Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Peter Dow.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy my brain just doesn't engage Shocked .......... genuine reasons, not quite cuckoo yet Shocked

Carol

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weel why ahm I not surprised at that hen? Queen Brenda....aka QE2 Shocked

Here is where I come to water my roots.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Och an' by-th'-way Dave, wifie is right,ah dinna look like that....ah look much better than that,thanks all the same!! Very Happy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read that condi had a fling with the Prez?? Did anyone else hear that?

ladyinthemists
Nationalist

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do they call QE2 "Queen Brenda"? Where's that come from???

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've no Idea! Its just a bit o' Scots cheek as far as i'm concerned!

Mairead might well know,I can understand Betty Battenburgh tho'! Laughing

kathyv
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OHHH! I DO know who Queen Brenda is, I remember learning that we whooped up on some of her ancestors a couple of hundred years ago! LOL rambo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You couldn't elaborate on that could you? I'd be interested to know about Brenda!!

Holebender
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brenda is the name used by the satirical magazine Private Eye How they came up with that name is beyond me, but I'm pretty sure that's the source. It's always written as Brenda, not Queen Brenda.
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ladyinthemists asked "Why do they call QE2 'Queen Brenda'? Where's that come from???"

It comes from the satirical magazine "Private Eye". They have been calling the Queen "Brenda" for many years. In 1969 the BBC had a documentary entitled "Royal Family", in which the royals co-operated, because they were worried about seeming too remote and wanted to give the impression of being more like everybody else. As a result of that, "Private Eye" took to treating the royals as if they were working-class characters in a soap-opera, referring to the Queen as "Brenda", the Prince of Wales as "Brian", the late Princess of Wales as "Cheryl", and so on.

Babygael wrote "Its just a bit o' Scots cheek as far as i'm concerned!" - the original bit of cheek which popularised the idea of calling the Queen "Brenda" came from a magazine which is definitely English.
ladyinthemists
Nationalist

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Holebender and Dave. I would never have made the connection Confused

litm
Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:23 am    Post subject: Peter Dow Reply with quote

LoL Babygael, Scots cheek, aye and we hae plenty o' that
RadgeJougal
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holebender wrote:
Brenda is the name used by the satirical magazine Private Eye How they came up with that name is beyond me, but I'm pretty sure that's the source. It's always written as Brenda, not Queen Brenda.

Brenda is used by the intelligence services as a codeword.
Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:28 pm    Post subject: Peter Dow Reply with quote

LOL Radge,
Well if its a code word for Queen Betty, it's not much good now.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not much!! Very Happy

Thanks holebender and Dave for clueing me in, I often wondered where "Brenda" came from! Wink Laughing

ladyinthemists
Nationalist

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where or how they came up with "Brenda" from "Elizabeth" is beyond my comprehension. Now "Betty," "Beth," "Betsy," or even "Bets" or "Bess" I could understand but "Brenda"??? Nah...just makes no sense to me... Rolling Eyes
RadgeJougal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Peter Dow Reply with quote

mairead wrote:
LOL Radge,
Well if its a code word for Queen Betty, it's not much good now.

Not any more. The intelligence services supposedly had various names for each of the major members of the English royal family. Elizabeth's was "Brenda". It's probably something else now.
RadgeJougal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ladyinthemists wrote:
Where or how they came up with "Brenda" from "Elizabeth" is beyond my comprehension. Now "Betty," "Beth," "Betsy," or even "Bets" or "Bess" I could understand but "Brenda"??? Nah...just makes no sense to me... Rolling Eyes

You're not meant to. By using "downmarket" names for various royals, they were able to talk about them with no one else understanding.
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Radge Jougal wrote "Brenda is used by the intelligence services as a codeword" - the "intelligence services" copied Private Eye, a magazine which has been referring to the queen as "Brenda" since 1969.

Ladyinthemists wrote "Where or how they came up with 'Brenda' from 'Elizabeth' is beyond my comprehension. Now 'Betty', 'Beth', 'Betsy', or even 'Bets' or 'Bess' I could understand but 'Brenda'??? Nah...just makes no sense to me..."

All these other names are derived from "Elizabeth". The whole point of "Brenda" is that it isn't. Private Eye refers to Prince Phillip as "Keith", and Prince Charles as "Brian". Because the royals had tried to make themselves more "human" by allowing television cameras to film them at home, Private Eye decided to treat them as if they were a supposedly "common" family in a television soap opera, and give them "common" names. Not necessarily "common" in the sense of "popular" ("Brenda" is actually relatively rare), but "common" in a snobbish sense, like "chav". Although Private Eye makes fun of the royals, many of its writers come from a rather "posh" English boarding school background, so even in mocking the royals they tend to show their own snobbery towards the working class. Mind you, it's still funny, despite that.
ladyinthemists
Nationalist

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AHA! Okay....gotcha now. Thanks, all, for clearing this up for me Wink
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6