Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Im terrible at this!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why are you here?

To see the arguements that the nationalists have for independence.

"we are independent because we are in the United Kingdom"

You are absolutely right. When you know our history get back to me.

Independence means making your own decisions doesn’t matter if you are a country or a teenager

Your point? We are independent it is called The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. An internationally recognised independent nation-state. So therefore, we are independent and make our own decisions.

ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sorry but that really makes no sense at all. I did read how Scotland became part of the Union, I know the story, and it's pretty obvious Scotland didn't want it, especially with the bribe evidence. You are trying to say Scotland is Independent because the United Kingdom is independent. That's the same argument as "we are independent because we are the United Kingdom" !!! Really, all you have done here is ruffle everyone’s feathers. Like I said, it's respectable to have solid arguments and debates on the independence issue. But you haven't had any solid arguments, supporting evidence, or anything needed to make what you say worth reading. I don't know about you, but I am here to learn to speak for Scotland with honesty, respect, and knowledge of the issue.
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but I am here to learn to speak for Scotland with honesty, respect, and knowledge of the issue.

Then you should be looking else where as this is only going to give you a very one sided view of the place and not a true reflection. Again once you actually know something about this place then you can comment on its way of governance until then...
BonnieBlueFlag
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holding on to the Union is like holding on to the titanic. We were part of the greatest empire in history, but ITS OVER! Get over it. Look at the future, look at Europe! Small countries can make it and thrive, geo-politics and economics are changing, we arent living in 1707 anymore and we arent going to war with England every 5mins now. Why hold on to the past?

ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:
Then you should be looking else where as this is only going to give you a very one sided view of the place and not a true reflection. Again once you actually know something about this place then you can comment on its way of governance until then...

I don't know if you noticed but there is quite a variety of views here, though, you have to expect this forum to have mostly people who are Pro-Independence. After all, that is the point of this forum! As it says on the top of the page:

"Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites."

That's why I am here, because I believe in Scottish Independence. And I didn't decide that by money nor politics, it comes from my heart. I am proud to be part of a wonderful race of people who, despite centuries of struggle, have managed to keep their culture going strong and continue to keep it going. I think that is a rare jewel in the world. But we can't secure it without becoming independent.

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
Holding on to the Union is like holding on to the titanic. We were part of the greatest empire in history, but ITS OVER! Get over it. Look at the future, look at Europe! Small countries can make it and thrive, geo-politics and economics are changing, we arent living in 1707 anymore and we arent going to war with England every 5mins now. Why hold on to the past?

Well said BonnieBlueFlag...well said. But don't forget, we always look to the past to support many arguments, so be careful when you say "why hold on to the past?" as we certainly do in many ways! lol. Perhaps it is understandable that some like the idea of the United Kingdom...but...it can't be forgotten that many Scot's fought for freedome and independence. I think for all the Scot's that gave their lives for this cause, it's up to us to uphold what they fought for and bring Scotland to independence once more!

I did read something that bothered me, apparently the Isle of Man is neither part of the United Kingdom, nor is it part of United Europe (which I was thrilled to see!). However, it is still considered a "british dependent" I believe it said. I think Australia has this as well, where the country is independent, but still has the queen over their heads. I really hope this doesen't happen to Scotland as well, I will read more on it.
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

race of people

We are not a race.

apparently the Isle of Man is neither part of the United Kingdom, nor is it part of United Europe (which I was thrilled to see!). However, it is still considered a "british dependent" I believe it said. I think Australia has this as well, where the country is independent, but still has the queen over their heads.

Yeah keep reading and tell me when you understand the huge difference between Isle of Man and Australia and which one is a British dependent and what it means.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are not a race.

Then you obviously don't know what a race is.

race1 ( P ) Pronunciation Key (rs)
n.

A local geographic or global human population distinguished as a more or less distinct group by genetically transmitted physical characteristics.
A group of people united or classified together on the basis of common history, nationality, or geographic distribution: the German race.
A genealogical line; a lineage.
Humans considered as a group.

Yeah keep reading and tell me when you understand the huge difference between Isle of Man and Australia and which one is a British dependent and what it means.

Hey, that wasn't directed at you! I was talking to BonnieBlueFlag. That's rude.
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know what it is but I don't believe you do. The people of Scotland are not a race. They may be culturally defined but we certainly are not a race and I don't like how you imply that we are.
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that wasn't directed at you! I was talking to BonnieBlueFlag. That's rude.

It doesn't matter who you were talking to. If you are going to post on a site and also advocate a type of politcal reform then I would at least like it if you knew something about how it works here. So as I said go and read some books and then you can tell us what the difference is between Isle of Man and Australia and how one is a British dependent and how one isn't.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:
I know what it is but I don't believe you do. The people of Scotland are not a race. They may be culturally defined but we certainly are not a race and I don't like how you imply that we are.

The defenition is right there, we both can clearly see what it is:

"A group of people united or classified together on the basis of common history, nationality, or geographic distribution: the German race."

The German race as it gives as an example, the Scottish race, the English race, the French race...it doesen't matter, it's:

"Humans considered as a group."

Im sorry that that offends you.

It doesn't matter who you were talking to. If you are going to post on a site and also advocate a type of politcal reform then I would at least like it if you knew something about how it works here. So as I said go and read some books and then you can tell us what the difference is between Isle of Man and Australia and how one is a British dependent and how one isn't.

I understand anyone can view what I say on a forum, but it is still rude when I direct the question to someone specific. Especialy when you make the rude remarks you do. Really, that's all ive seen you do. What I can't understand is why you feel the need to continue picking on me like this, am I the first to defend myself against you? Do you feel like im threatening your ego or something? I really don't get it, this is my topic after all. I didn't start it for debating, I started it for getting advice on how to defend Scotland. I supose you're giving me practace?
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't call the Scots a race, but then I don't really believe in race as a concept full stop. I would define the Scots as a nation and nationality with various distinct characteristics mainly cultural. As a whole population there will probably be some genetic features that distinguish Scots from other populations but I wouldn't go so far as to say that constitutes being a race. PTBASG, there's really no point arguing with Highlander as he chooses not to read your definition of race on cultural, geographical and historical grounds. Unless you are arguing based on the same definition then there is no point.
IF Convenor
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to just say a few words about Darien (the Central American colony under discussion).

Darien was a brilliant idea. It is, after all, very similar to the Panama Canal, except the Darien idea was to transport the cargos overland and load them onto different ships at either end of the isthmus.

My main point about Darien is that it was a private enterprise and, while it certainly bankrupted many of its investors, it did not bankrupt Scotland itself. At the time of Union in 1707 Scotland had very low taxes and no significant national debt. England, on the other hand, was constantly fighting foreign wars and consequently had a massive national debt and high taxes. This is why the Act of Union deals almost exclusively with economic matters and is mainly concerned with compensating Scotland for the higher levels of debt and taxation it was to be subjected to after Union.

Remember, history is written by the victors so you need to investigate a bit for yourself rather than just accept what is written in popular history books.
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember, history is written by the victors so you need to investigate a bit for yourself rather than just accept what is written in popular history books.

And we Scots were the victors.
IF Convenor

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At Darien???
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:

And we Scots were the victors.

Aye, some o them. Ra wans that got ra equivalent o thirty pieces o silver an ra wans that sold us intae bondage.
Nae taxation without representation? Weel sort of. Ach aye,aye an ye'll all say aye.Right enough.

the bard of keppoch
Nationalist

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if convenor,i did'nt know you were a lover of colonialism.
IF Convenor

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not. What have I said to give such an impression?

Perhaps it was my statement that Darien was a brilliant idea? Let me clarify that; the idea of taking over somebody else's land and subjugating the population is not brilliant. Quite the opposite, in fact. What was brilliant was the idea behind the colony, the reason that particular place was chosen for a colony. The idea was to provide a shortcut between the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans by transporting freight overland across the Isthmus of Panama. The idea would have worked and made everyone involved a great deal of money if it hadn't been sabotaged by foreign powers for their own ends. The proof that the idea would have been a great success is the existence and commercial success of the Panama Canal, which does the exact same job as the Darien Scheme intended, except entire ships are transported across the isthmus rather than just their cargo.

You have to look at history within the ethos of the time, and at the time of Darien it was acceptable to just grab land overseas and hold it by force of arms. I don't love or even support colonialism, I just accept it as part of our history which cannot be changed.

To repeat myself, I do not support colonialism and I do not like the idea of Scotland having had colonies, but the purpose of the Darien colony was a stroke of genius.
the bard of keppoch
Nationalist

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

convenor i just tippled what u meant by being a brilliant idea,the concept of transportation across land ? saving weeks of sailing round the horn. ive smoked to much skunk before reading this post
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the bard of keppoch wrote:
convenor i just tippled what u meant by being a brilliant idea,the concept of transportation across land ? saving weeks of sailing round the horn. ive smoked to much skunk before reading this post

Yon stuff is bad fer ye an wull dae yer brain in. ye'll hae ra thoucht police ge ing ye ra wance over, whit wa all them agin smokin laws in Scotland noo. kin ye nae dae whit yer telt frae "Wee Jack" an dinna swear fer it's nae nice.

SF102
Nationalist

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From what i can see . . .we paid just over 7 grand for a bunch of rocks and some heather . . . .we was robbed

<~~~trots off into hiding
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3