doodells No Longer a Wean

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:51 pm Post subject: McLeish leaves Scotland job for top flight English footie. |
Any ideas for the new manager?
I'd take Craig Levein if he'd go.
Celtic Indian Nationalist

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:02 pm Post subject: |
Disgusting.What ever happen to Country before club ? _________________ A Progressive Nationalist who want to banish Insular Nationalism and is humbled to be Scottish ! |
sgmillerton 3 Strikes - Banned!

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:04 pm Post subject: |
i wish him well, a smashing big chap he is, did well at hibs and he deserves his opportunities. good luck alex.
neil warnock for scotland. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:06 pm Post subject: |
Feed the bear ! _________________ A Progressive Nationalist who want to banish Insular Nationalism and is humbled to be Scottish ! |

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:08 pm Post subject: |
oh dear god no.noooooooooooooooooooooooooo! _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:37 pm Post subject: |
Aye.He's already the assistant.Give him the full job ! _________________ A Progressive Nationalist who want to banish Insular Nationalism and is humbled to be Scottish ! |

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:47 pm Post subject: |
he's pish and quite probably illiterate. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |
Cymro I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:23 am Post subject: |
Billy Davies anyone?
It seems a shame he's gone to Brum (who I think will be relegated this season anyway), but he's the latest in a long line of managers who've chosen career managing a club over a country, so no point blaming Eck in that. Footballs changed, for the worse unfortunatly. Managaers prefer the constant managing of the club to the occasional work of an International Coach. Maybe the FAs need to take this into account? |
agentmancuso Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 2008 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:34 pm Post subject: |
| Cymro wrote: | Billy Davies anyone?
I'd vote for that. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
Reluctant Hero Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:04 pm Post subject: |
I think McLeish got a lot more out of his Scotland experience than Scotland got out of McLeish. Yeah, we got a good result against France, but we were found wanting against Georgia. It is a long road back for Scotland after the Vogts fiasco and we have only just embarked on it. We should be gracing football tourneys like Euro 2008 and World Cup 2010, but McLeish bailed after only 10 months.
If we go down the Billy Davies route, it will only be the same. A couple of decent results and he will be off to some lower table English Premier team as they can offer 4 times what he gets at Scotland. Not very great ambition, I would say.
Roy Aitken is not getting it as he has gone with McLeish.
What we should do is offer it to Alex Ferguson on a part-time basis and when he finally hangs up his chewing gum at Old Trafford, he can take on the role on a full-time basis if it needs that commitment. _________________ Visit the Our Scotland Blog at http://our-scotland.blogspot.com/ |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:21 am Post subject: |
| Totally agree RH. At least the SFA don't look like they're going to rush into anything. But I think we should go for a more mature manager. I'm sure Davies would do a good job, but it could be damaging when he leaves. |
doodells No Longer a Wean

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:38 pm Post subject: |
so you think that macallister is a bad move since he'll probably use it as a steppig stone too? _________________ "Scotland alone remains the ragged trousered philanthropist of petroleum economies." |
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:04 pm Post subject: |
I like Gary McAllister. Have done since he was with Leeds. Seems like a genuine guy. He's said he doesn't want it now though.
I think becase of the nature of football that International Managment, expecially for a smaller footballing country thatn the likes of Scotland and Wales it's inevitable that the time will come if a manager is a success that they move to a huge league like the Prem. The marketing of leagues like this is too much for FAs to cope with. It's the same when players retire from international football but keep playing at club level - i.e. Carragher for England. |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 6:56 pm Post subject: |
| I don't see how McAllister could be offered the job. What real management experience does he have? If it was my club, I would say sure, take the risk, as I think he could well become a good manager one day. But with WC qualifying, we don't have the luxury of taking on an untested rookie. We need someone with experience. |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:56 am Post subject: |
We need someone with recent experience at the highest level as well, ruling Souness and Dalglish out.
Ideally I'd go for Davie Moyes, but that I'm living in dreamland... _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:11 pm Post subject: |
| azzuri wrote: | We need someone with recent experience at the highest level as well, ruling Souness and Dalglish out.
Ideally I'd go for Davie Moyes, but that I'm living in dreamland... |
souey for me, he was managing in the premiership for years up until about 1/2 years ago. by your criteria we will get no-one. watty was out of work for a while b4 he took the job.................. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:41 pm Post subject: |
| sgmillerton wrote: | | azzuri wrote: | We need someone with recent experience at the highest level as well, ruling Souness and Dalglish out.
Ideally I'd go for Davie Moyes, but that I'm living in dreamland... |
souey for me, he was managing in the premiership for years up until about 1/2 years ago. by your criteria we will get no-one. watty was out of work for a while b4 he took the job.................. |
The Premight of been but he was rubbish.
Liverpool - one of their worse Prem positions for a long time
Blackburn - as rubbish
Newcastle - worse
Southampton - rubbish
Not really a record he can be proud of! |

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:16 pm Post subject: |
and what exactly has souey done in the premiership that walter has'nt (apart from win things)? _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:31 pm Post subject: |
| Grahame Souness won 1 thing - the FA Cup in 1992, and even then he was barely there. It's widely beein accepted that the real person who won that for Liverpool was Ronnie Moran not Souey. Souey had a heart attack in the Quarter Final. |

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:16 pm Post subject: |
| Cymro wrote: | | Grahame Souness won 1 thing - the FA Cup in 1992, and even then he was barely there. It's widely beein accepted that the real person who won that for Liverpool was Ronnie Moran not Souey. Souey had a heart attack in the Quarter Final. |
more than walter though?
and he won the carling cup with blackburn, his track record is so much better than walters in terms of premiership expirience. and we were all happy with his appointment and his work. perhaps some folk have an issue with souey............. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |