Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Let's Have Home Rule For The English
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> UK and Ireland Politics
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
Absolutely. I would grant your household Independence. However I would introduce strict border controls between your house and the rest of the country Twisted Evil

Aye an move it tae Rockall.

Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what have the poor gannets done to deserve that? Laughing

“Nuair a thig Rocabarra ris, is dual gun tèid an Saoghal a sgrios”.

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
Absolutely. I would grant your household Independence. However I would introduce strict border controls between your house and the rest of the country Twisted Evil

That's not very internationalist of you, SLG...
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry for joining the debate so late, but the only time that scotland has depended upon English, or British when it suits them, handouts was directly after the second world war. Since tehn teh idea of us sponging has been a myth, typical sun

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morph wrote:
sorry for joining the debate so late, but the only time that scotland has depended upon English, or British when it suits them, handouts was directly after the second world war. Since tehn teh idea of us sponging has been a myth, typical sun

Yes, because in 1708 for example we were raking it in financially.

I don't care who benefits from who. You're living in a country - someone will always get more than another. I'll be paying 40% tax most of my life so that some spongers down the road can get their dole money or be put on some sort of 'computers for junkies' scheme.

Scotland is truly an example of the lunatics running the asylum and if it wasn't for what nature graced us with we'd be fucked. Most other nations are not similarly protected from reality (with the possible exception of Saudi Arabia).
Economist

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to have developed into an argument for some in England, but really its not England that does the contributing it is London. As most of England is, relatively poorer than much of Scotland in terms of revenue, GDP per capita

Actually if you exclude London and many of its satellite towns, the rest of England actually contributes proportionately less than Scotland. I believe that Aberdeen and Edinburgh contribute more to the economy per head than any other city in Britain apart from London, and contribute vastly more per head than say the likes of East Ayrshire or the Western Isles or the Isle of Arran (sorry to say).

It simply is lazy to say the English pay more than the Scots - because in reality that is not generally true. However it is in our interests to let some people believe this.
Neil
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is true that in northern England & Wales the gdp is lower than in Scotland so that they contribute less in taxes. Nonetheless Scotland does remarkably well out of the "generous" Barnett formula so that we get more money per head than England. This is why many English are getting restive.
Economist

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it is a moot point whether Scotland does "rather well" out of the Barnett Formula - because I don't think Scotland's economy does well out of it. However considering that Scotland pays more in taxes per head, than large parts of the United Kingdom, and did pay massive fiscal surpluses for most of the last 30 years, I rather think we're entitled to all of our own wealth back, and the ability to use that to our own ends.

And incidentally the fact more is spent on health and education per head in Scotland has absolutely nothing to do with the Barnett Formula, which is designed to give Scotland/Wales/Northern Ireland a population based share of any increase in expenditure in England. Journalists and some politicians seem to think spending levels in Scotland and the Barnett Formula are the same thing - they're not.

As for home rule for the English, I'd give them independence, just as long as Scotland gets its independence, I don't care how that happens. English independence has the added advantage that they would need to compensate us in terms of the division of national assets, and would bear the costs of independence rather than Scotland.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Economist wrote:
I think it is a moot point whether Scotland does "rather well" out of the Barnett Formula - because I don't think Scotland's economy does well out of it.

That's really a matter for the Scottish Executive rather than the treasury or UK Parliament though...

However considering that Scotland pays more in taxes per head, than large parts of the United Kingdom, and did pay massive fiscal surpluses for most of the last 30 years, I rather think we're entitled to all of our own wealth back, and the ability to use that to our own ends.

I do not believe public spending should be apportioned on the basis of who pays the most in, but according to need and other factors. Taxes should be lowered in order to achieve that end - a notion which I fully support.

English independence has the added advantage that they would need to compensate us in terms of the division of national assets, and would bear the costs of independence rather than Scotland.

I don't quite understand what you're getting at here. As far as assets go, the ones presently in Scotland probably account for far more than Scotland deserves - take all the military equipment for example. I think if anyone would have to march things to the border to be handed over, it'd be us.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Economist wrote:
It simply is lazy to say the English pay more than the Scots - because in reality that is not generally true. However it is in our interests to let some people believe this.

Of course it's lazy... in fact, it's a complete load of bollocks. Speaking as a Scotsman, I don't want some lazy English Democrat oik telling me I'm a sponger when I'm going to pay hundreds of times more than in him into the treasury over the course of my life; nor, if I was an Englishman, would it appeal having some dole-scrounging Glaswegian do the same.

The only reason these figures should be used is to estimate which parts of the country can benefit from greater spending or strategies to improve their economic performance. Not some interprovincial pissing contest.
Economist

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not believe public spending should be apportioned on the basis of who pays the most in, but according to need and other factors. Taxes should be lowered in order to achieve that end - a notion which I fully support.

Scotland certainly does need lower taxes. Perhaps had we not been part of the United Kingdom, and been able to enjoy these massive oil-induced fiscal surpluses, with a high tax take per head we could have had lower taxes. One will never know, especially given that the Scottish Parliament does not have control over most of the taxes that could make a difference eg Corporation tax.

I don't quite understand what you're getting at here. As far as assets go, the ones presently in Scotland probably account for far more than Scotland deserves - take all the military equipment for example. I think if anyone would have to march things to the border to be handed over, it'd be us.

Foreign currency reserves, bills and bonds held at the Bank of England, a share of all of the UK public sector real estate at home and abroad, a share of all UK government investments, assets and liabilities, a share of the assets of the intelligence services, as share of the assets of national agencies like the IND, the DVLA, HMRC. And potentially a repatriation of the costs of national infrastructure projects like Heathrow Airport, the M25 and the Channel Tunnel - after all they were justified quite significantly on the grounds of being UK-wide. Yes we'd be due a share of the military as well. You are quite correct to say that Scotland contributes disproportionately to the military of the UK anyway (in terms of numbers of personnel etc), but it would still be due a share of the capital and assets on independence.

Of course it's lazy... in fact, it's a complete load of bollocks. Speaking as a Scotsman, I don't want some lazy English Democrat oik telling me I'm a sponger when I'm going to pay hundreds of times more than in him into the treasury over the course of my life; nor, if I was an Englishman, would it appeal having some dole-scrounging Glaswegian do the same.

And does it appeal to you that you are sponging benefit scroungers in places like Liverpool or Newcastle or Leeds or even London?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There would be no marching anything to the border needed - just send the Nuclear Sub as Faslane to Southampton and the debt's repaid!

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Neil
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A government report last December found that Scotland was subsidised by the rest of the UK to the tune of £7.7 billion a year in 2002-3.

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/index.cfm?id=555512005
I That is a lot of money & I do not see "economist" how you can say it is a "moot point" whether it is or not. I will grant that this figure doesn't include oil money but even so we are still about £2.5 billion ahead.

The reason more is spent per head in Scotland is precisely because we get more per head which in turn is because of the Barnett formula so you are wrong to say that the one is "absolutely nothing to do with" the other. This is partly because our population is, at best, static & England's is growing so the census figure Barnett is calculated on is always outdated.

Scotland does, as you say, need lower taxes to stimulate economic growth & we could afford it & still keep spending higher than England purely because of Barnett. The fact that instead 53% of all economic activity in Scotland is governemnt spending is not the fault of the nasty English but of the incompetent Scots we strill choose to elect. This is the ultimate reason why independence is not feasible.
Economist

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all I don't purport to have the economic solutions for Scotland, but I recognise they will NEVER be accommodated in the current constitutional setup.

As for having fiscal deficit of about £2.5bn (with oil)- oh dear, well that's the end of the world, then, because no country ever runs a deficit, we'd better invite the USA to come join us in Britain seen as they seem to be running and unstable deficit. If we'd had economic growth of 4% instead of 1.8%, that fiscal deficit could quite easily have been ameliorated.

Yes, it most certainly doesn't include oil, but the Barnett Formula and spending levels are exclusive of one another.

First of all the Barnett Formula only deals with identifiable government expenditure, and not unidentifiable government expenditure. Secondly the Formula works a bit like this (the cookbooks way to understanding it). Scotland gets an annual block grant each year from the government - this year that grant stands at around £26bn, which the Scottish executive gets to spend on what it likes. That grant is made up of two components (a) Historical levels of spending (b) a population based share of the increase in UK government identifiable expenditure spent in ENGLAND. Say in England they decide to build 10 new hospitals at a cost of £10bn - even though that policy has nothing to do with Scotland, because it represents an increase in English spending, Scotland will get a population based share of the £10bn increase or around £1bn, which will be tacked on to Scotland's budget which the Scottish Executive can spend on what they like - education for example (£1bn would go a huge way in Scottish education). Contrary to some speculation there is a brief assessment of needs, and this is taken into account in Scotland's Grant. Ergo the Barnett Formula DOES NOT autnmatically lead to greater per head expenditure - because it doesn't have to.

I fail to see how independence is not feasible - it is very feasible, it just needs the majority of the Scottish electorate to be trapped in this hopeless cycle of "we cannae dae it", "we're too poor, stupid and backward" and all the other latent rubbish that floats around on the subject. What is not feasible is having a fiscal arrangement that is detrimental to Scotland in this manner, affords no accountability, gives rise to inefficiency, and leaves us and our economy and fiscal stability to the mercy of others.

I agree that spending should be CUT, taxes should be CUT, because that is what Scotland needs - the Scottish Executive's budget has mushroomed from £15bn in 1999, to £26bn today. That is unsustainable.

So here we have a public expenditure mechanism which floods Scotland's economy with public expenditure, rather than allowing it to grow - I think that's awful. I'll never stand up for Labour or the LibDems in the Scottish Parliament, but they have as much control over this formula as I do over the weather. Treasury rules stipulate each fiscal year the entirity of it must be spent and cannot be invested for the future.

I'll never understand why anyone agrees the Barnett Formula is good for Scotland. I'll also never understand why the electorate of Scotland are prepared to subordinate their own economic interests to the United Kingdom - which quite frankly doesn't care about us. Time for Scotland to act like a grown-up country, stand on its own two feet and yes make a lot of mistakes economically and otherwise, without interference from the rest of the UK.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morph wrote:

From The Scotsman itself -

English subsidise the Scots by £2,200 per head

Scotland’s annual subsidy from England has SHOT UP to a record £2,200 a head – doubling since Labour came into power in 1997 (The Scotsman). Gordon Brown’s spending has pushed Jack McConnell’s budget to Scandinavian levels at a time when Scotland’s tax burden dropped below that of England, Poland and Canada. The Scottish Executive figures sparked a political storm as MSPs asked why the world-class spending has failed to be transferred into world-class public services. In 2003-4 the Government spent £45.3 billion, putting Scotland in a rare club of countries where state spending is more than half of the entire economy. Only £34 billion was generated in tax. The remaining £11.3 billion was subsidised by English taxpayers.

scotsman.com

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Scotsman - now there's an impartial newspaper! Rolling Eyes

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:

Just out of interest Blackleaf, do you post articles like this and the toilet one on English forums?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Economist wrote:
Scotland certainly does need lower taxes. Perhaps had we not been part of the United Kingdom, and been able to enjoy these massive oil-induced fiscal surpluses, with a high tax take per head we could have had lower taxes. One will never know, especially given that the Scottish Parliament does not have control over most of the taxes that could make a difference eg Corporation tax.

Perhaps we could any net receipients of the state's finances while we're at it. There's no philosophical justification behind axeing off (either physically or metaphorically) an area of the country simply because it's under-performing.

You're more likely to get a significant kick-up-the-arse for the economy from London anyway, given the present state of affairs and that it quite clear that we'll have a Tory government in a few short years, albeit a watered down one.

And does it appeal to you that you are sponging benefit scroungers in places like Liverpool or Newcastle or Leeds or even London?

Think you've got that sentence muddled a bit, but to answer: no I don't like redistribution of wealth anywhere, the direction of it is, to my mind, totally irrelevant.

As for our talk of what is owed to whom, you've rather demonstrated another point: that it'd be a mammoth job in itself (if indeed it was at all possible) to estimate what fraction of the UK's present holdings that its constituent parts would be entitled to and how best to separate them to allow for this.

Neil wrote:
Scotland does, as you say, need lower taxes to stimulate economic growth & we could afford it & still keep spending higher than England purely because of Barnett. The fact that instead 53% of all economic activity in Scotland is governemnt spending is not the fault of the nasty English but of the incompetent Scots we strill choose to elect. This is the ultimate reason why independence is not feasible.

I agree wholeheartedly that this is an enormous problem which must be addressed. And to be honest I've not heard any of the major parties address it properly.
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
Blackleaf wrote:

Just out of interest Blackleaf, do you post articles like this and the toilet one on English forums?

Probably been kicked aff ae aw the english forums aroon thats how he/she/it is trolling aboot.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you want to know?

It's a fact that the English subsidise the Scots by £2,200 per head. So what's wrong with talking about it? Altogether, we give arounf £10 billion each year to the Scots. And it doesn't bother me if Scots deny it because I know it's true.

And apart from subsidise the Scottish, we also subsidise Continental Europeans, such as inefficient French farmers or Greek vineyard owners.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> UK and Ireland Politics All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3