Stevie Independentist

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:40 pm Post subject: |
No, the French eat far worse things (frogs, snails- I love snails - cow's tongue, toad wine and other things that I can't remember) I'm not joking.
But yes, they do stop people more and more and more. The Police are becoming ee pain een zee ass.
I saw a haggis advert on this site and will be ordering for the 25th of November.
'Great cheiftan o' the puddin race.'
_________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu bràth! |
Holebender Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:57 pm Post subject: |
What's so special about the 25th of November? Is it your birthday? _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Fidget Standing in a Council Ward
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 6:19 pm Post subject: |
Alice Cooper is on in Glasgow.  |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:24 pm Post subject: |
Ouch... thanks guys. Getting it mixed up with Xmas and Guy Fawkes.
Yes, the 25th of January (1759), died 21st July, 1796)
Rather like Alice Cooper's music... bit disturbing the 'Dead babies don't cry' song, but good stuff all the same.
I feel a burns song coming on...
« LAND O’ THE LEAL »
I’m wearin’ awa’ Jean,
Like snaw-wreaths in thaw, Jean.
I’m wearin’ awa’
To the land o’ the leal.
There’s nae sorrow there, Jean,
There’s neither cauld nor care, Jean,
The day’s aye fair
In the land o’ the leal.
To me ye hae been true Jean.
Your task’s ended noo, Jean,
For near kythes my view
O’ the land o’ the leal.
Our bonnie bairn’s there, Jean,
And, oh ! we grudged her sair
To the land o’ the leal.
But dry that tearfu’ ee Jean,
Grieve na for her and me, Jean.
Frae sin and sorrow free
I’ the land o’ the leal.
Now fare ye weel, my ain Jean !
This world’s cares are vain, Jean,
We’ll meet and aye be fein
I’ the land o’ the leal.
Robert Burns
The most original poet of his time. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu bràth! |
mac No Longer a Wean
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:13 pm Post subject: Tried Haggis Toasties? |
| Luke P wrote: | | I like haggis butties from the cafe in North Berwick. |
Love those, LP, I'm sure I had a haggis toastie from somewhere - ever heard of these mythical creatures?  _________________ "Scotland's stunningly beautiful, and utterly captivating capital city, Edinburgh" |
Alasdair Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:49 pm Post subject: |
Latest has it that King Arthur may have been Welsh ... and may have fought the English! Dog-gone-it, I bet English people everywhere are gnashing their teeth and tugging their beards  _________________ My blog - http://manaboutthehouse.wordpress.com
My arts and crafts site http://madestuff.co.uk |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:58 pm Post subject: |
Haggis... English? In that case, I must stop eating it. Dear Lord, I hope scones and oatcakes are still on the menu. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu bràth! |
magister ludi Gaining a Reputation

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:47 pm Post subject: |
| Alasdair wrote: | | Latest has it that King Arthur may have been Welsh ... |
and I remember reading somewhere ( and i can't remember where) that he was Scottish........and Camelot and the round table were in Scotland.
Now as for the old haggis.......how do you cook it?
Steamed?
Baked?
Personally, I prefer microwaving....flecked with a few dods of butter |
Shagpile This is Ma' Life!
Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:41 pm Post subject: |
| magister ludi wrote: | | Alasdair wrote: | | Latest has it that King Arthur may have been Welsh ... |
and I remember reading somewhere ( and i can't remember where) that he was Scottish........and Camelot and the round table were in Scotland.
Steamed?
Baked?
Personally, I prefer microwaving....flecked with a few dods of butter |
Wierd that, microwaves are a guid way to cook traditional stuff eh?
Scrambled eggs..... haggis. It just blows some thing apart though Frankfurter sausages for example. |
Alasdair Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:57 am Post subject: |
| magister ludi wrote: | | Alasdair wrote: | | Latest has it that King Arthur may have been Welsh ... |
and I remember reading somewhere ( and i can't remember where) that he was Scottish........and Camelot and the round table were in Scotland. |
Was it not supposed to be down Ayr way, or some such?
[quote}
Steamed?
Baked?
Personally, I prefer microwaving....flecked with a few dods of butter[/quote]
Boiled in the bag.
Although the current household favourite (that we do for treats) is to stuff a chicken with it, and allow the flavours to permeate. The carcass and left over haggis makes great stock too  _________________ My blog - http://manaboutthehouse.wordpress.com
My arts and crafts site http://madestuff.co.uk |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:30 pm Post subject: |
I wish this thread would die and go away.
Every time I see it I crave some haggis and it's not locally available.
Fiddlesticks. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu bràth! |
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:50 pm Post subject: |
| Bravehand wrote: | I wish this thread would die and go away.
Every time I see it I crave some haggis and it's not locally available.
Fiddlesticks. |
Know that feeling well.
Stocked up on tinned haggis now though...... and done in the micro it's great.
Difficult to get fresh turnip in the supermarket in Germany though.
Can't you order it on-line? If you can't, PM me an address that I can send a tin or two to.
I'll mark the package Attn: "Grand Layer".
Handy thing this religeon eh? |

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:04 pm Post subject: |
Oh aye... it'll be funny handshakes next... _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:14 pm Post subject: |
| Holebender wrote: | | Oh aye... it'll be funny handshakes next... |
Would that be funny peculiar or funny haha because the index finger is tickling the palm of the hand?
You're expected to do the latter in this religeon mate...... wanna join?
Brother Bravehand'll take you through the initiation.  |

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:27 pm Post subject: |
It might conflict with my Pastafarianism.
I've enough on my plate with the FSM and the Invisible Pink Unicorn and the wee brown teapot without adding another set of arbitrary beliefs to my pantheon. _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:03 pm Post subject: |
| Holebender wrote: | It might conflict with my Pastafarianism.
I've enough on my plate with the FSM and the Invisible Pink Unicorn and the wee brown teapot without adding another set of arbitrary beliefs to my pantheon. |
Fair dues mate, I like the sound of your Pastafarianism though.......
In an ecumenical type of way of course. It does provide food for thought. |

Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:31 am Post subject: |
Do you mean you have not yet been touched by His noodley appendage? _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:56 am Post subject: |
Can't say that I knowingly have...... after a serious session of drunkardness, either with a hot or cold passion I have often attacked this issue. Sometimes regretting it later.
Then in moments of sobriety I will take these issues on board and have a greater understanding of them.
There's certainly a lot of common ground between our faiths, but as in most faith based religeons, we ought to stay focused on our core beliefs.  |

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:45 am Post subject: |
Wow thank you for those links!
Good stuff there....... pasta be upon you too mate.