after arriving in Britain.
Mr Daniels said many children came to the school from countries with traditionalist approaches to education - including the use of corporal punishment. "Many students come here from countries
where the boundaries are very clear. So, right from the beginning, we brought in clarity of boundaries." For example, the school vigorously enforces the ban on baseball caps and pupils must stand for the head when he walks into a class.
Mr Daniels said: "It is because that is what they are used to, not because I get a thrill from it."
The headteacher has introduced some ingenious methods to help raise achievement. For example, some GCSE science lessons are taught to Turkish pupils in their native language because that makes it easier to convey "conceptual" aspects of the subject.
Children whose first language is not English are encouraged to take GCSEs in their native tongue where possible. This helps to ensure that as many pupils as possible reach the end of compulsory education with at least one qualification.
Mr Daniels and the school's assistant head, June Simmons, have developed a programme to help ease newcomers who speak little or no English into life at the school. They are given basic English instruction and integrated gradually into normal lessons.
Ms Simmons said most children could find at least one adult in the school from their part of the world, if not their homeland, which helped them to acclimatise.
"It's normal to be different in this school so people don't feel that they stick out because they speak a different language," she said. "It feels like an incredibly rich place to be."
Parents from ethnic minorities chose the school "because they feel well supported", she said.
thisislocallondon.co.uk _________________ [img]http://home.att.net/~chuckayoub/black_sabbath/black-sabbath-1970.jpg
[/img]
Black Sabbath - 1970 |

Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 8:02 pm Post subject: |
| Blackleaf wrote: | This (overwhemingly Scottish) New Labour Government that we have is the major cause in the surge of support for the BNP.
What is this 'overwhelmingly Scottish' tripe?
Here, take a look at the cabinet:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/sp.../03/the_cabinet/html/work_sec.stm
As far as I can see, there are only 5 Scots appointed to the current Cabinet, out of 23 places (6 if you count Blair, who does not consider himself Scottish).
That hardly makes the Government, 'overwhelmingly Scottish'.
Blackleaf, go and read a bloody book - your posts are pathetic.
In fact, if I was pushed on the issue I'd say the Government is 'overwhelmingly English'. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 2:38 am Post subject: |
Wal 'SCUSE' ME! IF Convenor! So I put a comma instead of a dot erm is'nt that "full stop?" I can split hairs!!
BG  _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:33 am Post subject: |
| rs_azzuri wrote: | | Blackleaf wrote: | This (overwhemingly Scottish) New Labour Government that we have is the major cause in the surge of support for the BNP.
What is this 'overwhelmingly Scottish' tripe?
Here, take a look at the cabinet:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/sp.../03/the_cabinet/html/work_sec.stm
As far as I can see, there are only 5 Scots appointed to the current Cabinet, out of 23 places (6 if you count Blair, who does not consider himself Scottish).
That hardly makes the Government, 'overwhelmingly Scottish'.
Blackleaf, go and read a bloody book - your posts are pathetic.
In fact, if I was pushed on the issue I'd say the Government is 'overwhelmingly English'. |
And what population has Scotland got compared to England?
Scotland has more MPs in Westminster, per capita, than England has. Scotland virtually rules the whole of the UK and the English especially are under Scotland's yoke.
Our Chancellor and future PM is Scottish, our Defence Secretary is a Scot, Alistair darling is a Scot, the Speaker of the Commons is a Scot, Blair was born in Edinburgh. The guy who was once the boss of the Health Service in England was a Scot, whereas no Englishman is allowed to be the Scottish Health Secretary.
Not bad for a nation of 5 million. We're all ruled by goddamn Scots. They get everywhere.
Considering that England has around 10 or 11 times as many people as Scotland have, then, purely by ACCIDENT, does our government have more Englishmen in it.
But if you look at it from a per capita point of view, then this Government we have is almost a Scottish Government. _________________ [img]http://home.att.net/~chuckayoub/black_sabbath/black-sabbath-1970.jpg
[/img]
Black Sabbath - 1970 |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:40 am Post subject: |
Millions go to the polls in the English Local Elections today, and the BNP are expected to get a higher than usual amount of votes.
A lot of the English are voting BNP as a protest vote against our Socialist, politically-correct-mustn't-sell-golliwogs-in-shops-in-case-it-offends-blacks, let murderers and rapists from abroad into our country, Scottish dominated, tax increasing, English hating Government.
Foes of Foreigners Grow Vocal In Britain
Anti-Immigrant Party Garnering Support
By Kevin Sullivan
Washington Post Foreign Service
Thursday, May 4, 2006; Page A18
Leader of the BNP, Nick Griffin.
