Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

question for scottish nationalists
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:04 pm    Post subject: question for scottish nationalists Reply with quote

what if a scenario were to occur where the vast majority of scotland wanted independence but say there was a majority against it in say the south east of the country. what would your reactions be of this part of the country were partitioned leaving for example 1/3 there who were pro nationalist but they were forced to remain a part of britain due to this artifical seperation?

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
kalashnikov
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would not be prepared to support the formation of any “independent” capitalist Scotland. I believe it diverts us away from the real problems of society, capitalism, imperialism, the class system and all its ills. These problems have no nationality, and I don’t care which nationality the person exploiting me is.

Some people refer to other Scots as “us”, well people Tom Hunter and Sean Connery are Scottish and they have nothing in common with the likes of myself. I have little time for tartan tory types who think that when we “break with the English” all problems will be solved, the only way to smash the imperialist British Empire is through class unity with our English and Welsh brothers and sisters.
trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kalashnikov wrote:
I would not be prepared to support the formation of any “independent” capitalist Scotland. I believe it diverts us away from the real problems of society, capitalism, imperialism, the class system and all its ills. These problems have no nationality, and I don’t care which nationality the person exploiting me is.

Some people refer to other Scots as “us”, well people Tom Hunter and Sean Connery are Scottish and they have nothing in common with the likes of myself. I have little time for tartan tory types who think that when we “break with the English” all problems will be solved, the only way to smash the imperialist British Empire is through class unity with our English and Welsh brothers and sisters.

good lord!
if the south east of scotland democratically voted to be seperate from the whole then fine, let them go alone. that is the beauty of democracy.
Abieuan
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Parkheid_rfb Wrote:
what if a scenario were to occur where the vast majority of scotland wanted independence but say there was a majority against it in say the south east of the country. what would your reactions be of this part of the country were partitioned leaving for example 1/3 there who were pro nationalist but they were forced to remain a part of britain due to this artifical seperation?

The only part of Scotland to vote no in the Parliament referendum was Dumfriesshire. This was due to Dumfriesshire having the highest proportion of English settlers in Scotland.
If i were a right wing dictator i would say - forced repatriation, thats the answer....but i'm not.

kalashnikov wrote:

a load of pish

I would not be prepared to support the formation of any “independent” capitalist Scotland.

Who's calling for that ?
These problems have no nationality, and I don’t care which nationality the person exploiting me is.

You are not being exploited, the UK government is exploiting poorer nations around the world and your lifestyle is benefiting from that.
Some people refer to other Scots as “us”, well people Tom Hunter and Sean Connery are Scottish and they have nothing in common with the likes of myself.

Nothing like me either, but where would they be in your society? - on the streets where they started.
trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

he does indeed write a lot of pish.

what is an english settler? a new breed of gun dog?
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what if it were only two thirds of the south east though should we split scotland up to appease that minority? what if scottish nationalists then went on to be discriminated against in this partitioned part of scotland?

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
Abieuan
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

English settlers? Well they are good meaning people who want a better life in Scotland.
However, when too many of them move into one rural area they become a dominant culture, and those with strong Scottish accents are soon looked on as cute, rustic types, and speach and society will have changed in twenty years time.

Last edited by Abieuan on Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abieuan wrote:
English settlers? Well they are good meaning people who want a better life in Scotland.
However, when too many of them move into one rural area they become a dominant culture, and those with strong accents are soon looked on as cute, rustic types, and speach and society will have changed in twenty years time.

aye but they are well meaning though. it's not as if al quida have set up a training camp in wigtown.
thetimeisnow
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kalashnikov wrote:

It would be easier to implement that in an independent Scotland by voting the SNP who are at heart a Socialist party. Then the English and Welsh could follow our model.
kalashnikov
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly, to state that someone has written “a load of pish” is hardly beneficial for any good discussion forum, so I’d advise you to cut that out and if you have any disagreements with my opinions you have the opportunity to state why without being insulting.

You are not being exploited, the UK government is exploiting poorer nations around the world and your lifestyle is benefiting from that.

The working class is exploited, it is exploited through wage labour. I despair when people try to put us through this guilt trip as if “our” government is “protecting” our lifestyles at the expense of other countries. Imperialism does live off other countries, but those who reap the rewards are certainly not the working people of any imperialist nation.

Who's calling for that ?

The SNP call for an “independent” Scotland, they are certainly not a socialist party, so this “independent” Scotland will be a capitalist country, which I could never support, even as a “progressive” step.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't you think though that you'd have more of a voice in an independent scotland than the current setup.

Scotland as a whole has always been more receptive to socialism than the rest of the UK - so don't you think you have more of a chance of getting your way through independence

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are you basing that on rs? the fact that scotland votes for labour in high numbers? hardly socialism now is it. yes scotland may be slightly more receptive to socialism than england but thats not really saying much now is it.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes - the fact that people in scotland still vote for labour thinking that they will stand up for the working man - but don't seem to realise labour are anything but a socialist, redistribution of wealth party.

also the fact that we have some SSP MSPs in the Scottish Parliament.

also the fact that we have a much lower average income than those in England - people on lower pay tend to be more receptive to socialism than those paying tax in the higher brackets.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ssp msps are more to do with the system of voting than anything else though. unfortunately the ssp only get what is it about 2% of votes if even that. but then what do you expect when you get more discussion about the x factor than politics.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i'd agree that this is a problem - but part of this is because of political parties themselves.

People lost interest in UK politics as a whole when the big three (Lib Dems, Tories, Labour) merged into one. All three subscribe to much the same policies now in this centre politics rubbish. Thats why most of their time is spent discrediting individuals of other parties rather than pushing their own policies.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:21 am    Post subject: eh? Reply with quote

the SNP who are at heart a Socialist party.

In what way are the SSP "at heart" socialist? Is that in a sort of capitalist sort of socialist? Is it the privatised public service economy of the EU sort of socialist? The low wages of the Celtic tiger? The Queen as head of state? Jim Mathers business tax cuts?

Perhaps I've missed something but maybe you could give me a clue as to something, anything that would define the SNP as "at heart socialist"?

Rfb,
The SSP got 6.7% of the vote at the last Scottish elections. The system did allow us to get six MSPs, but we still have a slightly smaller percentage of seats than we do of votes.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:27 am    Post subject: answer Reply with quote

Sorry rfb, i forgot the part about your question.

I would hope a referendum on this subject would be counted on a national basis, just as most of our democractic elections are. If the majority of scots said independence then that is what should happen, just as when the majority of the UK vote tory, it didn't matter that Scotland and Wales or Yorkshire didn't, the Tories were still the govt in those places. Just as when Orkney and Shetland were the only part of Scotland to vote against joining the EEC.

I wouldn't go to war over it though, at least not unless I was attacked. I have to say though rfb that if had happened 80 years ago and you were asking me if I would still demand that they be part of Scotland then the answer would probably be NO, not if they don't want to be.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

was there percentage at westminster lower than that?

i would certainly imagine that th reality were this to happen would see scottish nationalists up in arms.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the percentage at westminster was lower than this - however this may be due to the way we vote - it seems to be totally different in a Westminster Election to that in a Holyrood Election.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

let me ask you something about this scenario parkhead -

are these people in the south east a majority religion, different from those in other parts of Scotland?

if so - have there been religious tensions between the two groups of people in differing religions for hundreds of years?

do these people in the south east see themselves as having a distinct culture, different from that of other scots?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2