SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:04 am Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | We're not ruled by anyone and unlike being ruled by Spain, we are not subject to a foreign power. |
The fact that Scots MPs only have a minority say in the running of Scotland could be interpreted to mean that we do not run ourselves.
Lothian Sky I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:38 am Post subject: |
Aventinian.
You claim to be against nationalism. How do you explain that silly flag then, or is British nationalism somehow alright? Explain.
You also said "I remind you that Unionism is not actually a movement and simply an objection to Nationalism". This is nonsense.
Many unionists are STAUNCH British nationalists, albeit with a pitiful Scots cringe mentality.
Good day. |
Nina I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:30 pm Post subject: |
Whether the 10 reasons are true or not, and especially the "we are running out of oil" reason, I can tell you that the Scots I know (of my own family and the people they socialise with..) believe that one. I did too, until I started to take a true interest... Now I know. _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
True Scotsman I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: |
Inge Wrote
I think all nations should be free!
For example; I am from the Netherlands, a nice country, believe me!
But it was once was ruled by many different nations. Such as Spain, Germany etc. A country needs to stand on its own two feet! The people that live in that country have their own identity and we shouldn't deny that! Not ever! My great-grandparents where from Flamish Belgium. They fled their native homeland during the first world war. It wasn't a great place to be at mind you! people used to tell them welcome back home! I don't believe that and so did they. Flamish Belgium used to belong to the Netherlands (according to a bunch of papers), but in their hearts they were a different people entireley! And if I may say so we are!!! We fought for are freedom in 1830 and even though I am a half Belgiun I am proud of it! Because we fought for our freedom and so should YOU!!!!
Your right Inge, it's about us Scots stood up for our selves. The Scots were once a determined, forword thinking people who were proud of there culture. So come on Scots be proud of who we are. We were forced into this union with England & we got no vote on the issue & most Scots were absolutely against the union. One day the Scots will realise that the only way forword for Scotland is to regain our Independence. So come on Scots, we were once Independent State & if we managed to survive on our own once before, then we can do it again & if small countries like Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Switzerland & Norway can do it on their there own then so can Scotland do it on it's own. So it's about time Scottish Nation to be free once again.

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:54 pm Post subject: |
What I find such a sad thing is the fact that so many young Scots don't care about a free Scotland as they do about a fitba match for instance. Bearing in mind that so many Scots gave their lives for this freedom, generation after generation. I would find it almost heartbreaking to believe their blood was shed for nothing  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4210 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:04 pm Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | Aventinian wrote: | | We're not ruled by anyone and unlike being ruled by Spain, we are not subject to a foreign power. |
The fact that Scots MPs only have a minority say in the running of Scotland could be interpreted to mean that we do not run ourselves. |
Of course we don't run ourselves. I vote for an MP in a constituency of thousands - I certainly don't control myself. It's called democracy.
Stop treating nations like some quasi-divinity. They are not.
| Lothian Sky wrote: | Aventinian.
You claim to be against nationalism. How do you explain that silly flag then, or is British nationalism somehow alright? Explain. |
I'd condemn British nationalism as quickly as Scottish. I am no Nationalist. The simple use of the flag of a state does not constitute nationalism. Indeed it demonstates that I am British and that my opinions represent what this Briton believes.
| Quote: | You also said "I remind you that Unionism is not actually a movement and simply an objection to Nationalism". This is nonsense.
Many unionists are STAUNCH British nationalists, albeit with a pitiful Scots cringe mentality. |
I don't believe that is true. Scotland is part of Britain. British nationalism encompasses Scottish culture.
| Nina wrote: | What I find such a sad thing is the fact that so many young Scots don't care about a free Scotland as they do about a fitba match for instance. Bearing in mind that so many Scots gave their lives for this freedom, generation after generation. I would find it almost heartbreaking to believe their blood was shed for nothing  |
I care as much about as free Scotland as I do about a free Britain, a free Commonwealth, a free Europe and a free World. I'd rather increase the freedoms of some Africans living under a dictator than Scotland, I've got to say. |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:18 pm Post subject: h |
| Quote: | | The simple use of the flag of a state does not constitute nationalism. Indeed it demonstates that I am British and that my opinions represent what this Briton believes. |
So, although you are not a nationalist, your nationality or britishness is your defining identification in your mind. And your identity as British outweighs your identity under any other symbol the your national flag.
Or am I simply overanalysing and it is simply a wee wind up of the type of people you expected to meet here and a sort of red rag to a bull-shitter?  |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4210 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:14 am Post subject: Re: h |
| Rinty wrote: | | [So, although you are not a nationalist, your nationality or britishness is your defining identification in your mind. And your identity as British outweighs your identity under any other symbol the your national flag. |
No, no - my identity is certainly not predominantly British, or Scottish for that matter. There's plenty of things more significant than that. Not all of them have attractive flags that using would be appropriate on a forum though.
Either way, there's a big difference between flying a national flag and being a nationalist. Plenty of Unionists would be happy to fly the saltire without it being a political statement.
| Quote: | Or am I simply overanalysing and it is simply a wee wind up of the type of people you expected to meet here and a sort of red rag to a bull-shitter?  |
*cough* You've kinda outed me here.
100% honesty - I saw that trublu guy had been banned before just before I came on here. He also had 'image censored' or something in the space where his icon pic should've been. I wondered what he'd put in there and exactly what I was going to be able to get away with. A nice first-post test of the water really, but I do still like it.
I use a UJ on Scotland.com too... but it certainly wasn't the first thing I used. |

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:49 am Post subject: |
| True blue was banned for repeated racist comments. He didn't have any avatar to censor. The 'banned' image is just to make it clear to people looking over old posts that he is now banned. His signature did have to be censored as it made offensive comments towards gypsies. |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:35 pm Post subject: j |
there's no comparison, trueblue was a dick wheras Aventinian is merely a pompous brit  |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:25 pm Post subject: |
I like Aventinian - I share some of his views although there are far more that I don't.
At least he argues his point without becoming offensive. I don't agree with him a lot of the time, but what would be the point of a forum where everyone agreed all of the time?
There was a couple of folk that complained about the UJ but they weren't exactly regular contributors. What are we supposed to do - ban a bloody flag? Get a grip - I don't particularly like the UJ either but at the end of the day it's just a pattern and colours.
Have to give the guy some credit. If there was a 'unionist' forum then I'm not sure I could've stuck it out there the way he has here despite some mud being thrown at him early on.
Anyway - enough of this love in - f**k the Union!  _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:36 pm Post subject: |
| rs_azzuri wrote: | Anyway - enough of this love in - f**k the Union!  |
Righton... I thought I saw a hippie  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
Donnie Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:51 pm Post subject: |
Hey - wow second post.
I have always found the question of independence so perplexing due to the nationalism involved. In my opinion, could be very wrong, but over the many thousands of years I am yet to see any examples of nationalism that hasn't led to devisive forces and war and bloodshed. From nationalism in Bismarcks Germany to Japanese nationalism in world war two. All nationalism does is say that there is no such thing as individuality, that race and where you are born count more. It clouds your judgement and isn't country of birth complete chance?
Everyone loves their country - people are attached to where they grow up, and Scotland, is especially beautiful and indeed has a rich culture and history. However, I think it is unfair to say that every Scotsman wants independence. My impression is that most people in this country are apathetic when it comes to politics and especialy independence. The reason we have this devolved parliament is because in the referendum for independence the target of 50% of voters taking part was not reached.
Then you have to ask yourself, in an age when the world is getting so much smaller due to internet and easier, inexpensive travel, do we really want to encourage divisive forces or further integration of humanity on a world scale?
Donnie |
Abieuan 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!
Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:28 pm Post subject: |
As the world is getting smaller, then so are communities all over it.
You cite some bad examples of nationalism, look at the Czech republic and Slovakia as more modern examples.
