Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

galloway attacked.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject: galloway attacked. Reply with quote

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/tm...name_page.html
MP GEORGE BEATEN UP BY AIRPORT YOBS
EXCLUSIVE Thugs hurl sectarian abuse
By Mark Mcgivern
MAVERICK MP George Galloway was kicked and shoved by a jeering sectarian mob yesterday.

He was threatened and taunted by six men and almost pushed on to a luggage carousel as he arrived at Glasgow Airport.

Respect MP Galloway said: "It was a terrifying experience and quite disgraceful for these people to behave like this. There was one guy I would describe as a ringleader who said, 'I don't like your radio talk, I don't like your newspaper talk, I have a religious duty to knock you down.' "

Former Celebrity Big Brother star Galloway was called a "Fenian b******" and believes he was targeted for being a known Celtic supporter.

Last night, police were investigating the sickening ordeal and studying CCTV footage.

The MP had arrived from London on a British Midland flight to give a talk at Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall. Though shaken, he went ahead with his one-man show last night.

The MP hosts a TalkSport radio phone-in and regularly gets involved in heated discussions with both sides of the sectarian divide, particularly over Ireland.

He said: "A group of men on the plane recognised me and the problem started right away.

"They were taunting me and threatening me during the flight and I should probably have arranged for police in Glasgow to be notified in advance.

"They were referring tome as a 'Fenian b******' and 'f****** Fenian scumbag' and other vile names and threatening to attack me when I got to Glasgow.

"They were shouting at me, 'Were you down for the walk?' The rest of the passengers were dumbfounded.

"I gather there was some Orange march in London over the weekend and people from Glasgow had travelled down for it.

"I had a feeling of dread. I hurried off the plane and got to the luggage carousel as quickly as possible and prayed my bag would come first but, of course, it didn't

"The group came up behind me and they were straight in with the sectarian insults and threats.

"I felt one man kick me on one ankle and I was then kicked on the other ankle.

"The next thing I knew, I was bounced in the back by someone's belly and virtually knocked on to the carousel itself."

Galloway tried to make his way past the ringleader but was continually blocked by his stomach.

He said: "I tried to get round him on one side and then the other and he blocked me with his belly.

"By the time I made a complaint to police, a separate complaint had been made by a traffic warden over the conduct of a group of men shouting sectarian slogans outside.

"I'm amazed they would behave like this in an airport, where every angle is covered by CCTV.I gather the police were given the tapes."

Last night, a police spokeswoman said: "We were made aware of allegations arising from an incident at Glasgow Airport. These are being investigated."

Galloway is set to be the keynote speaker at a summer youth camp run by Irish Republicans.

He is billed as the "main event" at this year's Campa Naisiunta Oige - National Youth Camp - in Ballintoy, County Antrim.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
gordon899
Gaining a Reputation........

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not one to condone violence but if ever there was a man who deserved to get walloped for his inane and attention seeking bletherings then it is him.
http://www.thespoof.com/news/spoof.cfm?headline=s1i20149

the link is actually better than anything the daily record could muster. i'm also a wee bit cynical here cos only a few days ago george took a pounding of the media due to the financial arrangemnets of his charity work, what better way to defelct than being attackked by 6 huns/bigots/proddys at glasgow airport..............

pity it wisnae mossad waiting at the carousel.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For someone who claims to deplore sectarian violence that is a surprising statement.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rinty wrote:
For someone who claims to deplore sectarian violence that is a surprising statement.

i wouldnt be surprised to be honest.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
gordon899

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i do not condone any violence, i really do, but that stupid attention seeker is a media whore and says daft things for publicity. ye cannae blame a tiger for killing a gazelle.
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gordon wrote "ye cannae blame a tiger for killing a gazelle".

Gazelles are animals that eat grass. Tigers are animals that eat animals that eat grass. Tigers are actually very boring creatures. Their only topic of conversation when they talk to each other is the weather. This is because if not enough rain falls, then not enough grass grows, and if not enough grass grows then not enough gazelles grow big, and if not enough gazelles grow big then a lot of tigers starve to death. Oh, they could try to find an alternative food source, but if that alternative food source happens to be human then a lot of tigers will get shot. Either way, small changes in the weather can leave a lot of tigers dead.

