Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

City gears up for 10,000 Orangemen to join march
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
George
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
Corby Boy wrote:
May be so, but they are now linked to Apprentice Boys today in that there Raison D'etre is more or less the same - staunch Protestantism and Unionism as it relates to NI.

Are you 'linked' with everyone remotely subscribing to your ideology? In that case, are the SNP linked to the Nazi Party? Very Happy

In what way are the SNP similar to the Nazi party?

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George wrote:
Aventinian wrote:
Corby Boy wrote:
May be so, but they are now linked to Apprentice Boys today in that there Raison D'etre is more or less the same - staunch Protestantism and Unionism as it relates to NI.

Are you 'linked' with everyone remotely subscribing to your ideology? In that case, are the SNP linked to the Nazi Party? Very Happy

I didn't necessarily say they were, however they are both Nationalist groups.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George wrote:
Aventinian wrote:
Corby Boy wrote:

hitler and sturgeon both have moustaches.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Av, you really are the King of Splitting Hairs.

The OO and Apprentice Boys are pretty much synomymous (my English is bad I know) with each other in that there are members in both organisations and the links are intrinsic - web links etc, etc, marches ....

Parkhead as your opposition, I am sure you could educate Aventinian on these organisations.

SNP as a centre-left constitutional party working within a democratic system versus Nazi party, umm not I think.

I agree Sturgeon, is a complete boiler and she should consider a purchase of immac.
FreedomNow
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What relevence does the Orange Order have in this day and age? None, it claims to march for religious liberty... unless you are Catholic of course.

ALBA GU BRATH - SCOTLAND FOREVER
FOR A SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF ALBA

MAKE MONARCHY HISTORY
Cymro
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree, I appreciate it's a part of 'culture' for many people. I don't have any problems with people belonging to an 'order' especially if it's something the family have been associated with for generations, or even celebrating that order, organisation or belief. Hwever, when that organisation links itself to Secterianism which is nothing less than Hatred then I have no time for it.

If the OO wants a place in modern society then it needs to evolve simple as.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FreedomNow wrote:
What relevence does the Orange Order have in this day and age? None, it claims to march for religious liberty... unless you are Catholic of course.

Well the nearest thing I have heard the OO support that is against Catholic religious freedom is to support the Act of Settlement etc. But I suppose the fact that it has a huge membership makes it relevant - indeed, the fact that we are bothering to debate it at all demonstrates that.

Cymro wrote:
I agree, I appreciate it's a part of 'culture' for many people. I don't have any problems with people belonging to an 'order' especially if it's something the family have been associated with for generations, or even celebrating that order, organisation or belief. Hwever, when that organisation links itself to Secterianism which is nothing less than Hatred then I have no time for it.

But of course, it does not do that.
RFM
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Religion is said to be the daughter of Fear and Hope, trying to explain the nature of the unknowable to Ignorance.
-Ambrose Bierce
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you a member of a lodge Av? Would you consider it? They hold lots of similar views on the constitution to yourself. Serious question, don't mean to demean you in anyway by asking.

I have always found them interesting in terms of their belief mechanism's etc.. although I oppose essentially everything they stand for.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corby Boy wrote:
Are you a member of a lodge Av? Would you consider it? They hold lots of similar views on the constitution to yourself. Serious question, don't mean to demean you in anyway by asking.

Unequivocally my answer to that would be no. The Communist Party of Great Britain share a lot of similar views to me on the constitution, that doesn't mean we don't disagree on a lot. That said, I make a fair point of trying to actually answer questions properly rather than express outrage that they were asked, so I will again try to do so in this case.

I don't agree with banging the drum or making a great show of one's culture or religion. Plus insofar as I am a Christian, I completely reject Presbyterianism and am a staunch (well, as staunch as someone can be whilst maintaining a very lax following of religious teachings and a havering belief in the literal Christian model of God) Episcopalian - I imagine it'd annoy them to be told by me that I consider almost all of their major rites such as baptism to be completely illegitimate.

I don't like their ways or their internal 'culture', from what little I know of them. I doubt I'd find many people in there with particularly open minds or who I could have a great deal in common with.

That said, I will defend them against those who make a show of being offended by them. I think the greatest threat to social harmony these days is not caused by people who are said to be offensive, but rather the lily-livered twats who cry about it and demand that 'something must be done!'. Accepting other people as they come to you is important; and most organisations like this are no where near as evil as popular suggestion would lead you to believe.
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for views on the OO.

I view them more as a curiosity these days as opposed to something that is more sinister.

Their relevance politically is becoming less and less over time, and their views on religion has been viewed by the wider world in its proper context and the flaws exposed.
FreedomNow
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They claim to be a peaceful christian organistation yet carry banners depicting King Billy in battle. They seem to have misread the part of the bible that says love thy neighbour and have confused it with loath thy neighbour. Also for many years they have opposed equality among the people of Ireland and apart from that who are these guys to say if someones religion is wrong?

ALBA GU BRATH - SCOTLAND FOREVER
FOR A SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF ALBA

MAKE MONARCHY HISTORY
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corby Boy (hey, I worked in the steelworks at Corby, back in 1965) asked Aventinian "Are you a member of a lodge Av?"

Aventinian replied "I don't agree with banging the drum or making a great show of one's culture or religion. Plus insofar as I am a Christian, I completely reject Presbyterianism and am a staunch (well, as staunch as someone can be whilst maintaining a very lax following of religious teachings and a havering belief in the literal Christian model of God) Episcopalian"

Clearly, you are not familiar with the history of Orangeism.

William of Orange himself was of course an episcopalian, and he would have preferred all of his subjects in all of his kingdoms to be episcopalians. An heirarchy of bishops owing allegiance to the Crown, rather than to Rome, suited him just fine. He was forced, somewhat reluctantly, to accept that he couldn't foist bishops on reluctant Scots presbyterians. Of course the Orange Order appeared long after William was dead and buried, but its lodges were EXCLUSIVELY for episcopalians. Presbyterians were banned from joining. They were regarded as being a bit suspect, a bit too republican. It was only much later that this ban on presbyterians joining the Orange Lodge was lifted. In Northern Ireland, to this day, it is still the case that when the Orange Order has a church parade, it is to a Church of Ireland (episcopalian) that they parade. Do you remember, some years back, some extremely violent scenes near the church at Drumcree, near Portadown, because Orangemen had been prevented from taking their "traditional" route to a church parade there? That's an episcopalian church. Not presbyterian. To this day, it remains the case that many of the leaders of the Orange Lodge are staunch episcopalians. Just like you, Av.

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FreedomNow wrote:
They claim to be a peaceful christian organistation yet carry banners depicting King Billy in battle.

Fighting a just war (in their eyes... and my own, I must say) it should be pointed out. I don't think anyone outside of the CND is absolutely 'peaceful' - or rather, pacificist.

They seem to have misread the part of the bible that says love thy neighbour and have confused it with loath thy neighbour. Also for many years they have opposed equality among the people of Ireland

I strongly agree with that.

and apart from that who are these guys to say if someones religion is wrong?

Well presumably if you believe in a religion, then you must believe others are wrong.

Personally now that 'the word of the Lord' is spread across the world, I don't think there's much point in Christians trying to convert others. All seems rather useless really.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Aventinian"]
Corby Boy wrote:

That said, I will defend them against those who make a show of being offended by them. I think the greatest threat to social harmony these days is not caused by people who are said to be offensive, but rather the lily-livered twats who cry about it and demand that 'something must be done!'. Accepting other people as they come to you is important; and most organisations like this are no where near as evil as popular suggestion would lead you to believe.

I would disagree with your last statement as would many historians. at times they can be a benign force but on many occassions they have turned into something far sinister.