Scotland could break away from the UK without any bloodshed.
| Quote: | | However, I think it is unfair to say that every Scotsman wants independence. My impression is that most people in this country are apathetic when it comes to politics and especialy independence. |
Reluctantly, i would have to agree with you there, but that is due to a lack of self-confidence instilled in us by the London government.
| Quote: | | do we really want to encourage divisive forces or further integration of humanity on a world scale? |
I don't see it as devisive, i want to see smaller states coming together to make policies rather than large "super states". |

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:02 pm Post subject: |
| Donnie wrote: | | I have always found the question of independence so perplexing due to the nationalism involved. In my opinion, could be very wrong, but over the many thousands of years I am yet to see any examples of nationalism that hasn't led to devisive forces and war and bloodshed. From nationalism in Bismarcks Germany to Japanese nationalism in world war two. All nationalism does is say that there is no such thing as individuality, that race and where you are born count more. It clouds your judgement and isn't country of birth complete chance? |
I know a lot of folk who feel the same Donnie. And the fear of Nationalism puts them off voting for the SNP. Nationalism can mean many things though and most folk think about the bad examples. An independent Scotland will never invade anyone, nor will it be based on promote an ethnic nationalism. Nationalism and individualism need not be mutually exclusive.
| Donnie wrote: | | Everyone loves their country - people are attached to where they grow up, and Scotland, is especially beautiful and indeed has a rich culture and history. However, I think it is unfair to say that every Scotsman wants independence. My impression is that most people in this country are apathetic when it comes to politics and especialy independence. The reason we have this devolved parliament is because in the referendum for independence the target of 50% of voters taking part was not reached. |
We have never had a referendum on Independence Donnie. Are you thinking about the '79 referendum on home rule? To date, Independence has never been an option. Again, I know what you mean though. I think that most Scots are relatively well off at the moment, and so while I think independence is preferable to the majority in theory, I doubt many would vote with it as priority and at present, it may not even have a majority in favour should there be a referendum. Two things can change that , either an economic downturn, or confidence that the Scots Parliament is mature enough to take on full sovereignty without ruining the country.
| Donnie wrote: | | Then you have to ask yourself, in an age when the world is getting so much smaller due to internet and easier, inexpensive travel, do we really want to encourage divisive forces or further integration of humanity on a world scale? |
I would argue that an Independent Scotland would be allow us to integrate into the world to a greater extent and on our terms than via the United Kingdom. As Abieuan says, small nation states have to work together. Large states are tempted to work unilaterally to the detriment of the international community. |
x_scotsdream_x No Longer a Wean
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:47 am Post subject: |
Let me tell you all something though. A few days ago i was listening to a scottish radio station and on their show they were interviewing the leading bird flu researcher of Scotland - he was English. Then to follow they interviewed two senior professors of a SCOTTISH university and to my disgust heard another two ENGLISH voices. To be honest back on that amazing day in 1314 when our ancestors and scottish hero's fought for our independance, our independance was not won - the english just let us have a little bit of space for a few years and Scotland is now suffering from the same battle in a more modern and technological way. If it was up to our english neighbours, our wonderful nation would be yet another English city! I personally am sick and tired of being the "underdogs" because who exactly are we underdogs to? the english? I beg to differ, many scots are listening too much to english media and are allowing them to take over our land and i personally think it is time to put a stop to this! Keeping in mind i am 19 years old - i am still very passionate about our country and all of my friends agree with me.
Surely its time to put an end to the snobbery and give scotland exactly what it needs, what we have been fighting for all our days, Freedom!!?! _________________ Freeddddoooommmm!!  |

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:29 pm Post subject: |
Welcome to the forum scotsdream. Good to hear that you and your pals in Dumfries are passionate about Scotland. Aye, we are still mostly ruled from England and most of our media is based there. As long as that remains the case, we will struggle to move on. I wouldn't blame the English now though. Most of them don't give a s**t about Scotland. If we choose to be Independent, then we will be... it is up to us to resolve the situation.
One thing that IMO is definitely not a problem is having English academics working here. Top level scientific research is a truly global industry. It is encouraged to move labs to share experience and so those progressing up the ladder often have to leave Scotland where, due to the size of the country, there may only be one lab specialising in that area. One reason that the scientific sector is so strong in Scotland is down to the ability to attract top scientists from all across the world. It is also the case that some of the Scots who get into these positions are privately educated followed by Oxbridge uni and so may not have a Scots accent. |
redlak On A Journey (500 Miles)
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:31 pm Post subject: |
Just to follow up on the comments I am a Scot whose parents were in the RAF and most of my early Primary education was spent in Malta and England. This means my accent sounds English and it is often assumed so by most i come into contact with.
However my heart is Scots and besides The Bruce probably spoke with a French accent and yet his Scottishness is never in Question. So let us welcome all and not be so quick to prejudge people. _________________ Onwards to a Republic |
x_scotsdream_x No Longer a Wean
Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:36 am Post subject: |
Thanks SLG! aye i agree with you 100% with that (about English experts) however in moderation!! this was just an example of two occasions where i have heard english voices representing scottish people - however i could name many occasions where the same thing has happened. It makes me kinda bitter to think that Scotland does not have its own Scottish leading expert on issues effecting scotland - if that sounds racist i apologise as i do not hate the whole of england there are many lovely english people - i just despise the way they try to overly influence themselves on scotland and oor culture - as its starting to seperate the country.
Also the chairman of the Dumfries & Galloway council is Scottish with an English accent and many people misjudged him as English its a very easy mistake to make and im sure no-one means any harm by it, but it would be more than a coincidence if all the english voices i have heard either on the radio or the TV were actually scots with english voices.
I appreciate both of your opinions though and apologies if some of this doesnt make sense to you as im young and daft! so im on this site to try and learn a bit more about our country lol. _________________ Freeddddoooommmm!!  |

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:41 pm Post subject: |
| Abieuan wrote: | | Quote: | | However, I think it is unfair to say that every Scotsman wants independence. My impression is that most people in this country are apathetic when it comes to politics and especialy independence. |
Reluctantly, i would have to agree with you there, but that is due to a lack of self-confidence instilled in us by the London government. |
It is a lack of confidence that encourages the uber-Scottish nonsense that many nationalists spout. Someone who is comfortable in their nationality doesn't leap - as many at the SNP & co. do - into a tantrum whenever they perceive their nation has been slighted. This mentality is one of the things that I believe keep sensible people away from Scots Nationalists.
Anyway, if your vision of 'self-confidence' transpired, we'd all be extreme Libertarians content to govern ourselves absolutely as sovereign individuals. This may be extremely self-confidence (or is 'arrogant' more appropriate here) but it's certainly not beneficial or practical. Secondly, and on the same point, what has HM Government done to instill this lack of self confidence in you? I'd imagine it'd be Holyrood - responsible for education and patronising initiatives - that'd have done this to you.
If you really lack self-confidence, I suggest you go and see some sort of mental health expert - hell, I imagine the London Government will even pay for it.
| x_scotsdream_x wrote: | | Let me tell you all something though. A few days ago i was listening to a scottish radio station and on their show they were interviewing the leading bird flu researcher of Scotland - he was English. Then to follow they interviewed two senior professors of a SCOTTISH university and to my disgust heard another two ENGLISH voices. |
Holy God, foreign university staff?! Round them up and stick them in jail!
I'm sorry, but this is really nothing short of racism.
| Quote: | | o be honest back on that amazing day in 1314 when our ancestors and scottish hero's fought for our independance, our independance was not won - the english just let us have a little bit of space for a few years and Scotland is now suffering from the same battle in a more modern and technological way. |
Scotland won its independence which it maintains to this day - it has never been under the dominion of any foreign power.
| Quote: | | If it was up to our english neighbours, our wonderful nation would be yet another English city! I |
Oh yes? I'm afraid that's bullshit. At points in history, if this had been desired, it would've happened. It didn't, unlike in many other places outwith Britain.
Nowadays, civilised people don't force their cultures on anyone. Although I'm sad to say it is more lightly today that people who support Edinburgh are going to try to do that to me than the people who support London...
| Quote: | | Surely its time to put an end to the snobbery and give scotland exactly what it needs, what we have been fighting for all our days, Freedom!!?! |
An nation cannot be free, only the people within it. And Scotland is part of a free country - the United Kingdom. |