Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

GB sending more troops to Afghanistan.
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:35 pm    Post subject: GB sending more troops to Afghanistan. Reply with quote

Dumbwit has decided to send more troops to Afghanistan.

If I may say and I use my words most carefully... what a d**k.

Does anybody actually know what the heck we're doing mixed up in this Khyber pass nonsense?

Alba gu brąth!
Alasdair
Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure why we're there, the reason seems to change depending on what topic is under discussion.  However, since we are there I can't help feeling we should maybe stick it out rather than pulling out and potentially leaving a worse situation than there was before.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alasdair, I understand your reasoning (and I feel very sorry for the women there) but the situation seems to be a hundred year wait then pull out, nothing accomplished.

We can't even seem to stop them producing huge heroin harvests.

It's only 500 more troops and is in itself a waste of time, so why not just pull out?

No objectives, no win.

Is GB doing this just to get a pat on the back from Obama?

Probably not but with him anything is possible...

Alba gu brąth!
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He's doing this so he can pretend to be Winston Churchill.  In the morning, when all is quiet and no-one's around, GB sticks out his stomach and puts on his best Winston Churchill voice : 'Never, in the field of human expenses, has so much been stolen by so few from so many'...

'Oh crap, I better distract the voters with an escalation of war in Afghanistan... it's only 500 troops and Rangers will give them free stand tickets.'

'I wonder if they'll give me free stand tickets too... probably not - nobody likes me.  Nobody liked me at school either, why does nobody like me?'

Alba gu brąth!
Kevin
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Obama recently sent more troops to Afghanistan as well, 13,000 I believe.  We all need to get our troops out of there as soon as possible.  This war is only further radicalizing the Muslims and putting more lives in harms way.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't see any objectives. The Taliban have one objective, get the West out; we don't seem to have any...

Waste of time, money, lives and we'll get our asses kicked out due to inevitable apathy.

The sad thing is that the women there are treated abominably...

Alba gu brąth!
Red Justice
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The sad thing is that the women there are treated abominably...

That's no reason to be there. The UK can never win the war. Even under Obama it is like the old days the UK trying to keep up with US imperialism.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most unfortunate thing was the USSR getting it's ass kicked out.  That was a real chance for human equality in Afghanistan.

The USA will be happy now that they helped kick them out.

Alba gu brąth!
landg
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:00 pm    Post subject: Re: GB sending more troops to Afghanistan. Reply with quote

Stevie wrote:
Dumbwit has decided to send more troops to Afghanistan.

If I may say and I use my words most carefully... what a d**k.

Does anybody actually know what the heck we're doing mixed up in this Khyber pass nonsense?

it's do with the bnp.
as you nothing about either this will make perfect sense to you.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:59 pm    Post subject: Re: GB sending more troops to Afghanistan. Reply with quote

landg wrote:
it's do with the bnp.

I'm beginning to think you're dyslexic (at least I hope that's the explanation).

This dyslexia is in itself fine but could you seek professional help if you are going to continue posting in public.

Alba gu brąth!
Holebender

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems more like a form of Tourette's to me; an uncontrollable urge to just blurt things out all over the place.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just saw the cretin on TV saying that "We're in Afghanistan to stop further terrorist attacks in London"

Yes, the extra 500 troops will accomplish that without a shadow of a doubt and certainly not just provide another 500 targets for militants.

Apparently, Obama's admitting that a final peace agreement in Afghanistan will have to include the Taliban.

Well... didn't we do well.

Alba gu brąth!
Kevin
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stevie wrote:
I just saw the cretin on TV saying that "We're in Afghanistan to stop further terrorist attacks in London"

Yes, the extra 500 troops will accomplish that without a shadow of a doubt and certainly not just provide another 500 targets for militants.

Apparently, Obama's admitting that a final peace agreement in Afghanistan will have to include the Taliban.

Well... didn't we do well.

Not to mention any foreign presence in their land simply radicalizes them further and makes them want to attack that foreign nation even more.
landg
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:03 pm    Post subject: Re: GB sending more troops to Afghanistan. Reply with quote

Stevie wrote:
landg wrote:
it's do with the bnp.

I'm beginning to think you're dyslexic (at least I hope that's the explanation).

This dyslexia is in itself fine but could you seek professional help if you are going to continue posting in public.

aye,good. still doesnae change the fact you are slabbering on about subjects you admit you know nothing about.
ie. the reasons for being in afghanistan and the bnp.
YOU said it my furry little friend.
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody knows why we're in Afghanistan my even furrier littler friend.

Alba gu brąth!
Stevie
Independentist

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, Pres Ob has gone and gotten himself entrenched in an Afghanistani magic carpet ride to the same destination the Ruskies ended up at... nowhere.  He's smarter than that but nobody's right all the time about everything.  

It's an unmitigated failure in the waiting.

They just put a journalist in jail for daring to write that Afghan women don't get fair treatment.  

Their unable to defend themselves after 8 years against the Taliban.

Oh but the good news is, there's a bumper poppy harvest this year.

Get the heck out of Dodge before you're kicked out.

Alba gu brąth!
landg
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stevie wrote:
Nobody knows why we're in Afghanistan my even furrier littler friend.

well i do.
i took the time to look into it.
i used that google thing.
try it.
you could also use it to find out about the bnp, something else you admitted you knew nothing about.
magister ludi
Gaining a Reputation

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

landg wrote:

mmmm, that'll be that then.
landg
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magister ludi wrote:
landg wrote:

mmmm, that'll be that then.

aye, pretty much. look into it and see.
i mean it's pretty DUMB to witter on about something you admit you know nothing about. where is that thread anyway.
btw i don't mean you master, i like the cut of your suit, articulate, funny and you seem well read and reasonably balanced. you would not get my vote for dumb or even dumber.
magister ludi
Gaining a Reputation

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

landg wrote:

btw i don't mean you master, i like the cut of your suit, articulate, funny and you seem well read and reasonably balanced. you would not get my vote for dumb or even dumber.

Pleeeeese, Landg, you're a troll.  You know it. I know it.

Now we all know..... & you're not even very good at it........that was soooo .......so........obvious.

Go back under your bridge....rest, reflect, regroup....come back in the spring.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics All times are GMT
Page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2