In fact i find it curious that none of the orange order members i know actually attend church at all, you would think it would be compulsory for a church organisation.

they also to this day still conduct little secret ceremonies and pacts with each other . whilst i am sure these little things are all about helping old ladies across the road and various charities they can help and nothing at all about discussing more ways they can hate the pope its still very cultish and sinister.

that being said i wouldnt ban them (certainly they shouldnt be allowed the free hand with parades etc they currently do) and would either just ignore or laugh at them, this upsets them more than any protest.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kevin04 wrote "You never read of these things happening in England or Wales, It's embarrasing to the Scottish nation."

No need to feel so embarrassed, Kevin. Far worse things happen in the USA, and in many countries throughout Europe, and indeed throughout the world. As for England, in the Nineteenth Century there was more widespread support for the Orange lodges in England than in Scotland, and the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of England was His Royal Highness the Duke of Cumberland, younger brother of the monarch. Even to this day there are scores of lodges in England, and yes they do hold processions through the streets, certainly in the Liverpool area they do. The fact that you haven't heard about this doesn't mean it ain't so, it just means you haven't heard about it from the BRITISH Broadcasting Corporation and other media outlets which appear to see it as part of their mission to make Scots feel embarrassed about being Scottish. In the Province of Liverpool alone no fewer than seven of the provincial orange lodges have their own websites. However, if you want to see the pope burned in effigy every year, you have to go to Sussex for that. The smallish town of Lewes (where seventeen protestant martyrs were burned alive during the reign of Bloody Mary) still hosts a massive procession through the streets every November 5th which culminates in cheering crowds putting the pope on a gigantic bonfire. Most of England may have forgotten that the Fifth of November was a Popish Plot, but they haven't in Sussex.
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave my dad worked in the 'works' at the same time as you!

Corby - Has the Purple Star Flute Band and LOL.

I am sure you're Parkhead they have their sinister members.

I nearly got a brick thru my window when they were banging their drums outside my house when I was nursing a monster hangover on a Saturday morning as a wee 16 year old boy! As I told them to F... Off some where else and make a racket. After all you don't want the Sash ringing in yer lugs when you have had 17 vodka and cokes... the night before.
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corby Boy wrote "Hi Dave my dad worked in the 'works' at the same time as you!" - When I first went down to Corby I was living in Brigstock Camp which was run by Stewarts and Lloyds for single men who had come down from Scotland. I found that a lot of my fellow workers at the steelworks were Scottish! After I had been working there a while a young lad was put to working alongside me for me to show him the ropes. I was talking to him and trying to figure his accent out. I just couldn't place his accent. Eventually I asked him "What part of Scotland are you from?" His answer was that he was born and raised in Corby, in Northamptonshire! But his mum and dad were Scottish, and most of the kids at his school had Scottish parents, so he had a sort of Scottish accent! But he was very pleased that I had asked him which part of Scotland he was from.
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't surprise me Dave at all.

Many of us consider ourselves Scots. Those who are not of Scots origin tend to be vehemently English because of it.

To this day Corby is known as 'Little Scotland' - although my family herald from Aberdeen and Morayshire, I tend to look on Corby as 'Little Glasgow' as that is where the majority of worker originated.

My father came down in 1961, I don't think he went to Brigstock because he had a family, he was billeted in housing on the Lincoln estate, state of the art architecture back then, but a pit now.

(Has highest Irn Bru sales outside of Scotland, Blackpool during Glasgow fortnight comes close. You can also get Haggis in deep fried batter, and half loaf, sometimes Rowies).

For those of you who have never been to Corby, just visit East Kilbride and you will get the picture!

Mind you if you can, it is best to escape Corby, I did many years ago and now live in Cheshire.
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye thats about right what you've said in your last message,"Corby boy".
Although I live in Coventry I am no stranger to Corby.I've enjoyed watching a few games of bowls there at the old club and I was a regular at the Highland games.We had strong connections at the burns club ( Tam O Shanter in Coventry ) with Corby. My work used to take me there a lot too. I was there only last week on a non work related visit. I used to enjoy the patter when the firm I that worked for had a cafe in the center.Sadly that closed a couple of years ago though another part of the same very well known firm ( they took over the cafe company ) has another outlet now across the square.

Sausage roll anyone? Laughing
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3