Reluctant Hero Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 8:57 pm Post subject: |
What do you reckon BG? Closing in on another win?
Windies did well to kill off the tail and are on course with the bat 
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:38 am Post subject: |
Hey RH! Is this a clue?
BG  _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |

Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 7:31 pm Post subject: |
Way to go BG
The last two matches have been some of the most exciting finishes to games you are ever likely to see.
Win on either Friday or Sunday and the series is yours  |

Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 10:26 pm Post subject: |
Hai RH, Ah hope ah dinnae have tae resort tae ma heart pills!! Ah cannae stop smilin' ,
Now if only the Saltires cuid dae the same! Ah wuid have been deid fer sure!!

Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:09 pm Post subject: |
The Saltires are playing twice this weekend in the C&G Trophy. They are taking on unbeaten Derbyshire on Sunday and then Yorkshire on Monday.
Come on Scotland!
But what about the West Indies BG
A series win against India.
You must be confident for the World Cup  |

Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:29 pm Post subject: |
Hey RH
I hear the Saltires are playing Pakistan next month? That would be great to see! I hope Scotland wins against Darbyshire and Yorkshire.
I changed my avatar to B.C Lara, a celebratory moment!!
I hear that VVS Laxman is on his way to the windies for the Test series but that Tendulkar is still unfit,a pity but Laxman will be a handfull as it is!!He is a brilliant batsman.

Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:00 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | I hear the Saltires are playing Pakistan next month? |
Yeah man, it is our first full ODI since the World Cup in 1999. Sales for the game are going slow. £27 entry fee is pretty steep though especially when the Scottish weather can be unpredictable
More details here if you are interested http://www.cricketeurope4.net/DAT...CLES/articles/000026/002648.shtml |

Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: |
Thanks RH, the match against Pakistan is on the 27th June.That will be a good one!!!
I see on the web site the logo of one of Barbados's top brand name rums. Small world really!

Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 7:29 pm Post subject: |
Did I say Derbyshire were unbeaten? Well not anymore
Convincing win for Scotland, their third in a row - get in
Watson finished on 108 not out.
Report here: http://www.cricketeurope4.net/DAT...CLES/articles/000026/002666.shtml
| Quote: | For the first time, the Lloyds TSB Scottish Saltires have won three matches in succession against county opposition, after their eight-wicket victory over Derbyshire in the C&G Trophy at Derby on Sunday. This was also their first away victory in the competition.
Craig Wright won the toss - a rare event - and immediately inserted Derbyshire in helpful seam conditions. Dewald Nel struck the first two blows, and Paul Hoffmann joined in to send Derbyshire reeling to 43 for five, and Welch should have gone five runs later when Corey Richards put down a straightforward chance off Hoffmann.
That allowed Derbyshire to stage something of a recovery, until Ian Moran’s three wickets and two from Ross Lyons precipiated a final collapse to 180 all out.
In reply, Scotland quickly lost Corey Richards for a single, but Ryan Watson announced his arrival with a six over the pavilion roof and two fours in the seventh over.
With his second six, Watson brought up his half-century from 47 balls dominating a stand of 119 in 25 overs with Ian Stanger.
Stanger was bowled for 40 - no boundaries - but Watson cleared the ropes for a fourth time to reach his century from 106 balls.
Fraser Watts (22*) sealed the victory with 9.4 overs to spare, and celebrated with Watson (108*) as the Saltires hoisted themselves into fifth place in the Northern Conference table, equal on points with Derbyshire and third-placed Yorkshire.
Now they are well set up for a meaningful challenge to Yorkshire at Headingley on Monday.
Yorkshire tomorrow - may the winning continue  |

Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:58 pm Post subject: |
BG, what's happening man?
You've slaughtered India. Well and trully slaughtered them.
With the World Cup just around the corner, you must fancy your chances, especially since it is on home soil.
Mind you, watch out for Scotland. They are on a bit of a run  |

Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 12:15 pm Post subject: |
Hai RH, I most certainly will expect Alba to kick serious butt come the world cup.See what happens with pakistan! I'v just heard on Radio Scotland that the saltires are on their way to beating Yorkshire,making it their fourth win?
I'll use the word "slaughtered" AFTER the test series!!! But certainly an excellent result. That was the first time that I recall hearing football type chants at a cricket match,they were all chanting for Lara and Bravo.The latter whom has turned his game up several notches.If he keeps that up he'll become the "other" Prince in Port of Spain!! The Trinis are on a sports high these days what with the football as well.
I dont know what went wrong with India,the've just come off two series wins against England and pakistan.Their fielding was off to say the least.Of course I think Kumble and Laxman will be playing in the test matches though.Friday is the first day of the test match,so will have a very cricket orientated weekend!
Should the Windies reach the world cup final, it'd be crazy here!!

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:31 am Post subject: |
Alas, all good things have to come to an end, as has Scotland's winning run. But only by the dodgy Duckworth-Lewis method
Vaughan was back in action for Yorkshire and scored heavily. |

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 6:57 pm Post subject: |
Sorry to hear about the loss to Yorkshire....Its not for nothing that Vaughn is the England captain!!
That Duckworth- Lewis method has been called worse!!

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:25 pm Post subject: |
The test match between the windies and India began today,Friday, India are batting and up to lunch time are 72-3 with that great batsman VVs Laxman out on 27.The fast becomming windies hero, Bravo getting Mr.Laxman out.

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:35 pm Post subject: |
Currently 154-4 with Dravid on 43no. You need to get him out soon BG
I have just bought shares in Brian Lara in the BBC Sportdaq thingy
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sportdaq/ so he better score at least a double century  |

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:46 pm Post subject: |
Hang on in there RH, nine down,one to go.Dravid was unlucky and got out on a no ball that was not called by the ump,the poor fellow got out on 49 to besides! These things happen.
Im a little frazzled at the moment.My Rottie is producing puppies all over the shop.Sadly she wants nothing to do with them and I'm here tearing my hair out,wondering what to do now!! Had to step aside to think!! I thought this would be a distraction.Anyway I think the score finished on 232-9
Oh well let me go back and face the music!,

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:29 pm Post subject: |
You are looking in a pretty strong position BG
Bravo has had an outstanding series in the one-dayers and looks to be continuing it into the Tests.
Scotland are playing tomorrow against Lancashire at the Grange in Edinburgh. Should be a good day as it is predicted to be good weather and quite warm (for Scotland ).
Lancashire currently lead the C&G Trophy North League, so it should be a tough match.
Here is the latest table.
http://www.cricketeurope4.net/SCO.../2006/INTERNATIONAL/CGtable.shtml |

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 12:55 am Post subject: |
Thanks for the update RH. I certainly hope The Saltires win tomorrow.The weather is hot here too! Today it was over 32 degrees.
Its particulary galling that Scotland has to play English county cricket!! And then we wonder why many people think Scotland is just another English shire Certainly here in the caribbean there is no distinction in their minds.To them we are all English!!! Oh woe!! Anyway,moving on...............
The windies finished the day on 318-6 in reply to India's 241 all out.But to be fair,the Indians are playing a lot of young/green bowlers who were not bowling very well. However, its an international series and thats just not a good enough excuse.
Later,

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 8:59 pm Post subject: |
Aaarrrggghhh
The tail collapsed today when we looked to be in a good position. We won the toss and batted first and looked to be doing pretty well until a total collapse. Hamilton top scored with 48, but after that, no one else got into dounle figures.
But Lancashire aren't top of the league for nothing.
Here's the scorecard http://www.cricketeurope4.net/SCO.../INTERNATIONAL/CARDS/SCOLAN.shtml
Hey BG, the Windies were in an excellent position after the first innings, but are being put under a bit of pressure now. You have to get Jaffer out soon. Hopefully his guard will fall after getting his hundred. |

Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:27 pm Post subject: |
Oh boy RH! The saltires have got to get it together!! To be beaten by englant county cricketers is nae guid!! Although ah dae realise that as in the case of Yorkshire,they have englandshire internationals oan their teams.All the mair reason tae kick butt!!
Scotland has mair money tae invest in cricket surely?? B'dos is a small island, ye cuid fit it in Moray an still have much mair left over.Yet in Bog hall they manage tae beat the saltires??? The students at that!!!
Comming up is a twenty,twenty, Windies Vs S.A (ah believe!) the most prize money ever in any match. The windies have attracted texas billionaire,Alan Stanford.Who has promised millions to revive windies cricket.
Todays game against India is going well for india,but their bowlers are dubious due tae their "greenness' fer wan.
Meanwhile, the windies are bowling well and the runs have tae be worked for, inspite of the loss of edwards due to a strained hamstring.
India 386-4 a lead of 256 runs,currently,3.23 PM Bds time, 8.23PM UK time.