LONDON, May 3 -- Paula Mitchell, cutting fresh flowers in the Gale Street Florist shop in east London, said she's voting for candidates of the British National Party in local elections on Thursday -- but she hopes they lose.
"If they got in, I'd be absolutely horrified," said Mitchell, 38, who described her planned ballot for the vehemently anti-immigration BNP as a protest against what she sees as out-of-control immigration to Britain.
"We're against people coming in and taking our jobs, taking our school places, getting priority in housing," said Mitchell. "Everyone is fed up, and we want to make our feelings known."
The BNP declares itself "wholly opposed to any form of racial integration between British and non-European peoples." It seeks to restore the overwhelmingly white makeup of Britain before 1948; its leader has called Islam a "wicked, vicious faith." Support from people like Mitchell, a white mother of three whose political views otherwise appear generally mainstream, illustrates rising anti-immigration sentiment in Britain and across Europe.
Parties long dismissed by many as the racist fringe have become increasingly popular as governments that once freely accepted immigrants question how many more their nations can take.
"It should be a worry for all Western democracies," said Nick Lowles of Searchlight, an anti-racist group that publishes a magazine in Britain. Lowles said many voters were turning to extremist parties to vent anger at their political leaders. "People are shouting out," he said, "and they want to be heard."
In France, a public opinion poll last month showed that more than a third of respondents believed the anti-immigrant National Front, led by the outspoken Jean-Marie Le Pen, was in line with "the concerns of French people." Numbers like that could make the party a power in presidential elections next year.
The anti-immigration Danish People's Party in Denmark and Progress Party in Norway, meanwhile, both reached record levels of the vote -- 13 and 22 percent, respectively -- in elections last year.
A British study this month concluded that up to a fourth of British voters were considering supporting the BNP. Their country now has an estimated 7 million people of various minority groups. "The BNP's message is simple and seductive," Lowles said. "It's always nice to be able to blame someone else for your problems."
The BNP's appeal "stems not so much from crude racism, but from disillusionment with the government," said Vernon Bogdanor, a professor of government at Oxford University. He and other analysts said immigrants are often blamed for tough economic times, and many voters fault the Labor Party government of Prime Minister Tony Blair for not doing enough to control immigration.
Blair's government has been rocked by scandals recently, including the disclosure that more than 1,000 foreigners convicted of crimes including murder and rape had been released from prison instead of being deported, and many are still unaccounted for. On Wednesday, Blair told Parliament that he was drafting a plan to automatically deport foreigners convicted of serious crimes.
Public anger over the scandal deepened Wednesday when the government disclosed that the prime suspect in November's shooting death of a female police officer was a Somali immigrant who had not been deported despite multiple criminal convictions and prison terms in Britain.
"The BNP have become the protest vote for people who don't like the government for any number of reasons," Bogdanor said.
Despite that "combustible" anger, Bogdanor said, mainstream voters still might not back the BNP, which has never won a seat in Parliament and holds only 21 local offices. Opinion polls published last weekend showed the party had only about 4 or 5 percent support nationally, but 30 percent or more in some urban areas.
Jon Cruddas, a Labor Party member of Parliament who represents the working-class east London borough where Mitchell's flower shop is located, said the BNP had made "a conscious strategy to work into areas of white working-class disillusionment," such as his district.
The party is fielding a record 357 candidates out of 4,000 total candidates nationally, including 13 in Cruddas's district of 180,000 people, where unemployment is rampant. The area, which was 85 percent white in the 2001 census, has some of the city's least-expensive housing and has been a magnet for immigrants, with the black African population growing by 3 to 4 percent a year, Cruddas said.
In recent interviews with people on the street and in shops in the neighborhood, nearly every person expressed agreement with the BNP's arguments about immigration, and several said they planned to vote for the party.
"The issue in this city is immigration," said Jackie Odger, who works in Toddy's Unisex Hair Salon. "People don't like it when people come here and claim benefits they're not entitled to."
Odger said she was concerned about the BNP's "racist side," but added that she feels she "might vote for them and not tell anyone."
The neighborhood has drawn attention recently because the government employment minister, Margaret Hodge, a Labor Party member of Parliament who represents the area, said publicly that 80 percent of the voters she met in the borough were considering voting for the BNP.
Richard Barnbrook, a BNP candidate for the local council, was so delighted, he said, that he sent Hodge 10 flowers, including eight white lilies pointedly representing BNP voters.
