Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
jamesieboy Helping with the Count
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:21 pm Post subject: |
Obviously he'll be getting plenty of advice from 'professional' journalists.
You would hardly embark on such a journey, touching on issues which are risky because of the extremes of violence you would encounter.
Ross Kemp is a front man, nothing more.
Dave Coull Independentista
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:46 pm Post subject: |
As the reason why Ross Kemp's so-called "documentaries" lack credibility, | agentmancuso wrote: | | tragically, if unavoidably, they have Ross Kemp as the main attraction. |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | he'll be getting plenty of advice from 'professional' journalists. | He will certainly know quite a few so-called "journalists", but all of a particular type. The type employed by his wife, the editor of the News Of The World. Again, this does not inspire credibility. |
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:51 pm Post subject: |
The argument is not about who his wife is, that is irrelevant.
Yes, she's ugly. And so is he, Gaaawwwwd - he looks like he has Dimples.
And yer, he may not have a nice personality.
But the subjects he explores are interesting and revealing.
(edited for unacceptable language) |
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:01 pm Post subject: |
In my very first post under this topic heading, I wrote | Quote: | | Without in any way endorsing the usual mindless regurgitation of the sort of crap you get from the less thoughtful sections of the media, I do think there could be a possibility that SOME of the Roma could be difficult neighbours. | I then went on to mention an old Roma guy I have known on another forum for many years. | Quote: | | OG says his family emigrated to the USA, not to get away from political persecution, but to get away from other Roma. A feud had developed between two Roma clans, many generations ago, for reasons nobody could quite remember, but this murderous feud went on and on in a tit-for-tat sort of way until the only way to break the cycle of killing was to go to another continent. | I went on to quote OG as saying | Quote: | | One of my ex-wives once remarked that with only a couple of exceptions (one of which I'm sure was her) we were our own worst enemies. | I said I was not endorsing OG's comments, but just passing on some thoughts of a genuine Roma.
| jamesieboy wrote: | | They were saying that Roma gangs are very well organised and engage in criminal activity around Europe. How can you deny this. | Excuse me?
Could you please quote exactly where and when you are alleging that I denied this?
Remember, a "quote" means you actually have to come up with the exact words that somebody else wrote, not your own fanciful "interpretation" of them.
The main disagreement between you and me is NOT over whether or not there are Roma gangs.
I know there are.
The main disagreement between you and me is over whether it is right to blame an entire ethnic group for the criminal activities of some.
Your entire agenda is based on blaming minority ethnic groups.
You have NOTHING constructive to offer, nothing at all. This entire thread was started by you, and yet, despite repeated invitations for you to make some constructive suggestions, here we are on the eleventh page of discussion, and you STILL haven't come up with a single one. And you're not going to get away with saying "neither have you" I'm under no obligation to do so. You are. | jamesieboy wrote: | | Why keep denying to suit your sad, mistaken political ideology? | Why do you keep on LYING to suit your sad, mistaken, political ideology? |
Rinty Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:25 pm Post subject: |
"Maybe he got folk to pose as Roma and make the statements they did. Because their comments were a terrible indictment of the Roma community throughout Europe."
How can one Roma community be an indictment of others. Roma is quite a wide descriptuion that inlcudes people wiht little or no cultural or other connection.
This would be simpler if you just linked us to his programme and quoted directly. The rest of you rant is juts paranoid nonsense.
I stated an opinion on the validity of using 'Ross Kemp on Gangs' as a source, this doent mean I have said it is law, its just my opinion. It has nothing to do with the other stuff about PC and left that you attempt to link it to.
Youve lost it.
Lino meanwehile rejects a book review because of the newspaper it is in, rather than the content of the review. I dont rekect Rooss kemp as a source because I dont like the channel it is on, I reject it as I have seen it, watch it, and know that it contains no analysis of crime, the causes or the effects of the crime, it just shows some gangs and revels in how 'hard' they are.
