Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Ten Good reasons for Independence
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha, I don't for a minute suggest that there is nothing in what you say. My point is that you look at things too black and white. In the same way as scotsdream does. Although I doubt you genuinely do think like this, I think you just take that line to make a point on this forum.

agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well spotted. Cool

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote:
Well spotted. Cool

Unfortunately, in doing so, it kind of makes a mockery of your point.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really. I enjoy exposing the non-sequitors and prejudices inherent in Nationalism. The point stands.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote:
Not really. I enjoy exposing the non-sequitors and prejudices inherent in Nationalism. The point stands.

Yes, but how many people take your points on board when you espouse them from such a prejudiced standpoint?
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not operating from a prejudiced standpoint. I like to debate politics with people with whom I disagree. Where they show signs of any grasp of nuance or subtlety, and are capable of arguing their point in a rational manner, I will respond likewise.
If, on the other hand, they show signs of living in a cartoon, black & white world of goodies and baddies, where every attempt to question the fundamentally illogical and emotive nature of nationalism provokes accusations of being a 'traitor', 'English', 'privately-educated' or 'anglicised' I will poke fun at them, because they deserve no less.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote:
I am not operating from a prejudiced standpoint.

I think you have certainly been guily of making sweeping generalisations about people based not on reality but your idea of what it is to be a 'nationalist'.
agentmancuso wrote:
I like to debate politics with people with whom I disagree. Where they show signs of any grasp of nuance or subtlety, and are capable of arguing their point in a rational manner, I will respond likewise. If, on the other hand, they show signs of living in a cartoon, black & white world of goodies and baddies, where every attempt to question the fundamentally illogical and emotive nature of nationalism provokes accusations of being a 'traitor', 'English', 'privately-educated' or 'anglicised' I will poke fun at them, because they deserve no less.

Aye, I have no doubt that is your intention. Sure, people like scotsdream provide you with an easy target, but it looks to me like you would rather be poking fun at them than taking part in a reasoned debate (i.e. responding to my posts above Wink ).
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
I think you have certainly been guily of making sweeping generalisations about people based not on reality but your idea of what it is to be a 'nationalist'.

If so, then I humbly apologise.

Aye, I have no doubt that is your intention. Sure, people like scotsdream provide you with an easy target, but it looks to me like you would rather be poking fun at them than taking part in a reasoned debate (i.e. responding to my posts above Wink ).

I enjoy both parts equally. But I wouldn't bother drawing attention to the bampots if it wasn't for a genuine concern that their outlandish statements are tolerated by people who should know better.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote:

No problem Smile
I enjoy both parts equally. But I wouldn't bother drawing attention to the bampots if it wasn't for a genuine concern that their outlandish statements are tolerated by people who should know better.

Fair enough. I just think sometimes it's very easy to confuse bampottery with naivety and ignorance. In these cases there may be more productive methods to use to make your point.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll bear that in mind Wink
louismcleod
Finding Ma' Way

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congradulations and best of luck to the SNP. Fighting for independence when you're already part of a rich and modern country is not an easy thing, especially in today's individualistic, politically-bored world. Most people today have totally forgotten or don't care about their ancestors' struggles, as long as  their daily little comforts aren't threatened. This is a shame, people aren't sheep, there's more to a people's future than just to merge into a single bland human blob. Just like there's biodiversity in nature, there's diversity in human people and cultures. There are rarer species, then there are rats, pigeons, etc that thrive so much they would take over the whole ecosystem if they could. Opponents of human diversity argue we should all be the same, like rats or pigeons and let go of our cultural differences. They equate borders with war and intolerance, but would never give up theirs. One of the purposes of independence or for that matter having countries, is to allow differences, protect a certain area on earth for a people to exist and evolve. Borders are not bad things, they're not being close-minded, or anti-neighbors. When John Lennon sang to imagine no countries to kill or die for, he didn't mean to have the smaller countries shut up and merge in the big ones for peace's sake. Erasing all borders is a nice dream but can't be used by one against the other for self-interest. One of the reasons that made Europe thrive in sciences and arts over the centuries was that it had diversity and competition, it wasn't a single faceless blob. Like the saying goes: you can't have a door without walls. I applaud Scottish independence and apologize to Brits who disagree, as it's none of my business, being a foreigner (good thing there are borders!). I'm a Quebecker and vote yes to independence here too.
snyper1010
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry if this comment is going to sound totally off topic but i got bored reading all that unionist pish so i skipped several pages.

What i found funny from the first page is they scream finances when independance is mentioned but as soon as answers are laid out they then scream something else. Its a disgrace and so are the people that support this union. Scotland has been robbed of more than money over the years its well beyond the right time that Scotland is once more a free nation and the Saltire is the only flag that flies above our cities.
crazydaisy
Finding Ma' Way

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YEAH!
Holebender
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're a tag team, right?
snyper1010
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a tag team? who?
Red Justice
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holebender wrote:
You're a tag team, right?

Any tag team but beware of traitors!
mal
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote:
SLG wrote:

Aye, I have no doubt that is your intention.  Sure, people like scotsdream provide you with an easy target, but it looks to me like you would rather be poking fun at them than taking part in a reasoned debate (i.e. responding to my posts above Wink ).

I`ve never really noticed any attempt to criticise the use of emotive terms emanating from "Unionists" with slurs of Naziism etc or "evil stains".

Mind you, as someone who claims to be liberal, i really shouldn`t be surprised as your lot have form in this respect,as such, your views should be treated with contempt and allied with the condescending nature of your witterings you really would deserve to be labelled as a hypocrite.

Have a nice summer.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12
Page 12 of 12