Human beings are omnivores. This means that human beings can eat almost anything, animal or vegetable, on land or under the sea. We are not gazelles, and we are a lot more dangerous to every species on the planet than tigers. Apart from being the most omnivorous species on the planet, the other main difference between us and most other animals is our brains. We really are more brainy than most other things. But even brainy people can act stupid. George Galloway's recent behaviour was stupid. So was the behaviour of those who attacked him.

Neither Galloway nor any of his attackers can be classed as either a tiger or a gazelle. Just as a human being not using the brains they've got.
gordon899

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the point i was making was that a tiger will go in for the kill when given the opportunity or when pissed up and face to face with his enemy.
Holebender
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do tigers get pissed up very often? Do they drink Tiger Beer?

gordon899

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holebender wrote:
Do tigers get pissed up very often? Do they drink Tiger Beer?

buckfast.
Cymro

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't stand Galloway, he's bad news as far as I'm concerned.

Don't care about him going on Big Brother, visiting Iraq, being best buddies with Saddam (I'm being tongue in cheek here) etc. He just comes across to me as a complete arse. I wouldn't be at all suprised that someone had a go at him for nothing more sinister than him being him and he's decided to make some political issue out of it in order to get his name in the news yet again.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cymro wrote:

Don't care about him going on Big Brother, visiting Iraq, being best buddies with Saddam (I'm being tongue in cheek here) etc. He just comes across to me as a complete arse. I wouldn't be at all suprised that someone had a go at him for nothing more sinister than him being him and he's decided to make some political issue out of it in order to get his name in the news yet again.

it is an issue of they have called him a fenian b****rd and attacked him though.

on the other hand maybe they just didnt like cats.

Cymro

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Galloway said this. As far as I'm concerned that is as trustworthy as the famous Comical Ali! Now if I was walking through Glasgow and heard a few neds shouting at Galloway calling him a Feenian b****rd etc, I'd have a go at them for making such stupid comments, and give them and endless list of insults they could throw at the prick, none of which would be secterian in any way shape or form! Wink
gordon899

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
Cymro wrote:

it is an issue of they have called him a fenian b****rd and attacked him though.

on the other hand maybe they just didnt like cats.

or bigots.

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After that segment posted here of him on the radio, I think he rather had it coming to him.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cymro wrote:
Galloway said this. As far as I'm concerned that is as trustworthy as the famous Comical Ali! Now if I was walking through Glasgow and heard a few neds shouting at Galloway calling him a Feenian b****rd etc, I'd have a go at them for making such stupid comments, and give them and endless list of insults they could throw at the prick, none of which would be secterian in any way shape or form! Wink

cue welshman stabbed by neds headline in evening times.

Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
After that segment posted here of him on the radio, I think he rather had it coming to him.

I thought you were for free speech.

of course imo thatcher had brighton coming for saying the ira had played its last card....bad call maggie love Wink

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:

I am, but I also realise that when you say something you're provoking others.

If I walked into a pub and started informing everyone else that their mothers where whores, then I'd expect nothing less than a punch in the face.

of course imo thatcher had brighton coming for saying the ira had played its last card....bad call maggie love Wink

The difference being Margaret Thatcher was right in her stance with the IRA while in the one radio broadcast I've heard on the matter, Galloway expressed ridiculously bigoted views towards fans of a certain football club in Glasgow.
gordon899

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

If I walked into a pub and started informing everyone else that their mothers where whores, then I'd expect nothing less than a punch in the face.

The difference being Margaret Thatcher was right in her stance with the IRA while in the one radio broadcast I've heard on the matter, Galloway expressed ridiculously bigoted views towards fans of a certain football club in Glasgow.

you just tool the words right out of my keyboard. and when it came to maggie and good calls, she made many with the ira Wink
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
parkhead_rfb wrote:

only in your opinion, certainly not for the majority of scotland.

personally am on a weeks holiday from work when she croaks it and having a party.

Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not true, as some people appear to believe, that "my enemy's enemy is my friend". I was a very active participant in the anti-poll-tax movement, and it is obvious who our number one opponent was. But that doesn't make me side with the IRA any more than it made me side with the military junta in Argentina. However, the passing of Maggie might cause sorrow to some people, but not, I suspect, to the vast majority of folk here in Scotland. I wonder what the most appropriate music to mark the occasion might be? The Halleluja Chorus might be a bit much, but how about "Ding Dong The Witch is Dead" (as sung by the munchkins in the "Wizard of Oz") ?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2