I actually quite like the programme, I just dont feel it adds anything to the debate on Govanhill and dont see that you have made that connection in your debate. |
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:18 pm Post subject: |
| Rinty wrote: | | I actually quite like the programme | Well I quite liked Eastenders, but I decided it was taking up too much of my time, and what I was getting from watching it didn't justify the amount of time involved. From what I have heard about this Ross Kemp thing (including what you've said) it doesn't sound worth my valuable (to me) time. | Rinty wrote: | | I just dont feel it adds anything to the debate on Govanhill | Jamesieboy stopped speaking about Govanhill as soon as he was asked what constructive suggestions he had for the area. |

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:38 pm Post subject: |
Ross Kemp did one programme on the four series that involved Bulgarian Mafia, their links to london crime and to roma pickpockets in cities. It made no mention of Slovakian Roma from what I am told. I dont remember the specific programme myself.
What I remember is a few programmes on neo-nazis and their links to gangs across europe and UK. I dont see jamesie calling for any action on that
It isnt proper journalism as such. what he does is interview gangs with the remit of showing how hard and evil they are. He doesnt set out to investigate gangs and reach any startling conclusions, the producers know what they are looking for and go get it. Kemp isnt a journalist just a celebrity presenter.
Last edited by Rinty on Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:00 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:47 pm Post subject: |
What I'm saying at is the Roma have many amongst their number who indulge in crime as part of their culture.
Now i am prepared to say that they are like that from the start because they are ostracised throughout Europe (and I saw it when I lived in Spain).
However we could go round in circles here. Is it the Roma's fault for indulging in activities that lead to them being ostracised. Or is everyone else in Europe a racist (ie - anti-Roma)?
Dave what I suggest we should do. I suggest that if they are caught and convicted of crimes then they should be deported back to Slovakia where they come from. That seems perfectly reasonable and i think the majority of the public would agree with that.
Also, and i say this from my observations, why is it you never get any Malaysians running round in gangs committing crimes? Or Koreans? Or are some ethnic groups more law-abiding and hard-working than others? |

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:09 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | "What I'm saying at is the Roma have many amongst their number who indulge in crime as part of their culture." |
Yes, we know this, you are claiming the the roma in govanhill are criminals, all of them, even the victims of the crimes.
| Quote: | | "Now i am prepared to say that they are like that from the start because they are ostracised throughout Europe (and I saw it when I lived in Spain). " |
Where in Spain did you meet slovakian roma?
| Quote: | | "However we could go round in circles here. Is it the Roma's fault for indulging in activities that lead to them being ostracised. Or is everyone else in Europe a racist (ie - anti-Roma)? " |
We havent even discussed this aspect never mind go around in circles. This is essentially two different questions. 1st, is it the romas fault that they are ostracised? 2nd, are the roma ostracised by others because they are criminals. Even then this is without dealing with what should be the first question - are the roma ostrcised? But I will, for the sake of debate, skip that, accept the premise of ostracisation and move on.
The third question about everyone in europe being racist is just silly. everyone in europe doesnt ostracise roma or consider them to be inherently criminal. No-one in this thread has claimed that is racist to discuss crime in roma communities or the reason for ostracisation of roma people.
In fact, this is the first time you have made a point that could develop into some sort of actual debate, instead of your usual rants about the PC brigade.
It would be better if you actually put forward your own views on the subject rather than just questions followed by attacks on imaginary liberals who made imaginary answers to your questions. I will try to answer it in a short summary form as best as I can. Then perhaps you could give us your view and, finally after 11 pages, we might see some debate and movement.
I will concentrate on the eastern european romani as I think this is what jamesie is referring to and not every one of the varied roma cultures around the world.
1. Is it the romas fault that they are ostracised? Well according to sources like 'mcmafia' the UN and the Bulgarian goverment, the roma were left in ghettos by the former communist regimes, were largely uneducated and when the comunist rule collapsed had no social structures to develop business etc and were left behind in poor housing and with poor access to employment, education etc. Do I think their ostracisation by the communists was self-inflicted? No I dont. Therefore I dont think their current siutation was brought on by themselves.
They were liberated from slavery in 1856, I diont think they asked for slavery either.
2. Societies left in ghettoes with higher unemployment, poor housing and low prospects are likely to provide opportunities for exploitation by criminals. Most of the victims of the criminals are within their own community. But, if a particular community does have crime problem, it is in the interests of everyone to help solve it. |
linoleum Confirmed TROLL
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:23 am Post subject: |
govanhell was an area in decline for many years in recent years most of the problems in that area were caused by violent gangs based on race (i'm sure that must be racist). a bad situation has been made considerably worse by the arrival of significant numbers of roma criminals involved in gangs, robbery,child prostitution,benefit fraud and violence.
autobiographical dave and rinty (most likely the same person) have wrung their hands and pissed their panties about this as it does not fit into their PC and liberal agenda where blame is laid at the door of the state,the police,the council and the bnp.
they then in a vindictive and poisonous fashion accuse people of racism and that they are liars. this inturn means that the nhs proessionals who work in this area are also racists and liars.
you couldnae make it up. |

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:58 am Post subject: |
Or....
Rinty hasnt denied the problems in Govanhill, in fact has added information to the debate.
I am reading Macmaffia right now. It is clearly a book that doesnt suggest that there is a racial element to the criminals or even that there ethnicity leads to criminality.
It lays the blame at the hands of former communist regimes, neo-liberal hegemony and world institutions.
If all you are saying is that govanhill has problems, that some of those problems involve gangs, that the gangs have a race divion element, the large influxes of immigrants have exacerbated the problems, then NO-ONE is disagreeing with you.
To pretend that anyone IS denying this or disputing this is all in you head.
What the debate is about is why this is happening, to you and jamesie it is simply because they are Roma, and the answer to is to deport them and/or stop them coming in.
At least I think ii is, but neither of you have the balls to actually state your position, scared that it might be ripped apart in the debate you just make vague hints. |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:31 am Post subject: |
Rinty (Jim Monaghan) is a member of a political party, Solidarity. He is also a friend of the most well-known member of that party, Tommy Sheridan. Although I've been aware of Tommy for about twenty years, since the time when we were both actively involved in the anti-poll-tax movement, I have never been a fan. Our different attitudes towards the Solidarity party, and towards its most well-known member Tommy Sheridan, are just two of the many differences between myself and Rinty.
At 7pm on Tuesday the 7th of April,to which I responded | Quote: | Right.
Linoleum is a self-confessed liar.
I'll keep that in mind. | Later, in a further indication of linoleum's lack of credibility, | linoleum wrote: | | as for jamsie, he exists, i met him | Yet Jamesie denied ever having met linoleum. As | Holebender wrote: | | Somebody's lying. |
| linoleum wrote: | | autobiographical dave and rinty (most likely the same person) | You are a self-confessed liar. If you say somebody else is being dishonest, all that proves is that you expect other people to be as dishonest as yourself. | Quote: | | they then in a vindictive and poisonous fashion accuse people of racism and that they are liars. this inturn means that the nhs proessionals who work in this area are also racists and liars. | Rubbish. I realise it must be very painful for you to have to try to think straight, but expressing the opinion that YOU are a liar doesn't automatically make "the nhs professionals" or anybody else liars. It means just exactly what it says : YOU are a liar. |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 12:08 pm Post subject: |
I repeatedly asked Jamesieboy what constructive suggestions he had for the problems of the Govanhill area of Glasgow. After ignoring this question for as long as he possibly could, | jamesieboy wrote: | | I suggest that if they are caught and convicted of crimes then they should be deported back to Slovakia where they come from. | That's it. After eleven pages of discussion on a subject which he raised in the first place, that is Jamesie's entire "solution" to the many problems of the Govanhill area. If anybody happens to be arrested, charged, put on trial, and subsequently convicted, of a criminal offence, and if they should happen to come from Slovakia, then they should be deported. | Rinty wrote: | | What the debate is about is why this is happening, to you and jamesie it is simply because they are Roma, and the answer to is to deport them and/or stop them coming in. | But Rinty, surely neither the floor covering nor Jamesie have said anything about either deporting or banning an entire ethnic group. The ONLY suggestion that either of them has made was jamesie's suggestion that IF anybody happens to be arrested, charged, put on trial, and subsequently convicted, of a criminal offence, and IF they should happen to come from Slovakia, then they should be deported. | Rinty wrote: | | but neither of you have the balls to actually state your position, scared that it might be ripped apart in the debate you just make vague hints. | Well, to be fair, there could maybe be other reasons for their vagueness. Both of them having been, by coincidence, accidentally dropped on their heads when they were babies, for instance. That might make you a bit vague. Still, that might be an unlikely coincidence, the same dreadful accident happening to both of them, so, you could be right about | Quote: | | neither of you have the balls to actually state your position |
Unless, that is, the entire joint position of both of them really IS just what Jamesie said: that IF anybody happens to be arrested, charged, put on trial, and subsequently convicted, of a criminal offence, and IF they should happen to come from Slovakia, then they should be deported.
But that squeek of a suggestion hardly seems worth all the fuss they have made......................  |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:07 pm Post subject: |
They should be deported if they commit crimes in this country.
Why should taxpayers subsidise them in jail here? Do a quick poll and i think you'll find most people would agree with that.
Those who arrive here should not do so like ships (did i say ships?) in the night. Checks should be made. They should be a lot more exhaustive than they've been. If they're clean, fine.
It is obvious that the authorities have been at fault here, not because they are racists, or bad, or nasty but because they have been naive. And that is true of a number of people on this list.
You cant expect 2-3000 people from another sub-culture to arrive here and set up shop in an already (deprived, by western standards) area, not be able to speak English and then everything will be hunky dory because, hey! the PC mob says it will be.
Do they install in their children a set of ethics that says stealing is wrong?
Or do they encourage their children to steal and not respect the rights and property of others?
Glasgow City Council, and others, have been totally unprepared for this. Someone has got the word out amongst the Roma when they were back home and told them that Glasgow/Scotland/the UK wil be a soft touch and you can get loads of benefits here.
And you know what, they will probably have been right. |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:36 pm Post subject: |
Rejecting the idea of "blaming the authorities", linoleum condemned the | Quote: | | liberal agenda where blame is laid at the door of the state | Opposing the floor covering's view, | jamesieboy wrote: | | It is obvious that the authorities have been at fault | So, you two don't quite see eye to eye on this? Or is it a case of the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing? In any case, for both Jamesie and the-thing-we-walk-on, blaming, or not blaming, "the authorities" is a very vague way of putting things. A case could be made for blaming "the state", or "the authorities", for nearly everything, but whether Jamesie would agree with such sweeping condemnation of authority and the state is another matter altogether. His criticisms of "the authorities" are much more limited in scope. | jamesieboy wrote: | | not because they are racists, or bad, or nasty but because they have been naive. And that is true of a number of people on this list. | Well of course there's the possibility that, amongst any large enough group of people, some will be naive. But you're not just stating this as a possibility where any large enough group of people is concerned, you're stating it as a fact regarding "this list". That being so, you using the expression "a number of people" is the coward's way of putting things. You should name names, AND you should produce actual quotes from the people you name to prove your point. Not fantastical re-interpretations (which are actually YOUR words) of what they are supposed to have said, quote them directly, word-for-word, in order to try to prove your point. I say you are incapable of doing this. Your entire agenda consists of vague innuendos and un-proven prejudices, and, when challenged to come up with some actual constructive suggestions, what you have come up with (about deporting convicted criminals - ooh, so controversial!!! ) amounts to no more than the squeek of a mouse. |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:20 pm Post subject: |
I thought so. It turns out that what Jamesieboy has advocated is what is already happening. | Quote: | A self-imposed target of removing at least 5,000 convicted foreign criminals from the UK over the past year has been met, the government says.
The UK Border Agency was set the "tough target" by the government and now has staff working in prisons to speed up the removal of foreign criminals.
Those deported included convicted killers and 200 sex offenders. | http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7799879.stm
So, Jamesie, you have advocated the deportation of convicted criminals, and it turns out that is what is already happening. So, is there any difference at all between what it has taken eleven pages for you to get around to saying, and what the government is already doing? Are you saying you could do better? Are you volunteering your own services as superhero?  |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:07 pm Post subject: |
Dave - if you remember I named the respected Tory MSP who was a councillor in the south side, so you have selective memory.
He listens to his constituents.
I'm glad the government is getting rid of these murdering scum and i think it must have something to with pressure from the public, maybe! |
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:48 pm Post subject: |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | they have been naive. And that is true of a number of people on this list. |
| I wrote: | | there's the possibility that, amongst any large enough group of people, some will be naive. But you're not just stating this as a possibility where any large enough group of people is concerned, you're stating it as a fact regarding "this list". That being so, you using the expression "a number of people" is the coward's way of putting things. You should name names |
| jamesieboy wrote: | | I named the respected Tory MSP who was a councillor in the south side | Eh? What the hell does that have to do with anything? So far as I am aware, no respected Tory MSP, or councillor in the south side, is on this forum. If you think they are, please state what name you imagine they use on this forum. And in any case, let's try again. YOU claimed that "a number of people on this list" have been naive. I said that was the coward's way of putting things, and that you should name the people ON THIS FORUM who you believe to be naive. Furthermore, | Quote: | | AND you should produce actual quotes from the people you name to prove your point. Not fantastical re-interpretations (which are actually YOUR words) of what they are supposed to have said, quote them directly, word-for-word, in order to try to prove your point. I say you are incapable of doing this. | Looks like I was dead right about that last bit, doesn't it? |
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 7:11 pm Post subject: |
I mentioned Bill Aitken's (MSP) concerns about he situation in Govanhill ages ago. And quite frankly I can't be bothered going over old ground yet again.
My concerns and the concerns of many people I have spoken to who know the area well turn out to be genuine.
I'm glad Rinty is coming round to that point.
The facts are that a large group of monocultural east Europeans arrived here a few years ago and were housed in Govanhill. The authorities were unprepared for them and, I suspect, didn't even know where Slovakia was, what its major cities were, what language they spoke or what its history was.
It is not racist to say that this group have a tradition of not conforming, of being isolated and living in communities that are apart from mainstream society in countries like Romania, Bulgaria, Macedonia and Serbia where, rightly or wrongly, they are vilified.
In other words they knew absolutly nothing.
The cultural norms that this group were used to were at odds with most in the indigenous community, including the large number of Asians who live there. Anecdotal evidence and a number of newspaper reports pointed to large amounts of rubbish being left in the street and closes and backyards, and reports of gang violence based on ethnicity became commonplace.
It should be remembered that very few in this group spoke English and their language is not the most spoken tongue in the world. Apparently they speak a romany dialect as well as, obviously, Slovakian.
The arrival of this group put enormous pressure on the health services and social work departments in the City of Glasgow.
I would point out that many east Europeans have come to this country to work and have had no problems and have caused no problems. Arguably they have filled in vacancies in work that the native population are not that keen to do. The have come from countries like Poland, Czech Republic and Slovakia but from conventional ways of life not that different from our own. Most have the benefit of an education in their own countries in which English is one of the languages taught. (The old Soviet education system was generally good, it valued science particularly and produced Yuri Gagarin).
The Roma have suffered a largely sub-standard education system, often apart from the rest of the communities they live in, and probably as a result of that have never really valued education due to constantly living on the edge of society.
I have since spent a lot of time reading a whole variety of articles on this and can't make up my mind whether these people are really just their own worst enemy or whether they are truly discriminated against right from the start as second class citizens and act accordingly.
What is sure is in this country they will find much better treatment than what they are used to. They will not find nearly as much discrimination but how long that will last is not clear. The one thing they will need to do is realise that they are lucky and start changing their attitudes to reflect that. |
Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:14 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | A self-imposed target of removing at least 5,000 convicted foreign criminals from the UK over the past year has been met, the government says. The UK Border Agency was set the "tough target" by the government and now has staff working in prisons to speed up the removal of foreign criminals. Those deported included convicted killers and 200 sex offenders. | http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7799879.stm
So, after having his arm twisted to stop waffling and spit oot what he wanted, Jamesie advocated something that was already happening. | jamesieboy wrote: | | I'm glad Rinty is coming round | "coming round"?????!!!!!! You are Wee Jamesie in Wonderland, if you think YOU've influenced Rinty. So far as I can see, he hasn't shifted an inch. | jamesieboy wrote: | | I mentioned Bill Aitken | That has nothing to do with what I asked you. You stated as a fact that "a number of people" here on this Our Scotland forum are "naive". | I wrote: | | you using the expression "a number of people" is the coward's way of putting things. You should name names, AND you should produce actual quotes from the people you name to prove your point. Not fantastical re-interpretations (which are actually YOUR words) of what they are supposed to have said, quote them directly, word-for-word, in order to try to prove your point. I say you are incapable of doing this. | And I was right.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum