Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:16 am Post subject: |
Tae richt SF! These fowk who set these killers free tae roam among us need tae be held accountable for lettin them losoe when they kill again.I mean if you walk your Nin-Pin without a lead they want to lock you up!! :But its allright for them to let a phsyco lose on innocent law abiding fowk! OH PLEEZE!
As far as I'm concerned, if you kill ma peeps, yer erse is grass!!  _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |
Chookie On A Journey (500 Miles)

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:26 pm Post subject: |
Nonetheless, the question was about what you would change in history, you two (Bg and SF) are talking about current affairs and social policies.
My answer would have to be that RELIGION (of whatever form) has caused far more pain and suffering than any other concept - even greedand avarice. _________________ The proper study of mankind is Man |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:11 pm Post subject: |
| So what would you change about religion, or would you have none? |
SF102 Nationalist

Joined: 14 Jul 2006 Posts: 149 Location: Peterborough. My heart lies in ESSEX
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:02 am Post subject: |
I think none would be the easier of the two options having said that. Whatever people decided to fill the void that is religion would need to be looked at as that would more n likely cause as much agro.Maybe it might be best if there was only the one with one inturpretation. _________________ I'm proud of being English Teach Me i wanna learn |

Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:47 am Post subject: |
| What about having the one true god come down and explain to everyone how it all works. That might help out the situation a bit, especially if he's omnipotent etc. |
SF102 Nationalist

Joined: 14 Jul 2006 Posts: 149 Location: Peterborough. My heart lies in ESSEX
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 10:33 am Post subject: |
would that be your one true god . . or mine I think we're a tad late with trying to resolve that one. Maybe the question should have been . . "what can we change for the future" Hindsight is a wonderful gift if used properly alas most times it's more of a hindrance than anything else  _________________ I'm proud of being English Teach Me i wanna learn |
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:52 pm Post subject: |
Aye! Aye! Sor (chookie)
BG  _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |
Blackadder Time For Reincarnation

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:34 pm Post subject: |
What would I change in History? The meteor that wiped out the dinosaurs I think. Had they evolved further, our lot wouldn't have ... and it might have been a better world with Lizard People in charge ... except that according to one conspiracy theory they already do ... _________________ Laird of Treverlen |
Hazel Nationalist
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:13 pm Post subject: |
| SF102 wrote: | | The thing in history i would change would be religion. It's been the cause of more deaths throughout history than any other single cause. God (no matter what name YOU know him/it/her under) has a LOT of blood on his/its/her hands. |
Now, there is a truth that not very many have the courage to state. And, is the attitude therein a foreshadowing of what has followed? I am just wondering.
I sometimes suspect that we have a gene that says (in so many words), "If your eyes aren't green like mine you deserve to be blinded.
Off soap box before it gets slippery, Hazel _________________ Hazel
Chan ann air chall a tha gach neach air allaban. |
Theresa Nationalist
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:49 am Post subject: |
Hi, everyone.
I am always at something of a loss to explain the value of religion. Usually I resort to distinguishing religion from faith, meaning that it's one thing to 'belong' to a religion and claim faithfulness; it's another thing to practice one's faith and live it out faithfully.
The point I often make in these conversations is this: I agree with you that 'religion' has caused the most deaths. But it is faulty reasoning to then conclude that all people of faith are therefore to be despised. Plus, it's historically inaccurate to paint the picture with such a broad brush. What about all the hospitals, schools, and charity work established in the name of 'religion'? It's really about sincere people of faith living out their beliefs.
What I think is really sad is that we've so often seen religious beliefs either distorted or used abusively that the general population has now become completely wary of anybody who claims a faith tradition. And I often watch these folks pretty carefully myself! But I think the more courageous path is to observe the lives of individuals and smaller groups who are faithful and who exhibit real graciousness, rather than generalizing to the point of completely discounting something of value.
And please don't blame God. It's the followers who are unfaithful, not the Deity! Otherwise, we run into too many theological problems . . . _________________ "Qui tacit consentire." Silence gives consent. |
Blackadder Time For Reincarnation

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:14 am Post subject: |
All religions are based on a false premise. That God made man. In fact, it was the other way round.
If a REAL all-powerful deity exists "out there" ... it is utterly beyond our comprehension ... and the day we admit that ... is the day we take a huge step forward ... instead of marching and fighting in one spot as we have done for centuries.
By "we", I mean "you" of course ... I'm SO above all that. Blackadders only have one false God ... money and power ... well TWO false gods, money and power and fame ... THREE false ... er ... can I come in and start again? _________________ Laird of Treverlen |
Robert Craig Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:12 am Post subject: |
If I could change one thing in history,
I would probably have taken different Highers at school. |

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:31 am Post subject: |
| Robert Craig wrote: | If I could change one thing in history,
What highers would you have done? |
Robert Craig Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:03 pm Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | Robert Craig wrote: | If I could change one thing in history,
What highers would you have done? |
I would have done more arty ones and fewer science ones!
Cos they didn't get me a job in the end, so I might as well have done ones I'd enjoy. |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!