Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
Dave Coull Independentista
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:19 pm Post subject: |
Mairead said about Walter Scott "Due to his spying, men were executed" and commented "Hell mend him".
You may be interested to know, Mairead, that the author of "Huckleberry Finn" and "Tom Sawyer" agreed with you about Walter Scott's final destination. As well as writing those novels, Mark Twain was a prolific writer on culture and current affairs. He wrote an essay in which he claimed that Walter Scott was largely responsible for the American Civil War. Bit of an exaggeration, perhaps, but Mark Twain made out quite a good case for the prosecution against Walter. Scott was extremely widely read in the South, where plantation owners influenced by his books developed notions of themselves as Scottish warrior aristocracy whose "honour" was in some obscure way impugned by any attempts to improve the lot of their black slaves.
RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:09 pm Post subject: |
| mairead wrote: | Is 'And' the best reply you can make to a simple, straightforward question then?  |
No.
I've heard all the stuff about Scott. We know he was a Tory and a Britisher. No secret there.
By the way, Dave, I expect you know (as you always do) that the fiery cross probably came to the KKK via Scott. |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4203 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:24 pm Post subject: |
| mairead wrote: | Radge,
Are you not aware that Walter Scott was a traitor to Scotland. In the 1820 weavers rising, he infiltrated the movement and was an informer to the Westminster government. |
Quite what a reform movement, particularly one largely begun in the North of England, has to do with 'Scotland' is beyond me...
But then again, Reform, Jacobite Risings, the Civil War - it's all helpful if they can be attributed to some modern day enemy in order to drum up nationalistic fervour. Just don't worry too much about facts, eh?
| Quote: | | Due to his spying, men were executed and many sent to the colonies. It was for this work that he was granted his Baronecy. |
And rightly so. Armed insurrection and treason really isn't on. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
mairead Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:40 pm Post subject: |
Neither is being a traitor to your countrymen.
'Armed', aye, a few had guns but most of them were armed with picks and shovels and anything else they could make.
You haven't a clue what life was like in those times and yes I know all about Peterloo. _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
For Scotland, I will give my life |
jimtrot No Longer a Wean

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:18 pm Post subject: |
Tam o' Shanter. Especially the following couplet:
Ah, Tam. Ah, Tam ye'll get yer farin
In Hell they'll roast ye like a herrin. _________________ Not Brit - 'S Albannach a tha mise.
The cause of Labour is the cause of Scotland and the cause of Scotland is the cause of Labour - apologies to James Connolly |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 9:25 am Post subject: |
In 1936, George Orwell (real name Eric Blair, Orwell was his pen-name) was a corporal in the militia of the Partido Obreras Unitas Marxistas, the Workers Party of Marxist Unity. Despite its name, this party, in its origins, was neither Stalinist nor Trotskyist. The POUM was allied with the anarchists in opposing both the fascists and the scheming of the Communist Party (acting under orders from Joseph Stalin) to set up a dictatorship. Corporal Blair was badly wounded fighting against the fascists, and, while recovering from that wound, he played an active part in the POUM’s opposition to the Communist Party takeover in Barcelona. He subsequently became a wanted man and had to go on the run, and was lucky to get out of Spain alive. He later used these experiences in his books “Homage To Catalonia”, “Animal Farm”, and “1984”. While some on the so-called “left” have been critical of George Orwell, members of the POUM have all along been consistent in seeing him as a good and loyal comrade with a fine insight into how Stalinism operated. Jim Trot, who posts on here, uses the symbol of the POUM, perhaps because of seeking to claim some sort of identity with these views.
Jim Trot has now answered the question “What’s your favourite Burns poem?” by saying "Tam o' Shanter. Especially the following couplet:
Ah, Tam. Ah, Tam ye'll get yer farin
In Hell they'll roast ye like a herring"
Hmmm......
Somehow, I get the feeling that isn't JimTrot's favourite on purely poetical grounds, but as an expression of his views on a current political and legal case. So, not much Marxist Workers Unity there, then. |
jimtrot No Longer a Wean

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:12 pm Post subject: |
I agree with everything you say about the POUM, Dave and most of what you said about Orwell re his loyalty to the workers, the POUM and his opposition to Stalinism but in reading his writings, you must agree that he never quite shook off his bourgeois background. For example in one of the essays in Shooting an Elephant, I think it is, he waxes lyrical about the essential decency of the English middle classes. Well, anyone who lived through the Thatcher years would see through that crap.
As for Tam o Shanter, I can assure I think it is probably one of the finest and funniest poems ever written on the subject of human weakness and fallibility and you can always find a snippet to quote for any situation. for example:
But pleasures are like poppies spread,
You seize the flow'r, its bloom is shed;
Or like the snow falls in the river,
A moment white-then melts for ever;
Or like the Borealis race,
That flit ere you can point their place;
Or like the Rainbow's lovely form
Evanishing amid the storm.
As for me claiming identity with the POUM, well that's a bit over the top but the history of the resistance of the people of Catalunya to Franco and Fascism has been an inspiration for me throughout my adult life.
Regarding Workers unity, that was shattered in Scotland about 18 months ago because of the weakness, fallibility, arrogance and stupidity of a man I once greatly admired. _________________ Not Brit - 'S Albannach a tha mise.
The cause of Labour is the cause of Scotland and the cause of Scotland is the cause of Labour - apologies to James Connolly
Last edited by jimtrot on Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:29 am; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:23 pm Post subject: |
A fig for those by law protected !
Liberty's a glorious feast !
Courts for cowards were erected,
Churches built to please the priest. |
jimtrot No Longer a Wean

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:59 pm Post subject: |
| Dave Coull wrote: | A fig for those by law protected !
Churches built to please the priest. |
Couldn't agree more. _________________ Not Brit - 'S Albannach a tha mise.
The cause of Labour is the cause of Scotland and the cause of Scotland is the cause of Labour - apologies to James Connolly |
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:42 pm Post subject: |
Jimtrot wrote
"Dave Coull wrote
A fig for those by law protected !
Churches built to please the priest."
Tae tell the truth, it wisnae me, it was Rabbie Burns......... |
Fedayn On A Journey (500 Miles)
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:03 am Post subject: |
| Rinty wrote: | Why should we idly waste our prime
Repeating our oppressions?
Come rouse to arms! 'Tis now the time
To punish past transgressions.
'Tis said that Kings can do no wrong --
Their murderous deeds deny it,
And, since from us their power is sprung,
We have a right to try it.
Now each true patriot's song shall be: -
'Welcome Death or Libertie!'
Proud Priests and Bishops we'll translate
And canonize as Martyrs;
The guillotine on Peers shall wait;
And Knights shall hang in garters.
Those Despots long have trode us down,
And Judges are their engines:
Such wretched minions of a Crown
Demand the people's vengeance!
To-day 'tis theirs. To-morrow we
Shall don the Cap of Libertie!
The Golden Age we'll then revive:
Each man will be a brother;
In harmony we all shall live,
And share the earth together;
In Virtue train'd, enlighten'd Youth
Will love each fellow-creature;
And future years shall prove the truth
That Man is good by nature:
Then let us toast with three times three
The reign of Peace and Libertie! |
Beat me to it [inserts clapping smiley] _________________ Oh bastardo bianco blu ohh ohh ohh
Insultiamo sempre piu ooohhh ooohhh ooohh
Perche merda sei, perche merda resterai
Perche merda sei, perche merda resterai |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum