Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

September 3 1658 Cromwell Goes To Hell!
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One O'Clock Gun wrote:
Wow- 12 days later.

What a quick witted come-back.

hehe thats guid that!very guid indeed.

course ye ken ra troll at is Blackleaf needs tae consult his freens in ra rag kent as dailymail.co.uk afore hes able tae post onything.

Onyways troll dinnae ye be concernin yersel wi oor education system,hae ye nae got mair pressin matters at haun tae be gittin oan wi.........................................like morris dancing.

Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf, Sorry but you are much mistaken.
Elizabeth Bowes- Lyon was born in London on the 4th August 1900. She was the daughter of Claude George Bowes Lyons, 14th Earl of Strathmore who was also born in London and Nina Cavendish-Bentinck, also born in London which makes her a pretty thoroughbred English lady and not in the least Scottish.
The only bit of claim to Scottishness is through the title of her father and his father and that is the Strathmore title. Definately NOT a Scottish Queen.
As far as Scotland goes, I think you will find that the English education system teaches very little that is true about Scotland, merely the distorted beliefs of English academics and Historians who even alter their own English history.
You have a lot to learn about this land I think Blackleaf, , but you won't learn it from English books.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mairead wrote:

As far as Scotland goes, I think you will find that the English education system teaches very little that is true about Scotland, merely the distorted beliefs of English academics and Historians who even alter their own English history.
You have a lot to learn about this land I think Blackleaf, , but you won't learn it from English books.

You don't half speak a load of rubbish, don't you?

The Queen Mother may have been born in England but she was Scottish. The Queen was born in England but she also isn't English - she's Scottish/German more than anything. The Bowes-Lyon family is descended from the Royal House of Scotland.

During the Queen Mother's rein as Queen we didn't call her "The Scottish Queen" for nothing. She even regarded herself as Scottish and NOT English and her daughter, Princess Margaret, was born in Glamis castle.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My, My, Blackleaf, aren't you just soooo rude.
If a person is born in England to English born parents who were also born of English parents, then pardon me but I think that makes the person English, not Scottish.
Also I am well aware of the lineage of the present ruling house, (unfortumately.)
Perhaps it is yourself who is spouting the rubbish!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf darlin' dontcha know that after Culloden many an ENGLISH man was given scottish titles?? So just because an english person was titled in this way does NOT mean that they are SCOTTISH! IE The Duke of Sutherland that viper for example.

Also the true and full account of scottish History was glossed over,leaving out the unsavory bits always making Scotland appear as an after thought and only in the context of how it affected England,Thats why it is so important that the thousand or whatever years of Gaelic history should be brought to the light as they have recorded it NOW before the language dies out.

I went to school overseas at a girls boarding school and ALL apart from four of the teachers were English. And I am ashamed to admit this (its first airing here) but I NEVER heard about William wallace while at school but as for English Monarchs and battles etc,I got PLENTY of that!Scotland only got a mentioned when they were causing the english some bother. Thats why today, I personally have made a complete turn about,probably a little TOO much I'll admit, but once bitten.....

Today the results of those "unsavory" facts are some thirty million strong folks of Gaelic heritage from the Scottish Diaspora, alive and well today and worse, pissed off! And even if only 10% are ,that still leaves three million.

Picture that group returning to Scotland today, which is not impossable, they would run yer arses outta town baby!

BUT according tae yew, an English person born to English parents in England is Scottish?????? So in other words say a person born in Scotland of scottish parents could be what, say Pakastani? Humnnnnnnn???

Then you know what! That would explain the Scots love of Kourma curry n' chips! Viola`c`est bon, non? Now we shall all be 'appy,'appy!! We can all come together as wan. GROUP HUG! GROUP HUG clown Laughing

Here is where I come to water my roots.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Babygael wrote:

BUT according tae yew, an English person born to English parents in England is Scottish?????? So in other words say a person born in Scotland of scottish parents could be what, say Pakastani? Humnnnnnnn???

Then you know what! That would explain the Scots love of Kourma curry n' chips! Viola`c`est bon, non? Now we shall all be 'appy,'appy!! We can all come together as wan. GROUP HUG! GROUP HUG clown Laughing

Anyone born in Scotland is Scottish.
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone born in Scotland is Scottish.

A bit of a generalisation, but I do agree as far as legality is concerned, however If I had kids born anywhere outside of Scotland I would sill regard and bring them up as Scottish.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I agree, if the parents were Scottish, but in no way can someone born in England of English parents and English grandparents be called Scottish as Blackleaf seems to think.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Members of the English Civil War Society took part in their annual march and parade along The Mall and Whitehall in London on Sunday. They were dressed up as Cavaliers (Royalists, the soldiers who fought for the King during the English Civil War against Oliver Cromwell's Parliamentarians/Roundheads) in honour of King Charles I. Whitehall is the place where King Charles I was beheaded in 1649.

On Sunday the King's Army from the English Civil War Society held their annual march and parade along The Mall and Whitehall
-------------------

The march is in commemoration of King Charles I, who was executed on Jan 30 1649 after Oliver Cromwell's Parliamentarians (Roundheads) won the Civil War
------------------

Each January thousands of spectators brave the weather to follow the march and watch the service and parade that follow
----------------

The society says many letters arrive after each parade expressing interest in the organisation, "appreciation of the spectacle, or commenting on the history"
---------------

The parade passes the site of the scaffold where the King last stood
------------

The march has been held every year for the past two decades
------------

All pictures by Telegraph photographer Jeff Moore

telegraph.co.uk

Last edited by Blackleaf on Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mairead wrote:
Yes I agree, if the parents were Scottish, but in no way can someone born in England of English parents and English grandparents be called Scottish as Blackleaf seems to think.

The Queen Mother was more Scottish than anything else. For some reason, you don't like admitting it. The Queen Mother considered herself to be SCOTTISH, not English. Her father was the 14th Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne and her mother was the Countess of Strathmore and Kinghorne.

The family seat of her family is in Glamis Castle, in Angus, Scotland.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2