Barnbrook, 45, a special-needs teacher, ran against Hodge in the most recent election, finishing with about 4,950 votes to her 14,000. He said he's tired of "P.C., wishy-washy subjects" taught in schools -- world history instead of British history, for example. He said he favors chemical castration for pedophiles and serial rapists and wants more government support for the "indigenous peoples" of Britain.
Dressed in a tan suit, Barnbrook walked around the neighborhood, slipping copies of a BNP publication promoting the party as "the voice of the silent majority" through front-door mail slots. Featured on the cover is a photo taken in 1953 on the day of Queen Elizabeth II's coronation, showing a large group of white women and girls attending a party. Below are two more-recent photos of the neighborhood, showing black men and Muslim women in head scarves and veils. Large bold letters ask, "Is this what you really want?"
Barnbrook said the flier simply shows the area's "traditional identity" and how it has changed over the years.
" 'Racist' is the right word to use," said Sunday Ogunyemi, 31, a Nigerian immigrant who has lived in the borough for six years. "Their views do not represent what most British people say. Britain is a country that welcomes people from other countries."
www.washingtonpost.com . . . _________________ [img]http://home.att.net/~chuckayoub/black_sabbath/black-sabbath-1970.jpg
[/img]
Black Sabbath - 1970 |
IF Convenor I really have nothing else to do!!!

Joined: 29 Apr 2006 Posts: 906 Location: Scotland or West Africa, it depends
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:56 am Post subject: |
Oh boo hoo hoo. 300 years of Englishmen ruling Scotland and 9 years the other way round has you inconsolable. It's pathetic.
Now a couple of pieces of information for you. There is no legal block on English people becoming Scottish Health Secretary, or holding any other Scottish Executive position. Any citizen, I believe, can stand for election to the Scottish parliament and any MSP could become a minister if his or her party is in power.
The reason there are so many Scots in the present government is pretty obvious. Throughout the eighties and nineties Scotland kept electing Labour MPs while England largely didn't. These MPs, by virtue of their longevity and lack of competition, naturally became the most senior Labour MPs so, when England finally decided to elect a Labour government, they became the government's ministers.
This method will also ensure that the next Tory government will be almost exclusively staffed by English MPs. Will you think that unfair? Will you sympathise when Scots complain about the injustice of it all? Thought not. _________________ The man o independent mind,
He looks and laughs at aa that. |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 11:02 am Post subject: |
| Blackleaf wrote: | Millions go to the polls in the English Local Elections today, and the BNP are expected to get a higher than usual amount of votes.
A lot of the English are voting BNP as a protest vote against our Socialist, politically-correct-mustn't-sell-golliwogs-in-shops-in-case-it-offends-blacks, let murderers and rapists from abroad into our country, Scottish dominated, tax increasing, English hating Government.
I think ye`ll find Blackleaf that yon voters that vote for the BNP are racist scum so dinnae gie us ony ae yer pish aboot protest votes.Onybody that can go oot an vote for the BNP are racist,i`ll tell ye you`ve got wan big chip oan yer shoulder.  _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4416 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 11:17 am Post subject: |
| Wolf of Badenoch wrote: | I think ye`ll find Blackleaf that yon voters that vote for the BNP are racist scum so dinnae gie us ony ae yer pish aboot protest votes.Onybody that can go oot an vote for the BNP are racist,i`ll tell ye you`ve got wan big chip oan yer shoulder.  |
Well, a Nationalist and a Racist having a squabble about who's got the bigger chip on their shoulder. Excuse me if I indulge in a bit of sniggering. |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 11:22 am Post subject: |
Snigger awa! Ye could probably include yersel in the racist part tae efter a couple ae comments ye`ve made.Ye no got ony flags tae be stitching onyways instaed ae sniggering like a wee lassie.  _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 11:49 am Post subject: |
Oh yes, me, a racist?
Funny, I seem to recall me being the only one advocating far more liberal border policies, open immigration eventually following European and Commonwealth free movement areas, complete equality in all matters of government... |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:21 pm Post subject: |
Aventinian i refer ye tae a comment ye made in reply tae a post made by azzuri regarding aids in Africa.
You posted.....
To be fair they didn't really invent that...
In fact, why am I being fair to Ole Blackie? Hell, go ahead... _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |
Nina I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:45 pm Post subject: |
Hell yeah Wolf you're right.. I remember that very cleary as well. That was a good for nothing racist remark  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |

Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:50 pm Post subject: |
I think he was referring to 'Blackleaf' when he said 'Ole' Blackie', not Black people.
Aventinian may be many things, but I can't see he/she as a racist. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum