Kevin No Longer a Wean

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:26 pm Post subject: |
| Holebender wrote: | It has only just been recognised as a holiday in Scotland (and is only a sort of voluntary holiday) so traditions haven't really developed yet. Given its timing (30th of November) I'd like to see it become something similar to your Thanksgiving.
The SNP government is trying to make it the starting point of a two month long "Winter Festival" which ends on Robert Burns' birthday. |
I see. Well Thanksgiving is a great one so I'd say you can't go wrong with that. A winter festival sounds like fun as well.
_________________ "Power always thinks it has a great soul and vast views beyond the comprehension of the weak, and that it is doing God's service when it is violating all his laws." - John Adams |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:36 pm Post subject: |
| aye, with a winter festival we can guarentee the weather.with a summer festival............ |
Dave Coull Independentista
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:47 pm Post subject: |
| Holebender wrote: | | a two month long "Winter Festival" |
| Marvin wrote: | | Sounds AWFUL |
Alasdair Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:16 am Post subject: |
| Dave Coull wrote: | | Holebender wrote: | | a two month long "Winter Festival" |
Sounds like a potential revenue generator. _________________ My blog - http://manaboutthehouse.wordpress.com
My arts and crafts site http://madestuff.co.uk |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:51 am Post subject: |
| Alasdair wrote: | | Dave Coull wrote: | | Holebender wrote: | | a two month long "Winter Festival" |
Sounds like a potential revenue generator. |
ah yes, cliched tartan nonsense fair brings in the tourist.
in fact they could come to the st. andrews day rally. they would lap that up. |
Holebender Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:58 am Post subject: |
Do paranoid androids post here now? _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:22 am Post subject: |
| Holebender wrote: | | Do paranoid androids post here now? |
'now'?????
now, as in a new thing?  |
Alasdair Our Scotland = 2nd Job!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:38 am Post subject: |
| landg wrote: | | Alasdair wrote: | | Dave Coull wrote: | | Holebender wrote: | | a two month long "Winter Festival" |
Sounds like a potential revenue generator. |
ah yes, cliched tartan nonsense fair brings in the tourist.
in fact they could come to the st. andrews day rally. they would lap that up. |
Does it have to be cliched because you say so? hmm.
There are a variety of examples of 'winter festivals', and events that happen during the winter season and generate welcome revenue during what might otherwise be a very difficult time for many business.
You seem to think that because it's in Scotland it would therefore have to be 'cliched tartan nonsense' ... how narrow-minded of you. _________________ My blog - http://manaboutthehouse.wordpress.com
My arts and crafts site http://madestuff.co.uk |
darkside Gaining a Reputation
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:04 pm Post subject: |
info updated
The 2009 St Andrew's Day Rally will take place on Saturday 28th November, at 16:30 pm. The route will be the same as last year - assembling on the Castle Esplanade from 16:00 (4 pm) to march off at 16:30, led (as always) by the Stockbridge Pipe Band. The marchers will progress all the way down the Royal Mile, finishing outside the Parliament buildings by Holyrood where speeches will be made. This year's speakers include author David R Ross, plus music from Ted Christopher. Following this, there will be an evening's entertainment held in the Three Sisters, in the Cowgate. Tickets for this are priced at £15, and the cost includes a buffet and three bands - the ever-popular Fiery Jack, back by public demand; Albannach; and Ted (better than Elvis) Christopher! Doors open at 7 pm, event finishes at 12:45 am. Tickets can be booked by contacting John on 07511660058. _________________ www.football-live.co.nr
http://saltirephones.2u.co.uk
www.radiofreescotland.webhop.org |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:12 pm Post subject: |
will there be oatcakes, haggis, tattie scones, scones and the like. Whisky optional.
och aye the nooooooooooo. FREEEEEEEEEDOM. |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:34 pm Post subject: |
landg...
didn't I already tell you not to try and be funny. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu brąth! |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:37 pm Post subject: |
No, actually that was Fidget but it's still free advice and you could benefit from it somewhat at times. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu brąth! |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:30 pm Post subject: |
| Stevie wrote: | landg...
didn't I already tell you not to try and be funny. |
your missing the point, i'm not trying to be funny.
it's the thread thats f***ing hilarious. |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:49 pm Post subject: |
I see, light humour is translated into hilarity.
I'm far from missing the point, I just hope you are. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu brąth! |
Red Justice This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:50 pm Post subject: |
No landg, people should celebrate a day for Scotland. I am afraid you are funny not the thread.
edited by admin _________________ For socialists, independence is not about the colour or type of flag flying on our public buildings. It is about creating a better society. It is about putting people before profit"
Tommy Sheridan
http://scottishsocfree.blogspot.com |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:04 pm Post subject: |
I imagine landg you would be fine with an Orange day with Rangers at the helm. That would be a sensible thing to feast on from a unionist/proddie/Tory (am I missing anything out?) perspective.
Thou art a product of environment, therefore thy thinking is not thine own but is nought less than lavage de cerveau.
But as I said thou seemeth in good fettle. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu brąth! |
Red Justice This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:29 pm Post subject: |
The 2009 St Andrew's Day Rally will take place on Saturday 28th November, at 16:30 pm. The route will be the same as last year - assembling on the Castle Esplanade from 16:00 (4 pm) to march off at 16:30, led (as always) by the Stockbridge Pipe Band. The marchers will progress all the way down the Royal Mile, finishing outside the Parliament buildings by Holyrood where speeches will be made. This year's speakers include author David R Ross, plus music from Ted Christopher. Following this, there will be an evening's entertainment held in the Three Sisters, in the Cowgate. Tickets for this are priced at £15, and the cost includes a buffet and three bands - the ever-popular Fiery Jack, back by public demand; Albannach; and Ted (better than Elvis) Christopher! Doors open at 7 pm, event finishes at 12:45 am. Tickets can be booked by contacting John on 07511660058. _________________ For socialists, independence is not about the colour or type of flag flying on our public buildings. It is about creating a better society. It is about putting people before profit"
Tommy Sheridan
http://scottishsocfree.blogspot.com |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 7:11 am Post subject: |
| Stevie wrote: | I imagine landg you would be fine with an Orange day with Rangers at the helm. That would be a sensible thing to feast on from a unionist/proddie/Tory (am I missing anything out?) perspective.
Thou art a product of environment, therefore thy thinking is not thine own but is nought less than lavage de cerveau.
But as I said thou seemeth in good fettle. |
again you have no idea what you are talking about.idle speculation.very idle.
still a brilliant thread though.
looks like it's a big oatcak event mind you with john being the ticket agent and all. |
Stevie Independentist

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:46 pm Post subject: |
| landg wrote: |
still a brilliant thread though. |
I wouldn't say brilliant. _________________ Every man dies, not every man really lives.
Alba gu brąth! |
landg This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:42 pm Post subject: |
| Red Justice wrote: | No landg, people should celebrate a day for Scotland. I am afraid you are funny not the thread.
edited by admin |
is that a wee bit of red justice?
jog on son.