Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
sandmountainslim I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 2:17 pm Post subject: |
| Niqaryt wrote: |
If Castro is so wonderfully, why is there a constant stream of Cubans risking life and limb by sailing on makeshift boats across the sea to the US? You'd think they might want to stay in Cuba......and how come the Cubans that end up in the US all vehemently hate Fidel? If they were purely economic refugees, they wouldn't do that either. |
Amen!
Why aren't there boatloads of Floridians risking life and limb to get to Cuba and live in Fidel's paradise?
WP
_________________ William Potter
ScotWatch International
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scotwatch/
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/ |
agentmancuso Getting on a bit!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 1982 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:52 pm Post subject: |
| RFM wrote: | | To say "our system is much more democratic" is to argue about degree, not substance. That is quite a departure from saying the Cuban government is a dictatorship. |
Not really. Cuba is a dictatorship. Our system is much more democratic. Both statements are true; there is no logical conflict there.
| RFM wrote: |
Maybe you could tell us how you know that "opposition is not allowed to organize freely"? Is this something you have heard somebody else say? What is the nature or name of this "opposition" you know is not allowed to organize freely? Does it have a name or is it something you just "know"? |
It seems to be the general consensus. I've heard people defend Castro for a variety of reasons, but I've never heard anyone say that opposition in Cuba was able to organise freely. Not even you, notably.
Wikipedia has this to say:
"No political party is permitted to nominate candidates or campaign on the island"
"activity within Cuba by oppositional groups is minimal and mostly illegal"
"While the Cuban constitution has language pertaining to freedom of speech, rights are limited by Article 62, which states that "None of the freedoms which are recognized for citizens can be exercised contrary to... the existence and objectives of the socialist state, or contrary to the decision of the Cuban people to build socialism and communism. Violations of this principle can be punished by law"."
"Groups like Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch have issued reports on Cuban prisoners of conscience.[10] The Cuban government denies the International Committee of the Red Cross access to its prisons and many human rights groups including Amnesty International are denied entry to Cuba."
Or do you think the CIA made all this up? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:48 pm Post subject: |
| Babygael wrote: | RFM dinna let mister whiskers git tae yer! A big man so he is!  |
You don't want to change all the roadsigns in Cuba to La Habhana by any chance? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 7:57 pm Post subject: |
| Avatar wrote: | | Probably the opposition backed by the US government. The "political dissidents" arrested are usually people working for the CIA. Fair do's imo. |
Intervention by the USA in Latin America tends to be either brutal or stupid, and not infrequently both. But that does not, in itself, detract from the fact that Castro is a dictator. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
RFM 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:22 pm Post subject: |
Wikepidea, as the initial page tells everbody, is made up of "contributors" that is people who think they have something to say; sadly when that something is politically oriented it is invariably silly and distorted. But if you are unable to discern the difference between dictatorship and democracy, this exchange is silly also.
Rather than tell us that you base your knowledge on what you hear, you might try to read some reports from the international agencies who monitor and report on these matters. It might help you with your "opposition" equals "democracy" ideas.
As to Mr. Sandmountain Slim, they say that America is a sort of a melting pot; the scum rises to the top and the ones on the bottom get burned. You might remember, if you are old enough, during the presidency of Jimmy Carter, precisely that notion, of opening the gates and "allowing the people to vote with their feet" as the neocons put it, was tried. It was the convicted criminals and and lowlifes from Cuban society that took the opportunity to emmigrate to America, the decent folks stayed home. For years after America withdrew the offer, Cuban criminals were still showing up in the American legal system, some still wanted in Cuba. It kind of makes you think about who in fact left. If you look at some of the people President Bush has recently pardoned, it is pretty clear where the decent people are and it isn't in Miami. |

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:40 pm Post subject: |
| RFM wrote: | | Wikepidea, as the initial page tells everbody, is made up of "contributors" that is people who think they have something to say; sadly when that something is politically oriented it is invariably silly and distorted. |
Is there anything in the Wikipedia article that you believe to be untrue? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:53 pm Post subject: |
| RFM wrote: | | Cuban criminals were still showing up in the American legal system, some still wanted in Cuba. It kind of makes you think about who in fact left. If you look at some of the people President Bush has recently pardoned, it is pretty clear where the decent people are and it isn't in Miami. |
I know two families.
One in Boaz, Alabama and one in Decatur, Alabama both Cuban refugees and both honourable people.
Perhaps you would care to come down or just PM your telephone number to me so that you can be put in contact with them and inform them what "scum" they are?
WP _________________ William Potter
ScotWatch International
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scotwatch/
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/ |
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:57 pm Post subject: |
To Niqaryt;
So you say the political opposition in Cuba does not work for the CIA? Let me lay some names on you: Mr. James Cason, US Interests Section, US Embassy, Cuba. Who was watched putting some 4,000 miles on his car in a couple of months after his arrival, meeting "hitchhikers" and "dissidents". These "opposition" dissidents were found to have money, computers and fax machines, in a country where there are no electronics retail suppliers, they were all charged and convicted under the Cuban espionage statute, supporting the interests of a foriegn power to subvert the socialist system. My, my, is this your idea of political opposition as well!
How about the group "Comando F-4", trained and equipted in Miami, of all places, by the Boy Scouts of America, I suppose, who shot and wounded a Cuban citizen right in Havana, as a "spy". Naw, they had nothing to do with the CIA or America! Not a thing! They just like to boast about it though.
Or how about "Grupo de Apoya a la Disidensa" to whom the Congress of the USA has given close to three million dollars, for "political prisoners, families and victims of oppression". Suppose that sort of money, assistance and equiptment was given to IRA soldiers by American embassy officers wandering around Ireland; do you think it would all be a question of internal "opposition" politics. Of course you would! |
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:15 pm Post subject: |
To agentmancuso;
It simply eludes me why you think everthing has to be a matter of belief; personally I prefer facts. The Article,"Cuba After the Revolution" is a rather abrupt departure from the preceeding articles; it is all opinion without citation to fact. For instance the opening sentence declares Castro was prime minister, carefully not stating he was so elected in a general election, nor does it mention that there was a President, Dr. Iturro, to whom the prime minister was responsible. Worded as it is, it creates the impression that political power depends on the man with the gun. The article goes on to talk about "influences" as though only one man were running the country, when it should be reasonably clear that running Cuba is a task that would not only require willing cooperation, but also the assistance of talented professionals and technicians. Since Cuba has prevailed in spite of the American embargo for the past 40 years, clearly the Cuban people work to support their country and government. |
parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:26 pm Post subject: |
| RFM wrote: | Wikepidea, as the initial page tells everbody, is made up of "contributors" that is people who think they have something to say; sadly when that something is politically oriented it is invariably silly and distorted. But if you are unable to discern the difference between dictatorship and democracy, this exchange is silly also.
Rather than tell us that you base your knowledge on what you hear, you might try to read some reports from the international agencies who monitor and report on these matters. It might help you with your "opposition" equals "democracy" ideas.
As to Mr. Sandmountain Slim, they say that America is a sort of a melting pot; the scum rises to the top and the ones on the bottom get burned. You might remember, if you are old enough, during the presidency of Jimmy Carter, precisely that notion, of opening the gates and "allowing the people to vote with their feet" as the neocons put it, was tried. It was the convicted criminals and and lowlifes from Cuban society that took the opportunity to emmigrate to America, the decent folks stayed home. For years after America withdrew the offer, Cuban criminals were still showing up in the American legal system, some still wanted in Cuba. It kind of makes you think about who in fact left. If you look at some of the people President Bush has recently pardoned, it is pretty clear where the decent people are and it isn't in Miami. |
you have to laugh. the guy questions my education and then quotes wikipedia as an information source  _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:26 pm Post subject: |
To Babygael;
Thank-you Dear! |
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:28 pm Post subject: |
To parkhead_rfb:
Excuse me? |

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:58 pm Post subject: |
| Nothing to my knowledge;but one thing I have always admired about the Scots is their insistance on fair play. |
Avatar I need ma own bl**dy forum!

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:20 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | To parkhead_rfb:
Excuse me? |
Dont worry he's talking about Agentmancuso. _________________ "Quite simply, Labour have been caught red-handed so often that no-one believes a word they say any more." |
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:56 am Post subject: |
| Oh! Sorry about that. Thank-you Avatar! |

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:33 pm Post subject: |
It simply eludes me why you think everthing has to be a matter of belief; personally I prefer facts. |
So thoughts in your head are facts, but thoughts in my head are merely beliefs. Interesting.
The Article,"Cuba After the Revolution" is a rather abrupt departure from the preceeding articles; it is all opinion without citation to fact. For instance the opening sentence declares Castro was prime minister, carefully not stating he was so elected in a general election, nor does it mention that there was a President, Dr. Iturro, to whom the prime minister was responsible. Worded as it is, it creates the impression that political power depends on the man with the gun. The article goes on to talk about "influences" as though only one man were running the country, when it should be reasonably clear that running Cuba is a task that would not only require willing cooperation, but also the assistance of talented professionals and technicians. Since Cuba has prevailed in spite of the American embargo for the past 40 years, clearly the Cuban people work to support their country and government. |
I have no argument with anything you say in this post, but none of it is relevant to deciding whether Castro is a dictator or not. I am interested in your opinion on the lines I previously quoted from Wikipedia:
"No political party is permitted to nominate candidates or campaign on the island"
"activity within Cuba by oppositional groups is minimal and mostly illegal"
"While the Cuban constitution has language pertaining to freedom of speech, rights are limited by Article 62, which states that "None of the freedoms which are recognized for citizens can be exercised contrary to... the existence and objectives of the socialist state, or contrary to the decision of the Cuban people to build socialism and communism. Violations of this principle can be punished by law"."
"Groups like Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch have issued reports on Cuban prisoners of conscience.[10] The Cuban government denies the International Committee of the Red Cross access to its prisons and many human rights groups including Amnesty International are denied entry to Cuba."
Is there anything here you dispute? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:35 pm Post subject: |
| parkhead_rfb wrote: |
you have to laugh. the guy questions my education and then quotes wikipedia as an information source  |
Rather typically, you have missed the point by a country mile; I was quoting Wikipedia as an example of the 'generally held consensus' that Castro is a dictator. You can't get much more general than Wiki. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:49 pm Post subject: |
| RFM wrote: | | So you say the political opposition in Cuba does not work for the CIA? |
Do they have any choice? What else can they do when they are denied the democratic right to organise freely?
| RFM wrote: | | These "opposition" dissidents were found to have money, computers and fax machines, in a country where there are no electronics retail suppliers |
The joys of socialism...
Or how about "Grupo de Apoya a la Disidensa" to whom the Congress of the USA has given close to three million dollars, for "political prisoners, families and victims of oppression". Suppose that sort of money, assistance and equiptment was given to IRA soldiers by American embassy officers wandering around Ireland; do you think it would all be a question of internal "opposition" politics. Of course you would! |
It may well be the case that US-based opposition to Castro consists largely of crooks and thugs. But that doesn't change the fact that Cubans are denied the democratic right to organise freely. Which leaves them little avenue but to take help wherever they can get it. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:18 pm Post subject: |
You see agentmancuso, we differ on a very fundamental, but elementary point. To you the government of Cuba is Fidel Castro; the overwhelming evidence is that he is an elected official, in elections which have been internationally observed, are not rigged or staged, and whether that sticks in your throat or not he is the Cuban people's choice. As I pointed out to you, although you seem determined not to understand, running Cuba requires much hard work and the participation of professionals, technicians and people. They are able to do that despite an illegal and unlawful embargo which has done nothing to change that except make life much more difficult for Cubans.
In 1976, the Cuban people adopted a new constitution, wherein they decided their form of government would be socialist, that they were under constant attack by agents of the United States claiming political freedom but seeking to reverse the gains of the revolution and impose the old world order of Batista and American organized crime. The solution they adopted, which makes eminent sense to me, was a system of government which curtailed certain rights and freedoms that many other countries not in their predicament often enjoy, but also curtail in times of national threat. Look no further that America's war on terror and England's methods in Ireland for examples. Is it deplorable that governments do these things, certainly; is it necessary, apparently so.
I suspect however that most people are content to swallow American anti-Castro propaganda wholesale making no effort to understand how Cuban government really works, and conclude Castro is Cuban government. Your remarks lead me to the understanding you are one of these. Yet you would probably object to my characterizing the devolved government of Scotland as Jack McConnell, the government of England as Tony Blair or the government of America as George W.Bush as simple minded and shallow.
Now if you are prepared to point out some particular personal act of Fidel Castro which you deem to be the unlawful and unbounded act of a dictator, I wish you would get to it; otherwise please stop with this nonsense of trying to characterize government as the personal conduct of one man.
Parentheticallly, if you think the Cuban people support or encourage the efforts of these "crooks and thugs" that would certainly come as quite a shock to them. Killing, terrorizing people and destroying property leads quickly to an understanding as to what it is the"liberators" have in mind for you when they gain control.
Last edited by RFM on Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:55 am; edited 1 time in total |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum