Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Flower of Scotland - Embarrassing
Page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But Luke thats the point- poll tax is the perfect example, if you look at the Lothian question you would think that poor English MPs are being strong handed by an unseen Scottish mafia in London.

Alasdair
Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Luke P wrote:
It's not pish. The PM, chancellor and Home Sec are Scots - the three most important posts in the land. The speaker was a Scot also, till a wee while ago. Holyrood business is Holyrood business and English MPs have no say in Scotland. In national business yes they do, but you are just pointing out the demographic imbalance between England and Scotland. That can't be rectified until Scotland welcomes 20m immigrants or half of England dies of swine flu. In any case, when did MPs vote along English and Scottish lines EVER????

It is utter rubbish.  The parliamentary arithmetic means that English MP's will always have a majority voice, and clearly given the different institutions north and south of the border and regional priorities it is highly likely that voting intentions will vary accordingly.

Maybe if MP's had more backbone and the whip less power it would be more obvious.  But to say that Westminster and the country is run by Scots is utter tosh.
Holebender

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Luke P wrote:
In any case, when did MPs vote along English and Scottish lines EVER????

So why bother pointing out the origins of the holders of any given office at any given time?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wholeheartedly agree with you Alasdair.
There are insufficient numbers of Scots, Welsh and N Irland MP's combined, to make any impact on what the majority of MP's (English) do or say Westminster is ruled by English MP's, and always has been.
Luke P
Gaining a Reputation

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just demographics! 84% of the UK population live within the delimitations of the river Tweed and Offa's Dyke, referred to by some as 'England', the inhabitants' demonym being 'English'. These people have a right to 84% of the representation in parliament. They don't have it - they have about 81% of it. Fair enough - I'm not complaining. Personally I wouldn't have objected to reducing it a little more to reflect the greater per capita landmass of Scotland, but after devolution it is pointless and unfair.

On what basis can any minority grouping claim foul play for not being dominant? That would be a complete perversion of democracy and logic.

The East Anglians could be up in arms that their votes don't decide anything... as could the Northumbrians... or the people in my village... etc. (these latter groups, of course, not enjoying he luxury of home rule). Blacks could say white MPs always decide everything, but it wouldn't be right to have a black majority parliament when only 2% of the people are black; less so when there is a 'black parliament' to deal with black business outside Croydon. (for example)

Parliament is divided along party lines, not 'national' lines. Any notion of a pan-English political agenda in Westminster is nonsense (although it could emerge over the West Lothian question) as is any notion of a cohesive pan-Englishness although that may be forced by separatisms. The notion that any given Scottish MP represents you - because you are Scottish - is similarly nonsense. My local MP (in England) is Scottish but does as bad a job as anyone of representing me - actually he's quite decent for a Tory.

(you are right tho that the whips need got rid of)

Last edited by Luke P on Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Luke P
Gaining a Reputation

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holebender wrote:
Luke P wrote:

So why bother pointing out the origins of the holders of any given office at any given time?

Because it's exactly the argument nationalists use all the time.
Alasdair
Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Luke P wrote:
Holebender wrote:
Luke P wrote:

What?! That the Scots run the uk ... I don't think it is [used by s-nats]
Luke P
Gaining a Reputation

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alasdair wrote:
Luke P wrote:
Holebender wrote:
Luke P wrote:

What?! That the Scots run the uk ... I don't think it is [used by s-nats]

You misunderstand. The argument is that there are not enough Scottish MPs at Westminster.
Holebender

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who argues that? Nationalists argue that there are too many Scottish MPs in Westminster; 59 too many!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Back on topic for a moment.
The words to Flower of Scotland are quite stirring, it's the singing of it by a large crowd that turns it in to a dirge.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The words to 'Scots Wha Hae', by Robert Burns are stirring but the SNP sing it like it's a funeral march.

It's a marching tune, legend has it played as Bruce marched on the field of Bannockburn.

Scots Wha Hae

Scots, wha hae wi' Wallace bled,
Scots wham Bruce has often led,
Welcome to your gorie bed,
Or to Victorie!
Now's the day, and now's the hour;
See the front o' battle lour,
See approach proud Edward's pow'r
Chains and slaverie!

Wha will be a traitor knave?
Wha can fill a coward's grave?
Wha sae base as be a slave?
Let him turn and flee!
Wha, for Scotland's King and Law,
Freedom's sword will strongly draw,
Freeman stand, or Freeman fa',
Let him on wi, me!

By Oppression's woes and pains!
By your sons in servile chains!
We will drain our dearest veins,
But they shall be free!
Lay the proud Usurpers low!
Tyrants fall in every foe!
Liberty's in every blow!
Let us do or die!

ROBERT BURNS

Alba gu brąth!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye legend may have it that way, but it wasn't written for hundreds of years after Bannockburn.
I agree though, that like FoS it also gets turned into a dirge. Mind you the biggest dirge of all has to be GStQ.
A good marching and inoffensive song in my opinion is Scotland the Brave.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeh, but it wasn't written by Robert Burns.

You say that the tune wasn't written 'for hundreds of years afterwards', where did you find that info?

Alba gu brąth!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well It's my understanding that it was written By Robert Burns, long after Bannockburn.It is certainly included in his works in the old book of the complete works and songs of  Robert Burns which I havejust checked, and the correct title is "Bruce's Address to his Army at Bannockburn.
Holebender

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Large numbers of Burns' songs are reworked and improved versions of earlier folk songs. They all carry Burns' name because of the work he did collecting the original songs and giving the benefit of his poetic genius but most were in existence in some form long before Burns.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was referring to the music, 'Hey tooti tooti' (I think that's the spelling) is the music reputedly played at Bannockburn.

Alba gu brąth!
Dave Coull
Independentista

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bravehand wrote:
I was referring to the music, 'Hey tooti tooti' (I think that's the spelling) is the music reputedly played at Bannockburn.
Aye, as I understand it, the tune is several centuries older than Burns's words, and yes, there is a tradition going back centuries that it was the tune played as Bruce's troops marched to battle at Bannockburn. Although it might be difficult to conclusively prove this, it's a well-established tradition, about a tune that is many centuries old. And that would make it a marching song, with a considerably faster pace than the usual dirge-like modern rendition. Also, Burns's words are based on a tradition about Robert Bruce's pep talk to his troops immediately before the Battle of Bannockburn. The order of the words is Burns's, the rhyming of the words is Burns's, but there is a good chance that the sentiments really are Bruce's. Ancient traditional marching tune, Robert Bruce's words, reworked by Robert Burns, no other patriotic song has quite such an impressive pedigree.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye David.

Alba gu brąth!
1 Strike

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mairead wrote:
There are insufficient numbers of Scots, Welsh and N Irland MP's combined, to make any impact on what the majority of MP's (English) do or say Westminster is ruled by English MP's, and always has been.

What utter rot. Is the UK ruled by white people? Is the UK ruled by heterosexuals? How about Christians?

No, of course not. The personal identity of an MP has no baring on his job.
babykitten
Activist

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
mairead wrote:

What utter rot. Is the UK ruled by white people? Is the UK ruled by heterosexuals? How about Christians?

No, of course not. The personal identity of an MP has no baring on his job.

An unfortunate typo given the behaviour of countless MPs over the years.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society All times are GMT
Page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3